Milgard Window & Door Ratings & Reviews

Your Opinion Matters

At Milgard, our passion for providing the best windows and doors is driven by our unparalleled customer service. After more than 50 years in the industry, Milgard continues to focus on providing consumers with the best window buying experience. We work closely with our customers to determine the best new home windows, replacement windows or patio doors for their home. Knowledgeable dealers and a wealth of online window information take the guesswork out of buying windows. Milgard has earned BUILDER Magazine's Best Quality Vinyl Window in the Nation eight times. It's no wonder Milgard ranks high in window comparison ratings and earns high marks with best rated vinyl windows, top rated home windows and home window replacement reviews.

We've found that our customers describe the Milgard Window & Door experience best. We have received thousands of window reviews that describe nearly every aspect of the Milgard experience, including products, after-purchase service and dealer interactions. Our window reviewers help their fellow customers make informed purchase decisions. Take a moment to explore the window and door reviews written by our customers. If you are an existing Milgard customer, please write a window review and share your experience with others!


Milgard® Windows & Doors 4.3 5 542 542
Great Appearance Marginally Fuctional Initially Very pleased with the look of the 15 very expensive custom vinyl mullioned casement windows with heat reflective treated argon filled glass I purchased. They changed the entire appearance of the house. The house is quieter and cooler than it has ever been in the 30 years I have lived there. However they do not function as well as they look. Several had alignment issues with the closing arm joint eccentric screw and would not close or lock properly. (Factory Quality Control Issue?) This still persists intermittantly. However after several service calls by Milgard tehnicians I now know how to adjust them myself but should not have too. Crank handle interior splined surfaces do not mate properly with closing mechanism arbors and set screws do not tighten enough to keep them from falling off each time they are used. I finally had to epoxy them in place. Another QA issue? Screens do not fit tightly in the window frames. Unlike my 30 year old Milgard aluminum frame widows where the screens firmly locked in place with spring loaded clips these are prone to popping out with the slightest pressure. When purchasing these windows I expected the same quality as the Milgard products I had initially installed when the house was built. I have been dissapointed this time around. July 26, 2013
Molding does not have an appealing look on house and takes up overall glass viewdue to its width Design of windows does not allow for having window glass all around the opening without the molding showing inside and out. Molding width required new trim inside and outside to maintain a consistent uniformed look. Interior appear to be crooked as gaps are around the window are uneven from top to bottom as well as some showing molding on one side and not the other. Several windows collect condensation in the winter. July 25, 2013
amazing follow up when a problem window might show up. the service is excellent. will always purchase only Milgard!! thank you for being there!!! July 25, 2013
An excellent buy definitely exceeding the quality expected for the price Every aspect of dealing with Milgard through the dealer was first class. The products were delivered on time and in much shorter time frame than I could get any alternative window I checked out. Even when we hit a snag in the order it was quickly resolved. I will clearly steer others to Milgard as opportunity arises. July 25, 2013
Exterior condensation is a problem. I had a Milgard sliding glass door installed last January. During the winter, there were some mornings when there was a lot of condensation on the outside of the glass (when it was really cold, it was a layer of ice). It was very ugly. I called and asked Milgard about it and was told that it was normal, that when the temperatures were far apart between the outside and inside this could happen. I thought with warmer temperatures the issue wouldn't exist. But it does. The glass door continues to have condensation on the exterior sometimes. Once the temperature differential was only 12 degrees. Part of the function of a sliding glass door is to act as a window. This door simply doesn't fulfill it's function, since it's fogged up for hours some mornings. July 22, 2013
Solid Economy Window I replaced all of the old single pane steel casement windows in a 60 year old red brick rancher 4 years ago with this product. I used a local dealer and negotiated a deal which included the SunCoatMax. The total cost per window averaged $200.00 per unit. I found this to be an excellent price, as every window except one was an oddball size. I have replaced windows before, so I was comfortable installing them myself. I am in a (very hot) desert city with western exposure and the SunCoatMax has been extremely beneficial. The windows have performed well, with no warping, discoloration, fading, or component failures. This is not a top of the line model. It is a utilitarian window which, while not fancy, is tasteful and has performed admirably for years now. Highly recommended product for the budget conscious buyer. July 19, 2013
