Milgard Window & Door Ratings & Reviews

Your Opinion Matters

At Milgard, our passion for providing the best windows and doors is driven by our unparalleled customer service. After more than 50 years in the industry, Milgard continues to focus on providing consumers with the best window buying experience. We work closely with our customers to determine the best new home windows, replacement windows or patio doors for their home. Knowledgeable dealers and a wealth of online window information take the guesswork out of buying windows. Milgard has earned BUILDER Magazine's Best Quality Vinyl Window in the Nation eight times. It's no wonder Milgard ranks high in window comparison ratings and earns high marks with best rated vinyl windows, top rated home windows and home window replacement reviews.

We've found that our customers describe the Milgard Window & Door experience best. We have received thousands of window reviews that describe nearly every aspect of the Milgard experience, including products, after-purchase service and dealer interactions. Our window reviewers help their fellow customers make informed purchase decisions. Take a moment to explore the window and door reviews written by our customers. If you are an existing Milgard customer, please write a window review and share your experience with others!


Milgard® Windows & Doors 4.3 5 541 541
Love my Style Line door and Tuscany Windows Just love my new windows and doors. Blocks out noise, easy to clean, easy to operate. Only problem I have is with the screen on the Style Line slider. It is very very difficult to install the screen. Ours was accidently knocked out and it took us quite a long time to re-install it. We loosened the screws, top and bottom and still had to use a tool to lift the wheels over the lip. that is the only reason for the three on ease of use. September 10, 2013
Very easy to use the sliders, good locking mechanism. Had these windows installed and they are very nice looking. The reflectivity from the outside works for heat gain resistance, and also for privacy during the day. We are very happy with them. September 3, 2013
tuscany sliding doors I bought 5 sliding doors to replace the orginal ones installed in my home built in 1977. They are very substanial, great product, saves me money by saving cooling and heating costs, noticable within a month after installation. Friends have commented that they were better doors than what they had installed and stated they wish they had purchased this product. July 27, 2013
My French style sliders doors are perfect! I am thrilled with my selection of the French Style slider. I replaced traditional wood French doors that were old and damaged by water. The look of my new doors has a much more open view. I highly recommend the Milgard doors, next will be replacing my windows. July 26, 2013
Beautiful wood interior We bought both fixed and double hung windows, but there's really not much to say about a fixed window, except it's really nice you can order just about any size you want. The windows are exceptionally pretty, with a very nice fine-grained Douglas Fir on the inside. The grids tend to be a little coarser grain wood, but not a problem - still pretty. The exterior are white fiberglass, which matches the white vinyl on the older part of the house. We had custom grids on some of the windows, and after a couple back and forth communications with our lumber yard representative to assure the measurements were correct, the windows were built to our specifications, and look great. The only caveat with the fancy grids is that all that wood needs to be finished, which is tedious. The windows seem to operate fine, although we are still under construction, so haven't been using them much yet. I assume with a vinyl construction and wood veneer, these windows will withstand our typically cool foggy conditions better than 100% wood. March 21, 2013
Outside protection, beautiful inside We are happy to let you know that we are pleased with our new windows. The old windows were far past their prime, especially the outside wood. The fibreglass exterior looks great and the inside wood is beautiful. The new windows make the house more pleasant in terms of temperature and no worries about colour fading. Bert and Connie February 4, 2013
The appearance and quality of Aluminum Thermal Break Windows exceeds windows of other materials I researched replacement windows of various manufacturers and materials prior to selecting Milgards Thermal Break Alumimun Frame Window. After seeing a Milgard sample window and cut through a frame member my lifetime of experience in the design and construction field convinced me this was an excellent product and my choice for my 30 year old home. January 24, 2013
Energy saving and appearance We have a view lot, so our 7 West facing windows are all sliding glass doors. We installed 7 Tuscany sliding glass doors last May. It made a great difference in reducing the heat transfer to the inside. We noticed the same thing in the Winter re indoor heat conservation. Most guests and visitors have commented on how beautiful and rich looking the doors are. We're also impressed with the easy to use handle/lock on the doors. January 24, 2013
