Milgard Window & Door Ratings & Reviews

Your Opinion Matters

At Milgard, our passion for providing the best windows and doors is driven by our unparalleled customer service. After more than 50 years in the industry, Milgard continues to focus on providing consumers with the best window buying experience. We work closely with our customers to determine the best new home windows, replacement windows or patio doors for their home. Knowledgeable dealers and a wealth of online window information take the guesswork out of buying windows. Milgard has earned BUILDER Magazine's Best Quality Vinyl Window in the Nation eight times. It's no wonder Milgard ranks high in window comparison ratings and earns high marks with best rated vinyl windows, top rated home windows and home window replacement reviews.

We've found that our customers describe the Milgard Window & Door experience best. We have received thousands of window reviews that describe nearly every aspect of the Milgard experience, including products, after-purchase service and dealer interactions. Our window reviewers help their fellow customers make informed purchase decisions. Take a moment to explore the window and door reviews written by our customers. If you are an existing Milgard customer, please write a window review and share your experience with others!


Milgard® Windows & Doors 4.3 5 560 560
Love my Style Line door and Tuscany Windows Just love my new windows and doors. Blocks out noise, easy to clean, easy to operate. Only problem I have is with the screen on the Style Line slider. It is very very difficult to install the screen. Ours was accidently knocked out and it took us quite a long time to re-install it. We loosened the screws, top and bottom and still had to use a tool to lift the wheels over the lip. that is the only reason for the three on ease of use. September 10, 2013
Very easy to use the sliders, good locking mechanism. Had these windows installed and they are very nice looking. The reflectivity from the outside works for heat gain resistance, and also for privacy during the day. We are very happy with them. September 3, 2013
tuscany sliding doors I bought 5 sliding doors to replace the orginal ones installed in my home built in 1977. They are very substanial, great product, saves me money by saving cooling and heating costs, noticable within a month after installation. Friends have commented that they were better doors than what they had installed and stated they wish they had purchased this product. July 27, 2013
My French style sliders doors are perfect! I am thrilled with my selection of the French Style slider. I replaced traditional wood French doors that were old and damaged by water. The look of my new doors has a much more open view. I highly recommend the Milgard doors, next will be replacing my windows. July 26, 2013
Beautiful wood interior We bought both fixed and double hung windows, but there's really not much to say about a fixed window, except it's really nice you can order just about any size you want. The windows are exceptionally pretty, with a very nice fine-grained Douglas Fir on the inside. The grids tend to be a little coarser grain wood, but not a problem - still pretty. The exterior are white fiberglass, which matches the white vinyl on the older part of the house. We had custom grids on some of the windows, and after a couple back and forth communications with our lumber yard representative to assure the measurements were correct, the windows were built to our specifications, and look great. The only caveat with the fancy grids is that all that wood needs to be finished, which is tedious. The windows seem to operate fine, although we are still under construction, so haven't been using them much yet. I assume with a vinyl construction and wood veneer, these windows will withstand our typically cool foggy conditions better than 100% wood. March 21, 2013
Outside protection, beautiful inside We are happy to let you know that we are pleased with our new windows. The old windows were far past their prime, especially the outside wood. The fibreglass exterior looks great and the inside wood is beautiful. The new windows make the house more pleasant in terms of temperature and no worries about colour fading. Bert and Connie February 4, 2013
The appearance and quality of Aluminum Thermal Break Windows exceeds windows of other materials I researched replacement windows of various manufacturers and materials prior to selecting Milgards Thermal Break Alumimun Frame Window. After seeing a Milgard sample window and cut through a frame member my lifetime of experience in the design and construction field convinced me this was an excellent product and my choice for my 30 year old home. January 24, 2013
Energy saving and appearance We have a view lot, so our 7 West facing windows are all sliding glass doors. We installed 7 Tuscany sliding glass doors last May. It made a great difference in reducing the heat transfer to the inside. We noticed the same thing in the Winter re indoor heat conservation. Most guests and visitors have commented on how beautiful and rich looking the doors are. We're also impressed with the easy to use handle/lock on the doors. January 24, 2013
Form follows function Wonderful quality door, but that's not why I bought it....I bought it because of Milgard's reputation for service after the sale.....Beautifully balanced swing on each door. quality materials-stainless steel hinges and door handle...about the handle-it's a 5point locking mechanism which I appreciate for it's superior locking/security- and you need it in a french door....the door was factory painted-and the finish is indeed superb.... I had a problem with that door lock -it closed with difficulty after 6 months, so I called Milgard and they had a tech out quickly...he was professional, efficient and fixedthe issue.... I wish Milgard made single doors-they don't....the door is very expensive, but you do indeed get what you pay for when it comes to doors.... December 18, 2012
Treat Yourself You Won't Be Sorry I purchased the Milgard sliding glass door that is fiberglass and wood-clad. First of all, it looks spectacular! This slider was installed on a sun-facing side of my home which bakes in the summer. I can honestly say, that with the extra sun shield options that I also added, that this same room is NOTICEABLY cooler in the summer. So much so that I don't have to turn the air conditioner on as much as I used to. And did I mention how gorgeous it is?? Oh yeah, I did, but I love looking at it. So classy. My only suggestion is to be sure to hire Milgard certified installers. The two men who installed my slider were very clean and competant, but some months later it was brought to my attention that they did not use the right material to cover the nail holes, so it got gooey when the weather heated up. I had this taken care of myself and all is as it should be now. The other thing is be careful around the glass. I had movers bring in some furniture, and they accidentally nicked the glass, so there is a scratch that I notice but no one else does. When it happened my slider was out of warranty for a repair. Lastly, I notice in the winter that the curtains still move slightly in and out, so there is still a bit of drafting in the winter time which sort of surprised me. If you're trying to keep out the cold drafts, this may not be the product. But, if you're trying to fend off unrelenting sun in the Summer, this is the product to buy. I recommend it without hesitation. March 30, 2012
Amazing Door. This door is more solid that he solid door that we replaced. I didn't think that possible. We absolutely love it!! it looks perfect like it always belonged there. The added screen feature we are for sure going to love this summer! Everything came pre-installed, all we did was put it in the hole in the house, and poof it was perfect! My only problem was figuring out how to operate the handles. That was a learning curve, as we had no directions included with our door. When we figured this out, it was a very impressive door, with amazingly secure feel. Would order from Milgard over and over! Thanks!!! February 27, 2012
Excellent Windows We replaced our old aluminum windows with Milgard vinyl windows back in 1995 (I think). Since then windows in less-used parts of the house have been replaced, the most current a set of French Doors in the dining room. I love these windows! They have worked perfectly with no steaming between the two panes and look as good as they did way back when. Newman has always done a fine job. Their installers are employed by Newman, not subbed, and are extremely careful and clean. We can recommend this company and its product wholeheartedly. ... David and Virginia Drake October 24, 2014
We're very happy with the windows. The salesman was very professional & thorough. The installers were very polite, efficient , well organized, and speedy. We were very impressed with them and the owners of the company. Glad we went with Best SGS Inc. October 24, 2014
MANY PROBLEMS MILGARD TUSCANY PATIO DOOR CAME WITH BROKEN LATCH DOES NOT LOCK. PATIO SCREEN DOOR HARD TO MOVE AND DOES NOT CLOSE PROPERLY DIFFERENT PATIO DOOR SCREEN IS DAMAGED SLIDING WINDOW HAS DENTS IN THE HANDLE NEAR THE LATCH TWO DOUBLE HUNG WINDOWS THE GUIDE ON THE BOTTOM WINDOW DO NOT SEAT IN THE SLOT CANNOT REMOVE ANY OF THREE DOUBLE HUNG WINDOW SCREENS THEY WILL NOT COME OUT. ONE SMALL DOUBLE HUNG WINDOW HAS PIECE AT THE BOTTOM INSIDE THAT IS NOT IN PLACE PROPERLY. October 24, 2014
Good fiberglass window, We have both the Double Hung, and Casement windows, all have given us very good service for the four or five years we have had them. The installer did not know enough to do the excellent job that the windows deserved, they did an "okay" installation. I am now in the process of removing one of the double hung windows to weather proof it, just a few things that should have been done in the installation, like caulking etc. We are very pleased with the windows them selves, and Milgard has been out once to renew the weather stripping on the windows, NO charge. The rep was very pleasant. October 23, 2014
problems with double hung windows We just bout a house this year and bought 21 Milgard windows and doors as part of remodeling about 80% of the house. Most of the windows look and operate properly except 3 double hang windows installed in the master bedroom. all three windows seem to have the same problem-- locking mechanism does not engage unless you push out hard on the window as pulling it down. I can get the windows to lock about 50% of the time but the rest of the family can not engage the locks. Yesterday, we had a service call from Milgard technician. After removing some of the weather stripping and lubricating window tracks, there was no change in the way the windows operate. The technician said there is nothing else he can do and left. This is not acceptable and i would like Milgard to step up their service practices and fix the problem or replace my windows with ones that work. If necessary, I am willing to demonstrate the problem to more seasoned technicians or design engineers. October 21, 2014
Great windows. Many compliments from my neighbours These are fantastic windows that look good inside and out. I'm very satisfied with the quality and the follow up support from Milgard. My only issue is the faulty screens which apparently have a manufacturing defect. The screens were replaced once by Milguard service but unfortunately the replacement screens have the same problem. October 20, 2014
Beautiful look and very quiet window We have enjoyed the Window all around and plan on future purchases. We would recommend this product to others looking for Windows. October 19, 2014
Can not get service on windows Windows are difficult to open and many are fogged between the glass. So far nothing but very poor service if any from Milgard Windows October 15, 2014