Love the look and the way they glide.. Love these windows to death, will brag about them to every one I know. Also would like to say that the men who installed them were very professional, and very nice. July 12, 2013
Love the energy efficient windows High quality, great appearance and easy to use. Recommended by friend in Oregon who was very pleased with their windows. July 9, 2013
Installation was great ..easy.... Made my house look 100% better from those old alumninum windows! Sorry I took so long to do it. My house looks beautiful! July 1, 2013
We like the warranty, hope we don't need it. Much better window than the original Builder Windows. July 1, 2013
Good but not great The windows arrived with some abrasions that were not bad enough to return and wait for the problems to be corrected. The banding on the vinyl caused some blemishes but other defects were there before they left the manufacturing facility. They were between two pieces of fixed vinyl. The weatherstripping was not consistent, with some pieces being short, some being the proper length and inconsistent joints where the piece was not long enough so there is a small break. I would have all joints and lengths being the same for aesthetics. I would prefer that the cranks on the casement windows be on one side or rather than in the center for security purposes. If the window is left open, it seems possible to pop the screen and crank the window to gain access. The casement windows on older homes had the crank on the hinge side and you couldn't reach it if the window was slightly open. Overall we are satisfied with the windows but feel that Milgard should implement a better quality control/inspection team. We had a breather tube sticking out which caused a service call and the sliding screen door was too large to use as manufactured. Another one was promptly ordered but wasn't used because the technician said not to use the black plastic guides that arrive with the screen. I don't understand why something is sent with directions but Milgard says not to use them. The screen is also a bit on the flimsy side. The Milgard technician that I had was very polite, cleaned up his small mess and a pleasure to work with. Milgard's customer service is very prompt and efficient. July 1, 2013
Energy and sound abatement is a plus We ordered 7 windows. Three facing the sunrise and 4 facing sunset. We got the Argon filled double pane all around with their highest energy protection on the sunset facing windows. Replacing 1971 era aluminum frame single pane windows. I live in Reno where temps are as low as -15 in the winter and 106 in summer. The ability to mitigate the extreme temps are so appreciated. Our house has been much easier to control indoor climate. An added and unlooked for plus was the windows ability to dampen outdoor noise. Lawn Mowers and trimmers as well as noisy neighbors are greatly reduced. We had one window that had a minor flaw in the glass, another screen didn't quite fit properly. Milgard quickly responded and corrected both issues without hassle. July 1, 2013
Don't waste your time researching different brands. You'll end up here anyway! when I started my research, I thought that Milgard would be the most money because they spend the most in advertising, etc.. typical big brand must be more money. By the time I did my research (and I DID my research), I ended up back at Milgard. I have a 2 story house with only 1 a/c unit. My upstairs windows that faced West made the rooms unbearable in the heat. The new windows have totally transformed the room. I would say that they have easily lowered the temperature by 15 degrees (it's been scorching in Los Angeles this week). I'm soo happy that I decided to use Milgard! July 1, 2013
HOA approved! Our HOA approved the Milgard Tuscany Series windows and doors for replacement of old aluminum framed windows. Much more contemporary look and more energy and sound efficient. Love the way the view of San Francisco has opened up, compared with the old crank-out windows these picture windows replaced. Another HOA in Sausalito, CA where we have a 2nd condo has approved Milgard windows for balcony enclosures as part of their new contemporary architectural design. June 30, 2013
Superb performance and appearance We live in a now historically designated neighborhood in Oregon. Our 1919 Cape Cod has 53 windows on 3 stories. The windows on the upper 2 floors had in particular deteriorated over the years. We researched extensively replacement window options with a goal of respecting the architecture of the house, achieving energy savings and gaining functionality. In the end, these fiberglass windows best met al of our requirements. We replaced all the windows on the second and third floors, a combination of double hung and casement windows. All included grids that replicated those on the wood windows they were replacing. We are 4+ years with these 30+ new windows and could not be more satisfied. They substantially reduce noise, eliminated the prominent drafts we had previously, perform perfectly (up-down and in-out) and look great. Only if you are very close can you tell they are not wood. June 30, 2013
