Why Milgard

Milgard Window and Door Reviews

Milgard Reviews

At Milgard, our passion for providing the best windows and doors is driven by our unparalleled customer service. After more than 50 years in the industry, Milgard continues to focus on providing consumers with the best window buying experience. We work closely with our customers to determine the best new home windows, replacement windows or patio doors for their home. Knowledgeable dealers and a wealth of online window information take the guesswork out of buying windows.

We’ve found that our customers describe the Milgard Window & Door experience best. We have received thousands of window reviews that describe nearly every aspect of the Milgard experience, including products, after-purchase service and dealer interactions. Our window reviewers help their fellow customers make informed purchase decisions. Take a moment to explore the window and door reviews written by our customers. If you are an existing Milgard customer, please write a window review and share your experience with others!


Milgard® Windows & Doors 4.3 5 506 506
Great product Very happy with the operation of the doors. Very good look for our house. The blinds inside the glass are just outstanding. No cleaning and they operate great. Really upgraded the look of our house. July 15, 2014
GREAT PRODUCT/GREAT QUALITY FOR THE PRICE JUST INSTALLED ALL NEW TUSCANY SERIES VINYL REPLACEMENT WINDOWS AND SLIDING GLASS DOOR, I WAS VERY IMPRESSED WITH THE QUALITY AND EXACT FIT ON MY HOME. THEY WERE MANUFACTURED TO FIT MY EXACT MEASURMENTS AND REQUIRED VERY LITTLE STUCCO PATCHING ON OUT SIDE. NOT TO MENTION THE FACT THAT THEY MAKE MY 60 YEAR OLD HOUSE LOOK NEW. THE NOISE REDUCTION FROM OUTSIDE IS OUTSTANDING AND I HAVE ALSO NOTICED A DIFFRENCE IN HOW MUCH LESS MY AC SYSTEM HAS TO WORK TO COOL THE HOUSE AND KEEP IT COOL. I WOULD RECOMMEND THESE WINDOWS TO ANY ONE LOOKING FOR REPLACEMENT WINDOWS FOR THIER HOUSE, ESPECIALLY IF YOU LIVE NEAR A PARK OR A NOISEY STREET. ALSO THE QUALITY IS SUPURB, THE WINDOWS SLIDE VERY EASILY BUT STILL FEEL SOLID. July 15, 2014
Replacement windows We did our entire house using a number of sizes and features, both horizontal and vertical sliders and patio doors. Most were fully upgraded with sun-coat and argon, etc. and there is no doubt they have significantly lowered our heating and cooling costs. They operate very easily except for one stubborn vertical window that periodically misaligns and needs repair. We went with the dark finish to preserve the Craftsman style of the house and for the most part we are satisfied with the look, except on the narrow side windows right in front of the house. We think the window frame covering is just too wide in proportion, but there is no way to adjust it. We think these windows could be made better, offer more adjustability in terms of where they lock, and how they look, and we wonder why Milgard does not offer an insulated version. These were soooo close to qualifying for the tax deduction (and in other states besides CA, they could have!), just a little extra insulation could have made a difference. Nevertheless, if you don't care for vinyl and do not want to maintain wood, this is your only affordable choice. June 30, 2014
Best window I have ever owned. I have had 6 new homes in my life, and the Milgard Tuscany SH units are the finest windows I have ever experienced. They are attractive, tight, quiet, and the mechanism work flawlessly. Living in Minnesota, windows are extremely important - we get 100 above and 50 below temps. Thanks. June 28, 2014
Great windows I am a contractor in Arizona. When I went looking for windows for my own home I did alot of research about windows for a hot climate. Milgard Ultra came out on top. I installed twelve casement windows 8 years ago and have been exceptionally pleased with them. The 3D glass system is amazing, our home is radically more comfortable in the summer. We live on a busy street and the traffic noise reduction is probably 90% over our old aluminum sliders. The white fiberglass frames show little to no signs of aging after 8 years in full desert sun. The operating mechanisms have had no issues and the windows still operate fine. I have had only two minor issues with these windows; the screens have sliding retaining pins in the four corners, but they are a pain to install because the pins don't line up well with the window and the pins get sticky and won't slide. I believe the newer window screens have a better retaining system. The only service issue I have had in eight years was with the outermost weather stripping. It is exposed to the elements, and the original product failed ( became sticky, decomposed and retained dirt). I contacted Milgard and they came out and replaced all of it, no problem. Lifetime Warranty!! I highly recomend these windows, my only regret is that soon after I purchased them Milgard came out with an even BETTER glass system, 3D Maxx South. They have a HUGE list of available options with these windows, I have sold these windows to my customers since 2006 and the feedback from them has been equally positive. The price is competative with other premium windows, value is unbeatable in my opinion. June 26, 2014
Windows are good/paint applied on exterior was a poor job. The windows were custom size Tuscany double hung to fit existing window opening. Windows were fine but the exterior bronze paint job was poor. One window was not totally painted, most had overspray on the white interior opening and there we're paint runs. Need better quality control on the paint. Don't know if I would recommend painted windows to future clients. June 25, 2014
