Essence Series wood 4-panel sliding patio door

Essence Series® Patio Doors

Beautiful, natural wood interior finish with strong fiberglass exterior.

Essence Series®
5

Sophisticated look. Solid and durable.

Essence Series 2-panel in-swing patio door in Evening Sky
Essence Series 4-panel sliding door
Beauty Combined with Exceptional Durability.

Highly regarded as the finest patio door Milgard manufactures, the Essence Series is a patio door like no other. Featuring a durable fiberglass exterior and a natural wood interior, the frame has been engineered to have no visible fasteners for lasting beauty and exceptional performance. 

Benefits of Essence Series

  • Natural Wood Interior
  • Exterior Frame Colors
  • Durability and Energy Efficiency
  • Hardware
  • Frame Accessories
  • Full Lifetime Warranty
Solid Wood

Natural Wood Interior
Essence Series patio doors combine the beauty of a natural wood interior with the durability of a fiberglass exterior. The interior can be painted, or stained and sealed to show off the wood grain. Choose from Douglas fir, natural pine or primed pine for a stunning wooden patio door that is perfect for replacement or new home construction.

16 Exterior Frame Colors

Exterior Frame Colors
Milgard offers 16 powder coated colors for its Essence Series patio doors. This method of applying paint is more durable than conventional finishes, resulting in a lasting color that is less likely to chip, fade or scrape. 

Essence Series 2-panel in-swing door with sidelites

Durability and Energy Efficiency

The fiberglass exterior is low-maintenance and offers long-lasting performance that will not crack, peel, bend, warp or stick due to expansion and contraction. It is also resistant to cold, heat, water, insects, salt air and ultraviolet rays.

Enjoy superior energy performance with our SunCoat® Low-e glass coating that comes standard.

Essence Series 4-panel sliding patio door handle

Hardware
Essence Series patio door hardware is available in oil rubbed bronze, white, clay, slate black or tan painted finish colors. Plated finishes are brushed chrome, or satin nickel.
Add the optional SmartTouch® Bolt for additional points of security, or, if you prefer to hold the door open in a vented position.

Frame Accessories 
Essence Series patio doors offer frame trim kits that are specifically made for the Essence Series. Available in all 16 exterior colors, options include Flush or Mitered joints in Flat Casing or Brickmould.

Full Lifetime Warranty

Full Lifetime Warranty

Backed by the Milgard Full Lifetime Warranty, we will repair or replace any defect in materials or workmanship and will pay the costs of all parts and labor for as long as the purchaser owns their home. Glass Breakage Coverage is included. If the home is sold, the warranty extends 10 years from the install date.

Essence Series Operating Styles

  • French-style Sliding
  • In-Swing French
  • Out-Swing French
Essence Series wood french-style sliding patio door

French-style Sliding
Essence Series French-style sliding patio doors come in 2, 3 and 4 panel configurations all custom made to your specifications.  They are engineered with a weather-strip system and top quality rollers that provide an impressively smooth and quiet operation.

Essence Series wood in-swing patio door

In-Swing French
Choose the Essence Series French-style in-swing patio door to accent a spacious room.  The door swings inward, creating an elegant entrance. Choose from 1, 2, 3 and 4 panel configurations. 

Essence Series wood out-swing patio door in Cinnamon

Out-Swing French
Our Essence Series French-style out-swing patio door can provide a grand entrance onto your patio. This high performing door is beautiful and makes an elegant statement. 

