Single Hung Windows

The single hung window, often referred to as a sash window, is easy to slide up and a standard choice for modern home construction.

singlehung_605a.jpg

 

In the single hung window, the bottom sash moves up to open and allow in air flow. The top sash is fixed. Since it opens and closes without protuding, single-hung windows are an excellent choice for rooms facing walkways, porches or patios. 

Explore Milgard single-hung windows by product line or frame material below.

icn_windowselectionguide.png

Not sure what window is best for you? Download our Window Selection Guide.

Get the guide ›

Tuscany® Series

A beautiful, premium vinyl window crafted from Milgard's proprietary formula.
Learn More ›

Montecito® Series

Montecito Series® vinyl windows are specially designed for new construction.
Learn More ›

Style Line® Series

Satisfy your desire for a clean design with Style Line® Series slim-profile windows
Learn More ›

Ultra™ & WoodClad™ Series

Beautiful to look at ---- with little upkeep required, Ultra™ Series fiberglass windows are built to last. A WoodClad™ Series option offers the warmth of a wood veneer interior.
Learn More ›

Aluminum

Light and thin with the hallmark of aluminum durability.
Learn More ›

Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic windows We purchased these windows to replace old metal windows. The contrast is drastic. These Style Line windows are so easy to open. They also have a built in locking system, which is fantastic. I have several other windows to replace and will be purchasing the same style from Milgard. I highly recommend these windows to everyone I know. August 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tuscany Single Hung windows The windows open and close easily. The single hung window matches the post mid-century modern style of my home built in 1957. The dual glazed (insulated glass) has kept my home cool in the record breaking heat this summer! Because California has experienced a drought, I have yet to see how they perform in heavy rain. To date, I am very satisfied with the windows. I will have to call the dealer to provide me with a lesson in how to remove the window to clean the screens. August 18, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tuscany SH Spring I installed 9 each of Tuscany single hung windows. I like the apperance and selflock mechanism. Cons are 1) it makes annoying spring noise every time open and close. Sounds like the spring inside is bouncing off the retainer body. All 9 of them have same symptoms. 2) window opening device color is orange and eye sore. I wish manufacture kept it white like previous model. August 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am so impressed with your company When you say life time guarantee that is exactly what you promised and what you deliver, thank you. We have been in our home 24th years, and you have continued to care for our windows. I couldn't be happier with your care of the customer. When I upgrade or change out a window you will be my first and only choice. Thank you, your the best! August 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Windows for rental property Installed 24 Milgard Windows for our home over 15 years ago. Product is very good. Exercised warrantly for a defective window 3 years after purchase. The warranty service was very good. Recently purchased Tuscany Series windows for our rental property. The new windows have a new locking feature. Very Nice. August 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Longtime Milgard customers We first retrofitted our home in Olympia with Milgard wood-clad windows and were ecstatic. Beautiful and functional. Then we retrofitted a lake cabin with Milgard windows. Loved them. When we built a new home on the lake, we of course used Milgard windows and now, once again, on my garden shed. We wouldn't keep coming back if we weren't completely satisfied. July 30, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Looks Like a long lasting quality product. But the manufacturing was bit sloppy and damaged during shipping. Really excited for these windows and installed them myself. They are beautiful and measurements were spot on to what I ordered. Amazing warranty and my childhood home had them and they were great. Really easy to instal both the retor-fits and the new construction windows. My only complaint is that several of my windows showed scuff marks, most of the screens have some type of caulking stuck on them and some of the protective packaging was already removed when delivered. Each window took me about an hour to buff out scuffs in the vinyl, markings on the glass and remaining shavings from manufacturing. Love the product, just disappointed in how much work it took to make them presentable after manufacturing and shipping issues. Still need to contact company to replaced damaged hardware. July 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Windows are great, website on the other hand The windows were easy to install and make a world of difference but the website... I have to input every window order individually. There should be a place to enter multiples. I kept getting a spam pop up and had to enter the same 4 pages of information every time. The only thing that changed was the purchase number. Please fix this. I, fortunately , should onl have to do this once theoritically. July 16, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great looking windows-lots of failures after install I narrowed my search down to two brands. Felt more comfortable with Milgard as have good backing. Windows came in on time. Install went relatively well with some communication gaps but worked through them. Pro: windows look great. Even though retrofit, they make opening look bigger. Glass is great. Cons: The biggest issues is after install, There were quite a few issues with window operation failing on many of the single hung windows. 1). Many of the windows had the balancer release clips malfunction(break off or not sit flush). 2). many of the windows had one or both balancers fail causing rubbing of lower sash to frame or lower sash would shift around on balancer. 