Single Hung Windows

The single hung window, often referred to as a sash window, is easy to slide up and a standard choice for modern home construction.

singlehung_605a.jpg

 

In the single hung window, the bottom sash moves up to open and allow in air flow. The top sash is fixed. Since it opens and closes without protuding, single-hung windows are an excellent choice for rooms facing walkways, porches or patios. 

Explore Milgard single-hung windows by product line or frame material below.

icn_windowselectionguide.png

Not sure what window is best for you? Download our Window Selection Guide.

Get the guide ›

Tuscany® Series

A beautiful, premium vinyl window crafted from Milgard's proprietary formula.
Learn More ›

Montecito® Series

Montecito Series® vinyl windows are specially designed for new construction.
Learn More ›

Style Line® Series

Satisfy your desire for a clean design with Style Line® Series slim-profile windows
Learn More ›

Ultra™ & WoodClad™ Series

Beautiful to look at ---- with little upkeep required, Ultra™ Series fiberglass windows are built to last. A WoodClad™ Series option offers the warmth of a wood veneer interior.
Learn More ›

Aluminum

Light and thin with the hallmark of aluminum durability.
Learn More ›

Rated 3 out of 5 by Great looking windows-lots of failures after install I narrowed my search down to two brands. Felt more comfortable with Milgard as have good backing. Windows came in on time. Install went relatively well with some communication gaps but worked through them. Pro: windows look great. Even though retrofit, they make opening look bigger. Glass is great. Cons: The biggest issues is after install, There were quite a few issues with window operation failing on many of the single hung windows. 1). Many of the windows had the balancer release clips malfunction(break off or not sit flush). 2). many of the windows had one or both balancers fail causing rubbing of lower sash to frame or lower sash would shift around on balancer. 3). screens are not keeping bugs out. The installer says this is normal but I cannot believe every install have 70% of windows have one issue or another. Glad it comes with lifetime warranty. Anyway, the installer was supposed to setup a service ticket with Milgard about 3 weeks ago. We will see how this pans out. June 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by One latch release awsome Purchased these windows because of the one latch system. One hand opens window and two hands close window. No need to flip latches to lock window just close you are done. awesome job!!! June 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by best window on market best value - best warranty - best after purchase service May 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by new window install the windows open and shut so smooth the sound dampening is great love the look and they fit well with existing home May 25, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement The Windows have whitish streak Mark's from the top especially after a rain. My old windows don't have it. I have pointed it out to Lowe's, Milgard & the say it's normal!! Really? Could it be that the glass is inferior quality, the gas is leaking or the sealant is poor quality? Also, The windows facing the busy street did not have a significant reduction of the noise level. But the looks of the Windows from the outside is good. May 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by These window are quality and easy operation Great windows and quality i would recomend them to everyone i know May 3, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Look great from the street and don't have to be painted The windows look great (except for a few aspects) and operate well. I like the locks except some of mine don't work. The manufacturing quality control is poor. Every single one of my 9 windows have burrs on the ends of the bars for raising the windows. Not only that, since the aluminum was cut after the bronzing, those edges are silver. The customer can color that with a marker, but shouldn't have to. During manufacturing the company chose to square cut off 2 sides of the glass frames rather than miter them and then miter the other corners. In some places where these corners join, you can also see silver. My windows are bronze and were installed with silver colored screws and that shows on the lower frame. I recommend installing the bronze with black screws so that they don't show in the frame. I will have to color those with a maker also because I don't want to replace the screws.. April 11, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Plastic piece broken 1 week after installation I am very dissappointed with Milgard products. We ordered 9 doors and windows and 1 has a plastic trim broke off already and another one does not lock. March 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by High Quality Windows for a Reasonable Price The hardware on these Tuscany windows is as durable as it is beautiful. These windows are extremely easy to operate and clean. It is impossible for air to seep through as these windows provide excellent insulation. March 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much quieter Within minutes of my new Milgard windows being installed I noticed how much quieter my house is. The windows are replacing old aluminum, double paned windows. I'm looking forward to being able to open my new windows on warm days (the old windows couldn't be opened) and quieter nights. March 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing products, warranty support and service techs. We have purchased several new homes and always look at the windows early in the purchase process to be sure they are Milgard. Not only does it identify a quality window product but helps to determine if a builder is including quality materials in the construction. Our experience with Milgard also extends to Warranty support for new purchase owners. Recently had 2 stationery panes replaced by Oleg and were pleased with Customer Service personel (Luisa) and with Oleg for the install process. February 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Montecito We have used Milgard single hung, awning, and sliding windows as well as sliding doors. The locking system is easy and secure. The sliding and the single hung windows can also be locked from the outside. The sliding glass doors came assembled, ready to install. The new style of screen on the awning windows are a big improvement. February 10, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Time wise They took longer then they were supposed to and should have reflected the price of the windows for the extra time. I am sorry does not work in my book. December 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Single hung window I have always had a good impression of Milgard windows but this one made me question the quality of workmanship. It seems the spring is tighter on