Milgard Window & Door Ratings & Reviews

Your Opinion Matters

At Milgard, our passion for providing the best windows and doors is driven by our unparalleled customer service. After more than 50 years in the industry, Milgard continues to focus on providing consumers with the best window buying experience. We work closely with our customers to determine the best new home windows, replacement windows or patio doors for their home. Knowledgeable dealers and a wealth of online window information take the guesswork out of buying windows. Milgard has earned BUILDER Magazine's Best Quality Vinyl Window in the Nation eight times. It's no wonder Milgard ranks high in window comparison ratings and earns high marks with best rated vinyl windows, top rated home windows and home window replacement reviews.

We've found that our customers describe the Milgard Window & Door experience best. We have received thousands of window reviews that describe nearly every aspect of the Milgard experience, including products, after-purchase service and dealer interactions. Our window reviewers help their fellow customers make informed purchase decisions. Take a moment to explore the window and door reviews written by our customers. If you are an existing Milgard customer, please write a window review and share your experience with others!


Milgard® Windows & Doors 4.3 5 583 583
Love my Style Line door and Tuscany Windows Just love my new windows and doors. Blocks out noise, easy to clean, easy to operate. Only problem I have is with the screen on the Style Line slider. It is very very difficult to install the screen. Ours was accidently knocked out and it took us quite a long time to re-install it. We loosened the screws, top and bottom and still had to use a tool to lift the wheels over the lip. that is the only reason for the three on ease of use. September 10, 2013
Very easy to use the sliders, good locking mechanism. Had these windows installed and they are very nice looking. The reflectivity from the outside works for heat gain resistance, and also for privacy during the day. We are very happy with them. September 3, 2013
tuscany sliding doors I bought 5 sliding doors to replace the orginal ones installed in my home built in 1977. They are very substanial, great product, saves me money by saving cooling and heating costs, noticable within a month after installation. Friends have commented that they were better doors than what they had installed and stated they wish they had purchased this product. July 27, 2013
My French style sliders doors are perfect! I am thrilled with my selection of the French Style slider. I replaced traditional wood French doors that were old and damaged by water. The look of my new doors has a much more open view. I highly recommend the Milgard doors, next will be replacing my windows. July 26, 2013
Beautiful wood interior We bought both fixed and double hung windows, but there's really not much to say about a fixed window, except it's really nice you can order just about any size you want. The windows are exceptionally pretty, with a very nice fine-grained Douglas Fir on the inside. The grids tend to be a little coarser grain wood, but not a problem - still pretty. The exterior are white fiberglass, which matches the white vinyl on the older part of the house. We had custom grids on some of the windows, and after a couple back and forth communications with our lumber yard representative to assure the measurements were correct, the windows were built to our specifications, and look great. The only caveat with the fancy grids is that all that wood needs to be finished, which is tedious. The windows seem to operate fine, although we are still under construction, so haven't been using them much yet. I assume with a vinyl construction and wood veneer, these windows will withstand our typically cool foggy conditions better than 100% wood. March 21, 2013
Outside protection, beautiful inside We are happy to let you know that we are pleased with our new windows. The old windows were far past their prime, especially the outside wood. The fibreglass exterior looks great and the inside wood is beautiful. The new windows make the house more pleasant in terms of temperature and no worries about colour fading. Bert and Connie February 4, 2013
The appearance and quality of Aluminum Thermal Break Windows exceeds windows of other materials I researched replacement windows of various manufacturers and materials prior to selecting Milgards Thermal Break Alumimun Frame Window. After seeing a Milgard sample window and cut through a frame member my lifetime of experience in the design and construction field convinced me this was an excellent product and my choice for my 30 year old home. January 24, 2013
Energy saving and appearance We have a view lot, so our 7 West facing windows are all sliding glass doors. We installed 7 Tuscany sliding glass doors last May. It made a great difference in reducing the heat transfer to the inside. We noticed the same thing in the Winter re indoor heat conservation. Most guests and visitors have commented on how beautiful and rich looking the doors are. We're also impressed with the easy to use handle/lock on the doors. January 24, 2013
