Essence Series wood 4-panel sliding patio door
Essence Series wood 4-panel sliding patio door

Essence Series® Patio Doors

Beautiful, natural wood interior finish with strong fiberglass exterior.

Essence Series®
5

Sophisticated look. Solid and durable.

Essence Series 2-panel in-swing patio door in Evening Sky
Essence Series 4-panel sliding door
Beauty Combined with Exceptional Durability.

Highly regarded as the finest patio door Milgard manufactures, the Essence Series is a patio door like no other. Featuring a durable fiberglass exterior and a natural wood interior, the frame has been engineered to have no visible fasteners for lasting beauty and exceptional performance. 

Benefits of Essence Series

  • Natural Wood Interior
  • Exterior Frame Colors
  • Durability and Energy Efficiency
  • Hardware
  • Frame Accessories
  • Full Lifetime Warranty
Solid Wood

Natural Wood Interior
Essence Series patio doors combine the beauty of a natural wood interior with the durability of a fiberglass exterior. The interior can be painted, or stained and sealed to show off the wood grain. Choose from Douglas fir, natural pine or primed pine for a stunning wooden patio door that is perfect for replacement or new home construction.

16 Exterior Frame Colors

Exterior Frame Colors
Milgard offers 16 powder coated colors for its Essence Series patio doors. This method of applying paint is more durable than conventional finishes, resulting in a lasting color that is less likely to chip, fade or scrape. 

Essence Series 2-panel in-swing door with sidelites

Durability and Energy Efficiency

The fiberglass exterior is low-maintenance and offers long-lasting performance that will not crack, peel, bend, warp or stick due to expansion and contraction. It is also resistant to cold, heat, water, insects, salt air and ultraviolet rays.

Enjoy superior energy performance with our SunCoat® Low-e glass coating that comes standard.

Essence Series 4-panel sliding patio door handle

Hardware
Essence Series patio door hardware is available in oil rubbed bronze, white, clay, slate black or tan painted finish colors. Plated finishes are brushed chrome, or satin nickel.
Add the optional SmartTouch® Bolt for additional points of security, or, if you prefer to hold the door open in a vented position.

Frame Accessories 
Essence Series patio doors offer frame trim kits that are specifically made for the Essence Series. Available in all 16 exterior colors, options include Flush or Mitered joints in Flat Casing or Brickmould.

Full Lifetime Warranty

Full Lifetime Warranty

Backed by the Milgard Full Lifetime Warranty, we will repair or replace any defect in materials or workmanship and will pay the costs of all parts and labor for as long as the purchaser owns their home. Glass Breakage Coverage is included. If the home is sold, the warranty extends 10 years from the start date.

Essence Series Operating Styles

  • French-style Sliding
  • In-Swing French
  • Out-Swing French
Essence Series wood french-style sliding patio door

French-style Sliding
Essence Series French-style sliding patio doors come in 2, 3 and 4 panel configurations all custom made to your specifications.  They are engineered with a weather-strip system and top quality rollers that provide an impressively smooth and quiet operation.

Essence Series wood in-swing patio door

In-Swing French
Choose the Essence Series French-style in-swing patio door to accent a spacious room.  The door swings inward, creating an elegant entrance. Choose from 1, 2, 3 and 4 panel configurations. 

Essence Series wood out-swing patio door in Cinnamon

Out-Swing French
Our Essence Series French-style out-swing patio door can provide a grand entrance onto your patio. This high performing door is beautiful and makes an elegant statement. 

