Milgard Window & Door Ratings & Reviews

Your Opinion Matters

At Milgard, our passion for providing the best windows and doors is driven by our unparalleled customer service. After more than 50 years in the industry, Milgard continues to focus on providing consumers with the best window buying experience. We work closely with our customers to determine the best new home windows, replacement windows or patio doors for their home. Knowledgeable dealers and a wealth of online window information take the guesswork out of buying windows. Milgard has earned BUILDER Magazine's Best Quality Vinyl Window in the Nation eight times. It's no wonder Milgard ranks high in window comparison ratings and earns high marks with best rated vinyl windows, top rated home windows and home window replacement reviews.

We've found that our customers describe the Milgard Window & Door experience best. We have received thousands of window reviews that describe nearly every aspect of the Milgard experience, including products, after-purchase service and dealer interactions. Our window reviewers help their fellow customers make informed purchase decisions. Take a moment to explore the window and door reviews written by our customers. If you are an existing Milgard customer, please write a window review and share your experience with others!


Milgard® Windows & Doors 4.3 5 518 518
Love my Style Line door and Tuscany Windows Just love my new windows and doors. Blocks out noise, easy to clean, easy to operate. Only problem I have is with the screen on the Style Line slider. It is very very difficult to install the screen. Ours was accidently knocked out and it took us quite a long time to re-install it. We loosened the screws, top and bottom and still had to use a tool to lift the wheels over the lip. that is the only reason for the three on ease of use. September 10, 2013
Very easy to use the sliders, good locking mechanism. Had these windows installed and they are very nice looking. The reflectivity from the outside works for heat gain resistance, and also for privacy during the day. We are very happy with them. September 3, 2013
tuscany sliding doors I bought 5 sliding doors to replace the orginal ones installed in my home built in 1977. They are very substanial, great product, saves me money by saving cooling and heating costs, noticable within a month after installation. Friends have commented that they were better doors than what they had installed and stated they wish they had purchased this product. July 27, 2013
My French style sliders doors are perfect! I am thrilled with my selection of the French Style slider. I replaced traditional wood French doors that were old and damaged by water. The look of my new doors has a much more open view. I highly recommend the Milgard doors, next will be replacing my windows. July 26, 2013
Beautiful wood interior We bought both fixed and double hung windows, but there's really not much to say about a fixed window, except it's really nice you can order just about any size you want. The windows are exceptionally pretty, with a very nice fine-grained Douglas Fir on the inside. The grids tend to be a little coarser grain wood, but not a problem - still pretty. The exterior are white fiberglass, which matches the white vinyl on the older part of the house. We had custom grids on some of the windows, and after a couple back and forth communications with our lumber yard representative to assure the measurements were correct, the windows were built to our specifications, and look great. The only caveat with the fancy grids is that all that wood needs to be finished, which is tedious. The windows seem to operate fine, although we are still under construction, so haven't been using them much yet. I assume with a vinyl construction and wood veneer, these windows will withstand our typically cool foggy conditions better than 100% wood. March 21, 2013
Outside protection, beautiful inside We are happy to let you know that we are pleased with our new windows. The old windows were far past their prime, especially the outside wood. The fibreglass exterior looks great and the inside wood is beautiful. The new windows make the house more pleasant in terms of temperature and no worries about colour fading. Bert and Connie February 4, 2013
The appearance and quality of Aluminum Thermal Break Windows exceeds windows of other materials I researched replacement windows of various manufacturers and materials prior to selecting Milgards Thermal Break Alumimun Frame Window. After seeing a Milgard sample window and cut through a frame member my lifetime of experience in the design and construction field convinced me this was an excellent product and my choice for my 30 year old home. January 24, 2013
Energy saving and appearance We have a view lot, so our 7 West facing windows are all sliding glass doors. We installed 7 Tuscany sliding glass doors last May. It made a great difference in reducing the heat transfer to the inside. We noticed the same thing in the Winter re indoor heat conservation. Most guests and visitors have commented on how beautiful and rich looking the doors are. We're also impressed with the easy to use handle/lock on the doors. January 24, 2013
Form follows function Wonderful quality door, but that's not why I bought it....I bought it because of Milgard's reputation for service after the sale.....Beautifully balanced swing on each door. quality materials-stainless steel hinges and door handle...about the handle-it's a 5point locking mechanism which I appreciate for it's superior locking/security- and you need it in a french door....the door was factory painted-and the finish is indeed superb.... I had a problem with that door lock -it closed with difficulty after 6 months, so I called Milgard and they had a tech out quickly...he was professional, efficient and fixedthe issue.... I wish Milgard made single doors-they don't....the door is very expensive, but you do indeed get what you pay for when it comes to doors.... December 18, 2012
