Milgard Window & Door Ratings & Reviews

Your Opinion Matters

At Milgard, our passion for providing the best windows and doors is driven by our unparalleled customer service. After more than 50 years in the industry, Milgard continues to focus on providing consumers with the best window buying experience. We work closely with our customers to determine the best new home windows, replacement windows or patio doors for their home. Knowledgeable dealers and a wealth of online window information take the guesswork out of buying windows. Milgard has earned BUILDER Magazine's Best Quality Vinyl Window in the Nation eight times. It's no wonder Milgard ranks high in window comparison ratings and earns high marks with best rated vinyl windows, top rated home windows and home window replacement reviews.

We've found that our customers describe the Milgard Window & Door experience best. We have received thousands of window reviews that describe nearly every aspect of the Milgard experience, including products, after-purchase service and dealer interactions. Our window reviewers help their fellow customers make informed purchase decisions. Take a moment to explore the window and door reviews written by our customers. If you are an existing Milgard customer, please write a window review and share your experience with others!


Milgard® Windows & Doors 4.3 5 585 585
CAUTION - SmartTouchâ„¢ Lock is VERY LOUD! We are in the middle of a remodel and recently installed seven Essence double hung windows with the SmartTouchâ„¢ lock throughout the house. The windows seem to be good in many respects but I am very dissatisfied with the locking system. It looks nice but the latch requires you to slam the window shut in order to close and lock it. It is far from ideal if anyone is asleep in the house when you need to close a window! And I'm not confident that either my daughter or grandmother will be able to operate them at all, given that a fair amount of elbow grease is required in the slam closing process. I'm sorry to report that with the trim yet to be installed on the new windows, we're already saving money for new sashes. Except for this locking system, I think we would recommend these windows. August 25, 2014
Good windows not great screens We built a house and used all single hung windows except in the kitchen, which are the crank style. Windows are nice, but the crank window handle falls off. We really like the smooth glide of the single hung windows. We upgraded to the pure view screens, which look great, but half of them are starting to tear already (we installed around Jan or Feb if I remember correctly). The tears are near the corners and other than removing them once have not been handled much. We have a huge sliding door which is beautiful as well t, but we just cleaned it after construction was finally complete and noticed that the glass is pitted in several places. The glass was protected and not damaged during construction, so we think it could be a flaw in the glass. Also the screen door on that slider was kind of flimsy and when someone pushed it accidentally, the screen tore out of the side and bottom. Not sure what can be done, but we will be contacting Milgard next week about the slider flaws. Other than that we would strongly recommend this product and love the windows. August 23, 2014
Excellent Product These windows have functioned wonderfully for nearly 10 years. We have had two occasions to call for lifetime warranty repairs. Technicians were prompt and professional and windows are working as if new. We are very pleased with both the product and the service. August 22, 2014
Looks like we made the right decision! In researching purchasing vinyl indows, we first polled our friends who had installed new windows and all were pleased with their Milgard Windows and their customer service when ever there was a problem. So we visited the Milgard showroom at their manufacturing facility in Simi Valley and their web site as well . The reviews we read from those who purchased Milgard windows were very encouraging so we went ahead and had them installed and so far are happy with their appearance and operation. it appears that we made the right decision. August 21, 2014
Styleline Windows save the day Great windows, quick professional installation gives me the confidence that the windows will last for a long time. Only disappointment was the Warranty was not exactly as strong as the sales agent had stated. Limited coverage for breakage was not what was stated but I hope this issue never has to be addressed. Bottom line, great windows should revolutionize our interior environment. August 21, 2014
Great product for the money Love the product - service techs and installers were really great to work with! When we build again, we will defiantly use Milgard! August 19, 2014
Window and slideing glass door warped My new home is 9 years old, both my sliding glass door and now my dining room window have warped....when I complained on the door they told me the builder installed it wrong and did NOTHING!! The builder filed bankruptcy, so had to replace the door with a different brand by myself. Beware of the low quality of Milguard August 18, 2014
Our new Milgard windows have brought us from the 80's to the present I'd like to express my satisfaction with the new Milgard windows that were installed at our condomium complex by SRC Windows. We have 24 units, each with 4 windows and a sliding door. From the interview we had with the sales person with SRC Windows until the last window was installed 6 weeks later we have had not one concern, complaint or question regarding SRC Windows, the Milgard windows or the crew that installed them. Every aspect of this project was handled with respect to our owners and our property. The comments have been really positive and everyone is extremely happy and excited with the windows, the overall new look and I have had several owners compliment the crew that was on site. Our overall opinion of the this whole undertaking is that we could not have had a better experience. Milgard and SRC Windows will have our seal of approval and we will be happy to recommend them to anyone interested in a great product and a great installer. Barbara, Pres. Board of Directors Kirkland Park Place Condomiums August 13, 2014