Reviews

Essence Series® Patio Doors

See All Reviews
Essence Series® Patio Doors is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 154.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outside protection, beautiful inside We are happy to let you know that we are pleased with our new windows. The old windows were far past their prime, especially the outside wood. The fibreglass exterior looks great and the inside wood is beautiful. The new windows make the house more pleasant in terms of temperature and no worries about colour fading. Bert and Connie
Date published: 2013-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Customer Service Getting service after purchase is terrible stay away
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Our opinion on Milgard Windows and Doors We have previously had Pella, Anderson and Milgard in previous homes. We decided upon Milgard for a recent home we built. We mainly decided because of the lifetime warranty. Well watch out - if you alter or add sunscreens, etc it can void your warranty. AND they did not tell us the screens only have a one year warranty. The windows have a plastic closure whereas our last anderson was all metal much more sturdy. These plastic closures have broken off and had to replace. The screens on the patio doors and big 10 feet door we have constantly need adjusting. We hate these screens. The windows themselves look nice and we do like them. If we had to go back and choose again, we would have chosen Anderson. The customer service with Anderson for us, was Superb. Milgard not so you have to wait for weeks and sometimes months to get service. They all three are very good quality windows but today to us, customer service is just as important. We had service and they would come out with the incorrect part/door etc. If you chose milgard you will have a nice quality window but I don't think the quality is quite as good as Anderson or Pella. Now it has been many years since we had Pella windows and about 15 since Anderson but our soon put all Anderson in his home and is very pleased. I called today in regards to our screens all need adjusting and issues with one. They informed me we only had a one year warranty on screens. This would have been fine if someone told us this information during purchase. No one ever did. Good Luck and hopefully Milgard will improve customer service and make more metal parts and less plastic on window closures.
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good windows,some issues with exterior frame color All 3 huge windows look and work great. I wish the exterior color matches better with samples shown on their sale brochures. I ordered the sand color but it came more like off-white.
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what you want We are very disappointed with the product and service. One of the few things I would change in a $360k remodel is not going with Milgard. Service team told us they will warp if not kept locked... Lock is difficult to operate and lock handle flies off... Screens are lose in the frame and hard to remove, much harder to replace. It's awkward to close them and difficult to get the handle in the right position.
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 17 condos built in 2001 97% window failure Summit construction of Portland OR has been replacing our Rear elevation siding decking etc . I am chairman of Riverview Village a 17 unit condominium built in 2001. Every window has failed broken frames etc etc each owner has now been assessed to pay including myself . Forensic consulting is our third party engineers that required replacement because of complete failure. Long story short Milgard reps have been out and wether title transferred a year later the company has dodged all warranty because of owner change. I own 2 plumbing companies and a construction company. This is an embarrassment in my personal opinion as I personally believe in making things right and have bit the bullet more times despite debate to keep a flawless record and rep. We received no discounts etc. because of existing and previously replaced windows we were forced during deck siding reconstruction to replace 47 with Milgard for financial reasons . Moving forward Riverview village located in Portland or -will be changing the front elevation to another company that stands behind there products smh.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the white interior and black exterior. Window was installed last week and it still works.
Date published: 2018-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality We purchased/installed 2 8' wide sliding doors. While the order took several months to manufacture and deliver, it was worth the wait as these are really nice
Date published: 2018-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Service call Two of our existing windows needed to be replaced. Your service technician is excellent. He came the first time to remeasure the two windows. Today he came to install the two replacement windows. He is very professional and competent. It was a pleasure to have this service call. Thank you.G
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from STAY AWAY We just installed 28 windows with Milgard essence series (fiberglass exterior with wood interior). Counting the double-hung, casement and slider sashes separately we had 47 sashes. Last Wednesday it was discovered that 27 of these sashes have twisted or bowed seals that need to be replaced (and then re-painted). This on top of the fact that 2 windows came with missing parts (we were told it will take over a month to receive the parts), and one cracked while drying from being painted on a table. Beyond this, the exterior framing on one is detached. And they are NOT as sound resistant as our last windows - we hear traffic non-stop now that we never heard before. That makes us wonder about their true ability to insulate against the heat and cold. So we discovered this warped seal issue on Wednesday. The Milgard rep came to view the issues on Thursday and now four business days later has issued no apology or plan for getting things fixed! All they have told our installer is the following: while they tell you the argon gas means something important (both in insulation quality and price) argon doesn’t stay in the windows, and at altitude (we are in CO) it has been know to push out the seals of the windows when traveling from lower altitudes to higher ones. He said our installer PINNACLE should have never been able to order windows with argon (I’d like to know then, who at Milgard looked over this order and what discount I’m going to get for windows that don’t meet the quality standards of what I purchased?!) We paid for quality windows with fiberglass exterior and wood interior and we have been sold horrible product with horrible customer service that I’m sure I’ll regret for the rest of our years in this house. STAY AWAY!
