Milgard Window & Door Ratings & Reviews

Your Opinion Matters

At Milgard, our passion for providing the best windows and doors is driven by our unparalleled customer service. After more than 50 years in the industry, Milgard continues to focus on providing consumers with the best window buying experience. We work closely with our customers to determine the best new home windows, replacement windows or patio doors for their home. Knowledgeable dealers and a wealth of online window information take the guesswork out of buying windows. Milgard has earned BUILDER Magazine's Best Quality Vinyl Window in the Nation eight times. It's no wonder Milgard ranks high in window comparison ratings and earns high marks with best rated vinyl windows, top rated home windows and home window replacement reviews.

We've found that our customers describe the Milgard Window & Door experience best. We have received thousands of window reviews that describe nearly every aspect of the Milgard experience, including products, after-purchase service and dealer interactions. Our window reviewers help their fellow customers make informed purchase decisions. Take a moment to explore the window and door reviews written by our customers. If you are an existing Milgard customer, please write a window review and share your experience with others!


Milgard® Windows & Doors 4.3 5 555 555
Single hung windows are problematic I paid a contractor to replace the 1935 vintage (true divided lite) windows on two single family homes. I choose the Milgard Wood Clad Series because they were appealing and closely matched the look of the original windows. The problem is the operation of the single hung windows. If you're not extremely careful in opening and closing the windows, the rope in the balance adjusters will break and jam or disable your window. The rope is extremely thin and obviously weak. I've had this occur on four of my windows and will need to order replacement parts and have the windows repaired. August 1, 2012
Seascape Windows installation Los Alamitos, Ca. 18 years of window installs. Ca#524830 Not all vinyl is equal. Milgard's products are time tested, as is their service. I can purchase and install 15 other manufacturers, but I have to sleep at night. Please don't be slammed and sold an inferior product. My wife says, "are you going to come home each night and say they are just windows, or will you want to say, I love my windows." Not much different in price, but long on warranty. Go with the strongest company durring these economic times. Victor. July 25, 2012
Window Installer I have installed the Milgard Tuscany window line. Very nice windows and the curb apeal on the house after I left was unbeliveable. July 2, 2012
cleanability is easy and very easy to maintain the appearance of the product. the locks on this series are so easy to operate, alos the opening and closing of the windows even though they are heavy they operate with ease. the french doors are the focal point of the room. June 8, 2012
Very nice overall window There is one disatisfaction I have, its where the fixed vinyl insert meets the slider rail near the insert corners. There are small gap openings at each of the corners allowing bugs to work there way into the house. I have contacted my dealer and hopefully this can be resolved. June 1, 2012
Great windows Changed the entire residence to these windows. Great looking, slide and lock easy May 26, 2012
The window latch breaks off causing the window to fall. It is not easy to operate and breaks easily. The double hung window has a feature that lets you clean the outside of the window from the inside of your home. This feature is not easy to use. The latch that holds the window in place falls out and causes the window to fall. I have tried to put the part back into the window but this mechanism is stuck in the track and I cannot get it out. As a result I cannot use the window properly. I May 9, 2012
Beautiful windows, changed the look and feel of my entire house This is the second time I purchased windows from Milgard. First order was custom double hung aluminium (new construction), I was hooked. When I purchased a new home that had old single glazed aluminium windows, I knew who to call. The Tuscany vinyl replacement windows are beautiful, almost sound proof, and made my home look brand new both inside and out. You can easily see if the window is locked, and they slide smooth as silk. I ordered an extra plate of glass to be added to all the windows on one side of the house due to a noisy neighbor. It worked out great. The Life time warranty is a Huge Plus, the customer service was the Best I would never buy anything else. April 16, 2012
Love the windows! We love our new windows! The house is so much more comfortable throughout the year. Also, the appearance of the house makes our house "standout" from others. We've gotten so many compliments. The people at Diamond Cut Windows were so helpful and are great people to work with.....true professionals! Jeff and Maria Lewis Hanford, Ca.! April 16, 2012
Windows and Doors I love my new doors, the ease to lock them and the PureView screens. I had also double hung Windows installed in my three Bathrooms. For my Bedroom I got Double Horizontal Slider Window, with the easy remove screens. Thank you for a great Product. April 12, 2012
beautiful high efficiency window We love our new Milgard Tuscany windows. The room temperature is much more level than it was before as the window are so much more insulated than the old ones where and keep out the heat from the sun so much better. The nice a clean look adds to the pleasure, in particular the relatively thin frame and the embedded locks. The sliders add the additional benefits of larger glass front an unobstructed view compared to double hungs. To clean them one has to lift them out of the frame and they are really heavy. A mechanism to allow them to swing in for cleaning would be a real improvement April 11, 2012
Well built and looks great The outside fiberglass is great. Resists the elements and looks nice. At the same time the interior wood is beautiful. I finished mine with a white wash and clear coats. April 8, 2012
High quality product We have enjoyed our new windows and patio slider doors, and it is very easy to see the quality craftmenship that has been put into these products. The windows and doors slide and lock easily and feel very secure when they are in the locked position. The addition of these to our home has enhanced the appeal and style, increasing the worth. We also notice a reduction in heat in the summer when the sun is beating down on the front of the house, and that is due to the energy efficiency and UV protection supplied by the two large picture windows. We would definitely purchase Milgard products again and will recommend them to others that are in the market for windows or doors. April 8, 2012
Good product I like that it enhances the outside appearance of the house. The single latch system is great and easy to use, no more fussing or unsure if the windows are locked shut or not. I would have like to have the ones that have a higher sound proof rate. But the Tuscany style is not too bad. April 7, 2012
This product is very attractive, and workmanship is outstanding. Very impressed with the appearance. We have also cut down on the amount of use of our heater, compared to when we didn't have the windows. Also the added plus is that the outside noise level is cut dramatically. April 6, 2012
This product is the nicest window I've seen. I recommend these quiet, easy sliding, beautiful looking windows to anyone who needs a replacement and doesn't want the window area changed or removed. These fit right into the space where the old windows were. They look terrific! April 6, 2012
Excellent Replacement Windows We replaced our existing wooden windows in our 1987 home with the Tuscany windows and are very happy with them. It's great to have the improved energy efficiency as well as the ease of use. With the inserts these windows nicely replaced the look of our divided windows in our Colonial style home. Cleaning our old windows on the second story was a difficult and dangerous task while with these new windows it's a easy task that we'll no doubt do MUCH more often. They quickly and gently open inward and with the dividers now enclosed inside the glass they're a breeze to clean. April 6, 2012
Look nice But operation is a bit difficult. It needs a lip at the bottom of window as well to better have a grip to pull window up from bottom not part blinds in center to get to it. Also one of ours is not closing well enough to latch and lock. April 6, 2012
Great choice for energy efficiency on a budget! We replaced all 7 window openings in our house with Style Line windows. 2 Horizontal sliders, 4 single hung, and 1 picture window with sliders on each side. My only complaint are the "uneven sightlines", but that is more something that I notice because I know of it. Other people may not notice. I think I would sacrifice a little thin in the non-opening section to have a more uniform look. I definitely don't want the thickness typically found in "builder upgrade" type vinyl window frames. My only complaint on the build quality is a little bit of the silicone was squished out of the corners during manufacturing and I notice it when I look closely. My daughter also plays with them, so that draws my attention as well. It's not massive, but it is there. It seems like something that could have been cleaned off before it dried. The tan vinyl works really well with our bricks. I really love how easy they are to open and not having to worry about latching when they are closed. It gives peace of mind and I also don't have to open the blinds up all the way to close/lock them. We got the argon filled/366 glass and they are so much better than our old aluminum, single pane windows from 1973! We no longer feel that draft several FEET from the windows. Our first full month with them installed, left us with an electric bill with 30% lower usage than the same month in the prior year! These will pay for themselves rather quickly, especially when added home value is considered. I also like Milgard's warranty policy, though hopefully I will not need to use it. April 5, 2012
Love these sliders! We purchased a whole house of Milgard wood clad replacement windows and three sliding glass doors. The sliding glass doors are the highlight. They are beautiful and are made to look like french doors. Sliding glass doors can be so unattractive, and these are beautiful. They slide nicely, and we are extremely happy with them. The only problem with them is that the rollers tend to break easily. They should be made out of a stronger material. The warranty does cover this though. April 5, 2012