comments re: 20 Milgard Tuscanny windows installed in Sept 2010 Biggest complaint: 9 of 20 screens developed crud (rust? paint defect?) beneath paint (1 window destined for attic never installed due to city diss-allowed) 6 of 20 screens are "warped" require great effort to install / remove w/o damage Most screen corners are not "rigid" indicating poor fabrication / workmanship 16 of 80 little rubber button self adhesive spacer window channel guides fell off, so far water "drain slits" fill up with dust & outdoors debris causing channel puddle when it rains (live So Calif near beach W.Torrance, seldom rains) but it is in dry times crud accumulates I miss former spacious inside ledge space for nick-knacks, lost converting from previous framed originals of Wood (all were vertical double hung, which I prefer for flow around air ventilation ) & Aluminum (all horiz with spacious ledges & fullest viewing area), the replacement vinyl window see through area is much reduced due to the 4 edge extra wide vinyl border glass supports (unless old opening modified, reframe to increase by ~2" on ea of 4 sides ,i.e. lost 4" horizontal & 4" vertical glass viewing area) I qualified & applied for a $475 Milgard rebate, but received only $200, with no explanation offered after several calls + note from the place I'd made purchase, I eventually gave up. I asked for rebate for 19 ea x $25 ea =$475 (for 19 of 20 purchased 20th "bonus" from store) While displeased with these problems, the windows do serve their purpose and were initially deemed cost effective in my retirement. (i.e. if you don't include having to replace 9 screens within a year) The double panes effectively reduce noise and heat loss (high reflectivity coating on south windows) June 24, 2014
Less Noise. Cuts down on all outside noise including the neighbors noisy little dog. Can only barely hear planes overhead now & the lawn guys are no longer in our living room. June 24, 2014
Mechanics issues The woodclad product is very attractive product, however, we continue to have issues with the operation. The 10' sliding glass door is almost impossible to lock and the screens on the same door do not roll, they are very difficult to open and close. We also never received two screen for two of the windows. June 24, 2014
Not sure if we are completely happy yet Just had ours installed a few weeks ago and have the outside condensation as well. Also have water inside the windows on the track when it rains. It seems to go away on its own. If this is a feature of the windows we were not told this and are waiting to hear back from installers. Is it self draining or something? June 23, 2014
Nice Windows Great window, However at the time we made the selection, we were not told of the color options for the outside. Now we have nice windows but the outside (white vinyl) looks cheap, not to mention the top of three of the windows sticks out, not matching the other windows. Also the installer cover the all weep hole cover with silicone. The reseller and installer was Houston Window Expert June 22, 2014
Very disappointed in outside condensation and appearance. I had all of my windows replaced, and am quite disappointed. In the morning there is outside condensation on the windows. In order to see out clearly, I would need to go outside and wipe the windows each mornings. I don't have time to do so, and the windows get dirty. In addition, the grey-brown color that I chose actually makes the house look cheap and plastic June 19, 2014
Upgraded Style MUCH Better We have 3 of these Tuscan-style slider doors in our house. The first two that were installed are the original series and are hard to slide and even harder to lock/unlock. My 10 year-old son sometimes cant even open the door. The newer/upgraded version is much better at sliding and a much easier locking mechanism. That goes for both the door itself as well as the screen door. I would highly recommend this (upgraded) one over the other. June 19, 2014
Great Windows and French Doors I am really happy with the Milgard product: windows and French doors. They look terrific. They perform really well. I have not had to turn the AC on (down stairs) since I had the new windows installed. The temperature stays comfortable all day long (about 73) even when the temperatures push 90 outside. I got the highest rating for UV screening and temperature control. The windows were "retrofit" and just replaced my old 90's windows with no damage to the outside building structure after they were installed. My HOA archetectural commitee had to approve it all. The only issue I had was with the installation. Three windows were not measured correctly and had to be reorderd. My kitchen French door would not close correctly so had to be replaced and then reworked once again. Not a Milgard problem. It was all issues with my installer. Milgard came to my rescue in the very, very end. I am happy now. All is well. June 18, 2014
pretty good, but could use inprovement I have 13 essence double hung windows and some awning and picture windows in my home. The overall use and durability has been good. However, they just feel like not a very refined design. The spoon lock hits the upper casing/stop. It leaves a dent in the painted wood. Ths original double hungs have a nice brass stop to prevent this. The fitment of the interior wood is ok. These windows all are snap together, thus painted joints crack. The casing seem kind of thick compared to other windows. However, I shopped lots of different windows before buying these and even though I liked other windows more the overall value made me choose the milgard essence. Nonetheless, a little better engineering would have really made this window shine compared to others. Milgard customer service has been great. I had one of the lower sash slide pins break while cleaning them. Milgard came right out and fixed it. These was a little inclusion in the casting. I think this was an exception none of my other windows have had any issues. June 18, 2014
