Essence Series® Patio Doors
Essence Series® Patio Doors

Essence Series® patio doors are a beautiful complement to Essence Series wood windows.

Reviews

HIGHLIGHTED REVIEW
Be the first to write a review.

See more >

Key Benefits

Beautiful Wood Interior in 3 Finishes
16 Powder Coat Exterior Frame Colors

Get More Information

Get inspired with beautiful imagery and innovative product features.

builders-choice-2017_600px_fiberglass.png

Milgard Essence Series patio doors are the perfect companion to Essence Series windows. 

Available in French swinging, with or without operable sidelites, and French-style sliding door models. Essence Series doors are available in 16 designer exterior colors and custom built to your size and specifications.

Milgard Essence In-Swing and Out-Swing patio doors feature designer hardware, a multi-point locking system and optional operable sidelites. The new Essence Sliding patio door feature a secondary lock option to allow the door to vent in a secure position.

 

 

Introducing the New Essence Series Swing Door

Our highly anticipated in-swing and outswing French patio doors from Milgard® are now available in our growing Essence Series product line.  Similar in design and construction to the Essence French sliding glass door, the swing doors also combines the beauty of a natural wood interior with the durability of fiberglass exterior.

All the same great features of Essence windows:

  • 16 Exterior powder coat finishes 
  • Three wood interior options: Douglas Fir, Pine, Primed Pine
  • Updated hinges for improved performance with nine finish options
  • Three new handle designs with seven finish options
  • 2-4 panel configurations with operable and nonoperable sidelites (optional)
  • ADA accessibility options
  • Top hung screen or retractable screen available
  • Eight exterior trim options
  • Milgard Full Lifetime Warranty including Glass Breakage Coverage

Essence Series Sliding Patio Door

Designed to perfectly complement the rich, warm wood interiors of Essence windows, the Essence Series sliding patio door is built with warm wood interior and a durable fiberglass exterior. Not only is it beautiful, but you will enjoy the smooth operation and superior performance for years to come. And like Essence windows, this new patio door is backed by the Milgard Full Lifetime Warranty including Glass Breakage Coverage. Explore more benefits of the new Essence Series Sliding Patio Door here.

  • Fiberglass exterior available in 16 powder-coated colors.  

  • Interior wood frame with no visible fasteners.

  • Engineered with quality rollers that provide an impressively smooth and quiet operation. 

  • Superior energy performance with SunCoat® Low-e glass coating.

  • Optional screen that is top-hung for smooth operation to minimize jams.

  • Make it your own with grids, decorative glass or expand your view with transoms.

  • The beautiful door handle comes in seven finishes and with an optional exterior keyed lock.

  • Add the optional SmartTouch® bolt for additional points of security on the door or to secure it in a vented position.

 

Essence Series® french sliding door

Timeless Design and Exceptional Quality

Design coordination is easy with Milgard Essence Series. Essence Series® patio doors are available in the same hardware finishes as Essence Series® windows. Further match to suit your style with the same color palette for interior and exterior frames. 

Moving Glass Wall Systems

Open up your living spaces to the outdoors with Moving Glass Wall Systems. Stacking and Pocket styles are available with a rich, warm solid wood interior to complement Essence Series windows.

