Milgard Window & Door Ratings & Reviews

Your Opinion Matters

At Milgard, our passion for providing the best windows and doors is driven by our unparalleled customer service. After more than 50 years in the industry, Milgard continues to focus on providing consumers with the best window buying experience. We work closely with our customers to determine the best new home windows, replacement windows or patio doors for their home. Knowledgeable dealers and a wealth of online window information take the guesswork out of buying windows. Milgard has earned BUILDER Magazine's Best Quality Vinyl Window in the Nation eight times. It's no wonder Milgard ranks high in window comparison ratings and earns high marks with best rated vinyl windows, top rated home windows and home window replacement reviews.

We've found that our customers describe the Milgard Window & Door experience best. We have received thousands of window reviews that describe nearly every aspect of the Milgard experience, including products, after-purchase service and dealer interactions. Our window reviewers help their fellow customers make informed purchase decisions. Take a moment to explore the window and door reviews written by our customers. If you are an existing Milgard customer, please write a window review and share your experience with others!


Milgard® Windows & Doors 4.3 5 560 560
Windows and doors do not measure up in harsh environment We purchased a total of 20 Woodclad windows and doors in 2004 for a major renovation of a beachfront house in Waimanalo, Hawaii ,,,, a location where the Pacific trade winds continually deposit salt mist over entire structure. Construction materials were selected to withstand this corrosive environment. The main reason for selecting the Milgard Woodclad series was because of the anticipated durability of the fiberglass construction, the beauty of the wood veneer interior, and the stainless steel hardware. Here is the result after 10 years: 1) the stainless steel hardware has held up exceptionally well, exhibiting essentially no tarnishing. The operating arms on the awning windows had to be replaced (parts provided by Milgard) because of corrosion and failure of the tiny "ball" connector (apparently not stainless steel) that snaps into the plastic track slide attached to the bottom of the window. 2) although the interior fir veneer was stained and then coated with two coats of a marine-grand polyurethane varnish prior to installation, in the most severe locations (the windward side of the house), water has wicked through each joint where the side stiles are joined to the top and bottom stiles. This in effect has allowed water (and salt) to diffuse up the wood grain several inches and deteriorate the varnish coating. As I mentioned this is an extremely harsh environment that has proven to be a problem with almost any wooden window or door. I am in the process of refinishing each of the affected windows and doors ..... taking precautions to prevent salt/water intrusion into these joints. The refinished interiors look great. 3) the frames of each window and door are pultruded fiberglass that is subsequently coated with a white epoxy finish on the exterior. Over the 10 year period, the white epoxy finish has deteriorated to the extent that it is very friable and in the extreme cases is flaking off the fiberglass substructure .... or in painter's terms, it is "chalking". The phenomenon appears to be slightly worse in windows exposed to direct sunlight. Obviously, the epoxy coating has degraded. I am in the process of sanding the exterior of all of the windows and doors, and re-coating them with a 2-part marine polyurethane coating. To be fair to Milgard, we live in a very corrosive and oxidizing environment. For windows and doors that are more sheltered, the problems are not nearly as severe. For comparison, conventional alkyd paints and varnishes and some latex paints (even those with a 25-year guarantee) begin to deteriorate after a few years, and colors fade rather quickly. I raise these issues only to make the consumer aware that extraordinary measures need to be taken when building a house in a harsh and corrosive environment. In these cases, the beauty of a varnished wood finish might have to be compromised for the durability of an all plastic (vinyl) or anodized aluminum product..... or be prepared for periodic maintenance and/or complete refinishing. September 18, 2013
Value - Value - Value! Quality vinyl window w/ great warranty at a very competitive price point. One window fogged soon after installation but was replaced in a timely manner under warranty - assumed to be a production fluke. September 17, 2013
Beautiful double living room windows Beautiful appearance, excellent warranty, cools the room, energy savings. Really good. September 17, 2013
Very pleased by the initial quality, energy savings, appearance and warranty. Very good product. Our old windows had the seals deteriorate and there was condensation between the panes. Tuscany windows are highly rated for quality, appearance, durability and energy savings. We are very pleased. September 17, 2013
Good The aluminum hinges have plastic spacers. After time exposed to the elements, the spacers fail and the windows drop in the frame making the window near impossible to open and close. September 16, 2013
Energy Efficiency and Style for our house, perfect. We have had the windows in for a couple of months now, During a recent hot spell, the indoor climate of this old house was radically changed. Prior hot days would require more A/C, and even with this energy-intensive cooling, still would get hot/humid indoors with 90+ outside temps. With the new windows the older section of the house stayed at least 15 degrees cooler during the heat of the day. By simply opening up at night and closing down in AM, we were able to keep the temps cool and comfortable without using A/C, amazing change and difference in indoor comfort. We had used the same PM open/AM close up technique with the old windows, but without this dramatic effect in climate control during the summers. The windows also were styled to match a home built in 1910 or so, IOW the frames do not scream 'VINYL' or 'NEW' and appear from the outside to be quite similar in scale and design to the original windows of the old house. So we were able to maintain the character of the old house, which we like, without compromising energy efficiency. I have to say your product is a 'game changer' in terms of energy efficiency. Also, the relative humidity, although I don't have the equipment to measure it accurately, is noticeably better both day and night. The clear view screens are also better than expected, in terms of visibility without compromising the clarity of the outdoor view. They are actually hard to notice as a screen and we have a lot of foilage around that has not lost it's quality of view for us. Milgard engineers deserve credit for creating an excellent product. I rarely review products, as most stuff does not meet expectations, at best, these days, but these windows are a product you should be proud to sell. Regards, James September 16, 2013
Color is off We ordered windows with a white color on the interior and light grey on the exterior. When the windows arrived, the exterior color was almost identical to the interior and far from the color shown in the brochure. The window quality is great and they operated very well, but our disappointment in the color has tainted our enjoyment. Before recommending Milgard to anyone else we would warn against the colors. September 15, 2013
This product met my expectations The replacement windows I had installed are what I expected of a Milgard product. Unfortunately, I had to replace my windows because the last ones failed and got cloudy. I guess this is not unusual, but since I am not the original owner, I had to pay for the replacement. If Milgard wants to increase customer satisfaction, it should extend its warranty to the homeowner, even if it is not the ORIGINAL homeowner. Otherwise, I like the windows. September 14, 2013
Do not hold up. Milgard is no help. Recently bought home from original owner. They said that the windows had a lifetime warranty for the original owner but Milgard would honor the warranty for the second owner for 10 years from date of purchase. These windows have problems and Milgard said they are no longer under warranty. September 14, 2013
Not the durability I expected... Of 7 double-pane slider windows installed in 2010, the seals on 3 have failed by 2013. Milgard has been very good about installing replacements. But that is not nearly the kind of durability I expected. September 13, 2013
Superior construction. Love the open/lock handle feature. So easy to use. Glides really smooth. Air tight construction. September 13, 2013
milgard isthe best vinyl product on the market tahnls for a quality productthanks for a great prodiuct September 12, 2013
Excellent customer service and warranty I had the best service I've ever received on any home product. I had a warranty repair. I was pleased that it was handled with expert care and no hassles at all! Thank you! September 11, 2013
Top Notch Waranty repair. Ordered and installed several Millgard windows about 6 years ago. One of the sliders developed a leak and clouded over several months. Went online to report a service problem. A Milgard repairman was scheduled within 7 days. He arrived on time, had a new widow with him and had the total repair and replacement done within 15 minutes. No arguments, charges, or extras. Every other company should take a lesson of Milgard's waranty and repair!! September 11, 2013
poor quality from the factory I ordered 5 triple glazed windows from our local authorized dealer. When the windows arrived, I quickly noted that one of the windows on the truck was a completely different window than the one that was ordered. In addition, during installation, I noticed that the middle pane on one of the picture windows was defective. One of the windows has a large scratch and the Purview screens on the awning windows need to be replaced. One had a hole and the other did not fit. One of the awning style windows is "racked" and has an interference with a protruding screw and needs to be repaired by a Milgard technician. One of the awning windows is missing a cover for the operating handle and another has a seal which has fallen out of place. At this time I am awaiting the Milgard representative to visit and repair or replace the faulty windows. None of these defects were caught by either the factory during quality inspection or the authorized representative who performed the installation. Needless to say, I am very disappointed with the quality of these windows. I had hoped for more given their cost and the recommendations I received from my contractor. September 11, 2013