Treat Yourself You Won't Be Sorry I purchased the Milgard sliding glass door that is fiberglass and wood-clad. First of all, it looks spectacular! This slider was installed on a sun-facing side of my home which bakes in the summer. I can honestly say, that with the extra sun shield options that I also added, that this same room is NOTICEABLY cooler in the summer. So much so that I don't have to turn the air conditioner on as much as I used to. And did I mention how gorgeous it is?? Oh yeah, I did, but I love looking at it. So classy. My only suggestion is to be sure to hire Milgard certified installers. The two men who installed my slider were very clean and competant, but some months later it was brought to my attention that they did not use the right material to cover the nail holes, so it got gooey when the weather heated up. I had this taken care of myself and all is as it should be now. The other thing is be careful around the glass. I had movers bring in some furniture, and they accidentally nicked the glass, so there is a scratch that I notice but no one else does. When it happened my slider was out of warranty for a repair. Lastly, I notice in the winter that the curtains still move slightly in and out, so there is still a bit of drafting in the winter time which sort of surprised me. If you're trying to keep out the cold drafts, this may not be the product. But, if you're trying to fend off unrelenting sun in the Summer, this is the product to buy. I recommend it without hesitation. March 30, 2012
Amazing Door. This door is more solid that he solid door that we replaced. I didn't think that possible. We absolutely love it!! it looks perfect like it always belonged there. The added screen feature we are for sure going to love this summer! Everything came pre-installed, all we did was put it in the hole in the house, and poof it was perfect! My only problem was figuring out how to operate the handles. That was a learning curve, as we had no directions included with our door. When we figured this out, it was a very impressive door, with amazingly secure feel. Would order from Milgard over and over! Thanks!!! February 27, 2012
A few problems One of the screens had a black goop on it which the installer took back to have replaced. Another one had black goop on it that I had to clean of. Just cleaning my windows for the first time and I noticed a big gouge in one of the exterior pieces of frame. Two weeks and no news from installer on my screen. Installer said I could open the bottom window for inside cleaning and I cant figure that out with no instructions September 14, 2014
windows great, sceens need improvement I really love my new windows. They are extremely easy to open. I am, however, disappointed with the screens. They are hard to put back in. Since they are on the 2nd story of the house, it has become a 2 person job to get the screens back in. I bought new windows hoping for ease of use with the screen placement but unfortunately that is not the case. September 14, 2014
quality product and great warranty Rocky Mtn. Window had a very competitive price and a good selection to choose from. They had people that new the product well and they advised me as what would work best for my situation based on features and cost. The project was at my lake home 40 miles from town, they came out with an excellent crew and replaced 14 windows in one day and cleaned up after their selves! And you can't beat Milgard Windows warranty and quality. September 11, 2014
NICE WINDOWS WITHOUT SPENDING A FORTUNE. We spent 2 years researching windows and decided to go with Milgard. As for pricing, Milgard Montecito windows are not at the bottom, nor are they at the top. In the middle and allowed us to be able to replace all windows and sliders in house without having to take out a second mortgage. Some estimates we received were outrageous. We replaced slider windows with casements and have replaced a standard slider and also a 12' slider. The screens could be a bit more substantial, but just have to take care with them. The casement windows are elegant from the outside and inside. They add an updated modern look to our 1986 tri-level house, which is a huge change from its out-of-date aluminum windows. Have noticed a reduction in outside noise. Overall, very pleased with our purchase and hopeful the windows last for years to come. September 9, 2014
This product has good warranty. After researching companies that sells windows and installation, I have picked an installer that recommend and will install Milgard Tusgany bc of its warranty. Upon receiving the product and after installation I find the product was easy to use and is well designed. Two days after installation, I am still happy w the product. September 8, 2014
Amazing windows We researched lots of windows and these are the highest quality windows we found. The price is not that much more than other brands but the quality you get is superb. Milguard was highly recommended by our contractor. They seal very well for living in the high desert with blowing sand. I can also tell a big difference on how much heat the window blocks out compared to other brand windows. The only regret is that we should of bought tan instead of white frames. September 4, 2014
excellent Quotation & installation of 8 windows and 1 patio door were completed on time. the crews (3) acted very professional. We have 1 window & 1 patio door need to replace in the future. Definitely we'll go for the same product (Preferred Windows & Doors, Riverside, Ca). August 30, 2014
warranty not what it is cracked up to be I bought these windows because of the warranty,when you call you get voice mail telling you someone will contact you within 24 to 48 hours don't hold your breath doesn't happen.After doing all the legwork for them to find the invoice #s they needed they set up a repair guy to come out,I had told them of problems with a casement and a large double hung the tech only was told about one.He adjusted the casement and it worked when he left but two days later you have to push it shut from the outside to close it all the way, the double hung was a little out of plumb the carpenters re squared it but it still has a upper sash that drops down on its own when you unlatch the window.I called warranty again said it would be 35 days to get rescheduled, the service guy in the Midwest services at least 6 states by himself, what a joke give Pella a good look before buying these. August 28, 2014
