Milgard Window & Door Ratings & Reviews

Your Opinion Matters

At Milgard, our passion for providing the best windows and doors is driven by our unparalleled customer service. After more than 50 years in the industry, Milgard continues to focus on providing consumers with the best window buying experience. We work closely with our customers to determine the best new home windows, replacement windows or patio doors for their home. Knowledgeable dealers and a wealth of online window information take the guesswork out of buying windows. Milgard has earned BUILDER Magazine's Best Quality Vinyl Window in the Nation eight times. It's no wonder Milgard ranks high in window comparison ratings and earns high marks with best rated vinyl windows, top rated home windows and home window replacement reviews.

We've found that our customers describe the Milgard Window & Door experience best. We have received thousands of window reviews that describe nearly every aspect of the Milgard experience, including products, after-purchase service and dealer interactions. Our window reviewers help their fellow customers make informed purchase decisions. Take a moment to explore the window and door reviews written by our customers. If you are an existing Milgard customer, please write a window review and share your experience with others!


Milgard® Windows & Doors 4.3 5 590 590
Excellent Cusomter Service I had a problem with window closing after 9 years of use. The rep David Vargas came out and determine the problem right away with professional knowledge and insight. I highly recommend using Milgard's and will buy their product again. November 5, 2013
great product this milgard window is attractive and works very easily November 1, 2013
poor quality control 3 of our installed windows would not close correctly due to being out of square. All hsd to be dissasembeled and re-squared. Installed skylight seems to have smears internally that are very visible when the sun hits at a certain angle. I have tried cleaning the glass three times but the problem is definately sandwiched between the panes. Not happy about it but also am afraid to have it removed as the roofer did a great job sealing the skylight. Overall not happy but they have fixed the window problems. October 31, 2013
Review door and windows I have purchased installed 11 windows and one three panels slide door. Overall quantity is good. The only drawback is the quality of slide screen door. The door is failed to close smoothly. The bottom wheels were broken three months into operation. October 29, 2013
Gorgeous Windows Super classy and easy snap lock feature is awesome! October 28, 2013
Buy it again...and we did This was our second purchase of the Tuscany series windows. We previously did Tuscany series replacement windows and when we decided to add onto our house the decision on what to put in was easy. The windows are solidly built but open with ease. The locking mechanism on the windows help my wife feel safe when I'm not home knowing someone isn't going to pick the lock and crawl in unannounced. The vent blocks also give some comfort on those nights we just want some fresh air without risking security. October 24, 2013
We do room additions & remodeling For our market area (Southern California) we are primarily remodeling homes that are 25-30 years old. We have found the Milgard line of windows fit our needs as far as matching existing style & design on a home and provide all the energy efficient needs required today. We've been installing Milgard for over 10+ years and never have any problems with warranty call backs. Milgard provides a quality reliable product that we can stand behind with our remodeling customers. October 21, 2013
Love these windows. Such a wonderful frame and the glass is so very clear. The windows are so very nice and we already notice the temp difference. And the sound proof it also gives us. The new windows are just fabulous and we are so glad we went with your product. October 17, 2013
Signle Ultra door is good. Operational sidelites and not so. We installed single outswing door with two operational sidelites. Generally product quality is pretty good. Fit and finish is pretty good. We experienced some locking issues with two operational sidelites, which resulted in 5-6 visit over almost a year, replacement of locking mechanisms and replacement of one sidelite door. Is wasn't quite helping. Till they sent the service tech to install $0.50 spacers between the mechanism and the handle, which cured the problem. Apparently without these spacers the multi-lock sidelite mechanism was twisting and it contribute to it to stuck too many times. It looks like this product is still new on the market or there disconnect between their their support and engineering. It looks like they still engineering the product as they sell it. I would buy an Ultra single swing door in the future from them. Wasn't quite impressed by the quality of their sidelites or double doors. October 16, 2013
Excellent I couldn't be happier with these windows. They totally improved the appearance of my house. I had all my windows replaced; fifty total. I have single hung, casement, picture and awning. They are all fantastic! October 14, 2013