Form follows function Wonderful quality door, but that's not why I bought it....I bought it because of Milgard's reputation for service after the sale.....Beautifully balanced swing on each door. quality materials-stainless steel hinges and door handle...about the handle-it's a 5point locking mechanism which I appreciate for it's superior locking/security- and you need it in a french door....the door was factory painted-and the finish is indeed superb.... I had a problem with that door lock -it closed with difficulty after 6 months, so I called Milgard and they had a tech out quickly...he was professional, efficient and fixedthe issue.... I wish Milgard made single doors-they don't....the door is very expensive, but you do indeed get what you pay for when it comes to doors.... December 18, 2012
Treat Yourself You Won't Be Sorry I purchased the Milgard sliding glass door that is fiberglass and wood-clad. First of all, it looks spectacular! This slider was installed on a sun-facing side of my home which bakes in the summer. I can honestly say, that with the extra sun shield options that I also added, that this same room is NOTICEABLY cooler in the summer. So much so that I don't have to turn the air conditioner on as much as I used to. And did I mention how gorgeous it is?? Oh yeah, I did, but I love looking at it. So classy. My only suggestion is to be sure to hire Milgard certified installers. The two men who installed my slider were very clean and competant, but some months later it was brought to my attention that they did not use the right material to cover the nail holes, so it got gooey when the weather heated up. I had this taken care of myself and all is as it should be now. The other thing is be careful around the glass. I had movers bring in some furniture, and they accidentally nicked the glass, so there is a scratch that I notice but no one else does. When it happened my slider was out of warranty for a repair. Lastly, I notice in the winter that the curtains still move slightly in and out, so there is still a bit of drafting in the winter time which sort of surprised me. If you're trying to keep out the cold drafts, this may not be the product. But, if you're trying to fend off unrelenting sun in the Summer, this is the product to buy. I recommend it without hesitation. March 30, 2012
Amazing Door. This door is more solid that he solid door that we replaced. I didn't think that possible. We absolutely love it!! it looks perfect like it always belonged there. The added screen feature we are for sure going to love this summer! Everything came pre-installed, all we did was put it in the hole in the house, and poof it was perfect! My only problem was figuring out how to operate the handles. That was a learning curve, as we had no directions included with our door. When we figured this out, it was a very impressive door, with amazingly secure feel. Would order from Milgard over and over! Thanks!!! February 27, 2012
Superb service on Warranty I'm fairly jaded when it comes to warranty repairs of anything: in fact I forgot my 1996 installed widows and doors had the "lifetime warranty" until a friend advised me of the fact. Still somewhat wary, I called the service representative, and have received competent, cordial, and effective repair of both two sliding doors and two fixed windows. I do not impress readily, but I AM impresssed.. Excellent product! September 27, 2014
LOOK GREAT AND EASY TO CLEAN Look great, keeps the heat out but, lets the light in. SCREENS ARE EASY TO REMOVE. Really improve the outside look of the house! September 27, 2014
Seal failure Great looking, good value in theory, decent pricing. But all that falls to side if your $20-30k investment starts to fail in only a few years and Milgard decides it wil not warranty their product. Read their warranty carefully even if you bought a home that's only a few years old and you are not the original owner, you will not qualify for a warranty. Imagine if you bought a 2 year old Honda Accord and the engine blew up and Honda said too bad. Now imagine it happening 12 times (12 windows) with the same response. Really unacceptable. September 26, 2014
Swing Out doors with sidelights/screens not worth it Swingout doors with sidelights aren't aesthetically the best choice but we thought the screens would be a nice option for ventilation. We had the doors installed in July 2014 and there were no screens included. Milgard said they would send them and they would have to install them themselves and that our installer couldn't do it. It's takes 1-2 months to get an appt first of all which is really annoying. It's now Sept 2014- we had a Milgard installer come to put the screens in only to not have the screws and magnets not included in packaging. The installer comes again and says the screens are not the right size after better inspection (space around the doors). I find this to be completely unacceptable for a major company that specializes in doors/windows. I would have gone with a different product all together if I knew this would be a headache and inconvenience. September 26, 2014
horrible service I rated the quality low because of poor service. Still waiting, after three months, for replacement of a window that warped after installation. September 26, 2014
warranty is great After 14 years I requested service. Any contact I had with them was good. All the people were courteous and concerned. I have enjoyed using their product and given the choice I would select Milgard again. September 26, 2014
