Ultra™ Series Out-Swing French Fiberglass Doors

A new version of our traditional Out-Swing French door features a larger frame and a multi-point locking system. Designer levers and full-length matching backplates create a modern take on classic American door hardware design. With fixed or operating sidelites and a variety of transom styles, the out-swing door is traditional and space saving all at the same time.

Every window and door purchase is different. Get pricing information and estimates on your project.

Details for Ultra™ Series Out-Swing French Fiberglass Doors:

Ultra™ Series Out-Swing French Fiberglass Doors
  • Enjoy real peace of mind with our industry-leading Full Lifetime Warranty with Glass Breakage.
  • Enhance energy performance with the Triple Glazed option.
  • See superior energy savings and protection against fabric fading with Milgard's SunCoat® Low-E glass.
  • Low profile 1/2" sill is appropriate for ADA-compliant applications.
  • Have custom made to your home's exact specifications with no extended lead time.
  • Fear no weather. Milgard's durable, low-maintenance fiberglass produces a door that is impervious to water, insects, salt air and ultraviolet rays. Will not crack, peel, bend, warp or stick due to expansion and contraction.
  • Get a larger, stronger, stiffer frame with a fiberglass sill.
  • Feel safer with the increased security and performance of our multi-point stainless steel locking system.
  • Achieve the exact look you want. Order in any of our factory-painted colors (guaranteed not to peel or eggshell) or in a custom color applied at the factory. You can also paint the door yourself.
  • Choose a designer lever handle, available in multiple colors.

Security and performance is key. That's why the Out-Swing French door comes standard with three-point locking hardware to increase security and performance. The lock is stainless steel to resist corrosion, and the thumb-turn style makes it apparent when the door is locked.

Standard Hardware – Interior and Exterior

  • Standard Hardware 1Madrona (standard)
  • Standard Hardware 2Meridian (upgrade)
  • Standard Hardware 3Mastri (upgrade)

Available Colors2

  • WhiteWhite
  • TanTan
  • ClayClay
  • Slate BlackSlate Black
  • Oil-Rubbed Bronze (non-living finish)Oil-Rubbed Bronze (non-living finish)
  • Brushed ChromeBrushed Chrome
  • Satin NickelSatin Nickel

Choose from seven versatile exterior factory-painted exterior colors (guaranteed not to peel or eggshell) or a custom color applied at the factory. You can also paint the door yourself.

Exterior Frame Colors/White Interior2 Pair a crisp white interior door with any of the following exterior colors.

  • WhiteWhite
  • TanTan
  • SandSand
  • Matte BlackMatte Black
  • Hunter GreenHunter Green
  • BrownstoneBrownstone
  • CranberryCranberry

Matching Exterior/Interior Frame Colors2 Carry your exterior color to the interior for a color-matched door inside and out. Select any of the options below.

  • TanTan
  • Matte BlackMatte Black
  • BrownstoneBrownstone

Add privacy with our many styles of obscure glass where door coverings are impractical or undesirable. Glass can be tempered so it breaks into little pebble-like pieces without sharp edges for extra safety. Talk with your Milgard Dealer for specifics.

Obscure – Milgard's obscure door and window glass protects your privacy but allows abundant light to enter the room. Choose from a variety of colors and texture patterns for a translucent to semi-opaque effect.

  • P516P516
  • Narrow Reed Window GlassNarrow Reed
  • Cross Reed Window GlassCross Reed
  • Aquatex Window GlassAquatex
  • #42 Clear Window Glass#42 Clear
  • Glue Chip Window GlassGlue Chip
  • Rain Window GlassRain
  • MatteluxMattelux

Tinted – Tinted door and window glass provides additional shading from direct sunlight and warm conditions. Choose from a variety of tones and thicknesses.

  • SunCoat™ Low-ESunCoat® Low-E
  • BronzeBronze
  • GrayGray
  • EvergreenEvergreen
  • AzurliteAzurlite

Additional Glass Options – For even higher performance, Milgard offers these door and window glass options.