one side than the other. When the window is down, it sits slightly crooked in the frame. Other than that, I like it December 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing! Not only are these windows great looking but there are way more energy efficient. Also, these windows added a new touch of class to my home. December 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful windows We purchased our windows through a local dealer and they were very helpful and competitively priced. We ordered them and received our windows in exactly 2 weeks. I installed the windows myself and they look and work great. They are clear and lower the noise from the outside. We can't get over how clear they are. They also change the look of the house on the outside. November 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Milgard windows are excellent! I purchased my windows in the end of summer and noticed the energy saving feature right away. The sun would be hot outside and the inside of the house was kept cool because of the magnificent windows that didn't let the heat in. I am a satisfied customer that is enjoying having new windows! November 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This window line has great versatility I have been selling Milgard windows for over 20 yrs and this window has all the features needed to provide and excellent performance and reliability. You have the option of special sizes along with excellent warranty. Warranty service is readily available and easy access. Overall I highly recommend this window for any job, replacement or new construction. October 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am very pleased with the install and purchase The quality and appearance of the window are very pleasing October 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Fit The Milgard Tuscany series fits perfectly into the style of our 1938 house, and were so easy to install ourselves (in one day!). They are noticeably quieter, brighter, and obviously a lot better looking than the original wood double hung windows! September 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by These windows are garbage Installed by the builder of our house (Richmond Homes). We are the second owner so of course no honor of the warranty. Every window in our house has some problem within 7 years of construction. Leaks, drafts, warping, condensation. Don't waste your money on these. September 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tuscany Series Vinyl Windows exceed all our expectations Purchased 3 Tuscany Series Windows through dealer installed contract to replace casement windows in garage to enable ventillation. Surprised on inspection that these windows eceeded all of expectations for a utility window. Will now purchase additional Tuscany Series to replace other casement windows. Opening & closing latch very well designed. Outstanding value/price ratio. Highly recommend. September 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Windows I just had two new Milgard windows custom made for my newly remodeled kitchen. They were made to match the other Milgard windows I had installed 5 years ago. They are exactly what I wanted. The noise reduction and heat retention is great. Highly recommend these windows. September 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by improved the look of the house, good customer service good sound insulation, good look, good customer service August 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really love the locks on these windows These windows did a fabulous job updating the energy efficiency in my post WW II home, without changing the essential look of the house, which was something that I was very interested in. I bought an older home because of the way it looks. These new windows absolutely fit with my vision for my home. August 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well Made I looked at all the major brands in the showrooms, and the Tuscany Windows had the look and solid made feel to them. I ordered the Sun Coat Maxx package and it was well worth it. My older double pain windows had wood rot but I thought they still kept the heat of the afternoon sun out of the house. I installed the Tuscany windows and I can't believe how much cooler the house is now. I'm hard to satisfy but these windows are worth every penny. Don't spend your money on cheaper windows, these were not that much more than bottom of the line Pella or Anderson's August 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 10 STARS Best bang for the buck. Great exterior Espresso color, interior white!!! Great price, great look, great easy install and water proofing. I tried my first 3 windows for the duplex, unbelievably great. Now ordering remaining 38, as I don't like them, I LOVE THEM !!!!! August 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased so far One month after replacing our 25+ year aluminum windows with the Tuscany series vinyl, we are very pleased. Not long enough to rate better for how they stand up to time and winter. So far we notice the sound insulation is better and how nice to have crystal clear glass after the condensation from the argon gas that had broken down on our previous windows. We did our own installation, no problem for first timers! One thing to note, on the option to have the windows lock open...the lock mechanism is a bright orange tab that is visible from indoors, and if opening the window and forgetting it is there, the window will slam into it. This is bound to happen with kids. I forget sometimes, too. It is nice to lock the window slightly ajar, but it does only give us an inch and a half of open window. I misunderstood and was thinking I could adjust the locking height. Just FYI. August 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tuscan beautiful and very satisfied with the looks and how it appears installed. August 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by lovely window We purchased the Milgard window not being aware of the various kinds and options. We wanted white vinyl to match the other new windows. The window itself is attractive. The window is long and narrow and placed next to a framed glass door. It adds a lot of light to the room. I am disappointed that there is very little temperature difference between the Milgard and the single pane door window next to it. We also thought the window would look like the photo with the white frame inside the house. The wide white frame is on the outside. It looks a bit strange because all our other white vinyl windows have no flange on the outer wall. In all, its a good window and serves the purpose of adding some light, view, and ventilation to the room. August 2, 2015
  • 2016-08-25 T07:22:19.062-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_78, tr_78
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.single-hung-style_windows, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 See more>>