Essence Series® Wood Doors

Complete the picture with Doors

Milgard Essence Series patio doors are the perfect companion to Essence Series windows. Essence doors combine the durability of a fiberglass exterior and the beauty of a veneered wood interior in Pine or Clear Vertical Grain Douglas Fir.

Available in French swinging, with or without operable sidelites, and French-style sliding door models. Essence Series doors are available in any of our designer exterior colors.

With many available options to choose from, and built to your size and specications, your patio door can truly be your own.

Milgard Essence In-Swing and Out-Swing patio doors feature designer hardware, a multi-point locking system and operable sidelites.

Open up your living spaces to the outside with Moving Glass Wall Systems. Our stacking and pocket glass wall systems are available with a rich, warm solid wood interior to complement Essence Series windows.Learn More >

Hardware

Coordination and consistency are important to a well-designed home. That’s why we offer our patio door hardware in three distinct styles with the same finishes available for Essence Series windows. Door hardware finishes can be mixed or matched for interior and exterior.

color grid
French swing door handle
French Swing Door Handle
(exterior)
Sliding patio door handle
Sliding Patio Door Handle
(interior)
Optional French swing door handles
Optional French Swing Door Handles

You’ll enjoy peace of mind with our industry-leading Full Lifetime Warranty that also includes parts and labor for as long as you own your home. Essence also features Glass Breakage Coverage to protect you from life’s little mishaps. Should you ever need warranty service, Milgard is near you with our own factory-trained technicians who will personally address any warranty issue. So you can rest assured that your windows take care of you while we take care of your windows.

Every Essence Series window is designed and assembled in the U.S. and custom made to your exact size and specication with no additional lead times.

