Milgard Window & Door Ratings & Reviews

Your Opinion Matters

At Milgard, our passion for providing the best windows and doors is driven by our unparalleled customer service. After more than 50 years in the industry, Milgard continues to focus on providing consumers with the best window buying experience. We work closely with our customers to determine the best new home windows, replacement windows or patio doors for their home. Knowledgeable dealers and a wealth of online window information take the guesswork out of buying windows. Milgard has earned BUILDER Magazine's Best Quality Vinyl Window in the Nation eight times. It's no wonder Milgard ranks high in window comparison ratings and earns high marks with best rated vinyl windows, top rated home windows and home window replacement reviews.

We've found that our customers describe the Milgard Window & Door experience best. We have received thousands of window reviews that describe nearly every aspect of the Milgard experience, including products, after-purchase service and dealer interactions. Our window reviewers help their fellow customers make informed purchase decisions. Take a moment to explore the window and door reviews written by our customers. If you are an existing Milgard customer, please write a window review and share your experience with others!


Milgard® Windows & Doors 4.3 5 506 506
Love my Style Line door and Tuscany Windows Just love my new windows and doors. Blocks out noise, easy to clean, easy to operate. Only problem I have is with the screen on the Style Line slider. It is very very difficult to install the screen. Ours was accidently knocked out and it took us quite a long time to re-install it. We loosened the screws, top and bottom and still had to use a tool to lift the wheels over the lip. that is the only reason for the three on ease of use. September 10, 2013
Very easy to use the sliders, good locking mechanism. Had these windows installed and they are very nice looking. The reflectivity from the outside works for heat gain resistance, and also for privacy during the day. We are very happy with them. September 3, 2013
tuscany sliding doors I bought 5 sliding doors to replace the orginal ones installed in my home built in 1977. They are very substanial, great product, saves me money by saving cooling and heating costs, noticable within a month after installation. Friends have commented that they were better doors than what they had installed and stated they wish they had purchased this product. July 27, 2013
My French style sliders doors are perfect! I am thrilled with my selection of the French Style slider. I replaced traditional wood French doors that were old and damaged by water. The look of my new doors has a much more open view. I highly recommend the Milgard doors, next will be replacing my windows. July 26, 2013
Beautiful wood interior We bought both fixed and double hung windows, but there's really not much to say about a fixed window, except it's really nice you can order just about any size you want. The windows are exceptionally pretty, with a very nice fine-grained Douglas Fir on the inside. The grids tend to be a little coarser grain wood, but not a problem - still pretty. The exterior are white fiberglass, which matches the white vinyl on the older part of the house. We had custom grids on some of the windows, and after a couple back and forth communications with our lumber yard representative to assure the measurements were correct, the windows were built to our specifications, and look great. The only caveat with the fancy grids is that all that wood needs to be finished, which is tedious. The windows seem to operate fine, although we are still under construction, so haven't been using them much yet. I assume with a vinyl construction and wood veneer, these windows will withstand our typically cool foggy conditions better than 100% wood. March 21, 2013
Outside protection, beautiful inside We are happy to let you know that we are pleased with our new windows. The old windows were far past their prime, especially the outside wood. The fibreglass exterior looks great and the inside wood is beautiful. The new windows make the house more pleasant in terms of temperature and no worries about colour fading. Bert and Connie February 4, 2013
The appearance and quality of Aluminum Thermal Break Windows exceeds windows of other materials I researched replacement windows of various manufacturers and materials prior to selecting Milgards Thermal Break Alumimun Frame Window. After seeing a Milgard sample window and cut through a frame member my lifetime of experience in the design and construction field convinced me this was an excellent product and my choice for my 30 year old home. January 24, 2013
Energy saving and appearance We have a view lot, so our 7 West facing windows are all sliding glass doors. We installed 7 Tuscany sliding glass doors last May. It made a great difference in reducing the heat transfer to the inside. We noticed the same thing in the Winter re indoor heat conservation. Most guests and visitors have commented on how beautiful and rich looking the doors are. We're also impressed with the easy to use handle/lock on the doors. January 24, 2013
Form follows function Wonderful quality door, but that's not why I bought it....I bought it because of Milgard's reputation for service after the sale.....Beautifully balanced swing on each door. quality materials-stainless steel hinges and door handle...about the handle-it's a 5point locking mechanism which I appreciate for it's superior locking/security- and you need it in a french door....the door was factory painted-and the finish is indeed superb.... I had a problem with that door lock -it closed with difficulty after 6 months, so I called Milgard and they had a tech out quickly...he was professional, efficient and fixedthe issue.... I wish Milgard made single doors-they don't....the door is very expensive, but you do indeed get what you pay for when it comes to doors.... December 18, 2012
