Essence Series® Patio Doors
Essence Series® Patio Doors

Essence Series® patio doors are a beautiful complement to Essence Series wood windows.

Reviews

HIGHLIGHTED REVIEW
Be the first to write a review.

See more >

Key Benefits

Beautiful Wood Interior
16 Powder Coat Exterior Frame Colors
Full Lifetime Warranty with Glass Breakage Coverage

Get More Information

Get inspired with beautiful imagery and innovative product features.

Request a quote

Discover just how affordable Milgard Windows & Doors can be.

Request a Quote ›

Customization options

Timeless Design and Exceptional Quality

Design coordination is easy with Milgard Essence Series. Essence Series® patio doors are available in the same hardware finishes as Essence Series® windows. Further match to suit your style with the same color palette for interior and exterior frames. 

Introducing the New Essence Series Sliding Patio Door

Designed to perfectly complement the rich, warm wood interiors of Essence windows, the new Essence Series sliding patio door is built with solid wood and a durable fiberglass exterior. Not only is it beautiful, but you will enjoy the smooth operation and superior performance for years to come. And like Essence windows, this new patio door is backed by the Milgard Full Lifetime Warranty including Glass Breakage Coverage. Explore more benefits of the new Essence Series Sliding Patio Door here.

  • Fiberglass exterior available in 16 powder-coated colors.  

  • Interior solid wood frame with no visible fasteners.

  • Engineered with quality rollers that provide an impressively smooth and quiet operation. 

  • Superior energy performance with SunCoat® Low-e glass coating.

  • Optional screen that is top-hung for smooth operation to minimize jams.

  • Make it your own with grids, decorative glass or expand your view with transoms.

  • The beautiful door handle comes in seven finishes and with an optional exterior keyed lock.

  • Add the optional SmartTouch® bolt for additional points of security on the door or to secure it in a vented position.

 

Essence Series® french sliding door

Moving Glass Wall Systems

Open up your living spaces to the outdoors with Moving Glass Wall Systems. Stacking and Pocket styles are available with a rich, warm solid wood interior to complement the Essence Series product line.