Reviews

Essence Series® Patio Doors

See All Reviews
Essence Series® Patio Doors is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 169.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outside protection, beautiful inside We are happy to let you know that we are pleased with our new windows. The old windows were far past their prime, especially the outside wood. The fibreglass exterior looks great and the inside wood is beautiful. The new windows make the house more pleasant in terms of temperature and no worries about colour fading. Bert and Connie
Date published: 2013-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Third home with Milgard Windows! I love the over size windows for this home! This is a custom home and the windows really improve the view.
Date published: 2018-08-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sliding Doors One screen is missing a wheel. The other screen has a dent. Both sliding doors are not locking properly on the lock that is located on the back side of each door. Claims have been filed.
Date published: 2018-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! We got the wood interior finish and they are so beautiful after staining and sealing. They slide easily and silently.
Date published: 2018-07-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good doors, terrible warranty. :( After a few days of having these gorgeous sliding doors, the screen became misaligned. The installers mentioned that Marvin has a much more stable screen mounting. Great. Today, after waiting two months for my warranty service provider to arrive, he called in sick. Ah, to take off work for these appointments. Terrible company service. You have been warned.
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Installation easy Why is finding the web-based registration form sooooo difficult?
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Design on screen doors Lock on screen door causes an individual to pop the screen off the track. Track is too small to maintain and hold the screen in place under the most normal usage.
Date published: 2018-07-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from MONEY AND TIME LOST WITH THIS COMPANY My husband and I purchased Milgard windows over a year ago from Paul at the Milgard Chandler, AZ store. At the time when I had signed for the windows I had entrusted that the order would be correct and arrive as I had requested. Paul himself said he could hold the order at their warehouse until we were ready for them. I did not want them on the job site until we were completely ready for them since the windows were so expensive. Unfortunately, Milgard delivered the windows much too early and they have been through many months of weather uninstalled, LAYING IN THE EMPTY UNFINISHED HOUSE. To top it off, several windows got mysteriously slid onto my order as well as incorrect ones, even the wrong style and color. I unfortunately trusted Milgard and paid for the order at Home Depot. Many phone calls, text messages, and begging Paul (SALES ADVISOR) to help with this complete fiasco, I finally got assistance from Home Depot managers that realized Milgard had dropped the ball on our order. Home Depot helped me order substitute windows with the credit that I got from the WRONG ONES that were delivered. Paul from Milgard told us that they would be delivered by mid June. Well, it is July now, and he is telling us that they won't be in until Mid July. It is apparent that he doesn't care at all about the money we have spent or what our windows have been through or even being able to finish our home. Everything is on hold because we cannot get our windows installed that have been LONG PAID FOR. This has been a TRUE DISAPPOINTMENT. I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND MILGARD FOR ANYONE OR FOR ANY PRODUCT. NO OFFERINGS FOR THE MESSED UP ORDER OR NOW THE DELAYED ORDER. OUR HOME HAS BEEN UNDER CONSTRUCTION SINCE MARCH, 2016......
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disapointed Imperfection in glass and glue around the edge that I am going to have to clean up.. Poor workmanship
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Essence in my guesthouse I really like my Essence windows. We built a new guesthouse and used awning, casement, double-hung windows of different sizes. I feel that the windows are secure to break-ins, but also provide the air-flow and circulation that I need. When I work on house repairs next, I plan to buy more Essence products for the house..
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful windows, well built. I bought these windows to match the old fashioned double hung windows in the 100+ year old house that I live in. These are about as close as I can get without a special custom window being built. They are beautiful windows and I anticipate them lasting a long time. They were not cheap but I think they are worth the money.
Date published: 2018-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 18 cracked or defective sashes. All screens bad. 10 months ago, I purchased around $40,000 worth of essence windows for an 1895 restoration. There were so many problems that the local representative for Western Colorado came out and we examined every window, documenting what needed to be done. At least 18 sashes need replaced and he said he was at a loss as to why so many were cracked. Every screen (I upgraded) was defective. He sent a picture of the work sheet listing all the issue to his office and told me it was already in the system. I registered the warranty and waited. I had read that service was bad and some people waited several months so I was trying to be patient. Nine months later, the rep flippantly tells me it was misplaced and to contact Milgard for service. I responded that I didn't think that was acceptable and then he said it wasn't misplaced, it was a software issue and my best recourse was still to contact Milgard but if I gave him my address, he'd see if it was in the system. I'm not making this up. He came to my house but doesn't have the address. If it was in the system, why have I heard nothing for 9 months??? Seriously, NEVER purchase anything from this company and especially not in Western Colorado.