Treat Yourself You Won't Be Sorry I purchased the Milgard sliding glass door that is fiberglass and wood-clad. First of all, it looks spectacular! This slider was installed on a sun-facing side of my home which bakes in the summer. I can honestly say, that with the extra sun shield options that I also added, that this same room is NOTICEABLY cooler in the summer. So much so that I don't have to turn the air conditioner on as much as I used to. And did I mention how gorgeous it is?? Oh yeah, I did, but I love looking at it. So classy. My only suggestion is to be sure to hire Milgard certified installers. The two men who installed my slider were very clean and competant, but some months later it was brought to my attention that they did not use the right material to cover the nail holes, so it got gooey when the weather heated up. I had this taken care of myself and all is as it should be now. The other thing is be careful around the glass. I had movers bring in some furniture, and they accidentally nicked the glass, so there is a scratch that I notice but no one else does. When it happened my slider was out of warranty for a repair. Lastly, I notice in the winter that the curtains still move slightly in and out, so there is still a bit of drafting in the winter time which sort of surprised me. If you're trying to keep out the cold drafts, this may not be the product. But, if you're trying to fend off unrelenting sun in the Summer, this is the product to buy. I recommend it without hesitation. March 30, 2012
Amazing Door. This door is more solid that he solid door that we replaced. I didn't think that possible. We absolutely love it!! it looks perfect like it always belonged there. The added screen feature we are for sure going to love this summer! Everything came pre-installed, all we did was put it in the hole in the house, and poof it was perfect! My only problem was figuring out how to operate the handles. That was a learning curve, as we had no directions included with our door. When we figured this out, it was a very impressive door, with amazingly secure feel. Would order from Milgard over and over! Thanks!!! February 27, 2012
Good windows not great screens We built a house and used all single hung windows except in the kitchen, which are the crank style. Windows are nice, but the crank window handle falls off. We really like the smooth glide of the single hung windows. We upgraded to the pure view screens, which look great, but half of them are starting to tear already (we installed around Jan or Feb if I remember correctly). The tears are near the corners and other than removing them once have not been handled much. We have a huge sliding door which is beautiful as well t, but we just cleaned it after construction was finally complete and noticed that the glass is pitted in several places. The glass was protected and not damaged during construction, so we think it could be a flaw in the glass. Also the screen door on that slider was kind of flimsy and when someone pushed it accidentally, the screen tore out of the side and bottom. Not sure what can be done, but we will be contacting Milgard next week about the slider flaws. Other than that we would strongly recommend this product and love the windows. August 23, 2014
Excellent Product These windows have functioned wonderfully for nearly 10 years. We have had two occasions to call for lifetime warranty repairs. Technicians were prompt and professional and windows are working as if new. We are very pleased with both the product and the service. August 22, 2014
Looks like we made the right decision! In researching purchasing vinyl indows, we first polled our friends who had installed new windows and all were pleased with their Milgard Windows and their customer service when ever there was a problem. So we visited the Milgard showroom at their manufacturing facility in Simi Valley and their web site as well . The reviews we read from those who purchased Milgard windows were very encouraging so we went ahead and had them installed and so far are happy with their appearance and operation. it appears that we made the right decision. August 21, 2014
Styleline Windows save the day Great windows, quick professional installation gives me the confidence that the windows will last for a long time. Only disappointment was the Warranty was not exactly as strong as the sales agent had stated. Limited coverage for breakage was not what was stated but I hope this issue never has to be addressed. Bottom line, great windows should revolutionize our interior environment. August 21, 2014
Great product for the money Love the product - service techs and installers were really great to work with! When we build again, we will defiantly use Milgard! August 19, 2014
Window and slideing glass door warped My new home is 9 years old, both my sliding glass door and now my dining room window have warped....when I complained on the door they told me the builder installed it wrong and did NOTHING!! The builder filed bankruptcy, so had to replace the door with a different brand by myself. Beware of the low quality of Milguard August 18, 2014
Our new Milgard windows have brought us from the 80's to the present I'd like to express my satisfaction with the new Milgard windows that were installed at our condomium complex by SRC Windows. We have 24 units, each with 4 windows and a sliding door. From the interview we had with the sales person with SRC Windows until the last window was installed 6 weeks later we have had not one concern, complaint or question regarding SRC Windows, the Milgard windows or the crew that installed them. Every aspect of this project was handled with respect to our owners and our property. The comments have been really positive and everyone is extremely happy and excited with the windows, the overall new look and I have had several owners compliment the crew that was on site. Our overall opinion of the this whole undertaking is that we could not have had a better experience. Milgard and SRC Windows will have our seal of approval and we will be happy to recommend them to anyone interested in a great product and a great installer. Barbara, Pres. Board of Directors Kirkland Park Place Condomiums August 13, 2014
They make the house look better and feel better. I love the inside lock so you keep the windows safely open at night. Windows are beautiful. August 8, 2014
Very disappointed with the product quality and customer service! I bought Milgard doors and windows for new built home five years ago and had to replace the locks on the doors (french doors Ultra Series) for 5 times on each door. Even though, the company knows that the locks have manufacturing defects, still each time they would send a crew for the problem inspection (at least 10 days after the call), then will send second crew to change the lock (several weeks after first visit)! Which means that every time I face this problem (once a year for each door), it would take more then a month until the lock is replaced and we can use the door! I am very disappointed with the quality of their product although Milgard is positioning itself as a high quality product manufacturer. Definitely will never become their customer again! August 6, 2014
Major Improvement over Original Windows Air conditioning is working a lot less. House is much quieter. Windows look great. Milgard was able to manufacture a very large (over 10') custom window for our study. August 6, 2014
vent stops prevent smooth operation / service is a joke Vent stops prevent smooth operation (installed by pros recommended by Milgard). Screen service is on 3 months now. August 6, 2014
Horrible Product! I moved into my house when it was barely 5 years old and the windows have been terrible since day one! They have broken seals and I am forced to put plastic coverings on all my windows in the winter because you can feel a breeze when sitting on the couch. The company refuses to fix the broken seals because I am not the original homeowner. These windows were obviously defective when put in or the material is such poor quality that all their products function in this manner. I will be sure to never purchase or recommend this compant to anyone. August 6, 2014
The product is easy to use and very easy to keep clean looking. The windows are great and they look good. They are easy to move and I like the locking mechanism. They are much easier to keep clean. They seem to keep the outside noise down and the hot air out. They seal close nicely. The price is right too. August 5, 2014
great products from a great company You can not get a better supplier than Milgard. We have used their products for years and coukld not be happier with them and their products. August 3, 2014
The guarantee is incredible. Not only did the window really upgrade the front of the house, but when an issue developed after 10 years, this company immediately fixed the problem. Some fogging had occurred between the panes of the center panel, and the representative was out within two days to replace the panel. He was courteous and professional, and we were amazed to have this kind of quality assurance from a company. July 25, 2014
Shelf supports deflect We are very happy with our garden window appearance which was installed a month ago.however the top shelf deflects about 1/4" on a 48" shelf span with 10#'s placed mid span. The installer even bent the support and put a 3/8" crown in it but it flattened out just with the weight of the glass shelf. My old garden window which was 35 years old didn't have this problem. After spending about $1200 on this window we feel that the shelf glass supports are misdesigned. So far milgard warranty/service hasn't offered a fix. July 23, 2014
ease of use, beautiful lines We have already had compliments on the windows. We really are enjoying that the house stays cooler this summer, as weather is intensely warm at this time of year. We haven't had the usual glare and hot windows. We expect to see a savings on our electric bill this summer. July 23, 2014
Door hardware rusts We installed new Milgard doors at our beach house--one French door and one standard door. We have no complaints about the doors--CVG inside with vinyl cladding outside. However, the outside hinges and handles began to rust and corrode within two months of installation. The quality of the hardware is poor. Moreover, why sell products to customers on the coast that don't use stainless hardware? We are willing to pay to have all the hardware changed, but there is no stainless option! The result are great looking doors with crummy looking hardware. I would not recommend Milgard doors for coastal environments. The windows are fine. July 20, 2014
Like the grids Retrofit windows with Colonial grid pattern enhances the look of the house. July 16, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>
Answer Center

Products