Essence Series® Patio Doors
Essence Series® Patio Doors

Essence Series® patio doors are a beautiful complement to Essence Series wood windows.

Reviews

HIGHLIGHTED REVIEW
Be the first to write a review.

See more >

Key Benefits

Beautiful Wood Interior in 3 Finishes
16 Powder Coat Exterior Frame Colors

Get More Information

Get inspired with beautiful imagery and innovative product features.

Request a quote

Discover just how affordable Milgard Windows & Doors can be.

Request a Quote ›

Customization options

Introducing the New Essence Series Swing Door

Our highly anticipated in-swing and outswing French patio doors from Milgard® are now available in our growing Essence Series product line.  Similar in design and construction to the Essence French sliding glass door, the swing doors also combines the beauty of a natural wood interior with the durability of fiberglass exterior.

All the same great features of Essence windows:

  • 16 Exterior powder coat finishes 
  • Three wood interior options: Douglas Fir, Pine, Primed Pine
  • Updated hinges for improved performance with nine finish options
  • Three new handle designs with seven finish options
  • 2-4 panel configurations with operable and nonoperable sidelites (optional)
  • ADA accessibility options
  • Top hung screen or retractable screen available
  • Eight exterior trim options
  • Milgard Full Lifetime Warranty including Glass Breakage Coverage

Essence Series Sliding Patio Door

Designed to perfectly complement the rich, warm wood interiors of Essence windows, the Essence Series sliding patio door is built with solid wood and a durable fiberglass exterior. Not only is it beautiful, but you will enjoy the smooth operation and superior performance for years to come. And like Essence windows, this new patio door is backed by the Milgard Full Lifetime Warranty including Glass Breakage Coverage. Explore more benefits of the new Essence Series Sliding Patio Door here.

  • Fiberglass exterior available in 16 powder-coated colors.  

  • Interior solid wood frame with no visible fasteners.

  • Engineered with quality rollers that provide an impressively smooth and quiet operation. 

  • Superior energy performance with SunCoat® Low-e glass coating.

  • Optional screen that is top-hung for smooth operation to minimize jams.

  • Make it your own with grids, decorative glass or expand your view with transoms.

  • The beautiful door handle comes in seven finishes and with an optional exterior keyed lock.

  • Add the optional SmartTouch® bolt for additional points of security on the door or to secure it in a vented position.

 

Essence Series® french sliding door

Timeless Design and Exceptional Quality

Design coordination is easy with Milgard Essence Series. Essence Series® patio doors are available in the same hardware finishes as Essence Series® windows. Further match to suit your style with the same color palette for interior and exterior frames. 

Moving Glass Wall Systems

Open up your living spaces to the outdoors with Moving Glass Wall Systems. Stacking and Pocket styles are available with a rich, warm solid wood interior to complement Essence Series windows.