Always a quality product I can usually only find one small little defect in any window ordered from Milgard. As picky as I am, most folks might not even notice it. I'm sure the quality control is better than ever. I find I can't go wrong with Milgard windows. October 13, 2013
Fantastic product Milgards products are top notch! We have been installing Milgard windows and doors for 10 years. Never had a problem with Milgards products they are simple to install and extremely well made! My clients love the warranty. Northern California Contractor October 5, 2013
this product has great features Affordable price. Excellent appearance. Ease to use. Best quality for the price. October 4, 2013
Excellent Windows not only look great but are easy to open, close and clean. Love my windows. October 4, 2013
A few problems Since the window was installed in June 2012, we have had Milgard out twice to repair the window including having two "clips" (not sure what they're called) installed that were left off at installation. We now have a problem with the lower window locking properly as the upper window pane drops down slightly when you close the lower half which doesn't allow the window to lock. Other then the above, we have been happy with our new windows including this one. Small problems happen but Milgard has been quick to repair and we appreciate that. This is just one window of the 12 we had installed and the only one with a problem. Would use Milgard again and recommend them to others. October 1, 2013
Cloudy again The people at Milgard have all been great. The person I scheduled installation with and the guy who came to install were very nice and courteous; however, a large number of the replacement windows that were installed, less than 2 months ago, have already clouded up again. I will have to call those nice people again. September 29, 2013
Our Milgard windows Our Milgard Tuscany windows are high-quality and stylish, yet simple. We immediately noticed a decrease in street noise and an increase in room comfort. September 27, 2013
Excellent We had two sliding doors, three casement windows, two sliders and four double windows installed over the last two years. Also, we choose triple pane windows with energy efficient glass since we live in a cold climate zone. The triple pane windows also help reduce outside noise since we live in a residential area. Now, for two winters the windows have performed outstanding with reducing our home heating cost and we only have one minor complaint with the double hung windows; securing the locking mechanism can be troublesome since the top pane slides down when trying to secure the lock. Thus, it takes two hands to secure the window, one hand must hold the upper pane in place while lowering and securing the lower pane. So our suggestion is for Milgard to install some kind of releasing locking mechanism on the top pane in order to hold it in place unless you need to lower the upper pane to clean the window. September 26, 2013
product has great features as a first-time buyer, I can only say "so far, so good". that's all that I have to say. September 26, 2013
Installed vinyl slide windows and one small single hung window. Single hung window have stiff travel therefor does not sit level unless two hand are use. The wide X-O-X windows frames are bowed, and cannot be corrected because of the of the stationary panels. After one window was installed, found one frame corner not welded completely. Caulked to waterproof. September 25, 2013
Windows are all hard to open Our contractor installed these windows in our home when we had it built 5 years ago. They have always been very hard to open. When they were new, a Milgard rep came out and told us that's just the way they are. A few months ago, we had a couple fail. We went on line and Milgard was quick to come out and repair. But the repaired windows show just how bad the original are! The repaired windows work great, but the originals are so hard to open, my wife cannot open or close some of them. We're building a new home in the Spring. I doubt that we'll use these, or any Milgard windows again. September 25, 2013
windows we have received 5 windows know the last 3 windows we ordered the paint on one has a bad finish . All 3 windows has paint over spray on them. One of the windows had a big dent on it.All 3 windows has scratches on the paint side.The screen on the first 2 windows we bought were short i called gave them the dimension they need to make them and they sent me the same size screen so i gave up on that.Know the new windows screens are messed up to . I had the window rep come by he said they are having someone to come clean the paint off the windows, He is ordering new screen . I would like to see them to get better quality on there screening making and get better quality on there painting ,they need to improve on there quality control before windows go out to customers..Final inspection should be the most important part of a company's quality control.I hope you get better quality control in the future for the reputation of the company.I have more windows to order but i don't now if i will use your company . It is a big inconvenience to have them rework the windows . Thank you for you time on this matter Mark September 25, 2013
