Casement Essence Series® Wood Windows

Milgard® Essence Series® casement windows combine unobstructed views with great function. The nesting operator handle and slim line sash lock give the window’s interior a clean, elegant look. Casement windows are hinged on the left or right edge and swing out which gives you maximum ventilation.

Casement windows are ideal in just about any situation, and they are available in a fixed model, giving you the option to group them in combinations with casements and other operating styles.

Every window and door purchase is different. Get pricing information and estimates on your project.

Details for Casement Essence Series® Wood Windows:

Casement Essence Series® Wood Windows
  • Enjoy peace of mind with our industry-leading Full Lifetime Warranty that includes parts and labor for as long as you own your home. Essence Series also comes standard with Glass Breakage Coverage.
  • Elegant interiors with your choice of three wood options. Seal or stain our natural pine or fir to complement the wood finishes in your home. Or go with primed wood and paint the color of your choice.
  • Tough fiberglass exterior frame and sash construction. Our own secure connecting system firmly joins the Essence Series wood interior to its fiberglass exterior for an aesthetically superior appearance with no unsightly nail holes or staples.
  • Choose from a variety of traditional or contemporary grid options that provide nearly endless design flexibility.
  • Essence Series windows have superior energy efficiency performance. They meet or exceed ENERGY STAR® requirements in all zones.
  • For even higher performance, choose one of our 3D® and 3D MAX® energy packages custom tailored to your geographic location. These packages include either our standard SunCoat® Low-E insulating glass or SunCoatMAX® which provides additional protection against harmful UV rays.
  • Proprietary powder-coat process provides an extremely durable exterior coating that resists scratches and gouges. Choose from 15 exterior fiberglass colors - a palette carefully selected to complement both new and classic home styles.
  • In the rare event water enters sash system; the HydroGard® water management system protects the wood interior by harmlessly draining water away through a hidden system of water channels and drainage holes.
  • Standard charcoal fiberglass non-corrosive mesh screen. Optional extruded color-matched screen frame with internal corner keys and PureView® fiberglass mesh window screen (its smaller yarns and finer weave provide 15% more openness than standard screen for clearer views).
  • Optional taller bottom rail matches traditional proportions and sight lines of the bottom sash of double hung windows for a coordinated appearance.
  • This operating style is available in fixed models for use as a picture window.

Complete the look with hardware.

Folding nesting operating handles and slim line sash locks are standard on casements and awnings. Handles tuck out of the way to give our casement windows a sleek, elegant appearance.

Folding Nesting Operator Handle

  • Folding Nesting Operator Handle 1Closed
  • Folding Nesting Operator Handle 2Open
  • Folding Nesting Operator Handle 3Sash Lock

Available Colors1

  • WhiteWhite
  • ClayClay
  • Oil-Rubbed Bronze (non-living finish)Oil-Rubbed Bronze (non-living finish)
  • Brushed ChromeBrushed Chrome
  • Satin NickelSatin Nickel

Essence Series windows offer seemingly endless design possibilities. The fiberglass exterior comes in 15 designer colors that fit any style or trend.

Interiors are available in clear grain vertical fir, natural pine or primed pine. Seal or stain the natural pine or fir to complement the wood finishes in your home. Or go with primed wood and paint the color of your choice.

Interior Frame Color1

  • PinePine
  • Clear, Vertical-Grain Douglas FirClear, Vertical-Grain Douglas Fir
  • Primed WoodPrimed Wood

Exterior Frame Color1

  • FrostFrost
  • FogFog
  • HarmonyHarmony
  • BarkBark
  • Natural CremeNatural Creme
  • RattanRattan
  • Black BeanBlack Bean
  • FernFern
  • PebblePebble
  • Pea PodPea Pod
  • Classic BrownClassic Brown
  • CinnamonCinnamon
  • Evening SkyEvening Sky
  • TweedTweed
  • TwilightTwilight

Add privacy where window coverings are impractical or undesirable with our many styles of obscure glass. Glass can be tempered for extra safety or to meet code requirements.

Obscure – Milgard's obscure door and window glass protects your privacy but allows abundant light to enter the room. Choose from a variety of colors and texture patterns for a translucent to semi-opaque effect.

  • P516P516
  • Narrow Reed Window GlassNarrow Reed
  • Cross Reed Window GlassCross Reed
  • Aquatex Window GlassAquatex
  • #42 Clear Window Glass#42 Clear
  • Glue Chip Window GlassGlue Chip
  • Rain Window GlassRain
  • MatteluxMattelux

Tinted – Tinted door and window glass provides additional shading from direct sunlight and warm conditions. Choose from a variety of tones and thicknesses.

  • SunCoat™ Low-ESunCoat® Low-E
  • BronzeBronze
  • GrayGray
  • EvergreenEvergreen
  • AzurliteAzurlite

Additional Glass Options – For even higher performance, Milgard offers these door and window glass options.

  • Tempered – Tempered glass is extremely strong and often used for its safety characteristics. Not only is it extra strong, but when it breaks, it breaks into little pebble-like pieces without sharp edges. Tempered glass is ideal for reducing the likelihood of injury in the event of breakage in applications like patio doors, sidelites and bathroom enclosures for showers and tubs.
  • Laminated – Laminated glass is highly effective in reducing noise. It also eliminates 99.9% of ultraviolet rays, providing the highest degree of protection from the sun for your home furnishings. Concerned about excessive outdoor noise? Get the utmost protection against noise with our Sound Control Windows.
  • Argon/Air Mix – Optional argon gas, used between panes, is also available to further improve thermal performance.

Energy Efficiency Upgrades – 3D® and 3D MAX® energy packages maximize performance with innovative SunCoat®, SunCoatMAX®, EdgeGard™ or EdgeGardMAX™. (3D MAX availability is based on region.) Learn more >

  • Energy Efficiency Upgrades 1

Grid Options – As viewed from the inside of the window looking out.

  • Grid Options 1Flat (various sizes)4
  • Grid Options 2Sculptured (various sizes)5
  • Grid Options 3Vintage (various sizes)6

Essence Frame Accessories – These beautiful and durable aluminum frames feature snap-in installation and require no painting. There are no visible fasteners or holes to putty, giving the windows a clean look. Because they are made from aluminum, they will not rot, split, crack or warp. Essence Frame Accessories provide a quick and easy solution to expensive and labor-intensive wood trim and are virtually maintenance free.

Essence Frame Accessories are factory finished for a color match with the window frame and are available in all Essence exterior colors. Colors can be matched to the window or door, or a coordinating color can be used as an accent. With all the combinations available, Essence Frame Accessories will complement virtually any style of home.

  • Essence Frame Accessories 1
  • Essence Frame Accessories 2Flush
  • Essence Frame Accessories 3Mitered
  • Essence Frame Accessories 4Flat Casing Flush
  • Essence Frame Accessories 5Flat Casing Mitered
  • Essence Frame Accessories 6Flat Casing with Head & Sill Horns
  • Essence Frame Accessories 7Brickmould Miter with sill

Availability – Essence Series Frame Accessories are available in these styles and combinations.

  • Availability 1
Casement Essence Series® Wood Windows

Need more technical details?

Go to milgard.com/professionals/

Every window project is different. It's hard to provide an accurate cost range as a house can vary greatly in the number and size of its windows. Costs also depend on the frame material and glass options. Double and triple-glazed windows, or those filled with argon gas, increase energy savings but add to initial upfront costs. Often government or power company incentives include additional tax deductions or rebates for making energy-saving improvements to your home. These incentives may significantly reduce a project's total costs. You may be pleasantly surprised to discover how affordable a window replacement project can be.

For a detailed quote that accounts for the many important considerations, click on the "Request a Quote" option below and request a competitive, no-obligation, free price quote from your local Milgard Certified Dealer.

If you are looking for a quick rough estimate that does not account for many of these important considerations click on the "Help Me Budget" option below.

Essence Series® Casement Window 4.1 5 38 38
Poor quality The door machanism does not work properly. These are very expensive doors and have not worked correctly. Very disappointed with quality. December 24, 2013
Beautiful Doors These outswing French Doors are beautiful. Make sure to get specifics on operable sidelights and screens. We were told sidelight screens were included but apparently they are not. November 14, 2013
Excellent Cusomter Service I had a problem with window closing after 9 years of use. The rep David Vargas came out and determine the problem right away with professional knowledge and insight. I highly recommend using Milgard's and will buy their product again. November 5, 2013
Fantastic product Milgards products are top notch! We have been installing Milgard windows and doors for 10 years. Never had a problem with Milgards products they are simple to install and extremely well made! My clients love the warranty. Northern California Contractor October 5, 2013
Cloudy again The people at Milgard have all been great. The person I scheduled installation with and the guy who came to install were very nice and courteous; however, a large number of the replacement windows that were installed, less than 2 months ago, have already clouded up again. I will have to call those nice people again. September 29, 2013
Glider Window Review -- Smoothly operational Our Essence Glider windows are fantastic. We love the one-touch automatic locking feature that comes with Essence. We love that Essence has the special chamber in case of outside water that keeps our interior wood frames dry. The windows are very solid and close smoothly. We could not be happier with them. Also, we highly recommend the Pure View screen upgrade option since you cannot see the screen at all. Recommended especially for windows you spend a lot of time in front of with a view. They are delicate and were damaged on install but now that we have them replaced are fantastic. September 20, 2013
Essence Casement Windows -- very nice could use slight improvement We love having casement windows--check with the installer to have all open same wall same direction to catch air flow better. These make for a nicer view since there is no middle bar. I am disappointed in the hardware latch though since it is of a plastic nature (seemingly not nearly as durable as our other brand casements) and seems like it could crack over time. We love the Milgard lifetime warranty though so that should this happen we expect we can get it replaced easily. September 20, 2013
Window hardware could be better We ordered a picture window with a casement window on each side to replace an old single pane aluminum window assembly in our living room. The windows were unfinished douglas fir. The overall quality of the window assembly is adequate, but we had a few surprises. Some parts of the window (the side of the window that covers the casement latches) are not solid wood, but are a thin veneer over fiberglass. The window latches and the trim around the latches look like metal, but are plastic, as are the covers for the casement cranks. We discovered this when the plastic latch and trim on one of the two casement windows broke right after installation. The folks that sold us the window said that Milgard would send replacements, but we haven't received them yet. On a separate note, Milgard doesn't provide much information about finishing the wood window. Some of the wood components are fairly difficult to access for finishing The company seems to focus primarily on architects and contractors. Overall we are happy with the look and operation of the windows but wonder if another brand of wood window would have been a better choice. September 18, 2013
Window I really am unsure of the windows I have but I appreciate the warranty service. Our problem was taken care of promptly and without hassel. I would recommend the windows based on the fact that you really do back up your product. September 11, 2013
Dependable company great product I have been buying Milgard windows for 30 years for new construction and remodel projects. The look and utility is excellent. I trust the product and trust the companyl September 11, 2013
Excellent post sale services. Our windows are Vinyl Classic, a higher end than others then made but no longer offered. Excellent service post sale. September 10, 2013
I am so pleased with Milgard product, their service and warranty. although it was difficult to communicate via email and limited phone call, i received the best service and replacement of all troubled areas relating to windows throughout my home. thank you to the customer service call center, to the workers and all involved to assist me with my windows! September 10, 2013
This product is difficult to use I find closing and latching this door hard to operate. Moving the handle up to latch the door securely is awkward for both my wife and me. It is not intuitive to first time users, guest. September 10, 2013
