Ultra™ & WoodClad™ Series Fiberglass Doors

Beautiful to look at ---- with little upkeep required, Ultra™ Series & WoodClad™ Series fiberglass patio doors are built to last. Through a careful design process, Milgard introduces a patio door more resistant to heat, bugs and rot to help withstand the harsher sides of Mother Nature.

Reviews

HIGHLIGHTED REVIEW

I am thrilled with my selection of the French Style slider. I replaced traditional wood French doors that were old and damaged by water. The look of my new doors has a much more open view. I highly recommend the Milgard doors, next will be replacing my windows. - Las Vegas, NV

See more >

Key Benefits

Designed for Complete Peace of Mind
Get the Warmth of Wood-Look With Woodclad Series
Full Lifetime Warranty with Glass Breakage Coverage

Get More Information

Get inspired with beautiful imagery and innovative product features.

Request a quote

Discover just how affordable Milgard Windows & Doors can be.

Request a Quote ›

Customization options

A Frame for all Seasons

Ultra & WoodClad™ Series patio doors stay true through almost any environment. Because it's made from glass fibers, the frame expands and contracts at approximately the same rate as the insulated glass it holds. This puts less stress on the seals, reduce the chance for seal failure while allowing for a clear, fog-free view.

WoodClad Series

A WoodClad™ Series option offers the benefits of fiberglass with the warmth of wood veneer on the interior. Milgard WoodClad Series patio doors feature the look of furniture-grade Douglas Fir without a nail hole or staple on them. Opt for the clear sealant finish or stain the veneer to match existing woodwork. Choose from a palette of rich, deep colors for the exterior frame to express your unique style.

Glass Breakage Coverage

Ultra™ & WoodClad™ Series patio doors are designed to be worry-free. In addition to Milgard's standard Full Lifetime Warranty that includes parts and labor, Ultra WoodClad Series patio doors come with Glass Breakage Coverage for added peace of mind.  

Ultra™ & WoodClad™ Series Frame Colors

Milgard Ultra™ & WoodClad™ Series fiberglass door frames come in a palette of rich, designer colors. From warm 'harmony' to bold 'black bean', get inspired with all the possibilities.

Add warmth with a Clear Vertical Grain Douglas Fir veneer option on WoodClad™ Series patio doors.