Form follows function Wonderful quality door, but that's not why I bought it....I bought it because of Milgard's reputation for service after the sale.....Beautifully balanced swing on each door. quality materials-stainless steel hinges and door handle...about the handle-it's a 5point locking mechanism which I appreciate for it's superior locking/security- and you need it in a french door....the door was factory painted-and the finish is indeed superb.... I had a problem with that door lock -it closed with difficulty after 6 months, so I called Milgard and they had a tech out quickly...he was professional, efficient and fixedthe issue.... I wish Milgard made single doors-they don't....the door is very expensive, but you do indeed get what you pay for when it comes to doors.... December 18, 2012
Treat Yourself You Won't Be Sorry I purchased the Milgard sliding glass door that is fiberglass and wood-clad. First of all, it looks spectacular! This slider was installed on a sun-facing side of my home which bakes in the summer. I can honestly say, that with the extra sun shield options that I also added, that this same room is NOTICEABLY cooler in the summer. So much so that I don't have to turn the air conditioner on as much as I used to. And did I mention how gorgeous it is?? Oh yeah, I did, but I love looking at it. So classy. My only suggestion is to be sure to hire Milgard certified installers. The two men who installed my slider were very clean and competant, but some months later it was brought to my attention that they did not use the right material to cover the nail holes, so it got gooey when the weather heated up. I had this taken care of myself and all is as it should be now. The other thing is be careful around the glass. I had movers bring in some furniture, and they accidentally nicked the glass, so there is a scratch that I notice but no one else does. When it happened my slider was out of warranty for a repair. Lastly, I notice in the winter that the curtains still move slightly in and out, so there is still a bit of drafting in the winter time which sort of surprised me. If you're trying to keep out the cold drafts, this may not be the product. But, if you're trying to fend off unrelenting sun in the Summer, this is the product to buy. I recommend it without hesitation. March 30, 2012
Amazing Door. This door is more solid that he solid door that we replaced. I didn't think that possible. We absolutely love it!! it looks perfect like it always belonged there. The added screen feature we are for sure going to love this summer! Everything came pre-installed, all we did was put it in the hole in the house, and poof it was perfect! My only problem was figuring out how to operate the handles. That was a learning curve, as we had no directions included with our door. When we figured this out, it was a very impressive door, with amazingly secure feel. Would order from Milgard over and over! Thanks!!! February 27, 2012
a very good quality looking product Windows made a big difference in appearance of our house. Have not really had them long enough to give a true evaluation. November 17, 2014
love the windows!!! We love our new windows, so easy to open and close. they look great, and the installation was done very quickly, neatly and Mid Coast Glass was wonderful!!!! Thank you November 15, 2014
wouldn't buy that products again We purchased 8 style line sliders for our home in 2010. Easy to install them. What we are disappointed with one of the sliders that are always needed to straightened up before close it. Those windows are not keeping our home warm in winter at all and we can hear the traffic when windows are all closed. What pains me the most is to trying to clean out the sills of each windows that have so many curves and you cannot get into those tiny spaces to get the dirt, leaves, dead bugs that got trapped in those tiny spaces that are impossible to clean. I would NOT buy those products again. November 15, 2014
Great product & installation contractor This is second time we've purchased and installed Milgard vinyl windows in a home. It transformed our Sherwood farmhouse into a draft-free and snug harbor...replacing aluminum sash. Amazing smoothly operating, considering the weight. Open/close smoothly every time. We did the entire house about 6 years ago and last Spring added several into our new-to-us Wilsonville home. Both times we had Lifetime Windows and Doors of east Portland install our new windows and both times, they were outstanding..both in advance communications, and the crew who installed. I'd highly recommend both Milgard and Lifetime W&D to anyone.. November 13, 2014
Don't waste your money We ordered the Ultra series out-swing french doors with sidelights and screen. The sidelights feature is very poorly designed because the screens are on the inside instead of the outside as one would expect. It is awkward to have to push the screen to open it, then unlatch the sidelight door, which is placed way to close to the inside of the frame, making it extremely difficult to open. Then you would shut the screen again to keep the bugs out. Despite asking several vendors about the outswing french doors, not one person mentioned this flaw in design for the sidelights. In fact, they sold us on the feature that the sidelights would open in (therefore, the screens would be on the outside, which is reasonable). I hope Milgard will change this bad feature of the door so that the sidelights open in--and make it easier to unlatch the door by not placing the handle so close to the frame. I was told that because we ordered the Ultra Series, the sidelights only open in the direction the french doors open. Also, paint on the hinges easily chipped off exposing an unprimed hinge underneath. I was highly disappointed in this product and wish we had been given proper information from the vendors. November 13, 2014
I like the slider door but am sadly disappointed in quality of threshold as it cracked The slider is nice and you promptly replaced the glass when it became cloudy but the threshold which cracked, and you refused to replace or repair just keeps getting worse. Thresholds should be stepped on as you go out the door. November 12, 2014
I love the over all appearance of the window. The Milgard Style Line Windows are great. I put part of them in 8 years and ago and now I finally finsihed the back side of the house. The windows make the house even more quite. It's was a pleasure to work with Cal Comfort Windows. Their service was excellent. The gentlemen that did the install work very clean and did a super job with installation. I'm now looking at replace a door and side door glass panel and Cal Comfort will be doing the job. Thank you for making such great windows Rose November 9, 2014
Tuscany French Doors - the worst They looked good online, but the delivered product was simply terrible. Manufacturing defects left a large gap between the two doors in the middle (top and bottom have a tight match), barely engaging the locking mechanism. Service technician acknowledged a manufacturing issue after seeing them, and is ordering new doors, but that is 5-8 weeks to replace!! The door tops are completely uneven inside the frame, again really poor manufacturing quality. Absolutely not worthy of a formal dining room. Lastly the locking mechanism is not intuitive at all. We read the instructions, and then twice my wife and I thought we had set the deadbolt on the doors (and we can see it engaged), but our daughter walks right into the house through an unlocked door - complete safety failure. Not happy. Cannot recommend this product. November 6, 2014
Have purchased Milgard before and very satisfied This is third time with Milgard and first time with us window-door. Installation was efficient and well coordinated. Sales cycle very good with quotation and requote very timely. Details of windows were made clear so choosing style was easy. November 6, 2014
NEEDS SOME IMPROVEMENT Sliding doors should have a vent stop, similar to your windows. Pella"s sliding glass door has a foot operated vent lock, allowing you to leave your door open for ventilation. Your screen doors need improvement, poorly made door locks. You could use a better screening material. November 4, 2014
What a Difference! Our recently purchased home is 15 years old and had dual pane windows that were so thin we could feel the heat through the glass - definitely not good in Arizona. We had all 19 windows in our home replaced and noticed a difference immediately. Our air conditioner does not run as much as it did before the new windows were installed and, more importantly, we are now comfortable in our home. The windows are extremely easy to open and close. A bonus is that outside noise is at a minimum since the new windows were installed. We did a lot of research before making our purchase, which is why we ultimately chose Milgard windows, and we have absolutely no doubt that we made the right choice. November 4, 2014
Waste of Money These doors are too heavy and the installer broke them because he just dropped them on the ground. Now I have to suffer over this. It makes me sick to read about it. These doors and windows are prone to cracking in the threshold and a horrible value for the money. I would never buy these again! October 31, 2014
windows and sliding door are beautiful and easy to open/close Lighthouse Windows in Santa Cruz assisted in selecting the windows and sliding door. Their team was professional, courteous and accommodating. My installation required some retrofitting of framing and they didi a beautiful job. October 31, 2014
great window for the price, very easy to install (diy) great window for the price, very easy to install (diy) October 30, 2014
Great Windows, Great Service! I purchased 8 Milgard Tuscany windows and a patio door through Lowes and installed them myself. The measurements were exactly as ordered. Delivery time was much faster than I expected, three weeks, and this included shipping them from the Seattle area to Anchorage. They really dressed up our little Justus Cedar home. They are warm, quiet and don't sweat like the original wood frame windows did. The patio door ended up with a large scratch down the middle of it that the installer (me) may have done. With the help of Donna in the Seattle office and Jeff here in Anchorage, Milgard replaced the glass in a very timely and professional manner at no cost to me. Outstanding service and outstanding quality! I highly recommend Milgard. October 30, 2014
