Essence Series® Patio Doors
Essence Series® Patio Doors

Essence Series® patio doors are a beautiful complement to Essence Series wood windows.

Reviews

HIGHLIGHTED REVIEW
Be the first to write a review.

See more >

Key Benefits

Beautiful Wood Interior in 3 Finishes
16 Powder Coat Exterior Frame Colors

Get More Information

Get inspired with beautiful imagery and innovative product features.

builders-choice-2017_600px_fiberglass.png

Milgard Essence Series patio doors are the perfect companion to Essence Series windows. 

Available in French swinging, with or without operable sidelites, and French-style sliding door models. Essence Series doors are available in 16 designer exterior colors and custom built to your size and specifications.

Milgard Essence In-Swing and Out-Swing patio doors feature designer hardware, a multi-point locking system and optional operable sidelites. The new Essence Sliding patio door feature a secondary lock option to allow the door to vent in a secure position.

 

 

Introducing the New Essence Series Swing Door

Our highly anticipated in-swing and outswing French patio doors from Milgard® are now available in our growing Essence Series product line.  Similar in design and construction to the Essence French sliding glass door, the swing doors also combines the beauty of a natural wood interior with the durability of fiberglass exterior.

All the same great features of Essence windows:

  • 16 Exterior powder coat finishes 
  • Three wood interior options: Douglas Fir, Pine, Primed Pine
  • Updated hinges for improved performance with nine finish options
  • Three new handle designs with seven finish options
  • 2-4 panel configurations with operable and nonoperable sidelites (optional)
  • ADA accessibility options
  • Top hung screen or retractable screen available
  • Eight exterior trim options
  • Milgard Full Lifetime Warranty including Glass Breakage Coverage

Essence Series Sliding Patio Door

Designed to perfectly complement the rich, warm wood interiors of Essence windows, the Essence Series sliding patio door is built with solid wood and a durable fiberglass exterior. Not only is it beautiful, but you will enjoy the smooth operation and superior performance for years to come. And like Essence windows, this new patio door is backed by the Milgard Full Lifetime Warranty including Glass Breakage Coverage. Explore more benefits of the new Essence Series Sliding Patio Door here.

  • Fiberglass exterior available in 16 powder-coated colors.  

  • Interior solid wood frame with no visible fasteners.

  • Engineered with quality rollers that provide an impressively smooth and quiet operation. 

  • Superior energy performance with SunCoat® Low-e glass coating.

  • Optional screen that is top-hung for smooth operation to minimize jams.

  • Make it your own with grids, decorative glass or expand your view with transoms.

  • The beautiful door handle comes in seven finishes and with an optional exterior keyed lock.

  • Add the optional SmartTouch® bolt for additional points of security on the door or to secure it in a vented position.

 

Essence Series® french sliding door

Timeless Design and Exceptional Quality

Design coordination is easy with Milgard Essence Series. Essence Series® patio doors are available in the same hardware finishes as Essence Series® windows. Further match to suit your style with the same color palette for interior and exterior frames. 

Moving Glass Wall Systems

Open up your living spaces to the outdoors with Moving Glass Wall Systems. Stacking and Pocket styles are available with a rich, warm solid wood interior to complement Essence Series windows.

