Casement Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows

Graceful styling and high-tech engineering make Milgard's casement fiberglass window a popular choice for contemporary and modern homes and is an ideal wood replacement given its depth of frame. It is also a great option for bedrooms requiring possible egress.

Every window and door purchase is different. Get pricing information and estimates on your project.

Details for Casement Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows:

Casement Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
  • Improve efficiency with our 3D® and 3D MAX® energy packages custom tailored to your geographic location.
  • Reduce energy consumption with our standard SunCoat® Low-E insulating glass or the SunCoatMAX® option, which provides additional protection against fabric fading.
  • Upgrade to a premium screen. Milgard's PureView® window screens install and remove in a snap, plus provide a crisp and clear view with their smaller yarns and finer mesh.
  • Have custom made to your home's exact specifications with no extra charge or extended lead time.
  • Enjoy real peace of mind with our industry-leading Full Lifetime Warranty with Glass Breakage.
  • Allow maximum ventilation with Milgard jamb hinges that open completely outward.
  • Live worry-free—fiberglass windows are impervious to water, cold, heat, insects, salt air and ultraviolet rays for long life and virtually zero maintenance. Will not crack, peel, bend, warp or stick due to expansion and contraction.
  • Enhance energy performance with the Triple Glazed option.
  • Order in custom shapes, sizes and hundreds of configurations that enhance the beauty of any home.
  • Add the perfect finishing touch with our large selection of hardware and grid options designed to complement a variety of architectural styles.
  • Replace wood casements easily-our casements come in the ideal frame depth for replacing wood windows. We also offer frame options that are not available in wood.

Milgard hardware is stainless steel and tailor-made to seal our windows weathertight. Meets or exceeds California forced-entry codes–some of the toughest in the nation.

Curtain Knob

  • Curtain Knob 1

Available Colors1

  • WhiteWhite
  • ClayClay
  • Polished BrassPolished Brass

Folding Handle – Innovative folding operating handles tuck out of the way.

  • Folding Handle 1

Available Colors1

  • WhiteWhite
  • ClayClay
  • Brushed ChromeBrushed Chrome
  • Polished BrassPolished Brass
  • Dark BronzeDark Bronze

Roto Operator

Available Colors1

  • WhiteWhite
  • ClayClay
  • Brushed ChromeBrushed Chrome
  • Polished BrassPolished Brass
  • Dark BronzeDark Bronze

Standard Handle

  • Standard Handle 1

Available Colors1

  • WhiteWhite
  • ClayClay
  • Brushed ChromeBrushed Chrome
  • Polished BrassPolished Brass
  • Dark BronzeDark Bronze

Casement Lock – Smooth, easy-to-operate action.

  • Casement Lock 1
  • Casement Lock 2

Available Colors1

  • WhiteWhite
  • ClayClay
  • Brushed ChromeBrushed Chrome
  • Polished BrassPolished Brass
  • Dark BronzeDark Bronze

Choose any of the factory-painted exterior colors that won't peel or eggshell or paint the exterior yourself.

Exterior Frame Colors/White Interior1 Pair a crisp white interior door with any of the following exterior colors.

  • WhiteWhite
  • TanTan
  • SandSand
  • Matte BlackMatte Black
  • Hunter GreenHunter Green
  • BrownstoneBrownstone
  • CranberryCranberry

Matching Exterior/Interior Frame Colors1 Carry your exterior color to the interior for a color-matched door inside and out. Select any of the options below.

  • TanTan
  • Matte BlackMatte Black
  • BrownstoneBrownstone

Add privacy where window coverings are impractical or undesirable with our many styles of obscure glass. Glass can be tempered for extra safety or to meet code requirements.

Obscure – Milgard's obscure door and window glass protects your privacy but allows abundant light to enter the room. Choose from a variety of colors and texture patterns for a translucent to semi-opaque effect.

  • P516P516
  • Narrow Reed Window GlassNarrow Reed
  • Cross Reed Window GlassCross Reed
  • Aquatex Window GlassAquatex
  • #42 Clear Window Glass#42 Clear
  • Glue Chip Window GlassGlue Chip
  • Rain Window GlassRain
  • MatteluxMattelux

Tinted – Tinted door and window glass provides additional shading from direct sunlight and warm conditions. Choose from a variety of tones and thicknesses.