The Milgard ULTRA product and professional installation exceeded my expectations! Window replacement began as a stressful process until a contractor/friend recommended Milgard. We discussed in detail all factors important to me. I was able to narrow down the manufacturer and product line to Milgard ULTRA; I then decided on new window construction (nail fin). Next step was to find a "professional" company to order and install the 9 windows. Cunningham Doors & Windows (Santa Ana, CA) provided the best customer service. Their installers did an extraordinary job on every window. I have neighbors stop to admire and inquire about these new windows -- wow! My family is very pleased with the Milgard ULTRA windows. October 14, 2014
This product changes the entire appearance of our cabin The Tuscany windows transformed our ordinary cabin into a very charming cabin. The views out each window are so enhanced, that they each look like a beautiful scenery picture. We are very happy with each windows in each room. October 14, 2014
a couple of complaints/observations There should be a way of locking the slider mid position so it can be open but not enough to allow an intruder. We live ground level. The glue used to affix your Milgard stickers is too hard to remove. I was told not to use Goo Gone. Any suggestions? Thank you. October 12, 2014
LOVE my windows I really love my new windows, especially since I figured out how to take the screens in and out. It is really very easy. In an earlier review, I said the screens need improvement. I now take that back. Thank you. October 9, 2014
windows Just like to say they are lovely windows. The crew at SGK were so professional and awesome I would definitely recommend you both. Terri Pacheco October 7, 2014
Product not really what I expected although the windows are still quite nice. The Milgard Essence gliders I purchased about 6 months ago have many negative issues relating to the design and construction of the individual units. I ordered my units triple pane as part of an energy retrofit for a home located in a cold climate. One issue is the seal design of the units because the weather stripping is incompletely installed and there are air leaks. While these windows were supplied to me at a materials cost of 1/4 the proposed materials cost of triple pane windows from Europe, I feel little or no attention to fabrication or design detail was made to make the gaskets and seals perform well for cold climates. Another issue relating to the construction is that the outside mullion covers, on every window, have curled up and pulled away from the mullion from exposure to the sun! Again, my climate is a cold climate therefore these mullions are unlikely to hold up in a hot climate. Factory applied chemical or mechanical adhesive would have prevented these mullion failures. Once the mullions pull open from the sun, air and water come directly inside, as if the window were just left open. Lastly, my windows were not assembled with the utmost care. By this I mean the factory applied exterior paint had many micro and mega scratches from being moved across the assembly table. The exteriors were not clean, there was fiberglass dust from cutting operations and sealant blemishes. On the inside, some of the pine had small dents or gauges from being dragged around during assembly at the factory. These windows needed work when they arrived, they were not ready for the process of staining the pine. If I paid for what was explained to me to be a fancy handmade new car and when the car was delivered full of scratches in the paint and other issues, I would be mad. That's all the bad stuff I have to say. These triple pane windows are quiet, hardly hear any noise from outside. The window hardware is very nice and the windows roll perfectly smoothly and lock with a wonderful "click". The factory workers did a great job selecting color matched pine for the interiors. Packaging for shipping was professional, with lots of layers of protection and handles had been installed to assist with moving these heavy triple pane windows. The product has good qualities and bad qualities. More attention should have been given to weather stripping these windows going into a cold climate. In the future I'm confident they'll get the design sorted out. October 7, 2014
My windows are awesome! We replaced all the windows in our house and wish we had done so a long time ago. They both keep the heat down in the summer, and keep cold out in the winter. We especially like the filtered light, cutting glare from the sun. And, the windows look so nice -- both inside and out. We would recommend these type windows to everyone! October 6, 2014
Great looking door! Tuscany slider door Installation a breeze . . . Alex Salinas from Quality Windows-Oxnard provided excellent guidance and recommendations. . . beat box stores hands down. Very satisfied with purchase, install and results! Thank you Milgard-Simi Valley! October 5, 2014
Quality Purchse The Style line windows with Sun Coat Max replaced 10, 28 year old windows that did not work properly. These gems are so easy to open and close. Made our home noticeable quieter and we have a very comfortable temperature. Looking forward to a warmer winter this year.They are beautiful and put a smile on my face every time I pull into the drive way. We have received many compliments on these windows!!! We will be saving up for new french for doors. October 4, 2014
Milgard windows and U.S. Energy We are so pleased with our beautiful new Tuscany windows. We saw an immediate difference in the temperature in our home. Our installer Curtis is amazing, and Ed answered all questions, and checked on the progress consistantly. We would highly recommend these professionals to anyone looking for a beautiful, quality product and amazing service. October 2, 2014
The windows look great on my house. My house is quieter where I had windows installed. Outside noise is minimal. Outside wind noise is nill. I'm expecting to reap the benefits of insulation this winter. I will be installing Milgard windows on the rest of my house soon. October 2, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>
Answer Center

Products

Need help?

Contact Us Find a Dealer Help Me Choose Help Me Budget