  • Tempered – Tempered glass is extremely strong and often used for its safety characteristics. Not only is it extra strong, but when it breaks, it breaks into little pebble-like pieces without sharp edges. Tempered glass is ideal for reducing the likelihood of injury in the event of breakage in applications like patio doors, sidelites and bathroom enclosures for showers and tubs.
  • Laminated – Laminated glass is highly effective in reducing noise. It also eliminates 99.9% of ultraviolet rays, providing the highest degree of protection from the sun for your home furnishings. Concerned about excessive outdoor noise? Get the utmost protection against noise with our Sound Control Windows.
  • Argon/Air Mix – Optional argon gas, used between panes, is also available to further improve thermal performance.

Dramatically increase your home's curb appeal with our many inside-the-glass and outside-the-glass options. Select grid choices placed inside our insulated glass for easiest window cleaning. Grid options are also available in transoms and sidelites. Talk with your Milgard Dealer for specifics.

Energy Efficiency Upgrades – Talk to your dealer for more information about energy efficiency upgrades, including Milgard's Triple Glazed option.

Grid Options3 – As viewed from the inside of the window looking out.

  • Grid Options 15/8" Flat
  • Grid Options 23/4" Vintage
  • Grid Options 31-1/16" Sculptured
  • Grid Options 41-1/8" Vintage
  • Grid Options 5Craftsman
  • Grid Options 6Legacy
Ultra™ Series Out-Swing French Fiberglass Doors
  • 1 Panel Min Max: Min 2'6" x 6'8" Max 3'0" x 8'0"
  • 2 Panel Min Max: Min 5'0" x 6'8" Max 6'0" x 8'0"
  • 3 Panel Min Max: Min 7'6" x 6'8" Max 9'0" x 8'0"
  • 4 Panel Min Max: Min 10'0" x 6'8" Max 12'0" x 8'0"

Need more technical details?

Go to milgard.com/professionals/

Every window project is different. It's hard to provide an accurate cost range as a house can vary greatly in the number and size of its windows. Costs also depend on the frame material and glass options. Double and triple-glazed windows, or those filled with argon gas, increase energy savings but add to initial upfront costs. Often government or power company incentives include additional tax deductions or rebates for making energy-saving improvements to your home. These incentives may significantly reduce a project's total costs. You may be pleasantly surprised to discover how affordable a window replacement project can be.

For a detailed quote that accounts for the many important considerations, click on the "Request a Quote" option below and request a competitive, no-obligation, free price quote from your local Milgard Certified Dealer.

If you are looking for a quick rough estimate that does not account for many of these important considerations click on the "Help Me Budget" option below.