Customer Reviews for Essence Series® Patio Doors

Essence Series® Patio Doors is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 91.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Plastic when I thought it was metal Windows look great. The issue I have is that the locking mechanism for the casement is plastic. Two of these locks were broken when i opened the windows. Several have broken in the meantime. These locks need to secure the window and they're made of plastic! Not a good design. When I ordered I was told all the hardware was metal. Not the case.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No customer service! Delayed delivery I chose Milgard windows and doors because I was told that they would be in in 4 to 6 weeks six weeks being the maximum I was just informed that they are delayed again until April 7 with no explanation!
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from looks great and operates smoothly These windows are just what we needed to replace old deteriorated ones. They come with built in screens which we really needed look great and work smoothly
Date published: 2017-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from VG Fir wood components finish not very good VG Fir wood frame and cladding on interior of doors was not of quality expected for quality of overall door construction and price of unit. Some pieces not totally smooth and, even with Benite treatment prior to staining, did not give true "VG Fir" appearance, (Some pieces OK --- so inconsistent). One jamb extension piece has a small knot swirl --- not truly VG!
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Esseence Door We recently purchased a Essence french door and 3 new windows through a contractor. Our home was broken into over 2 months ago and we opted to wait the 2 months for Milgard to manufacture while we had wood and cardboard over our windows. Delivery and installation day came (2/8/17) and after removing the crate from the door we notice it was not the correct door, my contractor checked his emails he found Milgard somehow did not contruct the correct door. We had the option of sending the door back however this would mean another 2 month wait. We decided we would work with the door that we received. Once the door was in place we were unable to get the door handle and lock to function so the door is stuck. This means the door cannot be shored up properly so it is temporarly installed. As of today 2/9/17 we are currently waiting to hear from Milgard regarding the warranty and what can be done to repair this. This door was very expensive I would have thought they would have at least tried to operate the door before it left the factory? I would check other brands before buying this wasn't exactly the experience we expected.
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Milgard Essence sliding Door To make a VERY long story short, I bought this top of the line Essence door from Lowes in June 2016. I am still trying to get the door fixed. It did not come with the features I ordered. Most importantly, I cannot even walk through the door without turning sideways because og their defective handles design, which limits opening of a 2.6 door to 24 inches or so. Service is terrible!!! My next service appointment is now out ANOTHER month to March 3, 2017, and they won't even commit to a time of day until two days before the appointment. Buy a different brand and save yourself the headaches.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The whole house is now Milgard windows I had two old single pane windows in my garage and I wanted to insulate it. Since I did the rest of the house in Milgard, I bought Milgard to match. It is a good brand for the price. I have seen better and I have seen worse. It's a good middle of the line window.
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100% guarenteed I don't know the name of the style window we purchased for the house We built in 2004. We have had a few windows lose the gas inside the double pane and cloud up over time. No problem! 12 years later, they come out and replace them no questions asked!
Date published: 2017-01-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Essence Products We purchased your Essence Brand windows and Sliding glass 12' Patio door this summer for our new house we just finished building. I am VERY disappointed in the quality of these windows (see pictures) The service takes forever, NO CALLBACKS. Still waiting on screendoor replacements that were damaged in shipment, slider seal NEVER has fit properly, won't stay on, now its warped. These windows sweat SO BAD that I'm afraid they are going to start molding. There is so much ice buildup on the inside of the door and frame it makes it hard to open. Not energy efficient at all. Very dissatisfied.
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Warranty Poor warranty service! Contract number not provided on window.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well designed Product excellent. Service the worst i have encountered from a name brand manufacturer. We are in month 6 to repair the door( rollers) and to make screen door correct. Still not complete after 5 trips to remedy. Each time we were put at the end of the line and had to wait a month before next attempt to repair. We have 20 windows yet to replace. Not sure we will use Mallard due to extremely poor service
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent quality window We purchased this window to replace a window in our house that was badly weathered and would no longer open. The Milgard product has excellent quality for an affordable price. We will definitely use Milgard windows as we continue to upgrade our home.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from handsome and sturdy It does what one expects a casement window to do. It opens and closes smoothly, looks very pretty, and insulates properly.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What amazing service and beautiful windows I had a great experience with Pacific Mutual Door here in New Mexico. I have arthritis and my husband and I moved to Albuquerque last year. My new Milgard windows are so much easier to operate and look beautiful. The folks at Pacific Mutual were gracious and very helpful throughout the entire process. I would recommend both companies.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Door had a number of defects - No help from Milgard. My door was installed with a number of defects (chips, gouges, sander-marks, etc...). Despite creating a support ticket, no one would ever make a decision on how to fix these problems. Jennifer in support was nice, but every time I was told a supervisor would be calling me, absolutely nothing would happen. This has been going on since May 2016. PLEASE HELP.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely happy with our sliding door A great product. I don't mind paying little more, when the value is there. The value is there. Granted, we paid a little more for a custom made sliding door, but the value is there with the finished installed slider. I expect this slider to last for my life time and beyond.
