French-Style Sliding Patio Doors

Similar to sliding patio doors, french-style sliding doors are ideal for locations with limited floor space or furniture near by with the appearance of traditional french doors.

operating_fsgd.jpg

Create an entrance that is beautiful from both inside and outside your home. Milgard French-Style Sliding Doors combine space-saving convenience with the elegance of a French patio door. A French-Style sliding door has the appearance of traditional swing French doors, with wider stiles and rails, while functioning as a sliding glass door. For a multiple-pane look, choose from a variety of grid options available to create the look of individual lites.

Explore Milgard French-Style sliding doors by product line or frame material below.

icn_windowselectionguide.png

Not sure what window is best for you? Download our Window Selection Guide.

Get the guide ›

Essence Series®

Learn more about the new Essence Series Sliding Patio Door with a solid wood interior.
Learn More ›

Tuscany® Series

A beautiful, premium vinyl door crafted from Milgard's proprietary formula.
Learn More ›

Montecito® Series

Vinyl doors specially designed for new construction.
Learn More ›

Ultra™ Series

Beautiful to look at ---- with little upkeep required, Ultra™ Series fiberglass doors are built to last.
Learn More ›

Ultra™ Series

Beautiful to look at ---- with little upkeep required, Ultra™ Series fiberglass doors are built to last.
Learn More ›