  • SunCoat™ Low-ESunCoat® Low-E
  • BronzeBronze
  • GrayGray
  • EvergreenEvergreen
  • AzurliteAzurlite

Additional Glass Options – For even higher performance, Milgard offers these door and window glass options.

  • Tempered – Tempered glass is extremely strong and often used for its safety characteristics. Not only is it extra strong, but when it breaks, it breaks into little pebble-like pieces without sharp edges. Tempered glass is ideal for reducing the likelihood of injury in the event of breakage in applications like patio doors, sidelites and bathroom enclosures for showers and tubs.
  • Laminated – Laminated glass is highly effective in reducing noise. It also eliminates 99.9% of ultraviolet rays, providing the highest degree of protection from the sun for your home furnishings. Concerned about excessive outdoor noise? Get the utmost protection against noise with our Sound Control Windows.
  • Argon/Air Mix – Optional argon gas, used between panes, is also available to further improve thermal performance.

Dramatically increase your home's curb appeal by being creative with our virtually endless grid options. Select grid choices placed inside our insulated glass units for easiest window cleaning.

Energy Efficiency Upgrades – 3D® and 3D MAX® energy packages maximize performance with innovative SunCoat®, SunCoatMAX®, EdgeGard™ or EdgeGardMAX™. (3D MAX availability is based on region.) Learn more >

  • Energy Efficiency Upgrades 1

Enhanced Energy Efficiency – Get the highest energy performance with Milgard's Triple Glazed option.

  • Enhanced Energy Efficiency 1Triple Glazed Option (as shown on an Ultra Picture Window)

Grid Options3 – As viewed from the inside of the window looking out.

  • Grid Options 15/8" Flat
  • Grid Options 23/4" Vintage
  • Grid Options 31-1/16" Sculptured
  • Grid Options 41-1/8" Vintage
  • Grid Options 5Craftsman
  • Grid Options 6Legacy
Casement Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
  • Min Max: Min 1'6" by 2'0" Max 3'0" by 5'0" or 2'6" by 6'0"
  • Minimum Egress: 2'6" by 4'0" or 3'0" by 3'0"
  • U-Value: 0.35 (Milgard can tailor an energy package to meet energy tax credit requirements.)

Need more technical details?

Go to milgard.com/professionals/

Every window project is different. It's hard to provide an accurate cost range as a house can vary greatly in the number and size of its windows. Costs also depend on the frame material and glass options. Double and triple-glazed windows, or those filled with argon gas, increase energy savings but add to initial upfront costs. Often government or power company incentives include additional tax deductions or rebates for making energy-saving improvements to your home. These incentives may significantly reduce a project's total costs. You may be pleasantly surprised to discover how affordable a window replacement project can be.

For a detailed quote that accounts for the many important considerations, click on the "Request a Quote" option below and request a competitive, no-obligation, free price quote from your local Milgard Certified Dealer.

If you are looking for a quick rough estimate that does not account for many of these important considerations click on the "Help Me Budget" option below.