Ultraâ„¢ Series Out-Swing French Door 4.1 5 32 32
Best Windows ever! We installed new windows and a patio door unit from Milgard in our new home. They are well constructed and look very nice. Most important they are excellent energy savers. That is so important as we live in the Arizona desert. We did receive one of the windows damaged but Milgard sent a replacement immediately. Wonderful windows, wonderful company. Thank you Milgard. April 17, 2014
Screens easily fall out and break; windows jam; not energy efficient We have had Milgard out to repair the windows and they get 'unbalanced' and can't be slid up or down without extreme difficulty. The large windows had very loose screens which Milgard said they couldn't do anything about. They are not secured well and fall out easily. Since they are on the second story, they are all broken from crashing down. The little double hung on the bathroom also lost its screen, although that took ~ 5 years. The others broke and we haven't found anyone to be able to replace them as they secure to the rubber gasket. The windows lose their shape over time and there are gaps now between the upper and lower windows and along the side, allowing cold air in. Calling for support is easy - but having someone call you back after leaving a message is hard. Now trying to log support call via the website. Really disappointed given the cost. Also had hardware break on awning window. Needless to say, when we remodeled another part of the house we did not go with Milgard. April 13, 2014
Sound reduction We purchased new windows to cut down on heat loss and lower noise levels from traffic. The Milgard Ultra windows achieved our purposes. Our home was much cheaper to heat. The noise levels were significantly reduced to a background level that was easily ignored. January 16, 2014
Not worth the price you pay We bought this product with the understanding that they are the best on the market, we were wrong. Firstly the door opening mechanism is cheap and there is so much play that it moves an inch before the handle engages. The fiberglass framing was not correctly joined so the frame was not 100% straight and the seals on the bottom fall off when you touch them with your foot (I siliconed them in to stay). The door also has a very cheap sound when you close them and the locking mechanism is extremely complicated resulting in me inadvertently leaving the back door unlocked many times. To add insult to injury we had hair (black and curly) in-between the panes but milguard did replace them for free only that they put the new glass in upside down with the grids not exactly straight (inside as well). In my opinion they are cutting way too many costs and unfortunately I am stuck with the result. January 9, 2014
Signle Ultra door is good. Operational sidelites and not so. We installed single outswing door with two operational sidelites. Generally product quality is pretty good. Fit and finish is pretty good. We experienced some locking issues with two operational sidelites, which resulted in 5-6 visit over almost a year, replacement of locking mechanisms and replacement of one sidelite door. Is wasn't quite helping. Till they sent the service tech to install $0.50 spacers between the mechanism and the handle, which cured the problem. Apparently without these spacers the multi-lock sidelite mechanism was twisting and it contribute to it to stuck too many times. It looks like this product is still new on the market or there disconnect between their their support and engineering. It looks like they still engineering the product as they sell it. I would buy an Ultra single swing door in the future from them. Wasn't quite impressed by the quality of their sidelites or double doors. October 16, 2013
Excellent I couldn't be happier with these windows. They totally improved the appearance of my house. I had all my windows replaced; fifty total. I have single hung, casement, picture and awning. They are all fantastic! October 14, 2013
Good value, but poor screen door. Overall, I am happy with this product, but the screen door is cheap and has had to have been replaced twice. The first screen door slid off its track and fell off. Milgard came out to repair. The first door was mis-sized from the factory. The replacement is OK, but I am still unimpressed with the quality of the slide and the lock could be better. September 3, 2013
Poor lock We have been having issue with the lock. Milgard has come up a few times to adjust it, but the problem came back less than a few weeks later each time. It's frustrating because we cannot seem to lock our back door. Very poor quality. I would not recommend it to anybody. August 13, 2013
Great windows with exceptional customer service Installed 34 windows both sliders and single hung. Looks like I move to a new house. The low E glass is extremely effecient at block out the southern California heat and when these windows are closed they do a great job eliminating outside sounds. August 8, 2013
Superb performance and appearance We live in a now historically designated neighborhood in Oregon. Our 1919 Cape Cod has 53 windows on 3 stories. The windows on the upper 2 floors had in particular deteriorated over the years. We researched extensively replacement window options with a goal of respecting the architecture of the house, achieving energy savings and gaining functionality. In the end, these fiberglass windows best met al of our requirements. We replaced all the windows on the second and third floors, a combination of double hung and casement windows. All included grids that replicated those on the wood windows they were replacing. We are 4+ years with these 30+ new windows and could not be more satisfied. They substantially reduce noise, eliminated the prominent drafts we had previously, perform perfectly (up-down and in-out) and look great. Only if you are very close can you tell they are not wood. June 30, 2013
Jammed the very first time I operated it. The very first time I operated this window, the sash jammed very solidly against each other. The window is stuck open and I cannot get it closed. May 10, 2013
Great Product We researched for windows for over 5 months. We found the warranty to be great and the product was what we were looking for. We replaced 14 windows. Most of the windows were surrounded with stucco and brick. Care was taken to not damage either. We are very happy with how they look inside and out. The day they were installed there was a lot of wind and I couldn't feel any air leak. We are very pleased. April 3, 2013