Beautifully made windows bulit to last Love the new French Door with side lites and Sliding French door to replace some wooden doors that did not hold up. Doors seem are gorgeous but screens on side lites are flimsy and not what you would expect from Milgard. Otherwise, would have been a 5 star rating. September 11, 2013
Window I really am unsure of the windows I have but I appreciate the warranty service. Our problem was taken care of promptly and without hassel. I would recommend the windows based on the fact that you really do back up your product. September 11, 2013
This product has beauty and endurance During the many years as a General Building Contractor I always installed Milgard Windows and Doors. Then when I remodeled our current home I installed (17) Milgard Vinyl Windows. They have held up very nicely and are still attractive with the lattice pattern between the two pains of glass. Recently the kitchen window seal broke. I called Milgard and replaced it within a week's time. I give a 5 Star Rating to Milgard based on years of experience. Michael. September 11, 2013
Dependable company great product I have been buying Milgard windows for 30 years for new construction and remodel projects. The look and utility is excellent. I trust the product and trust the companyl September 11, 2013
tuscany casement windows with sdl and balanced sash We purchased 14 Tuscany casement windows with sdl's and balanced sash, they are easy to operate and look pretty good. The issue we had was the simulated divided lights were pretty sloppy (poor fitting muntins the pieces were sagged down in the center)and a couple of the windows had bows in them which were a bit unsightly. September 10, 2013
Excellent post sale services. Our windows are Vinyl Classic, a higher end than others then made but no longer offered. Excellent service post sale. September 10, 2013
This product fits tight and no drafts! The door slides open and closed with ease. The door handle is comfortable to hold on to and it locks and unlocks easily, can use a finger to do so. Great door. September 10, 2013
I am so pleased with Milgard product, their service and warranty. although it was difficult to communicate via email and limited phone call, i received the best service and replacement of all troubled areas relating to windows throughout my home. thank you to the customer service call center, to the workers and all involved to assist me with my windows! September 10, 2013
Fantastic Windows Love everything about the windows including the safety stoppers and the lifetime warranty. Love the look and they are so airtight. Looking forward to see how our energy bills drop. However, some of the stoppers won't pop back in and makes it difficult to slide open a couple of the windows. September 10, 2013
Love the sliding door I did not know what a new door would mean. I should have my other one changed out for another new one. That is when it is affordable. I recommend this door highly. Love it. September 10, 2013
Love my new windows! From the beginning, Kevin at Windura made this as easy and smooth as possible. The windows look great and do a great job at insulating the house against the weather and noise. I can't even hear the dog in the back barking anymore! Thanks, Kevin. I am so glad we chose to install this product. September 10, 2013
We built a home on Mt. Hood and we are thrilled with our Migard Windows We have 26 Milgard windows in our new home and they are fantastic. Our house was a Lindal Kit with a 30 ft grand room that came with factory cedar windows. We chose Migard for all of the other living space, basement, bathroom, laundry and bedrooms and we are thrilled. They look great, we had one small problem and the technician came out and fixed the window within 24 hours. It turned out the window was fine and the contractor had dripped some clear sealant that looked like a chip. The sealant scraped off and we were good to go! September 10, 2013
service I like the lifetime service and replacement .... however, the service listed in the phone book locally would not help me. It was a hassle to connect with the regional manager. September 10, 2013
Good Windows Will buy again, looks great and works as advertised. September 10, 2013
Heavy sliding window with no handle Very large and heavy double pane aluminum sliding window with no handle. Difficult to open and close. Professional installation has no problem. Quality is good. But I would not recommend it for people over 60 of age. Woman would definitely complaint. September 10, 2013
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 20 next>>
Answer Center

Products

Need help?

Contact Us Find a Dealer Help Me Choose Help Me Budget