Ultraâ„¢ Series Casement Window 4 5 42 42
Not Weather Tight I ordered two french doors with fixed side lights. Despite the side lights being fixed, they leaked and I could hear and feel the wind coming through both the side lights and the door frame. December 4, 2014
A decent window for the price. The screen is a little difficult to get out and the paint on exterior frame gets faded. November 29, 2014
Don't waste your money We ordered the Ultra series out-swing french doors with sidelights and screen. The sidelights feature is very poorly designed because the screens are on the inside instead of the outside as one would expect. It is awkward to have to push the screen to open it, then unlatch the sidelight door, which is placed way to close to the inside of the frame, making it extremely difficult to open. Then you would shut the screen again to keep the bugs out. Despite asking several vendors about the outswing french doors, not one person mentioned this flaw in design for the sidelights. In fact, they sold us on the feature that the sidelights would open in (therefore, the screens would be on the outside, which is reasonable). I hope Milgard will change this bad feature of the door so that the sidelights open in--and make it easier to unlatch the door by not placing the handle so close to the frame. I was told that because we ordered the Ultra Series, the sidelights only open in the direction the french doors open. Also, paint on the hinges easily chipped off exposing an unprimed hinge underneath. I was highly disappointed in this product and wish we had been given proper information from the vendors. November 13, 2014
Years of use and not a single problem! This is the second house I've used Milgard windows in. In the year 2002, I put Milgard windows in my 7th house, located in Durango, CO. That house is now a rental of mine. Not a single problem with any of them in all that time. There are some sliders, some casements and one awning. They all open, close and lock like new to this day. Interior screens, low-e double paned glass were what drew me to them originally. Some were replacements for insecure, old aluminum windows that were terribly inefficient, had a lot of solar gain in the summer, and many had failing seals. Others were casement and awning styles for the additional rooms created with a remodel, and replacements for the upper floor rooms. What a huge difference they made in sound transmission (so little afterwards) and no more air leakage. The energy bills really dropped for both winter and summer. When it came time to redo my current personal home in 2011 (which is house #6 for me), I had 4 casement Ultra windows, with low-e triple panes, put into a new addition (my new office) on the 2nd floor, over the living room. Two windows face directly east, one south and one north. They are perfect! I've never had any issues with them at all either. Love that the screens are inside mounted as it makes cleaning the windows so easy. There is virtually no outside noise from the backyard and neighbors anymore, when they are closed, and no solar gain either. The room is very quiet and very comfortable temperature-wise too. With the summer sun shining on them, if you put your hand on the glass, there is very little heat passing through. Keeps the office cool in the summer and warm in the winter. I also had an awning Ultra window installed on the west side of the house in another new addition I call the nook. It's actually an extension across the hall from my new office space, and is above the front foyer of the house. Currently, the room is used as another office space for my child and has bookshelves too. I also use the nook myself for non-work reading (cookbooks, travel books, art books) and file storage. The awning window faces due west. It's also triple paned low-e, and an inside mounted screen. When I sit at the nook desk, I hear almost no street noise at all, and there's very little solar gain. This nook also stays warm in the winter and cool in the summer, so no air leaking at all. So, after witnessing the wonderful virtues of the new windows, I decided to change out ALL my other windows on the first floor of the house to the Ultra series. In the basement I went with a different series from Milgard that are side sliders. What a difference they have all made in the noise coming in, the security of my house, and best of all, the energy efficiency. No more drafty rooms! I haven't had any issues with any of them. I still have more to install on the 2nd floor in the bedrooms, but these aren't going in until 2015, due to circumstances that prevented me from changing all of them earlier. I've had family members, some friends and many neighbors came over to see my whole house remodeling since I started it in 2011. They always notice how comfortable it is inside, and how quiet my house is too. I tell them it's the windows! It's why I chose these. Two sets of friends, one family member, and 3 neighbors have now switched out their old drafty windows to Milgard Ultras too. They have all said they too were very happy with the results. In general, fiberglass window frames have fewer problems than any other style of window I've ever lived with. They are far less likely to react to exterior and/or interior environmental changes. And, by the way, I've lived in no less than 16 different homes and apartments in my lifetime. I think some other people here maybe have issues for various reason. Often it's the fault of the installer, and not the windows themselves. They might have soil movement and/or house shifting issues, or more humidity where they live, which can make a big difference in performance too. When I start building my next house in 3 years, a straw bale one, I'm going to use Milgard Fiberglass windows again, and likely their doors too. October 28, 2014