Date published: 2018-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Milgard struggles to produce a working door As part of an $89K exterior home renovation using Milgard Essence windows and a pair of Essence doors, there have been a couple of major issues with some of the Milgard products produced for this job not to mention the issues I'm having with one of their local dealers. For this review however, I will address just one single Milgard Essence French door. The first door arrived and was installed with scratched glass and the door's frame had a severe leak when it rained dumping a sizable amount of water into the basement. The installer had to seal the door off with silver duct tape which was very festive to see throughout the holiday season. They produced a second door to replace the first, but it was rejected by the installer due to a large scratch. The third door arrives, it failed a water test conducted by both Milgard and the Installer. The fourth door arrived missing components, was the wrong color, bad hinges, and their dealer decides... to install it in anyways. For the fifth door, I warn Milgard and their dealer that this is their last chance saying that we can't allow this to go on forever. So, the fifth door is produced by Milgard and is shipped to our local Milgard factory for inspection prior to install. Milgard calls to inform me that this door also arrived scratched and is missing critical components like the door's hardware. To describe what we currently have on our home at this time is a Milgard Essence French door where the left door is the color black bean and the right door is in the color bronze, it is heavily scratched and still unusable as it will scrape on the floor when you try to open it. Due to Milgard's manufacturing issues and the poor decisions made by their dealer to keep installing broken doors, we have been unable to use this entrance for about six months. On the plus side, having met quite a few of Milgard's service techs now, I can say that they have been very professional and have been pleasant to work with. If I could just find a way to get the factory to produce a single working French door that is water tight, in the correct color, and preferably without large scratches, I can turn my attention to several of the Essence windows which I'm now told Milgard will not warranty.
Date published: 2018-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Door is difficult to open. I bought windows and doors over a year ago and have had to have someone come out to adjust the french door once, and need them to come out again. It is so difficult to open that my daughter can not open it. We had to actually kick the bottom of the french door to have it open. They are very pretty though, and we just don't use that door.
Date published: 2018-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Appearance The large amount of wood looks very professional and expensive - good for both ownership and resale of house. Very pleased with total product. Suggest: info on finishing. Should a coat of polyurethane finish be applied for extra protection?
Date published: 2018-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Installed 16 years ago Windows were installed 16 years ago, Milgard has honored their warranty without question, items not warrantied, were repaired or replaced with minimal associated cost and with excellent workmanship and follow up to the work completed. Sixteen years later, they still respond to concerns and a representative is their within a reasonable time frame. I stand by them, I believe they deserve it.
Date published: 2018-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Customer Service Getting service after purchase is terrible stay away
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Our opinion on Milgard Windows and Doors We have previously had Pella, Anderson and Milgard in previous homes. We decided upon Milgard for a recent home we built. We mainly decided because of the lifetime warranty. Well watch out - if you alter or add sunscreens, etc it can void your warranty. AND they did not tell us the screens only have a one year warranty. The windows have a plastic closure whereas our last anderson was all metal much more sturdy. These plastic closures have broken off and had to replace. The screens on the patio doors and big 10 feet door we have constantly need adjusting. We hate these screens. The windows themselves look nice and we do like them. If we had to go back and choose again, we would have chosen Anderson. The customer service with Anderson for us, was Superb. Milgard not so you have to wait for weeks and sometimes months to get service. They all three are very good quality windows but today to us, customer service is just as important. We had service and they would come out with the incorrect part/door etc. If you chose milgard you will have a nice quality window but I don't think the quality is quite as good as Anderson or Pella. Now it has been many years since we had Pella windows and about 15 since Anderson but our soon put all Anderson in his home and is very pleased. I called today in regards to our screens all need adjusting and issues with one. They informed me we only had a one year warranty on screens. This would have been fine if someone told us this information during purchase. No one ever did. Good Luck and hopefully Milgard will improve customer service and make more metal parts and less plastic on window closures.
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good windows,some issues with exterior frame color All 3 huge windows look and work great. I wish the exterior color matches better with samples shown on their sale brochures. I ordered the sand color but it came more like off-white.
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what you want We are very disappointed with the product and service. One of the few things I would change in a $360k remodel is not going with Milgard. Service team told us they will warp if not kept locked... Lock is difficult to operate and lock handle flies off... Screens are lose in the frame and hard to remove, much harder to replace. It's awkward to close them and difficult to get the handle in the right position.