Excellent repairs were done completely. Our window was installed in the 90s. It was a single hung window. A problem developed over time that caused the window to be difficult to open and close. The repair date was set up and the repair person arrived within the window period. The repair was done expertly and we are very pleased with the results. September 25, 2014
Service Issues remain We set up an appointment due to a leaky seal. They confirm our order, our original installer and they have our exact order on our 5 year old window. We had our daughter travel all the way home from college as we had no one else available for the appointment time. They made the wrong thickness window so gone in 5 minutes. Daughter irate! Spoke to the tech. Told him both teachers, we could do last appointment of the day. They reschedule install at 10-12 AM. We cancel by phone and email. They show up anyways. We confirm it is on the order-last appointment please. We get this review. No one contacts us about our customer servicing concerns. "We only come out on Wednesdays." We've asked for calls. We've left messages. We've tried being nice. Just got another card wanting to schedule another appointment. Can't wait for that one. Maybe a twitter campaign? September 25, 2014
Blinds Between Glass The Milgard line of vinyl products is always excellent, good warranty, good value, with lots of options to customize, but your sliding glass doors with blinds between the glass have a problem with the handles that operate the blinds. These handles stick too far out and do not allow the door to open completely wide, which blocks about 10% of the opening space. With limited space to begin with (36" being the usual) losing 3-5" is a big deal. If it was not for this I would offer this product a lot more often to my customers September 25, 2014
Milgard's Windows In my opionion Milgard are the easiest window product we have to sell at Lowe's. Along side the best warranty, the process to order, confirm, and change products in M2O is quick and easy. Not every company has the speed or memory to make quick changes with out restarting the whole project. Thanks Milgard for the convenience! September 25, 2014
Love new sliding dooor Extremely happy with the door. Lifetime warranty and repairs was a significant factor in choosing the door. Easy to open and close. It was a wonderful improvement over our old heavy sliding door. September 25, 2014
Good windows and sliding door Very satisfied with Styleline windows and Tuscany sliding door. The only downside is that the windows and door cannot be left partially opened in a locked position. Not sure if that's because the company feels security would be comprised if they included that feature. September 25, 2014
great company This is less about the individual windows I've had installed and more about Milgard as a company. I don't think I've EVER seen a company that stands behind their products like Milgard. Milgard is the one product/company that I sing praises about. Our Milgard representative , Frank is so knowledgeable and I have never had an issue he didn't fix. His detailed knowledge of the entire line of Milgard products is impressive. The service techs I've dealt with are courteous, reliable and trustworthy. Just an excellent company. I wouldn't ever buy any other window/door/slider. September 25, 2014
We Love our Milgard windows I can't say enough good things about our Milgard windows. They look amazing, everyone who has seen them compliments them. And when we had an accident and broke one, they came out and fixed it for free. It was quick and easy. September 25, 2014
Well designed window products The guarentee is spsecial. When a window needed to be replaced becuase of leakage, it was done without delay with excellent service. September 25, 2014
Request for warranty service I requested warranty service 3 months ago via online with pictures and details. I also called and left voice mails. Nothing so far. So much for lifetime warranty. I am very dissatisfied. September 25, 2014
Excellent window at reasonable price I have been very pleased with my windows so far. I had them installed three years ago. I have already had one unit fail but I am sure Milgard will take care of the issue. Overall, very pleased. September 24, 2014
Tuscany windows I really like the quality and the way the window slides on its track. the screen is easy to take off and on too. September 22, 2014
Sliding Glass Door Hard to Open and Close I ordered a Milgard sliding glass door through my local Milgard dealer. It took eight weeks for Milgard to build my sliding glass door and when it arrived for installation I was told the screen door was on back order. Imagine waiting eight weeks for a sliding glass door only to have it delivered without a screen. The thermally improved door I ordered had all the best features Milgard offered and money can buy, thermal breaks, E glass, argon gas. While the door was closed and covered in plastic during drywall work, the door leaked enough air to inflate the plastic into a big bubble. The door slides very heavy as though it is dragging on something. I assume the door is installed properly since it was installed by the local Milgard factory trained professionals and that from this point forward my new door will only become more difficult to open and close with age. This may be the last Milgard product I own. September 21, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>
Answer Center

Products

Need help?

Contact Us Find a Dealer Help Me Choose