Good product, great warranty i am satisfied with my doors. a handle broke, and the parts were sent immediately after my request. on heavier/larger doors; the gliders need to be sturdier and glide with more ease and less sound October 28, 2014
The Milgard ULTRA product and professional installation exceeded my expectations! Window replacement began as a stressful process until a contractor/friend recommended Milgard. We discussed in detail all factors important to me. I was able to narrow down the manufacturer and product line to Milgard ULTRA; I then decided on new window construction (nail fin). Next step was to find a "professional" company to order and install the 9 windows. Cunningham Doors & Windows (Santa Ana, CA) provided the best customer service. Their installers did an extraordinary job on every window. I have neighbors stop to admire and inquire about these new windows -- wow! My family is very pleased with the Milgard ULTRA windows. October 14, 2014
Superb service on Warranty I'm fairly jaded when it comes to warranty repairs of anything: in fact I forgot my 1996 installed widows and doors had the "lifetime warranty" until a friend advised me of the fact. Still somewhat wary, I called the service representative, and have received competent, cordial, and effective repair of both two sliding doors and two fixed windows. I do not impress readily, but I AM impresssed.. Excellent product! September 27, 2014
Great windows I am a contractor in Arizona. When I went looking for windows for my own home I did alot of research about windows for a hot climate. Milgard Ultra came out on top. I installed twelve casement windows 8 years ago and have been exceptionally pleased with them. The 3D glass system is amazing, our home is radically more comfortable in the summer. We live on a busy street and the traffic noise reduction is probably 90% over our old aluminum sliders. The white fiberglass frames show little to no signs of aging after 8 years in full desert sun. The operating mechanisms have had no issues and the windows still operate fine. I have had only two minor issues with these windows; the screens have sliding retaining pins in the four corners, but they are a pain to install because the pins don't line up well with the window and the pins get sticky and won't slide. I believe the newer window screens have a better retaining system. The only service issue I have had in eight years was with the outermost weather stripping. It is exposed to the elements, and the original product failed ( became sticky, decomposed and retained dirt). I contacted Milgard and they came out and replaced all of it, no problem. Lifetime Warranty!! I highly recomend these windows, my only regret is that soon after I purchased them Milgard came out with an even BETTER glass system, 3D Maxx South. They have a HUGE list of available options with these windows, I have sold these windows to my customers since 2006 and the feedback from them has been equally positive. The price is competative with other premium windows, value is unbeatable in my opinion. June 26, 2014
Great product I have had a lot of dealings with suppliers and manufacturers having faulty products, everyone has them. But next to none have the excellent customer service and warranty as Milgard. They were quick on responding to my warranty needs, communicated with me while the replacements were being processed, and scheduled the work to my availability. And their techs were very professional, clean, and got the work done a lot quicker than anticipated. I can say that in the 15 years I have been in construction and maintenance, I have never received customer service that even compares to the excellent service that Milgard gives.... May 27, 2014
Windows look great The 18 windows that our in our house are excellent, Milgard stands behind their product even 12+ years later. Would choose and recommend Milgard again. April 17, 2014
Best Windows ever! We installed new windows and a patio door unit from Milgard in our new home. They are well constructed and look very nice. Most important they are excellent energy savers. That is so important as we live in the Arizona desert. We did receive one of the windows damaged but Milgard sent a replacement immediately. Wonderful windows, wonderful company. Thank you Milgard. April 17, 2014
Screens easily fall out and break; windows jam; not energy efficient We have had Milgard out to repair the windows and they get 'unbalanced' and can't be slid up or down without extreme difficulty. The large windows had very loose screens which Milgard said they couldn't do anything about. They are not secured well and fall out easily. Since they are on the second story, they are all broken from crashing down. The little double hung on the bathroom also lost its screen, although that took ~ 5 years. The others broke and we haven't found anyone to be able to replace them as they secure to the rubber gasket. The windows lose their shape over time and there are gaps now between the upper and lower windows and along the side, allowing cold air in. Calling for support is easy - but having someone call you back after leaving a message is hard. Now trying to log support call via the website. Really disappointed given the cost. Also had hardware break on awning window. Needless to say, when we remodeled another part of the house we did not go with Milgard. April 13, 2014