great product and excellent customer service I've been very happy with the windows that were installed at our house. The house is noticeably warmer and it's easier to open the windows when the weathers nice. We had a kitchen window crack possibly from extreme cold and they replaced it no questions asked. The first time the window they sent out wasn't an exact match so they came right back a day or so later and made it right. Quality product and great service! September 10, 2013
this windows really has a good featurres the windows is really awesome we really like it but the sliding door and the screen is not really good dos not have good feature the screen is not closing and the in side look so cheap the hardware very skinny not look good at all so we will not recommend this door to any one . September 4, 2013
Beautiful inside and out. The quality in the design and construction of the window is superb. It is noticeably cooler and quieter in my rooms. Take care that you have reputable installers so that the trim is installed correctly to complete the finished product. You will find yourself admiring your new windows for some time. I did. August 1, 2013
Love the look and the way they glide.. Love these windows to death, will brag about them to every one I know. Also would like to say that the men who installed them were very professional, and very nice. July 12, 2013
These Awnings are Awesome! After installing a Milgard Essence glass front door with which we could not be more happy, we proceeded to order our new windows. We were so pleased to to see that our new awning windows were so well packaged for delivery. Milgard made the xtra effort to ensure they arrived in great shape for our installation. Our windows are quite large yet they operate effortlessly as the hardware is strong and efficient. Inside and out these windows add beauty, warmth and value to our home. We could not be more pleased and will continue to use Milgard Essence as our only source of windows in the future. March 22, 2013
Windows leak and whistle when wind is blowing Purchased 6 Essence double-hung windows because of the wood appearance at local showroom. Visually the windows look great. Unfortunately, shortly after installation the first wind storm arrived and I immediately heard a whistling sound coming from the windows. Not just one window but all 6 windows had the same issue. We have had subsequent wind storms and each time the windows have the same issue...leaking and whistling. While waiting on service we have had to resort to minimizing the leaking and whistling by inserting folded strips of paper in every slit between the window/glass and the frame. We have noticed that as soon as the wind kicks up the rooms where these windows are located become drafty and cold. Hoping that service can come up with a solution... and soon! February 20, 2013
the windows are beautiful and well insulated I am unable to give a complete review of the Milgard Essence series, because although the windows are beautiful and well constructed we have had some problems which have not been resolved. The company and the installer have been willing partners to work with in attempting to fix the problem, but it is not yet resolved 6 months after installation. Our windows were installed in Aug. 2012. more than 50% of them had some substance either between the glass or on the outside of the window. After multiple attempts at washing it off, several of the windows were replaced. We still have some affected windows, but at this time of year the angle of the sun is such that the imperfections are not visible. Next summer, we anticipate that the problem will be resolved, most likely by replacement of the defective windows. We have no reason to believe that either Milgard or the installer will not continue to honor the unique lifetime warranty that comes with Milgard windows. I can't emphasize too much that the level of support has been flawless. Hopefully I will be able to write another review next summer that will be unequivically and completely positive. January 25, 2013
This is a beautiful, well built window. We are very pleased with the Essence windows installed in our home. The quality of the window is outstanding and the beauty of the clear grain fir interior of the has added a warmth and richness to our home. January 2, 2013
Excellent windows Most notable to me is the quality construction of the windows. We purchased a total of 9 windows and each one worked perfectly. The locking mechanism is pretty much automatic and the movement is precise. We had one flaw with a bent frame on a window screen and true to our contractors opinion, it was replaced promptly, no questions asked. Thanks Milgard. December 19, 2012
oversized Milgard Clasic Vynl Garden window Many kuddos to Express Window Services for their professionalism and flexibility. As well, they performed a beautiful installation without a mess during or after their time here. Thank you for referring them to me. I will use them again as needed as well Milgard products. The new garden window is beautiful and functional. November 15, 2012