Great! Very nice looking and excellent quality. The wood clad windows are so attractive and do the job perfectly. April 5, 2012
We are very happy with the windows. We really do love our windows. They are a major improvement over the metal windows we used to have - no more sweaty window frames and no more cold drafts coming in. As far as the appearance goes, they look very nice. However, I wish there had been more choices in the hardware. The hardware we have looks cheap. I see that now there is a dark bronze color available, which was not available when we purchased our windows. that is what we got on our Milgard slider, and it is really attractive. I would replace all my hardware with the new dark bronze color, but I know it would be way too expensive. We were also disappointed in the color of the inside metal framing. It is a kind of beige color, and it would have been a lot more attractive if it had been available with dark bronze as an option. However, all and all, we love our new windows. The do work well and look nice. April 5, 2012
Operation difficulties and exterior paint issues Operational difficulties - the window comes with a fold-down operator which can easily interfere and mar the interior finish of the window. The operator and operation of the window makes opening of large (3'0"x5'0") casement windows from the fully closed position and to the fully closed position (for latching) forces intensive. It feels at times as if the mechanism will fail or the handle will strip. Experior paint issues - the exterior coating for the fibeglas frame is easily scratched, chipped or scuffed revealing the white fiberglas underneath. We have been unable to get a "touch up kit" to recover these issues. Having these these issues addressed for the next generation of windows would make them superlative. April 3, 2012
It isn't as good as it looks I have found that the screens are cheap and do not properly snug up against the window. They are also difficult to get out and back in in order to clean the windows. April 3, 2012
The Ultra Series windows and Patio door have greatly improved the energy efficiency in my home. The Ultra Series windows and patio door have greatly improved the energy efficiency in my home.These products replaced single glazed aluminum framed windows so there was a noticeble improvemnet in cooling and heating costs as well as improving upon the level of quietness in my home. For the 12 month period post-installation there was almost a 30% decrease in energy consumption in my all electric home. My only criticism is in the quality of the trim work on the exterior frames. I have a brown-tone exterior frame and white interior. Though the interior finishes only have minor flaws, there are several to be found on the exterior, such as excess glue leakage at the joints which dust sticks to and chipped brown tone paint on several windows and on one window about 1/4' gap on a trim piece. Overall I am happy with the windows as my goal was to improve upon the comfort level in my home which these windows have accomplished. April 2, 2012
This product seems to be very good quality. The fit and quality of the windows seems to be very good. The double pane glass has quieted outside noise significantly. This wasn't a goal but a definite plus. Windows open and close with ease. The smart lock is nice, providing a visual and aural clue as to whether the lock has engaged. The look of he windows has helped the curb appeal of the house, updating it nicely. April 2, 2012
Hi quality vinyl window in harsh mountain environment Extreme mountain environment at 9,000' elevation. Excellent insulating & noise abatement properties, Heavy duty frames, blemish free glass, & easy sliding. Value for $$ very good. Highly recommend. April 2, 2012
Product "Great" - Support "Not So Much" The product came as advertised, however there was NO DOCUMENTATION WHATSOEVER! Because I had NO INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS, I did not know the wood clad interior trim could easily be removed to drill the screw hole for installing... so I drilled through the trim and then had to fill and repaint. Only with the 3rd large window did a trim accidentally come off and I learned it was removable. Several hours wasted. A balancer spring snapped on 1 window, like a rifle shot. I was surprised it did not shatter the window or injure me. This led to the discovery that all the balancer springs were the wrong size and needed replacement. Milgard sent subcontractors to do the work. They missed the 1st appointment time, and did not have the right parts the next 2 times, finally getting it right after about 2.5 months. I am very pleased with the product for the price (I am a licensed building contractor). I would never consider Milgard again if I depended on their service and support. Lack of documentation and unprepared technicians is inexcusable. April 2, 2012
Best windows on the market. My Milgard widows turned out to be the most important and efficient project in my effort to greatly improve my home heating and cooling efficiency, I recommend them to friends and family whenever the topic of re-modeling comes up. Thanks ! April 2, 2012
Excellent product Love my window(s). Will stick with Milgard for future purchases. Fit and function are excellent. Lifetime warranty is great. Factory Service is local. April 2, 2012
<<prev 15 16 17 18 19 20 next>>
Answer Center

Products

Need help?

Contact Us Find a Dealer Help Me Choose Help Me Budget