Great window for the money Great product, solid hardware, well-made and nice look. Exterior color options are great. Paint is a little frail but fine if you're careful with it. Overall, a fine product for the value. Very pleased! June 27, 2013
Durable, well made, fair price. I added Milgard windows to a living room addition and they performed well. I have a bay window with a horizontal slide in the middle and side picture windows. Two more horizontal sliding windows further back in the room complete this addition. After twenty years they havent broken, or fell apart, though they are becoming a bit difficult to open now. June 26, 2013
I love the ease of which these windows open and close and lock. I love the look and ease of Milgard windows. This is the third time we have purchased Milgard windows. The first time was for our own home. Second and third time were for rentals. I am having an issue with one of the current windows not locking. The service department in the past has always been very dependable and I don't have a doubt that they will come out and take care of the problem. This is the best company around to purchase your windows from. June 26, 2013
We considere this to be the best product on the market After replacing all bedroom windows and being satisfied, we decided to replace the living room window also and added extra thickness to the window grade, blocking out even more traffic and street noise and ended up replacing our kitchen window also and could not be happier with the result. We love our windows and would ONLY buy Milgard products again. June 25, 2013
Product okay, not sure about value; installation was so-so Too soon to tell if the windows are doing their insulation job. They look fine although the installation by Loews was only so-so. The most interesting issue is that the local gas company provides a modest rebate after filling out numerous forms and promising your first-born child. The one document they needed was an invoice from Loews showing the size of each window installed so they could calculate the rebate. The gas company was unable to decipher the Loews document showing the sizes and getting even that document was like pulling teeth. Since the Loews doc was uninformative the gas company apparently just made up a number and sent me a check for $15 instead of the $177 I was expecting. Now, because of Loews, I am in a tug-of-war with the gas company. Not Milgard's fault but what a frustration. June 21, 2013
We liked this product because of the style and functionality We've just had the patio door installed and are already enjoying the look and ease of using the door. We know when temperatures rise, it will make a difference in a room with a 13' ceiling. We also like the look of the grid pattern between the panels of glass. The door provides a more updated look overall. June 12, 2013
Highly Recommend We purchased the Wood Clad Single Hung windows as replacement windows. After installation I immediately noticed how quiet my house was. We live near a busy road and all of the sudden the noise was gone. Our energy costs were much lower this winter and I really and looking forward to see how cool my house stays in the summer. One of the main reasons we went with Milgard was because of the Lifetime Warranty. June 3, 2013
excellent insulation, easy to handle, and good installation exceed my expectation on insulation quality and good installation June 3, 2013
Excellent, very pleased with all aspects of form, fit and function. I have had several of your windows installed in the past. This month I had one of your 6 ft. sliders installed to replace an old single pane that was approaching 30 years old. What a difference. Your doors are perfect in every way. I would not consider any thing other than Milguard ! May 20, 2013
very pleased with the features this product had to offer very pleased with the way these new windows changed the looks of our home.would definitely recommend to our friends and neighbors. May 20, 2013
Jammed the very first time I operated it. The very first time I operated this window, the sash jammed very solidly against each other. The window is stuck open and I cannot get it closed. May 10, 2013
Great Stuff Beautiful, functional doors and professional, knowledgable installer May 10, 2013
Milgard's wood windows are great. I love them! These windows are simply beautiful and are so easy to use. May 9, 2013
The screen door is a big problem We are very happy with the door itself. Our problem is with the screen door. Our installer had great diffuculty installing the screen door, once he had it in, which took longer then installing the intire slider, it worked great until it was accidentaly knocked out. We cannot get it back it without calling for service. May 8, 2013
Great product, great quality, great features Quality is excellent. Value was exceptional. Product delivered early and exactly as ordered. Installation was straightforward. Love these windows. May 2, 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 19 next>>
Answer Center

Products

Need help?

Contact Us Find a Dealer Help Me Choose