Best exterior of any brand! No ugly clad seams. Our first job with Essence was a huge 8 ft by 7 ft triple double hung with a 1/3 barset. Wow it looks great and is the smoothes acting window ever. The customer loves it and even came back in just to tell us how great it is. The exterior finish is a painted wood look (We used the green exterior to match the customers existing 1940's windows). It is not the clad aluminum or vinyl coatings the other brands use. We are now using it in a 1911 historical restoration as well as for an upgrade in a newer home. Thanks Milgard, Dave D.P. Door Co. Rancho Cucamonga & Claremont Calif. November 5, 2012
The size of our windows makes them very difficult to close and lock The windows we purchased and had installed are very difficult to close and line up to lock. We were not warned before purchase that because of the size and style of our window it may be difficult to close them. Also Milgard has outside contractors order and install its windows. Which i think hurts your buisness because i think i would have been informed a head of time about the difficulty of closing this style of windows when deciding which product was best for our house. November 2, 2012
Quality, Service and Price I researched the market for 2 months looking for the best American window that was 1. not plastic or wood 2. had thermally broken glazing system 3. triple pane 4. had real gaskets. 5 sadly my client wanted double hung We're Rocky Mountain Passive House. We normally don't use any American made windows in our buildings. They're not good enough. When compromising overall u-value and going American, Milgard fiberglass is the best price, performance of any American made window. The ultra double hung, triple pane, t &t, is just better quality than the other big manufacturers. October 24, 2012
nice windows but.... a challenge to open because it lacks that lip at the bottom of window to grab onto to pull window up. Very frustrating! there's one at the top but we shouldn't have to always pull up blinds to open a window. Also I have yet to be able to shut completely enough to be able to lock it. Must not be properly installed. August 22, 2012
Product "Great" - Support "Not So Much" The product came as advertised, however there was NO DOCUMENTATION WHATSOEVER! Because I had NO INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS, I did not know the wood clad interior trim could easily be removed to drill the screw hole for installing... so I drilled through the trim and then had to fill and repaint. Only with the 3rd large window did a trim accidentally come off and I learned it was removable. Several hours wasted. A balancer spring snapped on 1 window, like a rifle shot. I was surprised it did not shatter the window or injure me. This led to the discovery that all the balancer springs were the wrong size and needed replacement. Milgard sent subcontractors to do the work. They missed the 1st appointment time, and did not have the right parts the next 2 times, finally getting it right after about 2.5 months. I am very pleased with the product for the price (I am a licensed building contractor). I would never consider Milgard again if I depended on their service and support. Lack of documentation and unprepared technicians is inexcusable. April 2, 2012
one window easily came off track. i like the windows installed, i love the thickness of the glass. March 30, 2012
Bad Design The windows are constructed great. Wood stain looks great. Absolutely horrible design of the screen mounting for casement windows. Makes it impossible to mount our shades inside the window frame. It looks like we need ot mount them outisde thuse covering up all the stained wood we paid extra to have and match our house. Had we known this we could paid half the price for simple fiberglass windows. Very disappointed in spending the extra money for these. Also poor design of half round. The casement was only 2 inches thich. Had to order a custom casement for the additional 2 inches for a standard wall. Hopefully all the kinks are worked out with the design as they move along with this new product. Shows not to be the first on a new product February 6, 2012
<<prev2

Footnotes

1
Colors shown are approximate. Due to monitor differences, actual colors may vary slightly. Visit a dealer showroom to see actual color.
2
Min/Max is based on tested values, sizes may vary by location. Contact your local Milgard dealer for details.
3
Information based on the standard configuration with SunCoat®, EdgeGard™ and air-filled glass. Different glazing, spacer and fill options will result in different u-factors. More details can be found on in the Performance Ratings document above.
4
Flat grid available in 5/8"
5
Contoured grid available in 1-1/16"
6
Vintage SDL available in 3/4", 1-1/8" and 2-1/4"
Answer Center

Products

Need help?

Contact Us Find a Dealer Help Me Choose Help Me Budget