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good luck getting service Order had numerous issues upon delivery not to mention both doors would not shut and lock. After finding out the issues are manufacturing mistakes they give me a date 3 weeks to show up holding up my entire project not to mention the house is not secure. Called and called with no help from anyone here . Issues still aren’t resolved. Would not recommend using them to anyone. Worst service I’ve come across to date.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality - Delivery Time Late We are very pleased with the Essence Slider windows. It was clear during the installation they were well packed, and care was taken in the production process. We like the option of being able to disassemble the various wood interior pieces. Our only constructive comment relates to delivery time. We were promised February 8th, and the windows did not arrive until February 13th. This caused some tight turn around with regard to the installation, since we were working against weather conditions and the availability of the installer.
Date published: 2018-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Warranty - and I needed it I replaced every window in my house, 17 total. We love the ease of use and the crystal clear clarity of the glass. The insulation improvement is phenomenal. Midway through the retrofit, I used a laser thermometer to compare temperatures of my old aluminum window frames with my new Milgard vinyl frames. The difference was anywhere from 8 to 12 degrees. My home is more comfortable now! My only problem has been that two of my new windows have WARPED and are currently in process of being replaced. All four corners of each window frame are pulling away from the vertical plane of the house wall. Very odd. This makes the side-to-side sliders move with difficulty, and it creates gaping cracks at every corner, both inside and out. This warping appeared several months after installation and got worse very slowly. After about ten months, I sounded the alarm. My installer is a reputable contractor, and he's arranged free replacements with Milgard. I am confident that all will be well soon.
Date published: 2018-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed These weren't cheap windows & for some reason I expected to get what we paid for, beautiful windows. Besides having issues with a dozen or so, the screens look horrible....They don't lay flat due to the little plastic buttons added to lock them in place, which causes the screens to stick out where every single button is. Have been waiting for months for Milgard to come out to fix all the other issues we've had with the actual windows...maybe next week? (they've already canceled on us once) I'm hoping once the house is completed that the overall look of the house won't be ruined by the look of the windows.
Date published: 2018-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Windows Good looking and nice, I will recommend to all my friends and relatives to use them
Date published: 2018-02-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from We’re not happy with our new window I paid alot of money for this window thinking I was getting a great quality product. The windows won’t stay open. The glass has destortions compared to my old window... I asked my dealer Bumba Windows and Doors about it and he said he would send out a factory rep. That’s the last I heard over 45 days ago... So my wife and I are not happy at this time..
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Appearance issue, wrong instal instructions provided On one of two doors I purchased the hinge stile is longer than the lock stile by about 3/16th of an inch it is noticeable after installation, I need to sand it down and refinish area when the weather gets warmer. The instructions provided to both doors gave enough information on door installation but the hinge adjustment information was for a different type of hinge. I found the correct information after digging around your website. All in all a nice, solid and secure door (s).
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Top price, bottom quality We just had three new Milgard Essence French doors installed, having paid a lot (and I mean a lot) of money to get top quality and avoid shoddy workmanship. After it took an initial three days for our highly experienced contractor to install three doors, he explained that he was spending a ton of time trying to get everything to fit and function properly. Upon further inspection, it became clear that there were many things wrong with all three doors - bad weather-stripping, damaged and missing screens, ill-fitted hardware, wide tolerance variations, etc. Spoke with the Sacramento Warranty Center, and they put me in touch with a service tech, who advised that we finish installing the best we could, and call back to schedule a service call, where they would fix the problems. I did so, and was told the soonest they could get someone out was 7 weeks later. The rep I spoke with refused to give me the name or direct number of a supervisor. Unacceptable on all levels.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product seemed far superior to other products we researched Our French doors have just been installed so we have not had much experience with them. So far, the installation was extremely professional and great care was taken to insure that all furniture and paintings were covered. We really like the Essence series and could not be happier. There are a couple of things we wish were different, such as the choice of color for the aluminum covered ledges. We have black which we plan to paint on the interior. The one set of doors that are operable open out and the hardware is white instead of the color of the clad door. Thus, the reason for 4 stars instead of 5.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well crafted product We are more than pleased with our new windows. They are well constructed and they exceeded our expectations.