This product breakers and Milgard does not stand by the warranty I have arm broken on one window for 3 months and have not been scheduled for repair. Severally calls. "Some one will call in a month" no one calls This is the second month. I am ready to pay someone to fix it and send Milgard the bill. October 29, 2014
replacement window The original window's seal broke and Milgard replaced the window under warranty. So thankful October 28, 2014
Years of use and not a single problem! This is the second house I've used Milgard windows in. In the year 2002, I put Milgard windows in my 7th house, located in Durango, CO. That house is now a rental of mine. Not a single problem with any of them in all that time. There are some sliders, some casements and one awning. They all open, close and lock like new to this day. Interior screens, low-e double paned glass were what drew me to them originally. Some were replacements for insecure, old aluminum windows that were terribly inefficient, had a lot of solar gain in the summer, and many had failing seals. Others were casement and awning styles for the additional rooms created with a remodel, and replacements for the upper floor rooms. What a huge difference they made in sound transmission (so little afterwards) and no more air leakage. The energy bills really dropped for both winter and summer. When it came time to redo my current personal home in 2011 (which is house #6 for me), I had 4 casement Ultra windows, with low-e triple panes, put into a new addition (my new office) on the 2nd floor, over the living room. Two windows face directly east, one south and one north. They are perfect! I've never had any issues with them at all either. Love that the screens are inside mounted as it makes cleaning the windows so easy. There is virtually no outside noise from the backyard and neighbors anymore, when they are closed, and no solar gain either. The room is very quiet and very comfortable temperature-wise too. With the summer sun shining on them, if you put your hand on the glass, there is very little heat passing through. Keeps the office cool in the summer and warm in the winter. I also had an awning Ultra window installed on the west side of the house in another new addition I call the nook. It's actually an extension across the hall from my new office space, and is above the front foyer of the house. Currently, the room is used as another office space for my child and has bookshelves too. I also use the nook myself for non-work reading (cookbooks, travel books, art books) and file storage. The awning window faces due west. It's also triple paned low-e, and an inside mounted screen. When I sit at the nook desk, I hear almost no street noise at all, and there's very little solar gain. This nook also stays warm in the winter and cool in the summer, so no air leaking at all. So, after witnessing the wonderful virtues of the new windows, I decided to change out ALL my other windows on the first floor of the house to the Ultra series. In the basement I went with a different series from Milgard that are side sliders. What a difference they have all made in the noise coming in, the security of my house, and best of all, the energy efficiency. No more drafty rooms! I haven't had any issues with any of them. I still have more to install on the 2nd floor in the bedrooms, but these aren't going in until 2015, due to circumstances that prevented me from changing all of them earlier. I've had family members, some friends and many neighbors came over to see my whole house remodeling since I started it in 2011. They always notice how comfortable it is inside, and how quiet my house is too. I tell them it's the windows! It's why I chose these. Two sets of friends, one family member, and 3 neighbors have now switched out their old drafty windows to Milgard Ultras too. They have all said they too were very happy with the results. In general, fiberglass window frames have fewer problems than any other style of window I've ever lived with. They are far less likely to react to exterior and/or interior environmental changes. And, by the way, I've lived in no less than 16 different homes and apartments in my lifetime. I think some other people here maybe have issues for various reason. Often it's the fault of the installer, and not the windows themselves. They might have soil movement and/or house shifting issues, or more humidity where they live, which can make a big difference in performance too. When I start building my next house in 3 years, a straw bale one, I'm going to use Milgard Fiberglass windows again, and likely their doors too. October 28, 2014
I do not like seeing"black line (gap with weather stripping) above fixed side of door.!!! Needed to do more leg work before purchasing..So disappointed October 28, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>
Answer Center

Products

Need help?

Contact Us Find a Dealer Help Me Choose Help Me Budget