Milgard Window & Door Ratings & Reviews

Your Opinion Matters

At Milgard, our passion for providing the best windows and doors is driven by our unparalleled customer service. After more than 50 years in the industry, Milgard continues to focus on providing consumers with the best window buying experience. We work closely with our customers to determine the best new home windows, replacement windows or patio doors for their home. Knowledgeable dealers and a wealth of online window information take the guesswork out of buying windows. Milgard has earned BUILDER Magazine's Best Quality Vinyl Window in the Nation eight times. It's no wonder Milgard ranks high in window comparison ratings and earns high marks with best rated vinyl windows, top rated home windows and home window replacement reviews.

We've found that our customers describe the Milgard Window & Door experience best. We have received thousands of window reviews that describe nearly every aspect of the Milgard experience, including products, after-purchase service and dealer interactions. Our window reviewers help their fellow customers make informed purchase decisions. Take a moment to explore the window and door reviews written by our customers. If you are an existing Milgard customer, please write a window review and share your experience with others!


Milgard® Windows & Doors 4.3 5 590 590
windows and sliding door are beautiful and easy to open/close Lighthouse Windows in Santa Cruz assisted in selecting the windows and sliding door. Their team was professional, courteous and accommodating. My installation required some retrofitting of framing and they didi a beautiful job. October 31, 2014
great window for the price, very easy to install (diy) great window for the price, very easy to install (diy) October 30, 2014
Great Windows, Great Service! I purchased 8 Milgard Tuscany windows and a patio door through Lowes and installed them myself. The measurements were exactly as ordered. Delivery time was much faster than I expected, three weeks, and this included shipping them from the Seattle area to Anchorage. They really dressed up our little Justus Cedar home. They are warm, quiet and don't sweat like the original wood frame windows did. The patio door ended up with a large scratch down the middle of it that the installer (me) may have done. With the help of Donna in the Seattle office and Jeff here in Anchorage, Milgard replaced the glass in a very timely and professional manner at no cost to me. Outstanding service and outstanding quality! I highly recommend Milgard. October 30, 2014
This product breakers and Milgard does not stand by the warranty I have arm broken on one window for 3 months and have not been scheduled for repair. Severally calls. "Some one will call in a month" no one calls This is the second month. I am ready to pay someone to fix it and send Milgard the bill. October 29, 2014
replacement window The original window's seal broke and Milgard replaced the window under warranty. So thankful October 28, 2014
Years of use and not a single problem! This is the second house I've used Milgard windows in. In the year 2002, I put Milgard windows in my 7th house, located in Durango, CO. That house is now a rental of mine. Not a single problem with any of them in all that time. There are some sliders, some casements and one awning. They all open, close and lock like new to this day. Interior screens, low-e double paned glass were what drew me to them originally. Some were replacements for insecure, old aluminum windows that were terribly inefficient, had a lot of solar gain in the summer, and many had failing seals. Others were casement and awning styles for the additional rooms created with a remodel, and replacements for the upper floor rooms. What a huge difference they made in sound transmission (so little afterwards) and no more air leakage. The energy bills really dropped for both winter and summer. When it came time to redo my current personal home in 2011 (which is house #6 for me), I had 4 casement Ultra windows, with low-e triple panes, put into a new addition (my new office) on the 2nd floor, over the living room. Two windows face directly east, one south and one north. They are perfect! I've never had any issues with them at all either. Love that the screens are inside mounted as it makes cleaning the windows so easy. There is virtually no outside noise from the backyard and neighbors anymore, when they are closed, and no solar gain either. The room is very quiet and very comfortable temperature-wise too. With the summer sun shining on them, if you put your hand on the glass, there is very little heat passing through. Keeps the office cool in the summer and warm in the winter. I also had an awning Ultra window installed on the west side of the house in another new addition I call the nook. It's actually an extension across the hall from my new office space, and is above the front foyer of the house. Currently, the room is used as another office space for my child and has bookshelves too. I also use the nook myself for non-work reading (cookbooks, travel books, art books) and file storage. The awning window faces due west. It's also triple paned low-e, and an inside mounted screen. When I sit at the nook desk, I hear almost no street noise at all, and there's very little solar gain. This nook also stays warm in the winter and cool in the summer, so no air leaking at all. So, after witnessing the wonderful virtues of the new windows, I decided to change out ALL my other windows on the first floor of the house to the Ultra series. In the basement I went with a different series from Milgard that are side sliders. What a difference they have all made in the noise coming in, the security of my house, and best of all, the energy efficiency. No more drafty rooms! I haven't had any issues with any of them. I still have more to install on the 2nd floor in the bedrooms, but these aren't going in until 2015, due to circumstances that prevented me from changing all of them earlier. I've had family members, some friends and many neighbors came over to see my whole house remodeling since I started it in 2011. They always notice how comfortable it is inside, and how quiet my house is too. I tell them it's the windows! It's why I chose these. Two sets of friends, one family member, and 3 neighbors have now switched out their old drafty windows to Milgard Ultras too. They have all said they too were very happy with the results. In general, fiberglass window frames have fewer problems than any other style of window I've ever lived with. They are far less likely to react to exterior and/or interior environmental changes. And, by the way, I've lived in no less than 16 different homes and apartments in my lifetime. I think some other people here maybe have issues for various reason. Often it's the fault of the installer, and not the windows themselves. They might have soil movement and/or house shifting issues, or more humidity where they live, which can make a big difference in performance too. When I start building my next house in 3 years, a straw bale one, I'm going to use Milgard Fiberglass windows again, and likely their doors too. October 28, 2014
I do not like seeing"black line (gap with weather stripping) above fixed side of door.!!! Needed to do more leg work before purchasing..So disappointed October 28, 2014
Wood clad is beautiful window Installed 3 years ago the windows are still beautiful. The service has been both effective and prompt. The fiberglas frames still look new and the protection from weather is still rock solid. The ability to get both the wood clad and color finished fiberglas interiors with the same exterior frame color was a key choosing both Milgard and our window style. October 28, 2014
Good product, great warranty i am satisfied with my doors. a handle broke, and the parts were sent immediately after my request. on heavier/larger doors; the gliders need to be sturdier and glide with more ease and less sound October 28, 2014
Looks great but beware if you ever plan to open your windows The positive: These windows are beautiful architecturally. I'm a professional architect and have used these in my own modern home. The negative: The screens must be removed or opened via hinge every single time you want to open your window. It is a huge hassle and the tiny plastic clips that hold your screen frame to the window frame break very easily (mine snapped off after just opening my windows three times. The window mechanism should be designed so that opening via crank, etc. can be done without having to first open the screen. October 28, 2014
Guaranty follow through is lacking We have 16 panes that have become cloudy. Your phone people are very courteous. The one repairman that finally came out to the house was neat, clean and courteous, but came out with the wrong size windows. He said that he would correct the order and reset an appointment. Hearing nothing in a week, I called. Again was met with courtesy, and told nothing had been done or ordered, but was once again assured the order would be placed, and should be ready in 7-10 days. I offered to have the glass delivered to our address. The first available date for repair was just over 6 weeks away, same as the last visit. They did say we would be placed in line in the event of an cancelations. Well, the beat goes on, pray for us. October 28, 2014
Excellent Windows We replaced our old aluminum windows with Milgard vinyl windows back in 1995 (I think). Since then windows in less-used parts of the house have been replaced, the most current a set of French Doors in the dining room. I love these windows! They have worked perfectly with no steaming between the two panes and look as good as they did way back when. Newman has always done a fine job. Their installers are employed by Newman, not subbed, and are extremely careful and clean. We can recommend this company and its product wholeheartedly. ... David and Virginia Drake October 24, 2014