LEARN MORE

Customer Reviews for Essence Series® Patio Doors

Essence Series® Patio Doors is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 140.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Top price, bottom quality We just had three new Milgard Essence French doors installed, having paid a lot (and I mean a lot) of money to get top quality and avoid shoddy workmanship. After it took an initial three days for our highly experienced contractor to install three doors, he explained that he was spending a ton of time trying to get everything to fit and function properly. Upon further inspection, it became clear that there were many things wrong with all three doors - bad weather-stripping, damaged and missing screens, ill-fitted hardware, wide tolerance variations, etc. Spoke with the Sacramento Warranty Center, and they put me in touch with a service tech, who advised that we finish installing the best we could, and call back to schedule a service call, where they would fix the problems. I did so, and was told the soonest they could get someone out was 7 weeks later. The rep I spoke with refused to give me the name or direct number of a supervisor. Unacceptable on all levels.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product seemed far superior to other products we researched Our French doors have just been installed so we have not had much experience with them. So far, the installation was extremely professional and great care was taken to insure that all furniture and paintings were covered. We really like the Essence series and could not be happier. There are a couple of things we wish were different, such as the choice of color for the aluminum covered ledges. We have black which we plan to paint on the interior. The one set of doors that are operable open out and the hardware is white instead of the color of the clad door. Thus, the reason for 4 stars instead of 5.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The windows are beautiful. Our new Milgard windows are beautiful inside & out. They give our French/traditional style home a fresh updated look. We went from all wood windows, that had white grids, and that had become worn & warped to the Essence Series fiberglass clad wood -without grids. We love the clean look & great ‘views’. Also, looking forward to years of low maintenance-no need to paint exteriors.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well crafted product We are more than pleased with our new windows. They are well constructed and they exceeded our expectations.
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice door Door is very solid and the lifetime warranty is what sold me. Glass is very clear and the mechanics are excellent.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Beautiful, well made quality windows. Slid into my new renovation space without a hitch. Will get Milgard to make replacement windows for the rest of the house. Highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous windows We had a few Essence windows installed a few years ago in our kitchen, which have functioned beautifully and look great. When it was time to replace our old aluminium 4' x 8'x window in our dining room, we opted to again go with the Essence line - simply a good choice, great warranty, perfect look to match our 100+ year old home. Unfortunately, the manufacturer forgot to put the weather stripping on the top side of each slider window. The installer noticed it and called for it to be repaired - which has taken over two weeks.
Date published: 2017-12-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The product has been a fiasco I bought Milgard because I was told it was the best. To my surprise it has been a total mess. Prior to the doors being installed I called to say there were problems such as doors not opening correctly. Screen doors wouldn't shut at all. I was told to install the doors and then Milgard would take care of the problem. The paint on the exterior is horrible, the hinges don't match the handles, the fir on the inside has blemishes and the door does not fit the jam. Service came out and worked to get the doors to lock. That lasted one day and they would not shut properly again. Then the door handles fell off when we just pulled the doors closed. Service again came out and adjusted the doors and fixed the handles. The screen doors were taken because they would not close. It took 8 weeks to get the doors and now I have been told it will take 8 more weeks to replace the doors and panels. I could go on but I think you get the point. VERY DISAPPOINTED!
Date published: 2017-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good The sliding windows glide smoothly, the locking system works great and the seal is great. Unfortunately, I can not say the same about the sliding door. After installation, my contractor(who recommended I purchase Milgard instead of Anderson) identified an extremely tight fit of the doors within the track causing a very arduous glide. One has to apply muscle to open and close the doors. Again, according to my contractor, he feels the door is slightly twisted. We contacted ACE Hardware, where I purchased the door and he informed that he’ll contact Milgard and that their representative will attend to this issue.
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very happy with some minor issues. We purchased two single replacement doors for two separate single patio door openings. We purchased them both at the same time. The first door we installed right away and it was great. It all worked great, there were no issues with the door before or after installation. We were very happy with the product. The second door was left in the packaging and stored in our garage because of time constraints, we were not able to install it immediately. There are a few issues with the second door. The is a chip in the fiberglass and there is a crack in the fiberglass of the jam. The hardware was not installed correctly and we could not unlock the door. We had to take the handles off and fix the mechanism in order to unlock and open the door, and the finish is rubbed off on the interior door handle on the second door. in the end we have installed it and we are happy with the door for the most part but we would like someone to come out and look at the crack in the fiberglass of the door frame. We had to install the door despite the issues because we had already removed the old door when we discovered the issues and could not leave a huge whole in the wall .
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will never order another Milgard product We originally ordered these French doors in mid-June of 2017 to replace a large window and also have access to a great wrap-around deck my husband built. Two and a half months later we had Home Depot deliver the huge doors and had a licensed custom home contractor do the install. The doors were 3/8" off--wider at the bottom than at the top. Very very poor quality control. Finally found someone at Milgard who reported to the VP and he connected me to a local rep. The rep drove up to our cabin in northern AZ to meet with the contractor and see for himself the problem with the doors. Another set of doors were ordered at no expense and deliv'd directly by Milgard approx. 3-4 wks later and installed by our contractor. The doors are better (they close and lock easily) but when the doors are closed there's still more spacing at the bottom where the two doors meet. Who does Quality Control for your company anyway?? Apparently, it's something we'll live with because I couldn't go through another re-ordering situation again. Besides, it could start snowing soon up at our cabin. On the plus side, we stained the wood on the framing and side lights and the color does look great. The exterior appearance is beautiful. You'll never publish my review but I'd sure welcome a contact from anyone who gives a rip about our experience. SW
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High end quality and excellent service Very, very pleased at my decision to replace my windows with Milgard. Very high quality and the wait was worth it. They make the entire house look like it was just built. I can highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my windows Replaced most of the windows in my house including two 8' patio sliders and 4 large fixed windows above the sliders. It turned out beautiful. The wood gives an extra visual warmth to the room.
