Milgard Window & Door Ratings & Reviews

Your Opinion Matters

At Milgard, our passion for providing the best windows and doors is driven by our unparalleled customer service. After more than 50 years in the industry, Milgard continues to focus on providing consumers with the best window buying experience. We work closely with our customers to determine the best new home windows, replacement windows or patio doors for their home. Knowledgeable dealers and a wealth of online window information take the guesswork out of buying windows. Milgard has earned BUILDER Magazine's Best Quality Vinyl Window in the Nation eight times. It's no wonder Milgard ranks high in window comparison ratings and earns high marks with best rated vinyl windows, top rated home windows and home window replacement reviews.

We've found that our customers describe the Milgard Window & Door experience best. We have received thousands of window reviews that describe nearly every aspect of the Milgard experience, including products, after-purchase service and dealer interactions. Our window reviewers help their fellow customers make informed purchase decisions. Take a moment to explore the window and door reviews written by our customers. If you are an existing Milgard customer, please write a window review and share your experience with others!


Milgard® Windows & Doors 4.3 5 489 489
Fantastic product Milgards products are top notch! We have been installing Milgard windows and doors for 10 years. Never had a problem with Milgards products they are simple to install and extremely well made! My clients love the warranty. Northern California Contractor October 5, 2013
this product has great features Affordable price. Excellent appearance. Ease to use. Best quality for the price. October 4, 2013
Excellent Windows not only look great but are easy to open, close and clean. Love my windows. October 4, 2013
A few problems Since the window was installed in June 2012, we have had Milgard out twice to repair the window including having two "clips" (not sure what they're called) installed that were left off at installation. We now have a problem with the lower window locking properly as the upper window pane drops down slightly when you close the lower half which doesn't allow the window to lock. Other then the above, we have been happy with our new windows including this one. Small problems happen but Milgard has been quick to repair and we appreciate that. This is just one window of the 12 we had installed and the only one with a problem. Would use Milgard again and recommend them to others. October 1, 2013
Cloudy again The people at Milgard have all been great. The person I scheduled installation with and the guy who came to install were very nice and courteous; however, a large number of the replacement windows that were installed, less than 2 months ago, have already clouded up again. I will have to call those nice people again. September 29, 2013
Our Milgard windows Our Milgard Tuscany windows are high-quality and stylish, yet simple. We immediately noticed a decrease in street noise and an increase in room comfort. September 27, 2013
Excellent We had two sliding doors, three casement windows, two sliders and four double windows installed over the last two years. Also, we choose triple pane windows with energy efficient glass since we live in a cold climate zone. The triple pane windows also help reduce outside noise since we live in a residential area. Now, for two winters the windows have performed outstanding with reducing our home heating cost and we only have one minor complaint with the double hung windows; securing the locking mechanism can be troublesome since the top pane slides down when trying to secure the lock. Thus, it takes two hands to secure the window, one hand must hold the upper pane in place while lowering and securing the lower pane. So our suggestion is for Milgard to install some kind of releasing locking mechanism on the top pane in order to hold it in place unless you need to lower the upper pane to clean the window. September 26, 2013
product has great features as a first-time buyer, I can only say "so far, so good". that's all that I have to say. September 26, 2013
Installed vinyl slide windows and one small single hung window. Single hung window have stiff travel therefor does not sit level unless two hand are use. The wide X-O-X windows frames are bowed, and cannot be corrected because of the of the stationary panels. After one window was installed, found one frame corner not welded completely. Caulked to waterproof. September 25, 2013
Windows are all hard to open Our contractor installed these windows in our home when we had it built 5 years ago. They have always been very hard to open. When they were new, a Milgard rep came out and told us that's just the way they are. A few months ago, we had a couple fail. We went on line and Milgard was quick to come out and repair. But the repaired windows show just how bad the original are! The repaired windows work great, but the originals are so hard to open, my wife cannot open or close some of them. We're building a new home in the Spring. I doubt that we'll use these, or any Milgard windows again. September 25, 2013
windows we have received 5 windows know the last 3 windows we ordered the paint on one has a bad finish . All 3 windows has paint over spray on them. One of the windows had a big dent on it.All 3 windows has scratches on the paint side.The screen on the first 2 windows we bought were short i called gave them the dimension they need to make them and they sent me the same size screen so i gave up on that.Know the new windows screens are messed up to . I had the window rep come by he said they are having someone to come clean the paint off the windows, He is ordering new screen . I would like to see them to get better quality on there screening making and get better quality on there painting ,they need to improve on there quality control before windows go out to customers..Final inspection should be the most important part of a company's quality control.I hope you get better quality control in the future for the reputation of the company.I have more windows to order but i don't now if i will use your company . It is a big inconvenience to have them rework the windows . Thank you for you time on this matter Mark September 25, 2013
Love the smooth action The windows(all16 od them) look great and add to the overall lookof the house. Had your service dept. work on the slider and he was great and the slider works like a charm. September 25, 2013
YOUR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS EXCELLENT! I RECENTLY HAD SEVERAL WINDOWS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY IN MY 18 YEAR OLD HOME. I CALLED MILGARD AND THE RESPONSE, ON ALL FRONTS, WAS IMMEDIATE. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS IMPECCABLE, SECOND TO NOBODY. I WILL BE SHARING THIS EXPERIENCE WITH ANYONE THAT IS TRYING TO DECIDE WHICH WINDOW MANUFACTURER TO GO WITH. THERE IS ONLY ONE................."MILGARD!!!" KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK! September 24, 2013
Glider Window Review -- Smoothly operational Our Essence Glider windows are fantastic. We love the one-touch automatic locking feature that comes with Essence. We love that Essence has the special chamber in case of outside water that keeps our interior wood frames dry. The windows are very solid and close smoothly. We could not be happier with them. Also, we highly recommend the Pure View screen upgrade option since you cannot see the screen at all. Recommended especially for windows you spend a lot of time in front of with a view. They are delicate and were damaged on install but now that we have them replaced are fantastic. September 20, 2013
Essence Casement Windows -- very nice could use slight improvement We love having casement windows--check with the installer to have all open same wall same direction to catch air flow better. These make for a nicer view since there is no middle bar. I am disappointed in the hardware latch though since it is of a plastic nature (seemingly not nearly as durable as our other brand casements) and seems like it could crack over time. We love the Milgard lifetime warranty though so that should this happen we expect we can get it replaced easily. September 20, 2013
The product is excellent but was not manufactured to order. Milgard provides a good product, however, there seemed to be "No" Quality Assurance Inspection prior to shipping. My door was not built to product description. The manufacturing work was "Shoddy". The metal door track was in reverse order, displaying razor sharp burrs while the door track itself contained a large amount of drill shavings. Also, missing from the door were vent stops, a special ordered multi-lock system and a special ordered door handle. From Original Order Date to re-work was approximately nine weeks. I have doubts of future orders with Milgard. September 18, 2013
Window hardware could be better We ordered a picture window with a casement window on each side to replace an old single pane aluminum window assembly in our living room. The windows were unfinished douglas fir. The overall quality of the window assembly is adequate, but we had a few surprises. Some parts of the window (the side of the window that covers the casement latches) are not solid wood, but are a thin veneer over fiberglass. The window latches and the trim around the latches look like metal, but are plastic, as are the covers for the casement cranks. We discovered this when the plastic latch and trim on one of the two casement windows broke right after installation. The folks that sold us the window said that Milgard would send replacements, but we haven't received them yet. On a separate note, Milgard doesn't provide much information about finishing the wood window. Some of the wood components are fairly difficult to access for finishing The company seems to focus primarily on architects and contractors. Overall we are happy with the look and operation of the windows but wonder if another brand of wood window would have been a better choice. September 18, 2013
Beautiful windows We purchased the Tuscany windows and sliding door for our condo. In addition to liking the way the windows look, we immediately noticed how much quieter it is in our unit and how much less the air conditioner runs. We look forward to leak-free windows in the winter cold as well. We are happy. This is one of the best improvements we made to our home. September 18, 2013
Very poor manufacturing quality I recently had all of the windows in my house replaced with Milgard windows. 1 out of 6 of the picture windows and 6 out of 6 of the horizontal sliders has some sort of manufacturing defect. The defects include: 1) Scratch on picture window glass pane 2) Multiple missing weep hole covers 3) Night guards inoperable 4) Black debris (dust) in internal window casing cavities that continuously migrates into interior window tracks. 5) Dent in exterior vinyl window frame (from factory) 6) Slider drags on night guard The fact that Milgard will send a tech out to do repairs almost two months after these defect were reported is of little consolation. Not including the black debris, the defect rate on the sliders in 100%. That many defects from the factory is indicative of a general indifference to quality that is unacceptable. September 18, 2013
Windows and doors do not measure up in harsh environment We purchased a total of 20 Woodclad windows and doors in 2004 for a major renovation of a beachfront house in Waimanalo, Hawaii ,,,, a location where the Pacific trade winds continually deposit salt mist over entire structure. Construction materials were selected to withstand this corrosive environment. The main reason for selecting the Milgard Woodclad series was because of the anticipated durability of the fiberglass construction, the beauty of the wood veneer interior, and the stainless steel hardware. Here is the result after 10 years: 1) the stainless steel hardware has held up exceptionally well, exhibiting essentially no tarnishing. The operating arms on the awning windows had to be replaced (parts provided by Milgard) because of corrosion and failure of the tiny "ball" connector (apparently not stainless steel) that snaps into the plastic track slide attached to the bottom of the window. 