Explore the color palette > 

Customer Reviews for Ultra™ & WoodClad™ Series Out-Swing French Doors

Rated 3 out of 5 by Love/Hate relationship Wood adds a touch of elegance to any setting and we were hoping to get the best of both worlds by spending a little more for wood clad windows. They do make it quieter and seal better, so far, than plastic. However, the wood veneer is very thin, don't think that you will be sanding it down to put a fresh coat of stain and varnish on it, that won't happen. The slider is extremely difficult to remove for servicing and each removal leaves a mark on the veneer and you will probably have to hunt down a wheel and axle or two anytime you remove one. If you have an issue, make triple sure that your contractor measures every dimension of not just any piece you need but any piece involved in the final assembly, including hardware type and finish or you will be sorry. If you or your contractor cut the insulation strip, repair is to replace the window complete, let that soak in. My contractor cut two window insulation strips and flubbed a parts order for another costing me the price of a whole window by the time he finished screwing up. If you have to get a new window, make sure that they tell you each and every piece that will go into the completion of your order including ridiculous items like like weep hole covers. July 26, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Broken latches Just completed day one of a two day install. ALL the latches have cracks on each side of the latch. One of the latches is separated from the frame so it does not even latch. I'm regretting my purchase of Milgard and with I had stayed with the other big fiberglass manufacturer. July 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just as beautiful as what I had imagined! I did quite a bit of shopping before I purchased these Milgard French Doors. I had seen other doors that over time began to droop in the middle. These are more expensive, but they are so well made. These are going in our new home, and I can just tell that they are made to last. We just got them installed yesterday and I'm really looking forward to many years of great service. June 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent installation experience Just installed three out-swing doors as replacement for existing out-swing and sliding patio doors in 15-year old north San Diego subdivision construction. Look like excellent value. Utility, quality of construction, and aesthetics all appear excellent. Plan to update review with experience. June 15, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great looking windows-lots of failures after install I narrowed my search down to two brands. Felt more comfortable with Milgard as have good backing. Windows came in on time. Install went relatively well with some communication gaps but worked through them. Pro: windows look great. Even though retrofit, they make opening look bigger. Glass is great. Cons: The biggest issues is after install, There were quite a few issues with window operation failing on many of the single hung windows. 1). Many of the windows had the balancer release clips malfunction(break off or not sit flush). 2). many of the windows had one or both balancers fail causing rubbing of lower sash to frame or lower sash would shift around on balancer. 3). screens are not keeping bugs out. The installer says this is normal but I cannot believe every install have 70% of windows have one issue or another. Glad it comes with lifetime warranty. Anyway, the installer was supposed to setup a service ticket with Milgard about 3 weeks ago. We will see how this pans out. June 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by More please... We installed the wood clad fiber ultra (oversized custom slider doors) with tinting/low e, over two years ago. Very easy to stain and seal. They close solidly and are beautiful, and are holding up well. Getting ready to install matching additional doors & windows. My only wish is that they had electrical/solar products for our vaulted ceilings and skylights. May 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional customer service/warranty In todays business climate it seems to be the exception to get paramount customer service without having to demand it. Millgard goes above and beyond to ensure that the individual home owner is able to navigate through their service. My experience with Milgard started in 2010 when I purchased a new home. I had a few broken seals. When I called customer service to request warranty service I was greeted with kindness and appreciation that they would have the opportunity to fix my window. Subsequently, I worked with two different Millgard technicians from over the next couple years who completed the work. Each was competent in replacing the failed product and respectful of my home and explained the work that was done. The actions of this company proves that they stand behind a premium product without hesitation. I am confident that all of their products will surpass their competition and if it doesn't they will make it right. As a testament to my long standing relationship with Millgard I have ordered the Ultra windows to replace the current failed windows of another national brand. May 20, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ulta is an excellent product Having done wood clad in the past, we opted for white fiberglass interiors ... better fits the house style. I can't say enough about the the quality of the product ... very sturdy with clean lines (not bulky); and the fiberglass is key for the southern climate. I will point out one thing that need to be addressed ... radius and portal windows need to come with interior white fiberglass just like their rectangle and square counterparts. They currently come with primed wood and unfortunately they were hung before I knew that or I would have painted them with white enamel to match ... now quite a challenge to do so. April 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful window - but some issues We chose Milgard Ultra fiberglass since we didn't want the maintenance requirements of wood, but didn't like the "cheap" look & feel of vinyl. Just installed today. Overall, we're very happy with the choice of fiberglass since the appearance of the frames both inside and out (we have the z-bar retrofit version over stucco) is simply stunning (looks like high-end wood trim.) Plus, we were able to choose an exterior color that coordinates with our paint scheme while having the inside white. However, there are some things to be aware of. First, you should plan on budgeting for extensive wood trim on the interior, as these windows do not come with trim pieces to "finish" the inside. Granted, this is a fantastic, rich look but cheaper vinyl windows often come with pieces to finish out the opening - these do not. Second, these windows do not have the ability to lock in a vented position meaning you'd have to put a wood stick if you want to leave your window cracked open. And lastly, since fiberglass is a heavier material the windows do take some effort to operate - but this is also a function of the tight seals. Overall a fantastic, beautiful window - just be sure to plan accordingly. March 29, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Quality I have other Milgard ultra windows and have been very happy with them. Ordered French doors in the same series which were installed this week. I question if there is quality control at Milgard. The way the paint was applied is really terrible. Drip spots, paint overspray. Really poorly finished especially for the price paid. March 18, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible quality We purchased over $25k of Milgard Ultra series windows and a French door for our home and were disappointed by the extremely poor quality. The assembly of the windows is very poor. The miter corners do not line up. The plastic weatherstripping is uneven. One of the screens arrived bowed. The French door does not line up and the threshold is damaged. See photos taken the day of installation. We are very disappointed and dissatisfied. March 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful window. Great energy efficiency. Quiet. This was a commercial job not residential. Very happy with the look of the window. Amazing to sit by the window on a cold day and not feel the cold through the window. Our customers like the look and the feel as well. February 19, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by We placed a 25,000 dollar order on October 21, 2015 We ordered 5 doors, one single door, two single doors with side lights (screens), one french door with two solid glass windows (143" opening) and one french door with two side lights. Two of the five are installed perfectly and we are happy with the product and the installation. One had to be installed because the demo was completed, however it is built incorrectly-out swing instead of inswing making the sidelights in effective. One of the others has been built the same way and had to be returned. No word on when all of this will be completed. no screens and 5 different keys! February 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Doors! Excelent looking door system. Fiberglass door with a great deal of window view. Sliding screen is great too! Frame is equal to or smaller the the same door in wood. We are very happy with the doors! January 28, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by This product is overpriced and poorly constructed. Windows arrived damaged because the factory packaging is pathetic. 