Excellent product, outstanding service. The Tuscany series, with equal sight-lines, looks nice, and the windows operate well. When a couple of the windows needed adjustments, Milgard responded immediately. This is a quality product, backed for life by a Company that will be there if I need them. June 17, 2014
Love the warranty Replaced all my windows several years ago. Did one side at a time. One window had a problem with the inset grid. Milgard came right out and repaired it for no charge. Exceptional customer service. Would never buy any other type of window. June 17, 2014
Great Looking and Efficient We replaced existing windows (retro-fit) that were falling apart and some were not operable. We are very pleased with our new Milgard Aluminum windows. They operate with ease and block out most of the street noise. We live in a city and off of a boulevard. The look is very sleek as our townhouse is contemporary. We couldn't be more pleased with our choice. June 16, 2014
Problems with quality control. Some of the windows will be replaced. They were shipped without checking. The sliding windows are too short. That should not have ever happened. June 15, 2014
I have condensation in my brand new window ... I would like to be contacted by Milgard as there is condensation on one of my brand new windows. I would like for it to be replaced. June 9, 2014
Locking is difficult The doors are beautiful and they make my room look so much better but the locking park is not as easy as it could be. You really have to pull up on it. I feel that if I did this 20 times a day that it would break soon. This is for our french doors that swing in, The sliding doors are on the other hand is perfect. I love them,I already recommended it to our friends who is looking. June 8, 2014
The winows look great in my house, they are just what I wanted and expected. So far, so good. I have only had the windows for two days. June 5, 2014
One problem after another POOR customer service This is 5th house Ive done with Milgaurd.Never a problem before they were vinyl. This is my residence. I am an experienced carpenter and have installed at least 100 windows. I used aluminum awning and casements.11 total. Nothing but problems from the beginning. First set were the wrong type of frames. I was able to make a couple work/fit. The rest we had to reorder. Major delay. Thier customer service is terrible. Finally the replacement windows arrive and they are a mess. Silicone smeared all over, metal shaving in all the tracks. Rep comes out AGAIN "OMG these should never have left the factory like this" No Quality control Then All the screens were the wrong size, Most all the screen clips were broken. Then I got the new screens and a few of them were wrong, even though they had the correct size on the sticker. Ive been try to get the screen clips Twice they have sent wrong ones.... And the nitemare continues June 4, 2014
Poor product We purchases a house that was built with milgard products. The screens have been the main problem but we have also had problems with the sealing around the windows and doors. Our screen doors have never slid properly and I am not pleased with the quality of the product. May 29, 2014
EXCELLENT PRODUCTS, EXPERTLY INSTALLED My experience was tremendous throughout. The Milgard product line is outstanding and the dealer, Johnson Home Improvement, made the install a breeze. My home looks better, feels warmer and is much quieter than prior to replacement. Pricing was very fair and the savings on utility bills appears to average around 20%. I would recommend the duo of Milgard Products and Johnson Home Imp. to anyone considering a window / door project. May 29, 2014
Great product I have had a lot of dealings with suppliers and manufacturers having faulty products, everyone has them. But next to none have the excellent customer service and warranty as Milgard. They were quick on responding to my warranty needs, communicated with me while the replacements were being processed, and scheduled the work to my availability. And their techs were very professional, clean, and got the work done a lot quicker than anticipated. I can say that in the 15 years I have been in construction and maintenance, I have never received customer service that even compares to the excellent service that Milgard gives.... May 27, 2014
Installed in new construction, and working well. These windows were installed in our newly built home. We upgraded from the contractor's standard window (also Milgard) to the Tuscany series based on the warranty, features, and overall look of the Tuscany. We are glad we upgraded. We live in a windy area and the windows seal well and are quiet in windy conditions. This is our first experience with vinyl windows. I'm happy with them, and looking forward to years of service without any repainting! May 22, 2014
replaced old aluminum windows and these are great compared to what we had the windows are easy to open, keep the heat out better than i had and have several features that i really love May 20, 2014
The product and all of our experiences were excellent The sales rep, the installation crew, and the windows and doors all exceeded our expectations. Two separate visits from Martin the owner just made everything perfect. May 19, 2014
Windows and doors just ok. Atrium door. While the appearance is ok, have had service calls already. Also have concerns about the warranty. Nobody has given warranty specifics. Seems to keep heat out. Slider doors. Seem to work ok and keep the heat out. Windows. Work well and the house is cooler. Overall, a 4 out of 5. May 16, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>
Answer Center

Products