We're very happy with the windows. The salesman was very professional & thorough. The installers were very polite, efficient , well organized, and speedy. We were very impressed with them and the owners of the company. Glad we went with Best SGS Inc. October 24, 2014
MANY PROBLEMS MILGARD TUSCANY PATIO DOOR CAME WITH BROKEN LATCH DOES NOT LOCK. PATIO SCREEN DOOR HARD TO MOVE AND DOES NOT CLOSE PROPERLY DIFFERENT PATIO DOOR SCREEN IS DAMAGED SLIDING WINDOW HAS DENTS IN THE HANDLE NEAR THE LATCH TWO DOUBLE HUNG WINDOWS THE GUIDE ON THE BOTTOM WINDOW DO NOT SEAT IN THE SLOT CANNOT REMOVE ANY OF THREE DOUBLE HUNG WINDOW SCREENS THEY WILL NOT COME OUT. ONE SMALL DOUBLE HUNG WINDOW HAS PIECE AT THE BOTTOM INSIDE THAT IS NOT IN PLACE PROPERLY. October 24, 2014
Good fiberglass window, We have both the Double Hung, and Casement windows, all have given us very good service for the four or five years we have had them. The installer did not know enough to do the excellent job that the windows deserved, they did an "okay" installation. I am now in the process of removing one of the double hung windows to weather proof it, just a few things that should have been done in the installation, like caulking etc. We are very pleased with the windows them selves, and Milgard has been out once to renew the weather stripping on the windows, NO charge. The rep was very pleasant. October 23, 2014
problems with double hung windows We just bout a house this year and bought 21 Milgard windows and doors as part of remodeling about 80% of the house. Most of the windows look and operate properly except 3 double hang windows installed in the master bedroom. all three windows seem to have the same problem-- locking mechanism does not engage unless you push out hard on the window as pulling it down. I can get the windows to lock about 50% of the time but the rest of the family can not engage the locks. Yesterday, we had a service call from Milgard technician. After removing some of the weather stripping and lubricating window tracks, there was no change in the way the windows operate. The technician said there is nothing else he can do and left. This is not acceptable and i would like Milgard to step up their service practices and fix the problem or replace my windows with ones that work. If necessary, I am willing to demonstrate the problem to more seasoned technicians or design engineers. October 21, 2014
Great windows. Many compliments from my neighbours These are fantastic windows that look good inside and out. I'm very satisfied with the quality and the follow up support from Milgard. My only issue is the faulty screens which apparently have a manufacturing defect. The screens were replaced once by Milguard service but unfortunately the replacement screens have the same problem. October 20, 2014
Beautiful look and very quiet window We have enjoyed the Window all around and plan on future purchases. We would recommend this product to others looking for Windows. October 19, 2014
Can not get service on windows Windows are difficult to open and many are fogged between the glass. So far nothing but very poor service if any from Milgard Windows October 15, 2014
The Milgard ULTRA product and professional installation exceeded my expectations! Window replacement began as a stressful process until a contractor/friend recommended Milgard. We discussed in detail all factors important to me. I was able to narrow down the manufacturer and product line to Milgard ULTRA; I then decided on new window construction (nail fin). Next step was to find a "professional" company to order and install the 9 windows. Cunningham Doors & Windows (Santa Ana, CA) provided the best customer service. Their installers did an extraordinary job on every window. I have neighbors stop to admire and inquire about these new windows -- wow! My family is very pleased with the Milgard ULTRA windows. October 14, 2014
This product changes the entire appearance of our cabin The Tuscany windows transformed our ordinary cabin into a very charming cabin. The views out each window are so enhanced, that they each look like a beautiful scenery picture. We are very happy with each windows in each room. October 14, 2014
a couple of complaints/observations There should be a way of locking the slider mid position so it can be open but not enough to allow an intruder. We live ground level. The glue used to affix your Milgard stickers is too hard to remove. I was told not to use Goo Gone. Any suggestions? Thank you. October 12, 2014