2 seals were broken causing windows to fog over. 9 out of 10 window had improperly manufactured mullens that have to be redone. The door hardware was reversed and had to be fixed. We were missing 10 out of 11 screens. Many of the seals are folded over and leak cold air. Do not buy these windows. January 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great replacement window My old window was rotting out so I needed a replacement. As I live in a apartment style condo I needed a paintable window. The sales man was very helpful in getting me what would work best for the size and new codes for the replacement window. Even though there was limited selection due to the original size and modern codes and not wanting vinyl, the window is very nice. Now I have a window that does not leak. And when the painters come I won't have to worry about them damaging the window with the paint. December 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great new windows for rainy side of house. I had 30 year old windows replaced on the weather beaten side of the house. The windows are attractive, maintenance free and very functional. December 9, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by good for summer bad for winter moisture on inside of all windows! The tabs on the screens are cheaply made. November 26, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Frustrated We purchased 2 doors. One of them still doesn't close correctly it is out of alignment. The screens do not seal. The rubber seal is too short and the frames seemed warped. November 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what we wanted We have casement black fiberglass windows. They refresh the look of the front of the house and the windows, themselves are beautiful. They appear well-built and the install process for the retrofits was painless and quick. We are happy with our purchase. November 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by These doors will make our house a lot more comfortable. I am shocked at the quality of product that made it out the factory door. I felt Milgards' standards would be higher. October 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great quality, value, and warranty. My wife and I seriously considered fiberglass windows from both Pella and Milgard. Both offer products of beauty and quality. We had quotes from both providers and Pella was willing to under cut the Milgard quote by 10%. However, Pella would not provide a Lifetime warranty. As warranty is a critical factor in the purchase decision for us, we selected Milgard. September 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I like the doors, but the needed handle extenders are not available. The WoodClad patio doors work well. The rubber gasket on the sliding screen door doesn't seal and allows insects into the house. I showed that problem to the service tech. No help there. The wood(?) veneer on the inside of the door is extremely thin and with very light sanding to remove the soil left after the installation, I went through this veneer in a few place before I realized what was happening due to the sawdust obscuring the problem. Milgard should have had a warning on the door not to sand the veneer as it is not much more than paper thin. Of course bare wood gets dirty in shipping and handling. It now looks bad. The biggest problem with these patio doors is that I cannot fit my blinds on the door as the door handles are too close to the door. Only the narrowest of blinds would fit behind these door handles. The blinds need to drop down behind the door handle but there is not nearly enough clearance. I researched the problem and discovered that one can purchase "handle extenders." I emailed Milgard many months ago, twice, about which handle extenders would work with this door and they never replied to my emails. Most of my new Milgard windows wouldn't close due to a manufacturing error and after not being able to open or close the windows all summer I finally was able to use the windows after two tech visits, but a few still just barely close with more force on the latch than is normal. I can live with that. Back to the patio door problem. I took the door handle off the patio door and I don't see a handle extender that matches that handle, so after a few years we still don't have blinds on our patio doors. And Milgard hasn't answered any of my emails about this problem. If you sell patio doors you have to have handle extenders available for those doors, like other patio door manufacturers have. September 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Windows I just had two new Milgard windows custom made for my newly remodeled kitchen. They were made to match the other Milgard windows I had installed 5 years ago. They are exactly what I wanted. The noise reduction and heat retention is great. Highly recommend these windows. September 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not thrilled We had to send it back before installation because of two defects, one being a bottom sill runner that was peeling. A couple of months have passed and I already notice that the tan color is starting to come off this same runner. We spent a lot of time sealing, installing and framing the window so I am not about to take it out. Glad I have some warranty for down the line if it looks to bad. August 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful windows, but finishing single-hungs is problematic. Installed casement and single-hung windows. Everything is fine except instructions that are on the window labels say to finish with a water-based polyurethane, which is fine for the casements, but the the bottom rail of the fixed pane is only partially accessible. No instructions are provided as to how to disassemble (and re-assemble) the window to be able to do a complete job. With the movable pane open, the entire bottom rail of the non-movable pane is visible and will be, at best, half finished. At worst, and likely, it will have drips of the polyurethane, which will definitely show. Is there a trick to taking out the movable pane so complete access to the hidden rail is available? I think this would also allow removal of at least some of the hardware for a neater job. I would like to apply the finish as suggested but feel stymied. July 25, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst customer service Had a brand new house built and the builder raved about the warranty on Milgard windows. I live in Southern California where it rains abhout 3 times a year. The first storm came and two windows leaked. They sent their "most experienced" technician out who tinkered around and they leaked again the next time it rained. Now the customer service rep: Robin is telling me that excessive water runs down the side of the house and that is out of the ordinary for their windows. It might have rained an eighth of an inch last night and they leaked again. There is no way excessive water could run against my window with that little rain. They are just cheap poorly constructed windows. It appears the company is taking no responsibility. June 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great look - nice operation Our Ultra Series in-swing French Doors look great and the way they operate is second to none! The locking mechanism it easy to use and gives you a feeling your real secure when all locked up. Further, when you want booth doors open, it's easy to unlatch the stationary door. Great, well thought out product that looks good. May 24, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overly Complicated Door Hardware Very happy with the design of the doors and the look of the hardware, but the door hardware and deadlock are awful and poorly function. Easily able to shut door, but unable to lock door and feel confident door is locked properly when leaving. Went to showroom to see if it was our installation or a pour design and had the same issues trying to lock door at showroom. May 18, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by WoodClad windows use fake wood SGK sold me Milgard windows to match the Marvin windows installed by the previous owner. The WoodClad is a joke. It is "wood" is actually contact paper over a vinyl window. The advertising says, "Milgard windows feature furniture-grade, clear, vertical-grain Douglas fir." There is no way the frames are furniture-grade. They also say, "have a beautiful vertical grain Douglas Fir interior that is ready to take your stain or seal coat." Other than paint, you really cannot change the color of coating, as you can with real wood. Clear coating makes the 'wood' look fake. May 14, 2015
  • 2016-08-28 T07:48:30.324-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_100, tr_100
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.ultra_woodclad_french-outswing_doors, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 See more>>