Love the smooth action The windows(all16 od them) look great and add to the overall lookof the house. Had your service dept. work on the slider and he was great and the slider works like a charm. September 25, 2013
YOUR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS EXCELLENT! I RECENTLY HAD SEVERAL WINDOWS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY IN MY 18 YEAR OLD HOME. I CALLED MILGARD AND THE RESPONSE, ON ALL FRONTS, WAS IMMEDIATE. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS IMPECCABLE, SECOND TO NOBODY. I WILL BE SHARING THIS EXPERIENCE WITH ANYONE THAT IS TRYING TO DECIDE WHICH WINDOW MANUFACTURER TO GO WITH. THERE IS ONLY ONE................."MILGARD!!!" KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK! September 24, 2013
Glider Window Review -- Smoothly operational Our Essence Glider windows are fantastic. We love the one-touch automatic locking feature that comes with Essence. We love that Essence has the special chamber in case of outside water that keeps our interior wood frames dry. The windows are very solid and close smoothly. We could not be happier with them. Also, we highly recommend the Pure View screen upgrade option since you cannot see the screen at all. Recommended especially for windows you spend a lot of time in front of with a view. They are delicate and were damaged on install but now that we have them replaced are fantastic. September 20, 2013
Essence Casement Windows -- very nice could use slight improvement We love having casement windows--check with the installer to have all open same wall same direction to catch air flow better. These make for a nicer view since there is no middle bar. I am disappointed in the hardware latch though since it is of a plastic nature (seemingly not nearly as durable as our other brand casements) and seems like it could crack over time. We love the Milgard lifetime warranty though so that should this happen we expect we can get it replaced easily. September 20, 2013
The product is excellent but was not manufactured to order. Milgard provides a good product, however, there seemed to be "No" Quality Assurance Inspection prior to shipping. My door was not built to product description. The manufacturing work was "Shoddy". The metal door track was in reverse order, displaying razor sharp burrs while the door track itself contained a large amount of drill shavings. Also, missing from the door were vent stops, a special ordered multi-lock system and a special ordered door handle. From Original Order Date to re-work was approximately nine weeks. I have doubts of future orders with Milgard. September 18, 2013
Window hardware could be better We ordered a picture window with a casement window on each side to replace an old single pane aluminum window assembly in our living room. The windows were unfinished douglas fir. The overall quality of the window assembly is adequate, but we had a few surprises. Some parts of the window (the side of the window that covers the casement latches) are not solid wood, but are a thin veneer over fiberglass. The window latches and the trim around the latches look like metal, but are plastic, as are the covers for the casement cranks. We discovered this when the plastic latch and trim on one of the two casement windows broke right after installation. The folks that sold us the window said that Milgard would send replacements, but we haven't received them yet. On a separate note, Milgard doesn't provide much information about finishing the wood window. Some of the wood components are fairly difficult to access for finishing The company seems to focus primarily on architects and contractors. Overall we are happy with the look and operation of the windows but wonder if another brand of wood window would have been a better choice. September 18, 2013
Beautiful windows We purchased the Tuscany windows and sliding door for our condo. In addition to liking the way the windows look, we immediately noticed how much quieter it is in our unit and how much less the air conditioner runs. We look forward to leak-free windows in the winter cold as well. We are happy. This is one of the best improvements we made to our home. September 18, 2013
Very poor manufacturing quality I recently had all of the windows in my house replaced with Milgard windows. 1 out of 6 of the picture windows and 6 out of 6 of the horizontal sliders has some sort of manufacturing defect. The defects include: 1) Scratch on picture window glass pane 2) Multiple missing weep hole covers 3) Night guards inoperable 4) Black debris (dust) in internal window casing cavities that continuously migrates into interior window tracks. 5) Dent in exterior vinyl window frame (from factory) 6) Slider drags on night guard The fact that Milgard will send a tech out to do repairs almost two months after these defect were reported is of little consolation. Not including the black debris, the defect rate on the sliders in 100%. That many defects from the factory is indicative of a general indifference to quality that is unacceptable. September 18, 2013
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 21 next>>
Answer Center

Products

Need help?

Contact Us Find a Dealer Help Me Choose Help Me Budget