Customer Reviews for Essence Series® Out-Swing French Doors

Rated 5 out of 5 by Great looking interiors... Just had 3 windows and 3 doors (2 sliding glass, 1 French door set) replaced with new Milgard Essence series and the look is just what we were looking for; a neat, clean, 'craftsman-style' of look, and these windows hit all the right marks. We chose the fir interior and had them pre-finished in a satin clear polyurethane finish prior to install, and they look really great. It's way too early to even mention how well they hold-up to use (only been installed ~2 weeks), but they feel very solid and the hardware seems to operate smoothly and accurately. Just hope we feel the same way 10 years from now! So yes, I would recommend these windows and doors... so far. However, time will be the determining factor whether or not this recommendation still holds true in the future! May 27, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Essence sliding patio door Really like to door however there is a malfunction on one of the doors . Contacting dealer to rectify. Would expect zero defects with a door at the price and quality May 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love them We installed Milgard when we built in 1998 have loved them everyday. An occasional adjustment is all that has been done. May 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by feberglass outside Liked the fiberglass on the outside with the wood inside. The color choose was good. April 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my Essence Slider Windows Just got these installed and they look beautiful from the inside and outside! Love the clean lines and modern hardware. April 4, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Looks good, but some issues The window looks great and works well. However, the installation instructions were sadly lacking--and we had to go searching online to find them. Plus there was a hole in the wood next to the latch that was left there from a screw driver bit that we will have to patch. Seems like an $800 window would have better quality control! March 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by New French Doors We replaced three Milgard sliding patio doors with swing out French doors, what a difference. February 15, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great window I replaced an older dual pane aluminum single hung with the Essence casement. Wow! What a difference, it makes the whole room warm and inviting. The installation was easy and the build quality was excellent. February 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Apperance, Easy to Use This wood clad series has added a lot of curb appeal to the house. Inside the wood look has added warmth to all the rooms. Glad I did it!! The sales person at Beach Builders Supply in San Juan Capistrano was over the top with knowledge, information, and support thru the entire process. Tony V. was great; well the entire staff went out of their way to help me and the install was done by pros!!!!! Thank you January 5, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product but quite expensive Fit, design,construction and finish of windows and casements appear to be quite good ; what one should expect for high price. However, price appears nicely competitive with other companies. Wooden screens fit way too tightly but are solid in construction and design. Had to have installer return to remove tension clips at top of each screen. Now the screens can be removed without fear of significant damage [screens are not warranty covered], but now fit somewhat loosely. Tension clips need to be less stiff!! December 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Your windows leak worse than the contractor grade windows they replaced. The triple-paned double hung window leak around all of the seals. The "rubber" apparently is brittle in cold weather (temps lower than 28 degrees F). The wind blows right through them. The glass conducts the cold inside. There is no dead air insulation space between the 3rd pane and the other 2, all 3 are mounted in the same sash. The 3rd pane should have been in its own sash and track. All 3 of the panes were tinted which defeats the purpose of the low e glass. The windows also are not sound proof as triple-paned windows properly designed and constructed should be. Sound proofing is as important to be as the energy savings. The sliding glass windows also leak around the seals for the same reason as the double hungs. I am very dissatisfied and expect Milgard to either fix the problems or replace these windows with something that is sound proof, energy efficient, as well as attractive. November 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased Being retired from the resort business I tend to have pretty high standards on products and installation. I am very satisfied with the Milgard product. The house looks totally complete now. November 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product/Company Love the door, solid door. Also great company to work with, very nice and respectful October 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very attractive, well-insulated, and solidly-built. We purchased 3 Milgard Essence casement windows and one custom 8' sliding glass door. They were just installed on Sep. 4, 2015, and so far, meet all of our expectations. They are very attractive both inside #stained wood# and outside #white coating#. The satin-nickel finished hardware is attractive. They are well-insulated and have a nice tight fit. They are solidly-built, sturdy & strong. The glass is tempered and double-paned. Installation was straight-forward and easy. September 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Exterior Handle corroded after only 2 years. Poor quality. Exterior Handle corroded after only 2 years. Then I was told by the company that sold me the door that Milgard's warranty does not cover the handle. Was totally disappointed. July 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the Money We did a great deal of research and chose these doors because we preferred the fiberglass on the outside and the lifetime warranty. We live in Los Angeles, and also liked that the product is made locally. It's a big expense, but one I expect to last 20+ years! June 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product and great customer service My client chose the Essence line of doors and windows for a renovation of their master bedroom and bathroom suite. They had purchased the Essence doors and windows before for previous renovations and were very pleased with the look, pricing and functionality. I installed all the new doors and windows and had a few issues. I called Milgard to schedule a service call. The serviceman arrived on time and was very knowledgeable about the product and also very helpful in getting resolve to the issues I had. I was very impressed with both service guys that came out. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Improved the look of an old house The windows were installed with great care. They look beautiful. Hold in the heat and keep the room cool in summer. I love them!!! February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by love the product Several of our windows are not a good fit.....cold air is coming through the top, so a rep from Milgard came by; we are VERY UNSATISFIED with the timeliness of the service to correct this problem; we initiated our need for service in NOVEMBER and not until FEBRUARY 25th are we finally getting the problem lilkely corrected......Service is really awful! Product is great! HAVE two more windows on order and hoping they don't need post installation service! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am glad I have Essence windows Having bought high end windows before and working as a contractor I can honestly say having these windows installed is very nice insurance that you will be taken care if you have any issues. I get compliments from neighbors I have never even meet before! Thanks for the great service from a local Oregon company. Mike G October 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great windows. Many compliments from my neighbours These are fantastic windows that look good inside and out. I'm very satisfied with the quality and the follow up support from Milgard. My only issue is the faulty screens which apparently have a manufacturing defect. The screens were replaced once by Milguard service but unfortunately the replacement screens have the same problem. October 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Product not really what I expected although the windows are still quite nice. The Milgard Essence gliders I purchased about 6 months ago have many negative issues relating to the design and construction of the individual units. I ordered my units triple pane as part of an energy retrofit for a home located in a cold climate. One issue is the seal design of the units because the weather stripping is incompletely installed and there are air leaks. While these windows were supplied to me at a materials cost of 1/4 the proposed materials cost of triple pane windows from Europe, I feel little or no attention to fabrication or design detail was made to make the gaskets and seals perform well for cold climates. Another issue relating to the construction is that the outside mullion covers, on every window, have curled up and pulled away from the mullion from exposure to the sun! Again, my climate is a cold climate therefore these mullions are unlikely to hold up in a hot climate. Factory applied chemical or mechanical adhesive would have prevented these mullion failures. Once the mullions pull open from the sun, air and water come directly inside, as if the window were just left open. Lastly, my windows were not assembled with the utmost care. By this I mean the factory applied exterior paint had many micro and mega scratches from being moved across the assembly table. The exteriors were not clean, there was fiberglass dust from cutting operations and sealant blemishes. On the inside, some of the pine had small dents or gauges from being dragged around during assembly at the factory. These windows needed work when they arrived, they were not ready for the process of staining the pine. If I paid for what was explained to me to be a fancy handmade new car and when the car was delivered full of scratches in the paint and other issues, I would be mad. That's all the bad stuff I have to say. These triple pane windows are quiet, hardly hear any noise from outside. The window hardware is very nice and the windows roll perfectly smoothly and lock with a wonderful "click". The factory workers did a great job selecting color matched pine for the interiors. Packaging for shipping was professional, with lots of layers of protection and handles had been installed to assist with moving these heavy triple pane windows. The product has good qualities and bad qualities. More attention should have been given to weather stripping these windows going into a cold climate. In the future I'm confident they'll get the design sorted out. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well designed window products The guarentee is spsecial. When a window needed to be replaced becuase of leakage, it was done without delay with excellent service. September 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only the best from the best window company I've been a Milgard customer since the late eighties, and when a minor problem arose (and not many# I would call Milgard customer service and with in a couple of weeks all taken care of. I'm sure if it were an emergency situation it would have been handled quickly with no fuss. Forward 32 years and having moved to an 1870's ranch house on 130 acres and starting a remodel on the two bedroom granny flat next door that we will move to and then start the remodel on the main house, window replacement considerations only went to one manufacture, MILGARD! We ordered the new Essence line windows in Cinnamon color and they are just what we wanted. When uncrating the windows #which they were packaged very well) I found a small slice in one of the screens and I called Milgard and it was handled. Next the main house and more Milgard Essence windows to match. Thanks Milgard for great products and Superior customer service. September 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by CAUTION - SmartTouch™ Lock is VERY LOUD! We are in the middle of a remodel and recently installed seven Essence double hung windows with the SmartTouch™ lock throughout the house. The windows seem to be good in many respects but I am very dissatisfied with the locking system. It looks nice but the latch requires you to slam the window shut in order to close and lock it. It is far from ideal if anyone is asleep in the house when you need to close a window! And I'm not confident that either my daughter or grandmother will be able to operate them at all, given that a fair amount of elbow grease is required in the slam closing process. I'm sorry to report that with the trim yet to be installed on the new windows, we're already saving money for new sashes. Except for this locking system, I think we would recommend these windows. August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by pretty good, but could use inprovement I have 13 essence double hung windows and some awning and picture windows in my home. The overall use and durability has been good. However, they just feel like not a very refined design. The spoon lock hits the upper casing/stop. It leaves a dent in the painted wood. Ths original double hungs have a nice brass stop to prevent this. The fitment of the interior wood is ok. These windows all are snap together, thus painted joints crack. The casing seem kind of thick compared to other windows. However, I shopped lots of different windows before buying these and even though I liked other windows more the overall value made me choose the milgard essence. Nonetheless, a little better engineering would have really made this window shine compared to others. Milgard customer service has been great. I had one of the lower sash slide pins break while cleaning them. Milgard came right out and fixed it. These was a little inclusion in the casting. I think this was an exception none of my other windows have had any issues. June 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The winows look great in my house, they are just what I wanted and expected. So far, so good. I have only had the windows for two days. June 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by poor qualitiy Poor qualitiy review before window was shipped. Insulllation has pulled loose from bottom of window. How does a home owner fix that after installation. Very unhappy. April 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product, excellent installation I had Milgard Essence windows installed by Energy Guard (based in Newberg, OR). I have an old (1900 built) house that has several features, among them walls significantly out of level and decorative moulding. While professional and courteous (as expected), the installation crew was outstanding, making a couple last minute accommodations for things we had re-thought and getting windows to fit and work in the spaces provided (even the ones that were over an inch out of level in 6 feet of run). The windows are superb, and we couldn't have asked for better installation: both are highly recommended! April 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Doors These outswing French Doors are beautiful. Make sure to get specifics on operable sidelights and screens. We were told sidelight screens were included but apparently they are not. November 14, 2013
  • 2016-09-23 T07:39:25.930-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_65, tr_65
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.essence_french-outswing_doors, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 See more>>