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 17 condos built in 2001 97% window failure Summit construction of Portland OR has been replacing our Rear elevation siding decking etc . I am chairman of Riverview Village a 17 unit condominium built in 2001. Every window has failed broken frames etc etc each owner has now been assessed to pay including myself . Forensic consulting is our third party engineers that required replacement because of complete failure. Long story short Milgard reps have been out and wether title transferred a year later the company has dodged all warranty because of owner change. I own 2 plumbing companies and a construction company. This is an embarrassment in my personal opinion as I personally believe in making things right and have bit the bullet more times despite debate to keep a flawless record and rep. We received no discounts etc. because of existing and previously replaced windows we were forced during deck siding reconstruction to replace 47 with Milgard for financial reasons . Moving forward Riverview village located in Portland or -will be changing the front elevation to another company that stands behind there products smh.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the white interior and black exterior. Window was installed last week and it still works.
Date published: 2018-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality We purchased/installed 2 8' wide sliding doors. While the order took several months to manufacture and deliver, it was worth the wait as these are really nice
Date published: 2018-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Service call Two of our existing windows needed to be replaced. Your service technician is excellent. He came the first time to remeasure the two windows. Today he came to install the two replacement windows. He is very professional and competent. It was a pleasure to have this service call. Thank you.G
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from STAY AWAY We just installed 28 windows with Milgard essence series (fiberglass exterior with wood interior). Counting the double-hung, casement and slider sashes separately we had 47 sashes. Last Wednesday it was discovered that 27 of these sashes have twisted or bowed seals that need to be replaced (and then re-painted). This on top of the fact that 2 windows came with missing parts (we were told it will take over a month to receive the parts), and one cracked while drying from being painted on a table. Beyond this, the exterior framing on one is detached. And they are NOT as sound resistant as our last windows - we hear traffic non-stop now that we never heard before. That makes us wonder about their true ability to insulate against the heat and cold. So we discovered this warped seal issue on Wednesday. The Milgard rep came to view the issues on Thursday and now four business days later has issued no apology or plan for getting things fixed! All they have told our installer is the following: while they tell you the argon gas means something important (both in insulation quality and price) argon doesn’t stay in the windows, and at altitude (we are in CO) it has been know to push out the seals of the windows when traveling from lower altitudes to higher ones. He said our installer PINNACLE should have never been able to order windows with argon (I’d like to know then, who at Milgard looked over this order and what discount I’m going to get for windows that don’t meet the quality standards of what I purchased?!) We paid for quality windows with fiberglass exterior and wood interior and we have been sold horrible product with horrible customer service that I’m sure I’ll regret for the rest of our years in this house. STAY AWAY!
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good luck getting service Order had numerous issues upon delivery not to mention both doors would not shut and lock. After finding out the issues are manufacturing mistakes they give me a date 3 weeks to show up holding up my entire project not to mention the house is not secure. Called and called with no help from anyone here . Issues still aren’t resolved. Would not recommend using them to anyone. Worst service I’ve come across to date.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality - Delivery Time Late We are very pleased with the Essence Slider windows. It was clear during the installation they were well packed, and care was taken in the production process. We like the option of being able to disassemble the various wood interior pieces. Our only constructive comment relates to delivery time. We were promised February 8th, and the windows did not arrive until February 13th. This caused some tight turn around with regard to the installation, since we were working against weather conditions and the availability of the installer.
Date published: 2018-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Warranty - and I needed it I replaced every window in my house, 17 total. We love the ease of use and the crystal clear clarity of the glass. The insulation improvement is phenomenal. Midway through the retrofit, I used a laser thermometer to compare temperatures of my old aluminum window frames with my new Milgard vinyl frames. The difference was anywhere from 8 to 12 degrees. My home is more comfortable now! My only problem has been that two of my new windows have WARPED and are currently in process of being replaced. All four corners of each window frame are pulling away from the vertical plane of the house wall. Very odd. This makes the side-to-side sliders move with difficulty, and it creates gaping cracks at every corner, both inside and out. This warping appeared several months after installation and got worse very slowly. After about ten months, I sounded the alarm. My installer is a reputable contractor, and he's arranged free replacements with Milgard. I am confident that all will be well soon.
Date published: 2018-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed These weren't cheap windows & for some reason I expected to get what we paid for, beautiful windows. Besides having issues with a dozen or so, the screens look horrible....They don't lay flat due to the little plastic buttons added to lock them in place, which causes the screens to stick out where every single button is. Have been waiting for months for Milgard to come out to fix all the other issues we've had with the actual windows...maybe next week? (they've already canceled on us once) I'm hoping once the house is completed that the overall look of the house won't be ruined by the look of the windows.
Date published: 2018-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Windows Good looking and nice, I will recommend to all my friends and relatives to use them
Date published: 2018-02-09
  • y_2018, m_8, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_169
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.essence-series_doors, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_milgard
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 32.12ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT