Essence Series® Patio Doors
Essence Series® Patio Doors

Essence Series® patio doors are a beautiful complement to Essence Series wood windows.

Reviews

HIGHLIGHTED REVIEW
Be the first to write a review.

See more >

Key Benefits

Beautiful Solid Wood Interior in 3 Finishes
16 Powder Coat Exterior Frame Colors
Full Lifetime Warranty with Glass Breakage Coverage

Get More Information

Get inspired with beautiful imagery and innovative product features.

Request a quote

Discover just how affordable Milgard Windows & Doors can be.

Request a Quote ›

Customization options

Essence Series Sliding Patio Door

Designed to perfectly complement the rich, warm wood interiors of Essence windows, the Essence Series sliding patio door is built with solid wood and a durable fiberglass exterior. Not only is it beautiful, but you will enjoy the smooth operation and superior performance for years to come. And like Essence windows, this new patio door is backed by the Milgard Full Lifetime Warranty including Glass Breakage Coverage. Explore more benefits of the new Essence Series Sliding Patio Door here.

  • Fiberglass exterior available in 16 powder-coated colors.  

  • Interior solid wood frame with no visible fasteners.

  • Engineered with quality rollers that provide an impressively smooth and quiet operation. 

  • Superior energy performance with SunCoat® Low-e glass coating.

  • Optional screen that is top-hung for smooth operation to minimize jams.

  • Make it your own with grids, decorative glass or expand your view with transoms.

  • The beautiful door handle comes in seven finishes and with an optional exterior keyed lock.

  • Add the optional SmartTouch® bolt for additional points of security on the door or to secure it in a vented position.

 

Essence Series® french sliding door

Timeless Design and Exceptional Quality

Design coordination is easy with Milgard Essence Series. Essence Series® patio doors are available in the same hardware finishes as Essence Series® windows. Further match to suit your style with the same color palette for interior and exterior frames. 

Moving Glass Wall Systems

Open up your living spaces to the outdoors with Moving Glass Wall Systems. Stacking and Pocket styles are available with a rich, warm solid wood interior to complement the Essence Series product line.