LEARN MORE

Customer Reviews for Essence Series® Out-Swing French Doors New

Essence Series® Out-Swing French Doors New is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 100.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful door but... The door is stunning but the quality control is poor. I can only assume volume is so high that Milgard is cutting corners in order to get product out. All of the hardware needs to be replaced because of stripped screws and sloppy installation. Plus I have to wait weeks for this to be done because it is not priority work. Only if there is imminent harm to the homeowner (like door does not lock) would I get quick service. I know I will enjoy my door once these issues are taken care off but it is too bad that these issues exist in the first place.
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fixed my sliding door. I honestly don't know what style my doors and windows are. We bought this house new 21 years ago and the buider used Milgard doors and windows. This last year the sliding door to our back yard starting giving us trouble. I finaily called Milgard. A very nice man came out today. He replaced the rollers, and the track they slide on. He noticed the handle was a little loose, so he fixed that as well. He asked is anything else needed attention. I showed him the little lock thing on the kitchen window, he fixed that. I asked him what I owed him, he looked surprised and said, nothing you have a life time warrenty. What??? A company that acutally means what they say? That stands behind their products? I am so stunned I don't even know what to say. I was thrilled with my doors and windows, 21 years no leaks, no drafts, open and close with ease. What was there to complain about? But this? NO charge? Amazing! I have been telling people to use Milgard when they replace their windows and doors. That we have be very happy with ours, but now? Wow! What can I say, a company that really does mean what they say and keeps their promises to their customers. I honestly didn't think anyone did that any more. Now I can add this to another reason to use Milgard products. Amazing!
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One day with the windows. The windows were installed today. I don't have enough time with the windows to let you know how the product is working. I can tell you that the wife and I are extremely happy by the way the windows look and the ease of operations. Our windows are very basic and do not have may features. We hope that these windows last us for a long time.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Look 10yrs old, 4 months in These doors look great on the inside and function well. The outside is another story. They're under a descent size overhang but occasionally get a bit of rain on them or possibly condensation. When it runs down the doors, it dries and stains. It would be one thing if it just leaves marks that can be wiped off, but that's not the case. I read online that I should use a dilute solution of white vinegar and water. I did this and nothing happened. The tech came out to determine this is not a product issue (I'm not sure what else it would be) and said to use a Magic Eraser. I'm worried that might destroy the finish. If that's the case, I hope that Milgard stands behind the advice given by their techs... If you have a place for these door that are completely clear of the elements, these could be good additions to your house. But if you're expecting low maintenance, this is not the product for you. To keep the damage to getting worse, I'll plan to clean and dry these each morning as many days as possible. Not at all what I bought...
Date published: 2017-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Construction and Ease of Use The Milgard installer was efficient and professional. He made minimal mess during the demolition of my old, deteriorating, patio door and ensured that all of the debris was carted away, much to my wife's enthusiastic relief. The new slider, a custom Essence Series Slider, professionally and custom crafted was installed in a manner that prevented any water seepage from our exterior, a major fault with our previous door. The Essence door was elegant and matched the existing interior of our den. We can't be more pleased with this unit.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A little disappointed Both of these windows had to be special ordered because of their size. Don't know if the guy from Bloedorn's miss measured or if they were not made to order but they were both an inch to short in width. And the one window was a twin casement & instead of opening in the center like all our others do, both windows open on the right. For the price we had to pay, I expected a better product
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A Bit Rough Quality -- it seems that this door has been cost reduced without enough attention to quality. The locking mechanisms are not easy to engage. The door track has a rough finish split in center. The screens are difficult (and maybe impossible) to adjust well. The access plugs in the door fall out and our dealer does not have a stock of spares. The door stops placed in the bottom track are rough and unsightly. The screen corners are also rough. Features: There are no "kick down" locks. The door does not have an inside trim piece to hide the closing joint and lock mechanism. Installation: The door movement is not free. And the door is leaking at the top of its closing joint. Hopefully the dealer will be able to correct all of this by adjusting the door again. The door has a great warranty. And we have confidence in our local dealer. If these were not the case, I would recommend shopping around.
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nightmare on Main St. Purchased the essence line for every window in my house with high hopes. This was a big order! The windows arrived when promised, but from day 1, the mechanism for opening and closing was so hard I can barely latch/unlatch it myself (strong-ish male).....and my wife and kids cannot open 1/2 of the windows at all. It took 2 months to get a response through our dealer and that response told us that it will be 2 more months before a rep will come look at the windows. Four months is patently absurd especially if this could be my contractor's mistake because I can't hold their retention without good cause, and since I can't even get someone at Milgard to even come give me an idea of what's causing the problem, Milgard's non-responsiveness is making a bad situation worse. In addition, 50% of the latch mechanisms were not glued and constantly slip off. It's also clear a number of the windows do not align properly. What a nightmare. Yet Milgard's window dealer says I have to wait 4 months before I can even talk with someone.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the lock I wish the door locked automatically when closed, instead of my having to manually lock it every time. One of these days I'm going to forget with perhaps a negative outcome.
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Plastic when I thought it was metal Windows look great. The issue I have is that the locking mechanism for the casement is plastic. Two of these locks were broken when i opened the windows. Several have broken in the meantime. These locks need to secure the window and they're made of plastic! Not a good design. When I ordered I was told all the hardware was metal. Not the case.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No customer service! Delayed delivery I chose Milgard windows and doors because I was told that they would be in in 4 to 6 weeks six weeks being the maximum I was just informed that they are delayed again until April 7 with no explanation!
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from looks great and operates smoothly These windows are just what we needed to replace old deteriorated ones. They come with built in screens which we really needed look great and work smoothly