Compare to my other products, Milgard Product isthe best. Product is Great. --Service / Quality control checking is extremely poor. March 20, 2013
Do not buy these I purchased 9 of these double hung tilt and wash window..Withen the first year I had the repair man out at least 4 times and could have had him out more, but scheduleing that was a pain in the neck. When he did show after a three week wait, he was terrible to deal with. The internal mechanisms of these windows are plastic. I did'nt know this before purchasing. I wanted a low maintenance window for tropical conditions, and better then vinyl. So fiberglass seemed like the choice. The frames cracked within 2 years and all the internal hardware CONSTANTLY stripped out because it was plastic. Additionally they are very hard to slide up and down. I'm in my 40"s and I was thinking if I were elderly it might be close to impossible if I had to get out in an emergency (glass was tempered). I even tried to spray them with silicone and other lubricants. Do not spend your money on these windows. They are terrible. Buy the way I sold the house they were in and am now in another remodel and will not buy these windows again. March 20, 2013
Heavy duty, sturdy dual pane sliders Upgraded south side of home 23 years ago with Milgard dual pane windows which continue in excellent condition. Only considered Milgard for current upgrade on west/north for windows and sliding doors. These 2 deck slider doors definitely are heavy duty, sturdy. Expect no problems for 23 years+. March 14, 2013
Outstanding Replacement Windows I have extensively researched my window selection for over two years. The windows are in our family home in Oregon built in 1925. I wanted period correct windows down to the exterior and interior look including the new fine scalloped grids. Our home has over 40 windows and they were very drafty. Our home feels so warm and comfortable and we are very happy with how the windows have enhanced the appearance of our classic craftsman two story family home. I wished I had made the decision years earlier. I have already recommended the Milgard fiberglass windows to others. February 18, 2013
Let's in lots of light! We have the 8' French door with two windows on either side the same height as the door. We have a small bedroom and this opens up the space to a lovely patio area and brings plenty of natural light into the bedroom. Elegant but sturdy--gives the room an entirely new look. We're delighted! October 23, 2012
Beautiful Window We bought a home recently that had a tiny 4' wide kitchen window facing a gorgeous view. We opened up that wall and got an 11' wide x 5' high set of Ultra fiberglass windows (2.5' casement + 6' fixed + 2.5' casement, mulled together) right at counter height. It looks beautiful, is a perfect match to the existing Milgard windows, and the price was very fair considering the quality. What that view adds to our kitchen is priceless. Thank you, Milgard! August 28, 2012
Operation difficulties and exterior paint issues Operational difficulties - the window comes with a fold-down operator which can easily interfere and mar the interior finish of the window. The operator and operation of the window makes opening of large (3'0"x5'0") casement windows from the fully closed position and to the fully closed position (for latching) forces intensive. It feels at times as if the mechanism will fail or the handle will strip. Experior paint issues - the exterior coating for the fibeglas frame is easily scratched, chipped or scuffed revealing the white fiberglas underneath. We have been unable to get a "touch up kit" to recover these issues. Having these these issues addressed for the next generation of windows would make them superlative. April 3, 2012
The Ultra Series windows and Patio door have greatly improved the energy efficiency in my home. The Ultra Series windows and patio door have greatly improved the energy efficiency in my home.These products replaced single glazed aluminum framed windows so there was a noticeble improvemnet in cooling and heating costs as well as improving upon the level of quietness in my home. For the 12 month period post-installation there was almost a 30% decrease in energy consumption in my all electric home. My only criticism is in the quality of the trim work on the exterior frames. I have a brown-tone exterior frame and white interior. Though the interior finishes only have minor flaws, there are several to be found on the exterior, such as excess glue leakage at the joints which dust sticks to and chipped brown tone paint on several windows and on one window about 1/4' gap on a trim piece. Overall I am happy with the windows as my goal was to improve upon the comfort level in my home which these windows have accomplished. April 2, 2012
We love our Milgard Ultra Fiberglas Windows!!! We are very glad we had Milgard Ultra Fiberglas windows installed a few years ago. They are easy to open, easy to clean, beautiful, insulate well, and we're looking forward to enjoying them for years to come. The only thing of which I know that I would change is the fuzzy strip on the inside which is white on our white windows and shows grey in places. I'd recommend making that strip medium to dark grey to begin with since it obviously won't be staying white. My parents also had Milgard Ultra Fiberglas windows installed in their house and are enjoying them, as do we when we visit! April 1, 2012
great windows I bought 27 windows for my remodel. They were put in by a contractor while I was away. Was bummed with a couple. The corner seams were a little sloppy. Had I noticed before I would have maybe asked for replacements. But overall I like them. March 31, 2012
This product function properly all the time. This product keeps the wind and heat out of the house. They look nices and operates correctly all the time. We can now set in our kitchen without being roasted out by the heat.. March 30, 2012
Excellent weather tight construction Our double french doors face the ocean on the 2nd floor - lots of wind and pounding rain and sunshine -- they have proven up to the task. March 30, 2012
<<prev2

Footnotes

1
Min/Max is based on tested values, sizes may vary by location. Contact your local Milgard dealer for details.
2
Colors shown are approximate. Due to monitor differences, actual colors may vary slightly. Visit a dealer showroom to see actual color.
3
Color options may vary. Speak with your Milgard dealer to learn what colors are currently available.
Answer Center

Products

Need help?

Contact Us Find a Dealer Help Me Choose