2) although the interior fir veneer was stained and then coated with two coats of a marine-grand polyurethane varnish prior to installation, in the most severe locations (the windward side of the house), water has wicked through each joint where the side stiles are joined to the top and bottom stiles. This in effect has allowed water (and salt) to diffuse up the wood grain several inches and deteriorate the varnish coating. As I mentioned this is an extremely harsh environment that has proven to be a problem with almost any wooden window or door. I am in the process of refinishing each of the affected windows and doors ..... taking precautions to prevent salt/water intrusion into these joints. The refinished interiors look great. 3) the frames of each window and door are pultruded fiberglass that is subsequently coated with a white epoxy finish on the exterior. Over the 10 year period, the white epoxy finish has deteriorated to the extent that it is very friable and in the extreme cases is flaking off the fiberglass substructure .... or in painter's terms, it is "chalking". The phenomenon appears to be slightly worse in windows exposed to direct sunlight. Obviously, the epoxy coating has degraded. I am in the process of sanding the exterior of all of the windows and doors, and re-coating them with a 2-part marine polyurethane coating. To be fair to Milgard, we live in a very corrosive and oxidizing environment. For windows and doors that are more sheltered, the problems are not nearly as severe. For comparison, conventional alkyd paints and varnishes and some latex paints (even those with a 25-year guarantee) begin to deteriorate after a few years, and colors fade rather quickly. I raise these issues only to make the consumer aware that extraordinary measures need to be taken when building a house in a harsh and corrosive environment. In these cases, the beauty of a varnished wood finish might have to be compromised for the durability of an all plastic (vinyl) or anodized aluminum product..... or be prepared for periodic maintenance and/or complete refinishing. September 18, 2013
Value - Value - Value! Quality vinyl window w/ great warranty at a very competitive price point. One window fogged soon after installation but was replaced in a timely manner under warranty - assumed to be a production fluke. September 17, 2013
Beautiful double living room windows Beautiful appearance, excellent warranty, cools the room, energy savings. Really good. September 17, 2013
Very pleased by the initial quality, energy savings, appearance and warranty. Very good product. Our old windows had the seals deteriorate and there was condensation between the panes. Tuscany windows are highly rated for quality, appearance, durability and energy savings. We are very pleased. September 17, 2013
Good The aluminum hinges have plastic spacers. After time exposed to the elements, the spacers fail and the windows drop in the frame making the window near impossible to open and close. September 16, 2013
Energy Efficiency and Style for our house, perfect. We have had the windows in for a couple of months now, During a recent hot spell, the indoor climate of this old house was radically changed. Prior hot days would require more A/C, and even with this energy-intensive cooling, still would get hot/humid indoors with 90+ outside temps. With the new windows the older section of the house stayed at least 15 degrees cooler during the heat of the day. By simply opening up at night and closing down in AM, we were able to keep the temps cool and comfortable without using A/C, amazing change and difference in indoor comfort. We had used the same PM open/AM close up technique with the old windows, but without this dramatic effect in climate control during the summers. The windows also were styled to match a home built in 1910 or so, IOW the frames do not scream 'VINYL' or 'NEW' and appear from the outside to be quite similar in scale and design to the original windows of the old house. So we were able to maintain the character of the old house, which we like, without compromising energy efficiency. I have to say your product is a 'game changer' in terms of energy efficiency. Also, the relative humidity, although I don't have the equipment to measure it accurately, is noticeably better both day and night. The clear view screens are also better than expected, in terms of visibility without compromising the clarity of the outdoor view. They are actually hard to notice as a screen and we have a lot of foilage around that has not lost it's quality of view for us. Milgard engineers deserve credit for creating an excellent product. I rarely review products, as most stuff does not meet expectations, at best, these days, but these windows are a product you should be proud to sell. Regards, James September 16, 2013
Color is off We ordered windows with a white color on the interior and light grey on the exterior. When the windows arrived, the exterior color was almost identical to the interior and far from the color shown in the brochure. The window quality is great and they operated very well, but our disappointment in the color has tainted our enjoyment. Before recommending Milgard to anyone else we would warn against the colors. September 15, 2013
This product met my expectations The replacement windows I had installed are what I expected of a Milgard product. Unfortunately, I had to replace my windows because the last ones failed and got cloudy. I guess this is not unusual, but since I am not the original owner, I had to pay for the replacement. If Milgard wants to increase customer satisfaction, it should extend its warranty to the homeowner, even if it is not the ORIGINAL homeowner. Otherwise, I like the windows. September 14, 2013
Do not hold up. Milgard is no help. Recently bought home from original owner. They said that the windows had a lifetime warranty for the original owner but Milgard would honor the warranty for the second owner for 10 years from date of purchase. These windows have problems and Milgard said they are no longer under warranty. September 14, 2013
Not the durability I expected... Of 7 double-pane slider windows installed in 2010, the seals on 3 have failed by 2013. Milgard has been very good about installing replacements. But that is not nearly the kind of durability I expected. September 13, 2013
Superior construction. Love the open/lock handle feature. So easy to use. Glides really smooth. Air tight construction. September 13, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 18 next>>
Answer Center

Products