They make the house look better and feel better. I love the inside lock so you keep the windows safely open at night. Windows are beautiful. August 8, 2014
Very disappointed with the product quality and customer service! I bought Milgard doors and windows for new built home five years ago and had to replace the locks on the doors (french doors Ultra Series) for 5 times on each door. Even though, the company knows that the locks have manufacturing defects, still each time they would send a crew for the problem inspection (at least 10 days after the call), then will send second crew to change the lock (several weeks after first visit)! Which means that every time I face this problem (once a year for each door), it would take more then a month until the lock is replaced and we can use the door! I am very disappointed with the quality of their product although Milgard is positioning itself as a high quality product manufacturer. Definitely will never become their customer again! August 6, 2014
Major Improvement over Original Windows Air conditioning is working a lot less. House is much quieter. Windows look great. Milgard was able to manufacture a very large (over 10') custom window for our study. August 6, 2014
vent stops prevent smooth operation / service is a joke Vent stops prevent smooth operation (installed by pros recommended by Milgard). Screen service is on 3 months now. August 6, 2014
Horrible Product! I moved into my house when it was barely 5 years old and the windows have been terrible since day one! They have broken seals and I am forced to put plastic coverings on all my windows in the winter because you can feel a breeze when sitting on the couch. The company refuses to fix the broken seals because I am not the original homeowner. These windows were obviously defective when put in or the material is such poor quality that all their products function in this manner. I will be sure to never purchase or recommend this compant to anyone. August 6, 2014
The product is easy to use and very easy to keep clean looking. The windows are great and they look good. They are easy to move and I like the locking mechanism. They are much easier to keep clean. They seem to keep the outside noise down and the hot air out. They seal close nicely. The price is right too. August 5, 2014
great products from a great company You can not get a better supplier than Milgard. We have used their products for years and coukld not be happier with them and their products. August 3, 2014
The guarantee is incredible. Not only did the window really upgrade the front of the house, but when an issue developed after 10 years, this company immediately fixed the problem. Some fogging had occurred between the panes of the center panel, and the representative was out within two days to replace the panel. He was courteous and professional, and we were amazed to have this kind of quality assurance from a company. July 25, 2014
Shelf supports deflect We are very happy with our garden window appearance which was installed a month ago.however the top shelf deflects about 1/4" on a 48" shelf span with 10#'s placed mid span. The installer even bent the support and put a 3/8" crown in it but it flattened out just with the weight of the glass shelf. My old garden window which was 35 years old didn't have this problem. After spending about $1200 on this window we feel that the shelf glass supports are misdesigned. So far milgard warranty/service hasn't offered a fix. July 23, 2014
ease of use, beautiful lines We have already had compliments on the windows. We really are enjoying that the house stays cooler this summer, as weather is intensely warm at this time of year. We haven't had the usual glare and hot windows. We expect to see a savings on our electric bill this summer. July 23, 2014
Door hardware rusts We installed new Milgard doors at our beach house--one French door and one standard door. We have no complaints about the doors--CVG inside with vinyl cladding outside. However, the outside hinges and handles began to rust and corrode within two months of installation. The quality of the hardware is poor. Moreover, why sell products to customers on the coast that don't use stainless hardware? We are willing to pay to have all the hardware changed, but there is no stainless option! The result are great looking doors with crummy looking hardware. I would not recommend Milgard doors for coastal environments. The windows are fine. July 20, 2014
Like the grids Retrofit windows with Colonial grid pattern enhances the look of the house. July 16, 2014
Great product Very happy with the operation of the doors. Very good look for our house. The blinds inside the glass are just outstanding. No cleaning and they operate great. Really upgraded the look of our house. July 15, 2014
GREAT PRODUCT/GREAT QUALITY FOR THE PRICE JUST INSTALLED ALL NEW TUSCANY SERIES VINYL REPLACEMENT WINDOWS AND SLIDING GLASS DOOR, I WAS VERY IMPRESSED WITH THE QUALITY AND EXACT FIT ON MY HOME. THEY WERE MANUFACTURED TO FIT MY EXACT MEASURMENTS AND REQUIRED VERY LITTLE STUCCO PATCHING ON OUT SIDE. NOT TO MENTION THE FACT THAT THEY MAKE MY 60 YEAR OLD HOUSE LOOK NEW. THE NOISE REDUCTION FROM OUTSIDE IS OUTSTANDING AND I HAVE ALSO NOTICED A DIFFRENCE IN HOW MUCH LESS MY AC SYSTEM HAS TO WORK TO COOL THE HOUSE AND KEEP IT COOL. I WOULD RECOMMEND THESE WINDOWS TO ANY ONE LOOKING FOR REPLACEMENT WINDOWS FOR THIER HOUSE, ESPECIALLY IF YOU LIVE NEAR A PARK OR A NOISEY STREET. ALSO THE QUALITY IS SUPURB, THE WINDOWS SLIDE VERY EASILY BUT STILL FEEL SOLID. July 15, 2014