Essence Series® Wood Patio Doors 4 5 49 49
I am glad I have Essence windows Having bought high end windows before and working as a contractor I can honestly say having these windows installed is very nice insurance that you will be taken care if you have any issues. I get compliments from neighbors I have never even meet before! Thanks for the great service from a local Oregon company. Mike G October 21, 2014
Great windows. Many compliments from my neighbours These are fantastic windows that look good inside and out. I'm very satisfied with the quality and the follow up support from Milgard. My only issue is the faulty screens which apparently have a manufacturing defect. The screens were replaced once by Milguard service but unfortunately the replacement screens have the same problem. October 20, 2014
Product not really what I expected although the windows are still quite nice. The Milgard Essence gliders I purchased about 6 months ago have many negative issues relating to the design and construction of the individual units. I ordered my units triple pane as part of an energy retrofit for a home located in a cold climate. One issue is the seal design of the units because the weather stripping is incompletely installed and there are air leaks. While these windows were supplied to me at a materials cost of 1/4 the proposed materials cost of triple pane windows from Europe, I feel little or no attention to fabrication or design detail was made to make the gaskets and seals perform well for cold climates. Another issue relating to the construction is that the outside mullion covers, on every window, have curled up and pulled away from the mullion from exposure to the sun! Again, my climate is a cold climate therefore these mullions are unlikely to hold up in a hot climate. Factory applied chemical or mechanical adhesive would have prevented these mullion failures. Once the mullions pull open from the sun, air and water come directly inside, as if the window were just left open. Lastly, my windows were not assembled with the utmost care. By this I mean the factory applied exterior paint had many micro and mega scratches from being moved across the assembly table. The exteriors were not clean, there was fiberglass dust from cutting operations and sealant blemishes. On the inside, some of the pine had small dents or gauges from being dragged around during assembly at the factory. These windows needed work when they arrived, they were not ready for the process of staining the pine. If I paid for what was explained to me to be a fancy handmade new car and when the car was delivered full of scratches in the paint and other issues, I would be mad. That's all the bad stuff I have to say. These triple pane windows are quiet, hardly hear any noise from outside. The window hardware is very nice and the windows roll perfectly smoothly and lock with a wonderful "click". The factory workers did a great job selecting color matched pine for the interiors. Packaging for shipping was professional, with lots of layers of protection and handles had been installed to assist with moving these heavy triple pane windows. The product has good qualities and bad qualities. More attention should have been given to weather stripping these windows going into a cold climate. In the future I'm confident they'll get the design sorted out. October 7, 2014
Well designed window products The guarentee is spsecial. When a window needed to be replaced becuase of leakage, it was done without delay with excellent service. September 25, 2014
Only the best from the best window company I've been a Milgard customer since the late eighties, and when a minor problem arose (and not many# I would call Milgard customer service and with in a couple of weeks all taken care of. I'm sure if it were an emergency situation it would have been handled quickly with no fuss. Forward 32 years and having moved to an 1870's ranch house on 130 acres and starting a remodel on the two bedroom granny flat next door that we will move to and then start the remodel on the main house, window replacement considerations only went to one manufacture, MILGARD! We ordered the new Essence line windows in Cinnamon color and they are just what we wanted. When uncrating the windows #which they were packaged very well) I found a small slice in one of the screens and I called Milgard and it was handled. Next the main house and more Milgard Essence windows to match. Thanks Milgard for great products and Superior customer service. September 2, 2014
CAUTION - SmartTouchâ„¢ Lock is VERY LOUD! We are in the middle of a remodel and recently installed seven Essence double hung windows with the SmartTouchâ„¢ lock throughout the house. The windows seem to be good in many respects but I am very dissatisfied with the locking system. It looks nice but the latch requires you to slam the window shut in order to close and lock it. It is far from ideal if anyone is asleep in the house when you need to close a window! And I'm not confident that either my daughter or grandmother will be able to operate them at all, given that a fair amount of elbow grease is required in the slam closing process. I'm sorry to report that with the trim yet to be installed on the new windows, we're already saving money for new sashes. Except for this locking system, I think we would recommend these windows. August 25, 2014
pretty good, but could use inprovement I have 13 essence double hung windows and some awning and picture windows in my home. The overall use and durability has been good. However, they just feel like not a very refined design. The spoon lock hits the upper casing/stop. It leaves a dent in the painted wood. Ths original double hungs have a nice brass stop to prevent this. The fitment of the interior wood is ok. These windows all are snap together, thus painted joints crack. The casing seem kind of thick compared to other windows. However, I shopped lots of different windows before buying these and even though I liked other windows more the overall value made me choose the milgard essence. Nonetheless, a little better engineering would have really made this window shine compared to others. Milgard customer service has been great. I had one of the lower sash slide pins break while cleaning them. Milgard came right out and fixed it. These was a little inclusion in the casting. I think this was an exception none of my other windows have had any issues. June 18, 2014
The winows look great in my house, they are just what I wanted and expected. So far, so good. I have only had the windows for two days. June 5, 2014
poor qualitiy Poor qualitiy review before window was shipped. Insulllation has pulled loose from bottom of window. How does a home owner fix that after installation. Very unhappy. April 24, 2014
Excellent product, excellent installation I had Milgard Essence windows installed by Energy Guard (based in Newberg, OR). I have an old (1900 built) house that has several features, among them walls significantly out of level and decorative moulding. While professional and courteous (as expected), the installation crew was outstanding, making a couple last minute accommodations for things we had re-thought and getting windows to fit and work in the spaces provided (even the ones that were over an inch out of level in 6 feet of run). The windows are superb, and we couldn't have asked for better installation: both are highly recommended! April 20, 2014
Poor quality The door machanism does not work properly. These are very expensive doors and have not worked correctly. Very disappointed with quality. December 24, 2013
Beautiful Doors These outswing French Doors are beautiful. Make sure to get specifics on operable sidelights and screens. We were told sidelight screens were included but apparently they are not. November 14, 2013