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Windows look great! We live next to the ocean in a harsh, windy environment. Our old windows began to fail and we were looking for a high end window that would look great, keep the rain out, and provide a great warranty. Milgard's Essence line fit the bill. We are excited to have the new windows!
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New Windows winter will determine quality Just installed, one of two came dinged and with blemishes, Will need extra sanding.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunningly Beautiful doors We are just installing our new Essence Series French Sliding doors and they are absolutely beautiful. High quality and just stunning. Very happy that we chose Milgard for our three sliding doors.
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor finish Nice product with good features. Finish is not quite up to par. Corners are not joined perfectly. We had to return the first order as the finish was way too poor. Granahl is not good to work with.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features & quality I like the fact that Milgard has a variety of window features to suit the homeowner. All of my windows and doors are now Milgard. We chose the Milgard brand because of the availability of woodclad interior doors which I could finish on my own. The Milgard brand is known for its quality and the lifetime warranty indicates a company that stands behind its products .
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Essence Sliders I've always been a big fan of Milgard but the Essence Patio doors have a major design flaw. They don't slide all the way open. I'm kicking myself for trusting that since my past experience with Milgard was good, I didn't find a showroom. They totally suck! If I take the stops out the handle will still hit the frame. Super lame design. Big eyesore! Back to Andersen I guess. grrrrrrrrr
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not liking the double hung Generally they look pretty good and substantial. However there are some major design flaws on the double hung. 1. the sill has a big chunk of wood on the face so the sill is not flat. It looks flimsy and doesn't work well for me since I use a window fan in my bedroom and its always falling out or into the screen and I don't want it in there permanently. One window is about 1 in tall and the other is 2" tall. Not sure why that is as they are the same application 2. they don't offer a sash lift and will void the warranty if you install them. So I get finger prints on the wood and/or glass when I open and close. I used a satin polyurethane. Very disappointed in this lack of feature. Mine had some quality control issues with the wood but I can't be bothered to have it replaced as it's been a long remodel. see pic. The screen on the casement is made of a different wood, possibly alder and has a whiter, yellow color so these had to be stained to match the fir. Not sure what the proper way was to install these in terms of the interior caulking but my contractor used a brown or white depending on the location and it looks awful! see pics I like the functionality of the casements though. I wish I would have researched these more but the contractor has an exclusive.
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful window and view of the desert. I bought a little cabin in the desert and put in new windows, bigger windows, and more glass. I have a lovely view and these windows are beautiful and they were within my price range. I am still working on the cabin but so far it seems as if these windows will keep me cool, or warm as needed.
Date published: 2016-07-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from hazy film in windows looks terrible and cannot be cleaned. My french sliding Essence series double pain windows have some sort of fog haze inside the double panes, the windows cannot be cleaned and they look horrible. I have tried everything to clean them but since the hazy film is on the inside side of the pain there is not a way to clean them. I can only clean the surface of the window that is exposed, the exterior surface and it is the interior surface of the windows that have the disgusting hazy film.
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the door is beautiful like the included hardware and locking The door itself is great. My contractor had some difficulty installing the door. The size of the actual doors were a surprise. The doors were 76" and we expected them to measure 80" If you are taller than 6'4 you may have to duck to get through. The quality of the door is very nice and the hardware and locking mechanism included with the door is great.
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking interiors... Just had 3 windows and 3 doors (2 sliding glass, 1 French door set) replaced with new Milgard Essence series and the look is just what we were looking for; a neat, clean, 'craftsman-style' of look, and these windows hit all the right marks. We chose the fir interior and had them pre-finished in a satin clear polyurethane finish prior to install, and they look really great. It's way too early to even mention how well they hold-up to use (only been installed ~2 weeks), but they feel very solid and the hardware seems to operate smoothly and accurately. Just hope we feel the same way 10 years from now! So yes, I would recommend these windows and doors... so far. However, time will be the determining factor whether or not this recommendation still holds true in the future!
Date published: 2016-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Essence sliding patio door Really like to door however there is a malfunction on one of the doors . Contacting dealer to rectify. Would expect zero defects with a door at the price and quality
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them We installed Milgard when we built in 1998 have loved them everyday. An occasional adjustment is all that has been done.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from feberglass outside Liked the fiberglass on the outside with the wood inside. The color choose was good.
Date published: 2016-04-29
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_91
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.essence-series_doors, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_milgard