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clean clear and smooth After years of struggling to open windows the milgard window opens with ease and minimal effort
Date published: 2017-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to install I’ve owned two homes with Millgard windows and doors. The home owner product support from customer service and their repair teams have always been great.
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very pretty wood windows Updated window line with chunkier look than previous vertical grain fir style. Looks quite nice but the handles are a bit awkward and don't feel comfortable in your hand when using. Overall have had great success with a home full of Milgard windows over 25 years, and customer service and replacement are notably good.
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from essence casement - very poor quality and functionality Purchased many new essence series casements. While they look nice, we are very dissatisfied with the quality, performance and functionality. They are very awkward to operate. The lock handle comes off when locking/unlocking. The trim around the lock handle pops out of the window. The lock handle is grinding internally and leaving metal shavings on the sill. The tech said these are common problems. He also warned us to keep them closed and locked as they will WARP over time. We sorely regret not choosing the obvious industry leader.
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Replacement of old windows In process of replacing 1912 original windows. I ordered Milgard insert double hung windows. I measured per instructions on their website. The windows were easily installed. Basically, pop old windows out and new windows in.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the fiberglass outside and wood inside These windows were installed in a complete remodel of a 1923 cottage. They were custom sized to fit the existing openings. I loved the look of the old windows (that great wavy glass!) but they had to go. I picked the 'blackest' color for the outside fiberglass frame and it looks good. And no outside painting ever required! They primed the wood inside at the factory. I could also pick the inside hardware color, Oil Rubbed Bronze, but sadly no shiny chrome for the bath and kitchen, only a brushed finish. The house was immediately quieter and there was better temperature control. When these were first installed I was very conscious that the old windows had wider rails and stiles and the new windows looked odd. But now I appreciate having more glass.
Date published: 2017-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Windows Had 3 windows installed. The quality is excellent. The ease of opening and style are fantastic. Highly recommend over other brands.
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Windows We replaced all windows in our first floor with Milgard products. Love the tint and styling - really cooled down our upstairs and improved the view. Wonderful product.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Satisfied with Essence Windows We took almost two years researching replacement windows for our 1939 bungalow. We settled on Milgard Essence wood windows because of the quality, and beautiful appearance. We stained the wood light oak. These windows blended with our traditional decor, and made our house considerably more airtight, and soundproof. Portland Millwork supplied our windows, and was very easy to deal with. I cannot stress enough the importance of proper installation. Installation of replacement windows can be tricky, and our installer Lifetime Remodeling did a great job. We had some minor issues with the windows, and Portland Millwork handled the warranty smoothly. All in all we are very satisfied.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Casement Windows Missing Sales Order No. One of the windows was missing a sales order. Not included on the registration card Our contractor was not happy with the weight of the fiberglass windows. Perhaps Milgard needs to engineer these windows for easier installation on a second story.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Features not great. Future durability remains to be seen Essence series wood windows. Difficult to finish and protect wood of operable casements as recesses are very deep and can't be reached with brush. Therefore, can't protect the wood on outside of casement. Screens can't be inserted or removed without removing crank hardware. Plastic was glued to window under screen prior to delivery with adhesive that was nearly impossible to remove. Outside appearance is good, inside lacks refined detail of other wood windows.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from look great I am impressed with the appearance and looks of this product. The stained wood frame gives the window a prominent look enhancing the entire room. Operation of these windows is solid and easy.
Date published: 2017-10-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Time will tell ... The windows were just installed 2 days ago. They seem great but we will only know their performance with time. Ask me these questions in a year when we have had an opportunity to use and test them.
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding product We purchased our new house 21 years ago. The builder had installed Milgard windows and doors with a lifetime warrenty. We have about 30 windows in our home. After 18 years, one widow developed moisture between the dual pane glass and a sliding glass door became difficult to open and close. Milgard fixed the window and door, free of charge. I was so impressed, I purchased eight Milgard Essence window for a vacation home we purchased. I could not be happier with the windows. They are beautiful, well crafted and easy to operate. My contractor was also very impressed with the windows and he is a perfectionist.
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a beautiful Product We just installed 11 windows and 1 French Door; Essence series. The wood casements look super luxe. Our windows are majority Casement and the mechanisms work well with one or two minor issues. Our GC opened a ticket with Milgard and they will be out soon to address these few issues. Over all, this is a great product, worth the 2x more $ than the Tuscany series.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wood clad windows and sliders are poor quality I bought a large clad window with grids and two wood clad sliders with grids. The exterior of our window and doors were white. You are required to stain the wood interior right away. When the contractor stained the wood, the color leached through and stained the white color that showed from the exterior side. The horizontal grids in the windows and doors started to fall off right after we purchased them. We called a Milgard Representative, he glued and replaced some of the grids, but could not replace the vertical pieces of the grid. The Milgard Representative knew the only way to make them right was to completely remove the window and doors, then replace them with another batched of new windows and doors. Milgard didn't want the expense. We have lived with them for 10 years. The grids continue to fall off and I find them on my floor. Buyers beware!
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible workmanship in crafting the wood frames We are developers for a 10 unit townhouse development. We purchased about 300 windows for this project. However, this is the last time we will be using Milgard. The attached photos -each photo is of a different window- say it loud and clear: the craftsmanship and attention to the detailing of the window frames is abysmal! Frame pieces are out of plane, and gaps between frame pieces vary from 1/8" to over 1/4".
Date published: 2017-08-24
  • y_2018, m_2, d_17, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_140
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.essence-series_doors, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_milgard