LOVE my windows I really love my new windows, especially since I figured out how to take the screens in and out. It is really very easy. In an earlier review, I said the screens need improvement. I now take that back. Thank you. October 9, 2014
windows Just like to say they are lovely windows. The crew at SGK were so professional and awesome I would definitely recommend you both. Terri Pacheco October 7, 2014
Product not really what I expected although the windows are still quite nice. The Milgard Essence gliders I purchased about 6 months ago have many negative issues relating to the design and construction of the individual units. I ordered my units triple pane as part of an energy retrofit for a home located in a cold climate. One issue is the seal design of the units because the weather stripping is incompletely installed and there are air leaks. While these windows were supplied to me at a materials cost of 1/4 the proposed materials cost of triple pane windows from Europe, I feel little or no attention to fabrication or design detail was made to make the gaskets and seals perform well for cold climates. Another issue relating to the construction is that the outside mullion covers, on every window, have curled up and pulled away from the mullion from exposure to the sun! Again, my climate is a cold climate therefore these mullions are unlikely to hold up in a hot climate. Factory applied chemical or mechanical adhesive would have prevented these mullion failures. Once the mullions pull open from the sun, air and water come directly inside, as if the window were just left open. Lastly, my windows were not assembled with the utmost care. By this I mean the factory applied exterior paint had many micro and mega scratches from being moved across the assembly table. The exteriors were not clean, there was fiberglass dust from cutting operations and sealant blemishes. On the inside, some of the pine had small dents or gauges from being dragged around during assembly at the factory. These windows needed work when they arrived, they were not ready for the process of staining the pine. If I paid for what was explained to me to be a fancy handmade new car and when the car was delivered full of scratches in the paint and other issues, I would be mad. That's all the bad stuff I have to say. These triple pane windows are quiet, hardly hear any noise from outside. The window hardware is very nice and the windows roll perfectly smoothly and lock with a wonderful "click". The factory workers did a great job selecting color matched pine for the interiors. Packaging for shipping was professional, with lots of layers of protection and handles had been installed to assist with moving these heavy triple pane windows. The product has good qualities and bad qualities. More attention should have been given to weather stripping these windows going into a cold climate. In the future I'm confident they'll get the design sorted out. October 7, 2014
My windows are awesome! We replaced all the windows in our house and wish we had done so a long time ago. They both keep the heat down in the summer, and keep cold out in the winter. We especially like the filtered light, cutting glare from the sun. And, the windows look so nice -- both inside and out. We would recommend these type windows to everyone! October 6, 2014
Great looking door! Tuscany slider door Installation a breeze . . . Alex Salinas from Quality Windows-Oxnard provided excellent guidance and recommendations. . . beat box stores hands down. Very satisfied with purchase, install and results! Thank you Milgard-Simi Valley! October 5, 2014
Quality Purchse The Style line windows with Sun Coat Max replaced 10, 28 year old windows that did not work properly. These gems are so easy to open and close. Made our home noticeable quieter and we have a very comfortable temperature. Looking forward to a warmer winter this year.They are beautiful and put a smile on my face every time I pull into the drive way. We have received many compliments on these windows!!! We will be saving up for new french for doors. October 4, 2014
Milgard windows and U.S. Energy We are so pleased with our beautiful new Tuscany windows. We saw an immediate difference in the temperature in our home. Our installer Curtis is amazing, and Ed answered all questions, and checked on the progress consistantly. We would highly recommend these professionals to anyone looking for a beautiful, quality product and amazing service. October 2, 2014
The windows look great on my house. My house is quieter where I had windows installed. Outside noise is minimal. Outside wind noise is nill. I'm expecting to reap the benefits of insulation this winter. I will be installing Milgard windows on the rest of my house soon. October 2, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>
Answer Center

Products

Need help?

Contact Us Find a Dealer Help Me Choose Help Me Budget