Excellent Cusomter Service I had a problem with window closing after 9 years of use. The rep David Vargas came out and determine the problem right away with professional knowledge and insight. I highly recommend using Milgard's and will buy their product again. November 5, 2013
Awesome and professional service! I love my new Essence windows and when one "took a rock" from the landscaper, Milgard's 100% replacement guarantee was just what I needed! The installers were on time and very professional. I am very impressed with the company's product and service. October 24, 2013
Fantastic product Milgards products are top notch! We have been installing Milgard windows and doors for 10 years. Never had a problem with Milgards products they are simple to install and extremely well made! My clients love the warranty. Northern California Contractor October 5, 2013
Cloudy again The people at Milgard have all been great. The person I scheduled installation with and the guy who came to install were very nice and courteous; however, a large number of the replacement windows that were installed, less than 2 months ago, have already clouded up again. I will have to call those nice people again. September 29, 2013
Glider Window Review -- Smoothly operational Our Essence Glider windows are fantastic. We love the one-touch automatic locking feature that comes with Essence. We love that Essence has the special chamber in case of outside water that keeps our interior wood frames dry. The windows are very solid and close smoothly. We could not be happier with them. Also, we highly recommend the Pure View screen upgrade option since you cannot see the screen at all. Recommended especially for windows you spend a lot of time in front of with a view. They are delicate and were damaged on install but now that we have them replaced are fantastic. September 20, 2013
Essence Casement Windows -- very nice could use slight improvement We love having casement windows--check with the installer to have all open same wall same direction to catch air flow better. These make for a nicer view since there is no middle bar. I am disappointed in the hardware latch though since it is of a plastic nature (seemingly not nearly as durable as our other brand casements) and seems like it could crack over time. We love the Milgard lifetime warranty though so that should this happen we expect we can get it replaced easily. September 20, 2013
Window hardware could be better We ordered a picture window with a casement window on each side to replace an old single pane aluminum window assembly in our living room. The windows were unfinished douglas fir. The overall quality of the window assembly is adequate, but we had a few surprises. Some parts of the window (the side of the window that covers the casement latches) are not solid wood, but are a thin veneer over fiberglass. The window latches and the trim around the latches look like metal, but are plastic, as are the covers for the casement cranks. We discovered this when the plastic latch and trim on one of the two casement windows broke right after installation. The folks that sold us the window said that Milgard would send replacements, but we haven't received them yet. On a separate note, Milgard doesn't provide much information about finishing the wood window. Some of the wood components are fairly difficult to access for finishing The company seems to focus primarily on architects and contractors. Overall we are happy with the look and operation of the windows but wonder if another brand of wood window would have been a better choice. September 18, 2013
Window I really am unsure of the windows I have but I appreciate the warranty service. Our problem was taken care of promptly and without hassel. I would recommend the windows based on the fact that you really do back up your product. September 11, 2013
Dependable company great product I have been buying Milgard windows for 30 years for new construction and remodel projects. The look and utility is excellent. I trust the product and trust the companyl September 11, 2013
Excellent post sale services. Our windows are Vinyl Classic, a higher end than others then made but no longer offered. Excellent service post sale. September 10, 2013
I am so pleased with Milgard product, their service and warranty. although it was difficult to communicate via email and limited phone call, i received the best service and replacement of all troubled areas relating to windows throughout my home. thank you to the customer service call center, to the workers and all involved to assist me with my windows! September 10, 2013
This product is difficult to use I find closing and latching this door hard to operate. Moving the handle up to latch the door securely is awkward for both my wife and me. It is not intuitive to first time users, guest. September 10, 2013
great product and excellent customer service I've been very happy with the windows that were installed at our house. The house is noticeably warmer and it's easier to open the windows when the weathers nice. We had a kitchen window crack possibly from extreme cold and they replaced it no questions asked. The first time the window they sent out wasn't an exact match so they came right back a day or so later and made it right. Quality product and great service! September 10, 2013
this windows really has a good featurres the windows is really awesome we really like it but the sliding door and the screen is not really good dos not have good feature the screen is not closing and the in side look so cheap the hardware very skinny not look good at all so we will not recommend this door to any one . September 4, 2013
Beautiful inside and out. The quality in the design and construction of the window is superb. It is noticeably cooler and quieter in my rooms. Take care that you have reputable installers so that the trim is installed correctly to complete the finished product. You will find yourself admiring your new windows for some time. I did. August 1, 2013
Love the look and the way they glide.. Love these windows to death, will brag about them to every one I know. Also would like to say that the men who installed them were very professional, and very nice. July 12, 2013
These Awnings are Awesome! After installing a Milgard Essence glass front door with which we could not be more happy, we proceeded to order our new windows. We were so pleased to to see that our new awning windows were so well packaged for delivery. Milgard made the xtra effort to ensure they arrived in great shape for our installation. Our windows are quite large yet they operate effortlessly as the hardware is strong and efficient. Inside and out these windows add beauty, warmth and value to our home. We could not be more pleased and will continue to use Milgard Essence as our only source of windows in the future. March 22, 2013
Windows leak and whistle when wind is blowing Purchased 6 Essence double-hung windows because of the wood appearance at local showroom. Visually the windows look great. Unfortunately, shortly after installation the first wind storm arrived and I immediately heard a whistling sound coming from the windows. Not just one window but all 6 windows had the same issue. We have had subsequent wind storms and each time the windows have the same issue...leaking and whistling. While waiting on service we have had to resort to minimizing the leaking and whistling by inserting folded strips of paper in every slit between the window/glass and the frame. We have noticed that as soon as the wind kicks up the rooms where these windows are located become drafty and cold. Hoping that service can come up with a solution... and soon! February 20, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Answer Center

Products

Need help?

Contact Us Find a Dealer Help Me Choose Help Me Budget