Single Hung Windows

singlehung_605a.jpg

 

In the single hung window, the bottom sash moves up to open and allow in air flow. The top sash is fixed. Since it opens and closes without protuding, single-hung windows are an excellent choice for rooms facing walkways, porches or patios. 

Explore Milgard single-hung windows by product line or frame material below.

icn_windowselectionguide.png

Not sure what window is best for you? Download our Window Selection Guide.

Get the guide ›

Tuscany® Series

A beautiful, premium vinyl window crafted from Milgard's proprietary formula.
Learn More ›

Montecito® Series

Montecito Series® vinyl windows are specially designed for new construction.
Learn More ›

Style Line® Series

Satisfy your desire for a clean design with Style Line® Series slim-profile windows
Learn More ›

Ultra™ & WoodClad™ Series

Beautiful to look at ---- with little upkeep required, Ultra™ Series fiberglass windows are built to last. A WoodClad™ Series option offers the warmth of a wood veneer interior.
Learn More ›

Aluminum

Light and thin with the hallmark of aluminum durability.
Learn More ›

Rated 4 out of 5 by A decent window for the price. The screen is a little difficult to get out and the paint on exterior frame gets faded. November 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The windows look great on my house. My house is quieter where I had windows installed. Outside noise is minimal. Outside wind noise is nill. I'm expecting to reap the benefits of insulation this winter. I will be installing Milgard windows on the rest of my house soon. October 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent repairs were done completely. Our window was installed in the 90s. It was a single hung window. A problem developed over time that caused the window to be difficult to open and close. The repair date was set up and the repair person arrived within the window period. The repair was done expertly and we are very pleased with the results. September 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few problems One of the screens had a black goop on it which the installer took back to have replaced. Another one had black goop on it that I had to clean of. Just cleaning my windows for the first time and I noticed a big gouge in one of the exterior pieces of frame. Two weeks and no news from installer on my screen. Installer said I could open the bottom window for inside cleaning and I cant figure that out with no instructions September 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product These windows have functioned wonderfully for nearly 10 years. We have had two occasions to call for lifetime warranty repairs. Technicians were prompt and professional and windows are working as if new. We are very pleased with both the product and the service. August 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ease of use, beautiful lines We have already had compliments on the windows. We really are enjoying that the house stays cooler this summer, as weather is intensely warm at this time of year. We haven't had the usual glare and hot windows. We expect to see a savings on our electric bill this summer. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best window I have ever owned. I have had 6 new homes in my life, and the Milgard Tuscany SH units are the finest windows I have ever experienced. They are attractive, tight, quiet, and the mechanism work flawlessly. Living in Minnesota, windows are extremely important - we get 100 above and 50 below temps. Thanks. June 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Windows Great window, However at the time we made the selection, we were not told of the color options for the outside. Now we have nice windows but the outside (white vinyl) looks cheap, not to mention the top of three of the windows sticks out, not matching the other windows. Also the installer cover the all weep hole cover with silicone. The reseller and installer was Houston Window Expert June 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Problems with quality control. Some of the windows will be replaced. They were shipped without checking. The sliding windows are too short. That should not have ever happened. June 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Installed in new construction, and working well. These windows were installed in our newly built home. We upgraded from the contractor's standard window (also Milgard) to the Tuscany series based on the warranty, features, and overall look of the Tuscany. We are glad we upgraded. We live in a windy area and the windows seal well and are quiet in windy conditions. This is our first experience with vinyl windows. I'm happy with them, and looking forward to years of service without any repainting! May 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overpriced with exceptionally poor forethought in design. The Milgard Windows in our condo are under ten years old and prone to problems, malfunction and outright failure. Counter-weight lift assistance or spring assistance that functioned properly would be an assest. Right now I have difficulty operating these units and I bench press over 200 lbs. Once they begin to malfunction they no longer fit and thus leak air, rain water and insects. They look nice......thats about it in the plus column. April 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service - Just refered a freind to Milgard Windows This is the third house that I have put Milgard windows in. I've always liked the looks, efficiency and ease of operation but it wasn't until one had a problem that I came to really appreciate the Milgard difference. A spring busted on one of my windows so I went on-line to schedule an appointment for repair figuring that it would be a few days. Nope, got a call that day and the service guy from Milgard was out the very next day and had the window back up and operating. Talk about friendly and efficient. Made it very easy to refer a friend of mine who is looking at building to make sure he buys Milgard windows. Style, efficiency, cost and SERVICE. What a combination. Thank you, Joe March 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed I'm very disappointed with the craftsmanship of these windows. They have very rough, sharp edges that could and should have been filed down. They look like they were just cut and left with some still with shavings still attached. You would think with high end windows more care would go into making sure they are not going to cut someone opening them. I'm very upset especially knowing that these are made locally. November 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good quality window The window very well design. I like their lifetime warranty which is unbeatable. November 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product this milgard window is attractive and works very easily November 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Buy it again...and we did This was our second purchase of the Tuscany series windows. We previously did Tuscany series replacement windows and when we decided to add onto our house the decision on what to put in was easy. The windows are solidly built but open with ease. The locking mechanism on the windows help my wife feel safe when I'm not home knowing someone isn't going to pick the lock and crawl in unannounced. The vent blocks also give some comfort on those nights we just want some fresh air without risking security. October 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I couldn't be happier with these windows. They totally improved the appearance of my house. I had all my windows replaced; fifty total. I have single hung, casement, picture and awning. They are all fantastic! October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my new windows! From the beginning, Kevin at Windura made this as easy and smooth as possible. The windows look great and do a great job at insulating the house against the weather and noise. I can't even hear the dog in the back barking anymore! Thanks, Kevin. I am so glad we chose to install this product. September 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Customer service was very helpful and had great communication up until the time the service tech came out to do the repairs. September 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly Recommend We purchased the Wood Clad Single Hung windows as replacement windows. After installation I immediately noticed how quiet my house was. We live near a busy road and all of the sudden the noise was gone. Our energy costs were much lower this winter and I really and looking forward to see how cool my house stays in the summer. One of the main reasons we went with Milgard was because of the Lifetime Warranty. June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great window! Replaced an old kitchen window with this style. Fantastic window and unbelievable difference in temp in the kitchen. Definitely would recommend it. April 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by We are very happy with the windows. We really do love our windows. They are a major improvement over the metal windows we used to have - no more sweaty window frames and no more cold drafts coming in. As far as the appearance goes, they look very nice. However, I wish there had been more choices in the hardware. The hardware we have looks cheap. I see that now there is a dark bronze color available, which was not available when we purchased our windows. that is what we got on our Milgard slider, and it is really attractive. I would replace all my hardware with the new dark bronze color, but I know it would be way too expensive. We were also disappointed in the color of the inside metal framing. It is a kind of beige color, and it would have been a lot more attractive if it had been available with dark bronze as an option. However, all and all, we love our new windows. The do work well and look nice. April 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything about the windows are excellent except the I didn't get my $150.00 rebates. I have nothing to complain except my $150 rebates that I didn't get. March 31, 2012
  • 2015-04-20T13:35:56.007-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_31, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.single-hung-style_windows, prod, sort_default
<<prev2