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice door Door is very solid and the lifetime warranty is what sold me. Glass is very clear and the mechanics are excellent.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Beautiful, well made quality windows. Slid into my new renovation space without a hitch. Will get Milgard to make replacement windows for the rest of the house. Highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous windows We had a few Essence windows installed a few years ago in our kitchen, which have functioned beautifully and look great. When it was time to replace our old aluminium 4' x 8'x window in our dining room, we opted to again go with the Essence line - simply a good choice, great warranty, perfect look to match our 100+ year old home. Unfortunately, the manufacturer forgot to put the weather stripping on the top side of each slider window. The installer noticed it and called for it to be repaired - which has taken over two weeks.
Date published: 2017-12-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The product has been a fiasco I bought Milgard because I was told it was the best. To my surprise it has been a total mess. Prior to the doors being installed I called to say there were problems such as doors not opening correctly. Screen doors wouldn't shut at all. I was told to install the doors and then Milgard would take care of the problem. The paint on the exterior is horrible, the hinges don't match the handles, the fir on the inside has blemishes and the door does not fit the jam. Service came out and worked to get the doors to lock. That lasted one day and they would not shut properly again. Then the door handles fell off when we just pulled the doors closed. Service again came out and adjusted the doors and fixed the handles. The screen doors were taken because they would not close. It took 8 weeks to get the doors and now I have been told it will take 8 more weeks to replace the doors and panels. I could go on but I think you get the point. VERY DISAPPOINTED!
Date published: 2017-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good The sliding windows glide smoothly, the locking system works great and the seal is great. Unfortunately, I can not say the same about the sliding door. After installation, my contractor(who recommended I purchase Milgard instead of Anderson) identified an extremely tight fit of the doors within the track causing a very arduous glide. One has to apply muscle to open and close the doors. Again, according to my contractor, he feels the door is slightly twisted. We contacted ACE Hardware, where I purchased the door and he informed that he’ll contact Milgard and that their representative will attend to this issue.
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very happy with some minor issues. We purchased two single replacement doors for two separate single patio door openings. We purchased them both at the same time. The first door we installed right away and it was great. It all worked great, there were no issues with the door before or after installation. We were very happy with the product. The second door was left in the packaging and stored in our garage because of time constraints, we were not able to install it immediately. There are a few issues with the second door. The is a chip in the fiberglass and there is a crack in the fiberglass of the jam. The hardware was not installed correctly and we could not unlock the door. We had to take the handles off and fix the mechanism in order to unlock and open the door, and the finish is rubbed off on the interior door handle on the second door. in the end we have installed it and we are happy with the door for the most part but we would like someone to come out and look at the crack in the fiberglass of the door frame. We had to install the door despite the issues because we had already removed the old door when we discovered the issues and could not leave a huge whole in the wall .
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will never order another Milgard product We originally ordered these French doors in mid-June of 2017 to replace a large window and also have access to a great wrap-around deck my husband built. Two and a half months later we had Home Depot deliver the huge doors and had a licensed custom home contractor do the install. The doors were 3/8" off--wider at the bottom than at the top. Very very poor quality control. Finally found someone at Milgard who reported to the VP and he connected me to a local rep. The rep drove up to our cabin in northern AZ to meet with the contractor and see for himself the problem with the doors. Another set of doors were ordered at no expense and deliv'd directly by Milgard approx. 3-4 wks later and installed by our contractor. The doors are better (they close and lock easily) but when the doors are closed there's still more spacing at the bottom where the two doors meet. Who does Quality Control for your company anyway?? Apparently, it's something we'll live with because I couldn't go through another re-ordering situation again. Besides, it could start snowing soon up at our cabin. On the plus side, we stained the wood on the framing and side lights and the color does look great. The exterior appearance is beautiful. You'll never publish my review but I'd sure welcome a contact from anyone who gives a rip about our experience. SW
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High end quality and excellent service Very, very pleased at my decision to replace my windows with Milgard. Very high quality and the wait was worth it. They make the entire house look like it was just built. I can highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my windows Replaced most of the windows in my house including two 8' patio sliders and 4 large fixed windows above the sliders. It turned out beautiful. The wood gives an extra visual warmth to the room.
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clean clear and smooth After years of struggling to open windows the milgard window opens with ease and minimal effort
Date published: 2017-11-17
  • y_2018, m_5, d_22, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_154
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.essence-series_doors, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_milgard
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 82.68ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Find a dealer near you

from
or
Use Current Location

Loading...