Customer Reviews for Essence Series® Out-Swing French Doors

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Windows look great! We live next to the ocean in a harsh, windy environment. Our old windows began to fail and we were looking for a high end window that would look great, keep the rain out, and provide a great warranty. Milgard's Essence line fit the bill. We are excited to have the new windows!
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New Windows winter will determine quality Just installed, one of two came dinged and with blemishes, Will need extra sanding.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunningly Beautiful doors We are just installing our new Essence Series French Sliding doors and they are absolutely beautiful. High quality and just stunning. Very happy that we chose Milgard for our three sliding doors.
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor finish Nice product with good features. Finish is not quite up to par. Corners are not joined perfectly. We had to return the first order as the finish was way too poor. Granahl is not good to work with.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features & quality I like the fact that Milgard has a variety of window features to suit the homeowner. All of my windows and doors are now Milgard. We chose the Milgard brand because of the availability of woodclad interior doors which I could finish on my own. The Milgard brand is known for its quality and the lifetime warranty indicates a company that stands behind its products .
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Essence Sliders I've always been a big fan of Milgard but the Essence Patio doors have a major design flaw. They don't slide all the way open. I'm kicking myself for trusting that since my past experience with Milgard was good, I didn't find a showroom. They totally suck! If I take the stops out the handle will still hit the frame. Super lame design. Big eyesore! Back to Andersen I guess. grrrrrrrrr
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not liking the double hung Generally they look pretty good and substantial. However there are some major design flaws on the double hung. 1. the sill has a big chunk of wood on the face so the sill is not flat. It looks flimsy and doesn't work well for me since I use a window fan in my bedroom and its always falling out or into the screen and I don't want it in there permanently. One window is about 1 in tall and the other is 2" tall. Not sure why that is as they are the same application 2. they don't offer a sash lift and will void the warranty if you install them. So I get finger prints on the wood and/or glass when I open and close. I used a satin polyurethane. Very disappointed in this lack of feature. Mine had some quality control issues with the wood but I can't be bothered to have it replaced as it's been a long remodel. see pic. The screen on the casement is made of a different wood, possibly alder and has a whiter, yellow color so these had to be stained to match the fir. Not sure what the proper way was to install these in terms of the interior caulking but my contractor used a brown or white depending on the location and it looks awful! see pics I like the functionality of the casements though. I wish I would have researched these more but the contractor has an exclusive.
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful window and view of the desert. I bought a little cabin in the desert and put in new windows, bigger windows, and more glass. I have a lovely view and these windows are beautiful and they were within my price range. I am still working on the cabin but so far it seems as if these windows will keep me cool, or warm as needed.
Date published: 2016-07-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from hazy film in windows looks terrible and cannot be cleaned. My french sliding Essence series double pain windows have some sort of fog haze inside the double panes, the windows cannot be cleaned and they look horrible. I have tried everything to clean them but since the hazy film is on the inside side of the pain there is not a way to clean them. I can only clean the surface of the window that is exposed, the exterior surface and it is the interior surface of the windows that have the disgusting hazy film.
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the door is beautiful like the included hardware and locking The door itself is great. My contractor had some difficulty installing the door. The size of the actual doors were a surprise. The doors were 76" and we expected them to measure 80" If you are taller than 6'4 you may have to duck to get through. The quality of the door is very nice and the hardware and locking mechanism included with the door is great.
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking interiors... Just had 3 windows and 3 doors (2 sliding glass, 1 French door set) replaced with new Milgard Essence series and the look is just what we were looking for; a neat, clean, 'craftsman-style' of look, and these windows hit all the right marks. We chose the fir interior and had them pre-finished in a satin clear polyurethane finish prior to install, and they look really great. It's way too early to even mention how well they hold-up to use (only been installed ~2 weeks), but they feel very solid and the hardware seems to operate smoothly and accurately. Just hope we feel the same way 10 years from now! So yes, I would recommend these windows and doors... so far. However, time will be the determining factor whether or not this recommendation still holds true in the future!
Date published: 2016-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Essence sliding patio door Really like to door however there is a malfunction on one of the doors . Contacting dealer to rectify. Would expect zero defects with a door at the price and quality
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them We installed Milgard when we built in 1998 have loved them everyday. An occasional adjustment is all that has been done.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from feberglass outside Liked the fiberglass on the outside with the wood inside. The color choose was good.
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Essence Slider Windows Just got these installed and they look beautiful from the inside and outside! Love the clean lines and modern hardware.
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks good, but some issues The window looks great and works well. However, the installation instructions were sadly lacking--and we had to go searching online to find them. Plus there was a hole in the wood next to the latch that was left there from a screw driver bit that we will have to patch. Seems like an $800 window would have better quality control!
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New French Doors We replaced three Milgard sliding patio doors with swing out French doors, what a difference.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great window I replaced an older dual pane aluminum single hung with the Essence casement. Wow! What a difference, it makes the whole room warm and inviting. The installation was easy and the build quality was excellent.
Date published: 2016-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Apperance, Easy to Use This wood clad series has added a lot of curb appeal to the house. Inside the wood look has added warmth to all the rooms. Glad I did it!! The sales person at Beach Builders Supply in San Juan Capistrano was over the top with knowledge, information, and support thru the entire process. Tony V. was great; well the entire staff went out of their way to help me and the install was done by pros!!!!! Thank you
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product but quite expensive Fit, design,construction and finish of windows and casements appear to be quite good ; what one should expect for high price. However, price appears nicely competitive with other companies. Wooden screens fit way too tightly but are solid in construction and design. Had to have installer return to remove tension clips at top of each screen. Now the screens can be removed without fear of significant damage [screens are not warranty covered], but now fit somewhat loosely. Tension clips need to be less stiff!!
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Your windows leak worse than the contractor grade windows they replaced. The triple-paned double hung window leak around all of the seals. The "rubber" apparently is brittle in cold weather (temps lower than 28 degrees F). The wind blows right through them. The glass conducts the cold inside. There is no dead air insulation space between the 3rd pane and the other 2, all 3 are mounted in the same sash. The 3rd pane should have been in its own sash and track. All 3 of the panes were tinted which defeats the purpose of the low e glass. The windows also are not sound proof as triple-paned windows properly designed and constructed should be. Sound proofing is as important to be as the energy savings. The sliding glass windows also leak around the seals for the same reason as the double hungs. I am very dissatisfied and expect Milgard to either fix the problems or replace these windows with something that is sound proof, energy efficient, as well as attractive.
Date published: 2015-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased Being retired from the resort business I tend to have pretty high standards on products and installation. I am very satisfied with the Milgard product. The house looks totally complete now.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product/Company Love the door, solid door. Also great company to work with, very nice and respectful
Date published: 2015-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very attractive, well-insulated, and solidly-built. We purchased 3 Milgard Essence casement windows and one custom 8' sliding glass door. They were just installed on Sep. 4, 2015, and so far, meet all of our expectations. They are very attractive both inside #stained wood# and outside #white coating#. The satin-nickel finished hardware is attractive. They are well-insulated and have a nice tight fit. They are solidly-built, sturdy & strong. The glass is tempered and double-paned. Installation was straight-forward and easy.
Date published: 2015-09-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Exterior Handle corroded after only 2 years. Poor quality. Exterior Handle corroded after only 2 years. Then I was told by the company that sold me the door that Milgard's warranty does not cover the handle. Was totally disappointed.
Date published: 2015-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Money We did a great deal of research and chose these doors because we preferred the fiberglass on the outside and the lifetime warranty. We live in Los Angeles, and also liked that the product is made locally. It's a big expense, but one I expect to last 20+ years!
Date published: 2015-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and great customer service My client chose the Essence line of doors and windows for a renovation of their master bedroom and bathroom suite. They had purchased the Essence doors and windows before for previous renovations and were very pleased with the look, pricing and functionality. I installed all the new doors and windows and had a few issues. I called Milgard to schedule a service call. The serviceman arrived on time and was very knowledgeable about the product and also very helpful in getting resolve to the issues I had. I was very impressed with both service guys that came out.
Date published: 2015-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improved the look of an old house The windows were installed with great care. They look beautiful. Hold in the heat and keep the room cool in summer. I love them!!!
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love the product Several of our windows are not a good fit.....cold air is coming through the top, so a rep from Milgard came by; we are VERY UNSATISFIED with the timeliness of the service to correct this problem; we initiated our need for service in NOVEMBER and not until FEBRUARY 25th are we finally getting the problem lilkely corrected......Service is really awful! Product is great! HAVE two more windows on order and hoping they don't need post installation service!
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am glad I have Essence windows Having bought high end windows before and working as a contractor I can honestly say having these windows installed is very nice insurance that you will be taken care if you have any issues. I get compliments from neighbors I have never even meet before! Thanks for the great service from a local Oregon company. Mike G
Date published: 2014-10-21
  • y_2017, m_1, d_14, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_75
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.essence_french-outswing_doors, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_milgard