Sound reduction We purchased new windows to cut down on heat loss and lower noise levels from traffic. The Milgard Ultra windows achieved our purposes. Our home was much cheaper to heat. The noise levels were significantly reduced to a background level that was easily ignored. January 16, 2014
Not worth the price you pay We bought this product with the understanding that they are the best on the market, we were wrong. Firstly the door opening mechanism is cheap and there is so much play that it moves an inch before the handle engages. The fiberglass framing was not correctly joined so the frame was not 100% straight and the seals on the bottom fall off when you touch them with your foot (I siliconed them in to stay). The door also has a very cheap sound when you close them and the locking mechanism is extremely complicated resulting in me inadvertently leaving the back door unlocked many times. To add insult to injury we had hair (black and curly) in-between the panes but milguard did replace them for free only that they put the new glass in upside down with the grids not exactly straight (inside as well). In my opinion they are cutting way too many costs and unfortunately I am stuck with the result. January 9, 2014
Signle Ultra door is good. Operational sidelites and not so. We installed single outswing door with two operational sidelites. Generally product quality is pretty good. Fit and finish is pretty good. We experienced some locking issues with two operational sidelites, which resulted in 5-6 visit over almost a year, replacement of locking mechanisms and replacement of one sidelite door. Is wasn't quite helping. Till they sent the service tech to install $0.50 spacers between the mechanism and the handle, which cured the problem. Apparently without these spacers the multi-lock sidelite mechanism was twisting and it contribute to it to stuck too many times. It looks like this product is still new on the market or there disconnect between their their support and engineering. It looks like they still engineering the product as they sell it. I would buy an Ultra single swing door in the future from them. Wasn't quite impressed by the quality of their sidelites or double doors. October 16, 2013
Excellent I couldn't be happier with these windows. They totally improved the appearance of my house. I had all my windows replaced; fifty total. I have single hung, casement, picture and awning. They are all fantastic! October 14, 2013
Good value, but poor screen door. Overall, I am happy with this product, but the screen door is cheap and has had to have been replaced twice. The first screen door slid off its track and fell off. Milgard came out to repair. The first door was mis-sized from the factory. The replacement is OK, but I am still unimpressed with the quality of the slide and the lock could be better. September 3, 2013
Poor lock We have been having issue with the lock. Milgard has come up a few times to adjust it, but the problem came back less than a few weeks later each time. It's frustrating because we cannot seem to lock our back door. Very poor quality. I would not recommend it to anybody. August 13, 2013
Great windows with exceptional customer service Installed 34 windows both sliders and single hung. Looks like I move to a new house. The low E glass is extremely effecient at block out the southern California heat and when these windows are closed they do a great job eliminating outside sounds. August 8, 2013
Superb performance and appearance We live in a now historically designated neighborhood in Oregon. Our 1919 Cape Cod has 53 windows on 3 stories. The windows on the upper 2 floors had in particular deteriorated over the years. We researched extensively replacement window options with a goal of respecting the architecture of the house, achieving energy savings and gaining functionality. In the end, these fiberglass windows best met al of our requirements. We replaced all the windows on the second and third floors, a combination of double hung and casement windows. All included grids that replicated those on the wood windows they were replacing. We are 4+ years with these 30+ new windows and could not be more satisfied. They substantially reduce noise, eliminated the prominent drafts we had previously, perform perfectly (up-down and in-out) and look great. Only if you are very close can you tell they are not wood. June 30, 2013
Jammed the very first time I operated it. The very first time I operated this window, the sash jammed very solidly against each other. The window is stuck open and I cannot get it closed. May 10, 2013
Great Product We researched for windows for over 5 months. We found the warranty to be great and the product was what we were looking for. We replaced 14 windows. Most of the windows were surrounded with stucco and brick. Care was taken to not damage either. We are very happy with how they look inside and out. The day they were installed there was a lot of wind and I couldn't feel any air leak. We are very pleased. April 3, 2013
Compare to my other products, Milgard Product isthe best. Product is Great. --Service / Quality control checking is extremely poor. March 20, 2013
Do not buy these I purchased 9 of these double hung tilt and wash window..Withen the first year I had the repair man out at least 4 times and could have had him out more, but scheduleing that was a pain in the neck. When he did show after a three week wait, he was terrible to deal with. The internal mechanisms of these windows are plastic. I did'nt know this before purchasing. I wanted a low maintenance window for tropical conditions, and better then vinyl. So fiberglass seemed like the choice. The frames cracked within 2 years and all the internal hardware CONSTANTLY stripped out because it was plastic. Additionally they are very hard to slide up and down. I'm in my 40"s and I was thinking if I were elderly it might be close to impossible if I had to get out in an emergency (glass was tempered). I even tried to spray them with silicone and other lubricants. Do not spend your money on these windows. They are terrible. Buy the way I sold the house they were in and am now in another remodel and will not buy these windows again. March 20, 2013
Heavy duty, sturdy dual pane sliders Upgraded south side of home 23 years ago with Milgard dual pane windows which continue in excellent condition. Only considered Milgard for current upgrade on west/north for windows and sliding doors. These 2 deck slider doors definitely are heavy duty, sturdy. Expect no problems for 23 years+. March 14, 2013
Outstanding Replacement Windows I have extensively researched my window selection for over two years. The windows are in our family home in Oregon built in 1925. I wanted period correct windows down to the exterior and interior look including the new fine scalloped grids. Our home has over 40 windows and they were very drafty. Our home feels so warm and comfortable and we are very happy with how the windows have enhanced the appearance of our classic craftsman two story family home. I wished I had made the decision years earlier. I have already recommended the Milgard fiberglass windows to others. February 18, 2013
Let's in lots of light! We have the 8' French door with two windows on either side the same height as the door. We have a small bedroom and this opens up the space to a lovely patio area and brings plenty of natural light into the bedroom. Elegant but sturdy--gives the room an entirely new look. We're delighted! October 23, 2012
Beautiful Window We bought a home recently that had a tiny 4' wide kitchen window facing a gorgeous view. We opened up that wall and got an 11' wide x 5' high set of Ultra fiberglass windows (2.5' casement + 6' fixed + 2.5' casement, mulled together) right at counter height. It looks beautiful, is a perfect match to the existing Milgard windows, and the price was very fair considering the quality. What that view adds to our kitchen is priceless. Thank you, Milgard! August 28, 2012
Operation difficulties and exterior paint issues Operational difficulties - the window comes with a fold-down operator which can easily interfere and mar the interior finish of the window. The operator and operation of the window makes opening of large (3'0"x5'0") casement windows from the fully closed position and to the fully closed position (for latching) forces intensive. It feels at times as if the mechanism will fail or the handle will strip. Experior paint issues - the exterior coating for the fibeglas frame is easily scratched, chipped or scuffed revealing the white fiberglas underneath. We have been unable to get a "touch up kit" to recover these issues. Having these these issues addressed for the next generation of windows would make them superlative. April 3, 2012
The Ultra Series windows and Patio door have greatly improved the energy efficiency in my home. The Ultra Series windows and patio door have greatly improved the energy efficiency in my home.These products replaced single glazed aluminum framed windows so there was a noticeble improvemnet in cooling and heating costs as well as improving upon the level of quietness in my home. For the 12 month period post-installation there was almost a 30% decrease in energy consumption in my all electric home. My only criticism is in the quality of the trim work on the exterior frames. I have a brown-tone exterior frame and white interior. Though the interior finishes only have minor flaws, there are several to be found on the exterior, such as excess glue leakage at the joints which dust sticks to and chipped brown tone paint on several windows and on one window about 1/4' gap on a trim piece. Overall I am happy with the windows as my goal was to improve upon the comfort level in my home which these windows have accomplished. April 2, 2012
<<prev2 3 next>>

Footnotes

1
Colors shown are approximate. Due to monitor differences, actual colors may vary slightly. Visit a dealer showroom to see actual color.
2
Min/Max is based on tested values, sizes may vary by location. Contact your local Milgard dealer for details.
3
Color options may vary. Speak with your Milgard dealer to learn what colors are currently available.
4
Information based on the standard configuration with SunCoat®, EdgeGard™ and air-filled glass. Different glazing, spacer and fill options will result in different u-factors. More details can be found on in the Performance Ratings document above.
Answer Center

Products

Need help?

Contact Us Find a Dealer Help Me Choose Help Me Budget