3). screens are not keeping bugs out. The installer says this is normal but I cannot believe every install have 70% of windows have one issue or another. Glad it comes with lifetime warranty. Anyway, the installer was supposed to setup a service ticket with Milgard about 3 weeks ago. We will see how this pans out. June 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by One latch release awsome Purchased these windows because of the one latch system. One hand opens window and two hands close window. No need to flip latches to lock window just close you are done. awesome job!!! June 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by best window on market best value - best warranty - best after purchase service May 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by new window install the windows open and shut so smooth the sound dampening is great love the look and they fit well with existing home May 25, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement The Windows have whitish streak Mark's from the top especially after a rain. My old windows don't have it. I have pointed it out to Lowe's, Milgard & the say it's normal!! Really? Could it be that the glass is inferior quality, the gas is leaking or the sealant is poor quality? Also, The windows facing the busy street did not have a significant reduction of the noise level. But the looks of the Windows from the outside is good. May 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by These window are quality and easy operation Great windows and quality i would recomend them to everyone i know May 3, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Look great from the street and don't have to be painted The windows look great (except for a few aspects) and operate well. I like the locks except some of mine don't work. The manufacturing quality control is poor. Every single one of my 9 windows have burrs on the ends of the bars for raising the windows. Not only that, since the aluminum was cut after the bronzing, those edges are silver. The customer can color that with a marker, but shouldn't have to. During manufacturing the company chose to square cut off 2 sides of the glass frames rather than miter them and then miter the other corners. In some places where these corners join, you can also see silver. My windows are bronze and were installed with silver colored screws and that shows on the lower frame. I recommend installing the bronze with black screws so that they don't show in the frame. I will have to color those with a maker also because I don't want to replace the screws.. April 11, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Plastic piece broken 1 week after installation I am very dissappointed with Milgard products. We ordered 9 doors and windows and 1 has a plastic trim broke off already and another one does not lock. March 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by High Quality Windows for a Reasonable Price The hardware on these Tuscany windows is as durable as it is beautiful. These windows are extremely easy to operate and clean. It is impossible for air to seep through as these windows provide excellent insulation. March 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much quieter Within minutes of my new Milgard windows being installed I noticed how much quieter my house is. The windows are replacing old aluminum, double paned windows. I'm looking forward to being able to open my new windows on warm days (the old windows couldn't be opened) and quieter nights. March 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing products, warranty support and service techs. We have purchased several new homes and always look at the windows early in the purchase process to be sure they are Milgard. Not only does it identify a quality window product but helps to determine if a builder is including quality materials in the construction. Our experience with Milgard also extends to Warranty support for new purchase owners. Recently had 2 stationery panes replaced by Oleg and were pleased with Customer Service personel (Luisa) and with Oleg for the install process. February 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Montecito We have used Milgard single hung, awning, and sliding windows as well as sliding doors. The locking system is easy and secure. The sliding and the single hung windows can also be locked from the outside. The sliding glass doors came assembled, ready to install. The new style of screen on the awning windows are a big improvement. February 10, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Time wise They took longer then they were supposed to and should have reflected the price of the windows for the extra time. I am sorry does not work in my book. December 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Single hung window I have always had a good impression of Milgard windows but this one made me question the quality of workmanship. It seems the spring is tighter on one side than the other. When the window is down, it sits slightly crooked in the frame. Other than that, I like it December 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing! Not only are these windows great looking but there are way more energy efficient. Also, these windows added a new touch of class to my home. December 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful windows We purchased our windows through a local dealer and they were very helpful and competitively priced. We ordered them and received our windows in exactly 2 weeks. I installed the windows myself and they look and work great. They are clear and lower the noise from the outside. We can't get over how clear they are. They also change the look of the house on the outside. November 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Milgard windows are excellent! I purchased my windows in the end of summer and noticed the energy saving feature right away. The sun would be hot outside and the inside of the house was kept cool because of the magnificent windows that didn't let the heat in. I am a satisfied customer that is enjoying having new windows! November 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This window line has great versatility I have been selling Milgard windows for over 20 yrs and this window has all the features needed to provide and excellent performance and reliability. You have the option of special sizes along with excellent warranty. Warranty service is readily available and easy access. Overall I highly recommend this window for any job, replacement or new construction. October 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am very pleased with the install and purchase The quality and appearance of the window are very pleasing October 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Fit The Milgard Tuscany series fits perfectly into the style of our 1938 house, and were so easy to install ourselves (in one day!). They are noticeably quieter, brighter, and obviously a lot better looking than the original wood double hung windows! September 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by These windows are garbage Installed by the builder of our house (Richmond Homes). We are the second owner so of course no honor of the warranty. Every window in our house has some problem within 7 years of construction. Leaks, drafts, warping, condensation. Don't waste your money on these. September 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tuscany Series Vinyl Windows exceed all our expectations Purchased 3 Tuscany Series Windows through dealer installed contract to replace casement windows in garage to enable ventillation. Surprised on inspection that these windows eceeded all of expectations for a utility window. Will now purchase additional Tuscany Series to replace other casement windows. Opening & closing latch very well designed. Outstanding value/price ratio. Highly recommend. September 20, 2015
  • 2016-09-28 T03:30:49.838-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_86, tr_86
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.single-hung-style_windows, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 See more>>