Date published: 2017-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from VG Fir wood components finish not very good VG Fir wood frame and cladding on interior of doors was not of quality expected for quality of overall door construction and price of unit. Some pieces not totally smooth and, even with Benite treatment prior to staining, did not give true "VG Fir" appearance, (Some pieces OK --- so inconsistent). One jamb extension piece has a small knot swirl --- not truly VG!
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Esseence Door We recently purchased a Essence french door and 3 new windows through a contractor. Our home was broken into over 2 months ago and we opted to wait the 2 months for Milgard to manufacture while we had wood and cardboard over our windows. Delivery and installation day came (2/8/17) and after removing the crate from the door we notice it was not the correct door, my contractor checked his emails he found Milgard somehow did not contruct the correct door. We had the option of sending the door back however this would mean another 2 month wait. We decided we would work with the door that we received. Once the door was in place we were unable to get the door handle and lock to function so the door is stuck. This means the door cannot be shored up properly so it is temporarly installed. As of today 2/9/17 we are currently waiting to hear from Milgard regarding the warranty and what can be done to repair this. This door was very expensive I would have thought they would have at least tried to operate the door before it left the factory? I would check other brands before buying this wasn't exactly the experience we expected.
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Milgard Essence sliding Door To make a VERY long story short, I bought this top of the line Essence door from Lowes in June 2016. I am still trying to get the door fixed. It did not come with the features I ordered. Most importantly, I cannot even walk through the door without turning sideways because og their defective handles design, which limits opening of a 2.6 door to 24 inches or so. Service is terrible!!! My next service appointment is now out ANOTHER month to March 3, 2017, and they won't even commit to a time of day until two days before the appointment. Buy a different brand and save yourself the headaches.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The whole house is now Milgard windows I had two old single pane windows in my garage and I wanted to insulate it. Since I did the rest of the house in Milgard, I bought Milgard to match. It is a good brand for the price. I have seen better and I have seen worse. It's a good middle of the line window.
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100% guarenteed I don't know the name of the style window we purchased for the house We built in 2004. We have had a few windows lose the gas inside the double pane and cloud up over time. No problem! 12 years later, they come out and replace them no questions asked!
Date published: 2017-01-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Essence Products We purchased your Essence Brand windows and Sliding glass 12' Patio door this summer for our new house we just finished building. I am VERY disappointed in the quality of these windows (see pictures) The service takes forever, NO CALLBACKS. Still waiting on screendoor replacements that were damaged in shipment, slider seal NEVER has fit properly, won't stay on, now its warped. These windows sweat SO BAD that I'm afraid they are going to start molding. There is so much ice buildup on the inside of the door and frame it makes it hard to open. Not energy efficient at all. Very dissatisfied.
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Warranty Poor warranty service! Contract number not provided on window.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well designed Product excellent. Service the worst i have encountered from a name brand manufacturer. We are in month 6 to repair the door( rollers) and to make screen door correct. Still not complete after 5 trips to remedy. Each time we were put at the end of the line and had to wait a month before next attempt to repair. We have 20 windows yet to replace. Not sure we will use Mallard due to extremely poor service
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent quality window We purchased this window to replace a window in our house that was badly weathered and would no longer open. The Milgard product has excellent quality for an affordable price. We will definitely use Milgard windows as we continue to upgrade our home.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from handsome and sturdy It does what one expects a casement window to do. It opens and closes smoothly, looks very pretty, and insulates properly.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What amazing service and beautiful windows I had a great experience with Pacific Mutual Door here in New Mexico. I have arthritis and my husband and I moved to Albuquerque last year. My new Milgard windows are so much easier to operate and look beautiful. The folks at Pacific Mutual were gracious and very helpful throughout the entire process. I would recommend both companies.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Door had a number of defects - No help from Milgard. My door was installed with a number of defects (chips, gouges, sander-marks, etc...). Despite creating a support ticket, no one would ever make a decision on how to fix these problems. Jennifer in support was nice, but every time I was told a supervisor would be calling me, absolutely nothing would happen. This has been going on since May 2016. PLEASE HELP.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely happy with our sliding door A great product. I don't mind paying little more, when the value is there. The value is there. Granted, we paid a little more for a custom made sliding door, but the value is there with the finished installed slider. I expect this slider to last for my life time and beyond.
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Windows look great! We live next to the ocean in a harsh, windy environment. Our old windows began to fail and we were looking for a high end window that would look great, keep the rain out, and provide a great warranty. Milgard's Essence line fit the bill. We are excited to have the new windows!
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New Windows winter will determine quality Just installed, one of two came dinged and with blemishes, Will need extra sanding.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunningly Beautiful doors We are just installing our new Essence Series French Sliding doors and they are absolutely beautiful. High quality and just stunning. Very happy that we chose Milgard for our three sliding doors.
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor finish Nice product with good features. Finish is not quite up to par. Corners are not joined perfectly. We had to return the first order as the finish was way too poor. Granahl is not good to work with.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features & quality I like the fact that Milgard has a variety of window features to suit the homeowner. All of my windows and doors are now Milgard. We chose the Milgard brand because of the availability of woodclad interior doors which I could finish on my own. The Milgard brand is known for its quality and the lifetime warranty indicates a company that stands behind its products .
Date published: 2016-09-02
  • y_2017, m_7, d_25, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_100
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.essence_french-outswing_doors-new, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_milgard