Nice and quiet windows We are very happy with our new windows. Very quiet and slide very easily. Look very nice and are strong and firm. Can't wait for winter to see how they match up with the winter cold. The office is very friendly and very easy to get a person to talk to every time. Very professional. Thank you. :) August 28, 2014
Locking Latch At times, it is difficult to get to get the locking latch to lock/click in place. I had a serviceman come out and demonstrate, which was good, but the window does not consistently lock with ease. August 28, 2014
Windows are wonderful We think the windows are wonderful. Really help with the warmth (as we are in the mountains) and are very easy to slide. They also look great installed. Very happy we had this done. August 25, 2014
CAUTION - SmartTouchâ„¢ Lock is VERY LOUD! We are in the middle of a remodel and recently installed seven Essence double hung windows with the SmartTouchâ„¢ lock throughout the house. The windows seem to be good in many respects but I am very dissatisfied with the locking system. It looks nice but the latch requires you to slam the window shut in order to close and lock it. It is far from ideal if anyone is asleep in the house when you need to close a window! And I'm not confident that either my daughter or grandmother will be able to operate them at all, given that a fair amount of elbow grease is required in the slam closing process. I'm sorry to report that with the trim yet to be installed on the new windows, we're already saving money for new sashes. Except for this locking system, I think we would recommend these windows. August 25, 2014
Good windows not great screens We built a house and used all single hung windows except in the kitchen, which are the crank style. Windows are nice, but the crank window handle falls off. We really like the smooth glide of the single hung windows. We upgraded to the pure view screens, which look great, but half of them are starting to tear already (we installed around Jan or Feb if I remember correctly). The tears are near the corners and other than removing them once have not been handled much. We have a huge sliding door which is beautiful as well t, but we just cleaned it after construction was finally complete and noticed that the glass is pitted in several places. The glass was protected and not damaged during construction, so we think it could be a flaw in the glass. Also the screen door on that slider was kind of flimsy and when someone pushed it accidentally, the screen tore out of the side and bottom. Not sure what can be done, but we will be contacting Milgard next week about the slider flaws. Other than that we would strongly recommend this product and love the windows. August 23, 2014
Excellent Product These windows have functioned wonderfully for nearly 10 years. We have had two occasions to call for lifetime warranty repairs. Technicians were prompt and professional and windows are working as if new. We are very pleased with both the product and the service. August 22, 2014
Looks like we made the right decision! In researching purchasing vinyl indows, we first polled our friends who had installed new windows and all were pleased with their Milgard Windows and their customer service when ever there was a problem. So we visited the Milgard showroom at their manufacturing facility in Simi Valley and their web site as well . The reviews we read from those who purchased Milgard windows were very encouraging so we went ahead and had them installed and so far are happy with their appearance and operation. it appears that we made the right decision. August 21, 2014
Styleline Windows save the day Great windows, quick professional installation gives me the confidence that the windows will last for a long time. Only disappointment was the Warranty was not exactly as strong as the sales agent had stated. Limited coverage for breakage was not what was stated but I hope this issue never has to be addressed. Bottom line, great windows should revolutionize our interior environment. August 21, 2014
Great product for the money Love the product - service techs and installers were really great to work with! When we build again, we will defiantly use Milgard! August 19, 2014
Window and slideing glass door warped My new home is 9 years old, both my sliding glass door and now my dining room window have warped....when I complained on the door they told me the builder installed it wrong and did NOTHING!! The builder filed bankruptcy, so had to replace the door with a different brand by myself. Beware of the low quality of Milguard August 18, 2014
Our new Milgard windows have brought us from the 80's to the present I'd like to express my satisfaction with the new Milgard windows that were installed at our condomium complex by SRC Windows. We have 24 units, each with 4 windows and a sliding door. From the interview we had with the sales person with SRC Windows until the last window was installed 6 weeks later we have had not one concern, complaint or question regarding SRC Windows, the Milgard windows or the crew that installed them. Every aspect of this project was handled with respect to our owners and our property. The comments have been really positive and everyone is extremely happy and excited with the windows, the overall new look and I have had several owners compliment the crew that was on site. Our overall opinion of the this whole undertaking is that we could not have had a better experience. Milgard and SRC Windows will have our seal of approval and we will be happy to recommend them to anyone interested in a great product and a great installer. Barbara, Pres. Board of Directors Kirkland Park Place Condomiums August 13, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>
Answer Center

Products