Replacement windows We did our entire house using a number of sizes and features, both horizontal and vertical sliders and patio doors. Most were fully upgraded with sun-coat and argon, etc. and there is no doubt they have significantly lowered our heating and cooling costs. They operate very easily except for one stubborn vertical window that periodically misaligns and needs repair. We went with the dark finish to preserve the Craftsman style of the house and for the most part we are satisfied with the look, except on the narrow side windows right in front of the house. We think the window frame covering is just too wide in proportion, but there is no way to adjust it. We think these windows could be made better, offer more adjustability in terms of where they lock, and how they look, and we wonder why Milgard does not offer an insulated version. These were soooo close to qualifying for the tax deduction (and in other states besides CA, they could have!), just a little extra insulation could have made a difference. Nevertheless, if you don't care for vinyl and do not want to maintain wood, this is your only affordable choice. June 30, 2014
Best window I have ever owned. I have had 6 new homes in my life, and the Milgard Tuscany SH units are the finest windows I have ever experienced. They are attractive, tight, quiet, and the mechanism work flawlessly. Living in Minnesota, windows are extremely important - we get 100 above and 50 below temps. Thanks. June 28, 2014
Great windows I am a contractor in Arizona. When I went looking for windows for my own home I did alot of research about windows for a hot climate. Milgard Ultra came out on top. I installed twelve casement windows 8 years ago and have been exceptionally pleased with them. The 3D glass system is amazing, our home is radically more comfortable in the summer. We live on a busy street and the traffic noise reduction is probably 90% over our old aluminum sliders. The white fiberglass frames show little to no signs of aging after 8 years in full desert sun. The operating mechanisms have had no issues and the windows still operate fine. I have had only two minor issues with these windows; the screens have sliding retaining pins in the four corners, but they are a pain to install because the pins don't line up well with the window and the pins get sticky and won't slide. I believe the newer window screens have a better retaining system. The only service issue I have had in eight years was with the outermost weather stripping. It is exposed to the elements, and the original product failed ( became sticky, decomposed and retained dirt). I contacted Milgard and they came out and replaced all of it, no problem. Lifetime Warranty!! I highly recomend these windows, my only regret is that soon after I purchased them Milgard came out with an even BETTER glass system, 3D Maxx South. They have a HUGE list of available options with these windows, I have sold these windows to my customers since 2006 and the feedback from them has been equally positive. The price is competative with other premium windows, value is unbeatable in my opinion. June 26, 2014
Windows are good/paint applied on exterior was a poor job. The windows were custom size Tuscany double hung to fit existing window opening. Windows were fine but the exterior bronze paint job was poor. One window was not totally painted, most had overspray on the white interior opening and there we're paint runs. Need better quality control on the paint. Don't know if I would recommend painted windows to future clients. June 25, 2014
comments re: 20 Milgard Tuscanny windows installed in Sept 2010 Biggest complaint: 9 of 20 screens developed crud (rust? paint defect?) beneath paint (1 window destined for attic never installed due to city diss-allowed) 6 of 20 screens are "warped" require great effort to install / remove w/o damage Most screen corners are not "rigid" indicating poor fabrication / workmanship 16 of 80 little rubber button self adhesive spacer window channel guides fell off, so far water "drain slits" fill up with dust & outdoors debris causing channel puddle when it rains (live So Calif near beach W.Torrance, seldom rains) but it is in dry times crud accumulates I miss former spacious inside ledge space for nick-knacks, lost converting from previous framed originals of Wood (all were vertical double hung, which I prefer for flow around air ventilation ) & Aluminum (all horiz with spacious ledges & fullest viewing area), the replacement vinyl window see through area is much reduced due to the 4 edge extra wide vinyl border glass supports (unless old opening modified, reframe to increase by ~2" on ea of 4 sides ,i.e. lost 4" horizontal & 4" vertical glass viewing area) I qualified & applied for a $475 Milgard rebate, but received only $200, with no explanation offered after several calls + note from the place I'd made purchase, I eventually gave up. I asked for rebate for 19 ea x $25 ea =$475 (for 19 of 20 purchased 20th "bonus" from store) While displeased with these problems, the windows do serve their purpose and were initially deemed cost effective in my retirement. (i.e. if you don't include having to replace 9 screens within a year) The double panes effectively reduce noise and heat loss (high reflectivity coating on south windows) June 24, 2014
Less Noise. Cuts down on all outside noise including the neighbors noisy little dog. Can only barely hear planes overhead now & the lawn guys are no longer in our living room. June 24, 2014
Mechanics issues The woodclad product is very attractive product, however, we continue to have issues with the operation. The 10' sliding glass door is almost impossible to lock and the screens on the same door do not roll, they are very difficult to open and close. We also never received two screen for two of the windows. June 24, 2014
Not sure if we are completely happy yet Just had ours installed a few weeks ago and have the outside condensation as well. Also have water inside the windows on the track when it rains. It seems to go away on its own. If this is a feature of the windows we were not told this and are waiting to hear back from installers. Is it self draining or something? June 23, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 21 next>>
Answer Center

Products

Need help?

Contact Us Find a Dealer Help Me Choose Help Me Budget