French-Style Sliding Doors is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 60.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very poor quality door We recently purchased this beautiful double sliding door for our new outdoor area. We chose it for it's beauty and wanted an easy to slide door that we can keep open while keeping screens closed during our beautiful summers. The first set of doors we received were warped and so hard to open that no child or weaker adult could open on their own. Screens would not stay on and fell off constantly. We thought we were getting this all corrected and waited another 5 weeks for new doors. We were excited, but to our huge disappointment we came home to our NEW doors today that are far worse than the first set. Now one side slides, one still hard to slide, doors to not close at bottom, but close at top, have to lift and hold doors closed to lock, and screens were just taken away and not installed. Once these doors are fixed we will never buy another Mill Guard product. For the price of this set of doors we expected excellence, what we received was subpar set of expensive cheap doors.
Date published: 2017-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most beautiful, strongest door I've ever owned! It totally changed our world and brought the sunshine inside, but doesn't let any cold or heat in! I am so impressed with this door - the quality is unbelievable and the locking system is amazingly strong. Everyone THINKS it is a french door, but it is a slider! I would DEFINITELY recommend this to everyone and will buy another one when I need another door! Thanks!
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slider Doors A+, Slider Screens D+... First let me say the quality and features of the doors we ordered are just what we were looking for. They not only meet but exceed our expectations in terms of quality, appearance and features (wood inside and vinyl outside). The screens that came with doors however, are another matter. They do not function nearly as well as the doors. In fact, they do not function well at all.
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty disappointed ONE delivery person showed up to unload three sliding doors. He was an hour early, which was fine because our help showed up an hour early, too. The open lock mechanism is unsightly and was not ordered. On one of the doors, the panel that that locking mechanism is mounted on is coming off. That same door has glue between the plate and the door on the door lock. There is a hole in the wood on one of the doors, there is a gouge in another door. One of the door frames has wood that is rough and uneven. The bottom wood of the frame of all the doors is oak that doesn't remotely match the pine. We paid a small fortune for these doors and expected much better service after delivery (moreso instructions for installation), and the condition to be flawless.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful door but... The door is stunning but the quality control is poor. I can only assume volume is so high that Milgard is cutting corners in order to get product out. All of the hardware needs to be replaced because of stripped screws and sloppy installation. Plus I have to wait weeks for this to be done because it is not priority work. Only if there is imminent harm to the homeowner (like door does not lock) would I get quick service. I know I will enjoy my door once these issues are taken care off but it is too bad that these issues exist in the first place.
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Look 10yrs old, 4 months in These doors look great on the inside and function well. The outside is another story. They're under a descent size overhang but occasionally get a bit of rain on them or possibly condensation. When it runs down the doors, it dries and stains. It would be one thing if it just leaves marks that can be wiped off, but that's not the case. I read online that I should use a dilute solution of white vinegar and water. I did this and nothing happened. The tech came out to determine this is not a product issue (I'm not sure what else it would be) and said to use a Magic Eraser. I'm worried that might destroy the finish. If that's the case, I hope that Milgard stands behind the advice given by their techs... If you have a place for these door that are completely clear of the elements, these could be good additions to your house. But if you're expecting low maintenance, this is not the product for you. To keep the damage to getting worse, I'll plan to clean and dry these each morning as many days as possible. Not at all what I bought...
Date published: 2017-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Construction and Ease of Use The Milgard installer was efficient and professional. He made minimal mess during the demolition of my old, deteriorating, patio door and ensured that all of the debris was carted away, much to my wife's enthusiastic relief. The new slider, a custom Essence Series Slider, professionally and custom crafted was installed in a manner that prevented any water seepage from our exterior, a major fault with our previous door. The Essence door was elegant and matched the existing interior of our den. We can't be more pleased with this unit.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Extremely difficult to open This is our primary private entrance door (in back yard between detached garage and house). Because of this, we have to lock/unlock the door from the outside whenever we leave/enter the house. The door is "sticky" to open -- it requires two hands and you have to put your shoulders and back into it. You can't even have a bag thrown over your shoulder and try and open it, it requires that much effort. To make matters worse, the outside handle is very small and awkward to get the good grasp that is needed to yank the door open. It has been several months since we purchased this door and our frustration has only increased. If we could afford it, I would 100% replace it.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A Bit Rough Quality -- it seems that this door has been cost reduced without enough attention to quality. The locking mechanisms are not easy to engage. The door track has a rough finish split in center. The screens are difficult (and maybe impossible) to adjust well. The access plugs in the door fall out and our dealer does not have a stock of spares. The door stops placed in the bottom track are rough and unsightly. The screen corners are also rough. Features: There are no "kick down" locks. The door does not have an inside trim piece to hide the closing joint and lock mechanism. Installation: The door movement is not free. And the door is leaking at the top of its closing joint. Hopefully the dealer will be able to correct all of this by adjusting the door again. The door has a great warranty. And we have confidence in our local dealer. If these were not the case, I would recommend shopping around.
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Make Sure of Details ! The door came without any locking mechanism. We are still waiting weeks to get the hardware requested and are using a board to manually block the door in the interim.
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from VG Fir wood components finish not very good VG Fir wood frame and cladding on interior of doors was not of quality expected for quality of overall door construction and price of unit. Some pieces not totally smooth and, even with Benite treatment prior to staining, did not give true "VG Fir" appearance, (Some pieces OK --- so inconsistent). One jamb extension piece has a small knot swirl --- not truly VG!
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The product is very good for our part of the U.S The ease of opening and closing the sliding door was very impressive. We are very pleased with the product.
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hard to open and close. When the door arrived at my house, the installation people mentioned it is very difficult to open. They said they had never seen this before. We filed a service request, and the technician came, tried hard still can not fix the problem. He said he will come back again and I am waiting. Until today I can not open this new door, hope it can be fixed very soon.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well designed Product excellent. Service the worst i have encountered from a name brand manufacturer. We are in month 6 to repair the door( rollers) and to make screen door correct. Still not complete after 5 trips to remedy. Each time we were put at the end of the line and had to wait a month before next attempt to repair. We have 20 windows yet to replace. Not sure we will use Mallard due to extremely poor service
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Door had a number of defects - No help from Milgard. My door was installed with a number of defects (chips, gouges, sander-marks, etc...). Despite creating a support ticket, no one would ever make a decision on how to fix these problems. Jennifer in support was nice, but every time I was told a supervisor would be calling me, absolutely nothing would happen. This has been going on since May 2016. PLEASE HELP.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely happy with our sliding door A great product. I don't mind paying little more, when the value is there. The value is there. Granted, we paid a little more for a custom made sliding door, but the value is there with the finished installed slider. I expect this slider to last for my life time and beyond.
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from French style sliding patio doors Milgard Tuscany Series French style sliding patio doors are a beautiful asset to the living room eliminating the space issue of opening in or out French style doors. Those who have seen these doors have complimented on the style and generated future ideas for their future remodel projects.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product is solid & attractive - installation was great The product is solid & attractive. The installation was great. Dick's Rancho Glass did a great job.
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunningly Beautiful doors We are just installing our new Essence Series French Sliding doors and they are absolutely beautiful. High quality and just stunning. Very happy that we chose Milgard for our three sliding doors.
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features & quality I like the fact that Milgard has a variety of window features to suit the homeowner. All of my windows and doors are now Milgard. We chose the Milgard brand because of the availability of woodclad interior doors which I could finish on my own. The Milgard brand is known for its quality and the lifetime warranty indicates a company that stands behind its products .
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Essence Sliders I've always been a big fan of Milgard but the Essence Patio doors have a major design flaw. They don't slide all the way open. I'm kicking myself for trusting that since my past experience with Milgard was good, I didn't find a showroom. They totally suck! If I take the stops out the handle will still hit the frame. Super lame design. Big eyesore! Back to Andersen I guess. grrrrrrrrr
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Attractive and solid Only installed for 3 days so far. Appears solid and attractive. After the first night installed we woke up to moisture between the the glass panes in the left non-sliding side of the door. Don't know what this means yet. The screen door is very poor quality. Nice door but with a 30 cent screen door. The threshold is black fiberglass so we shall see how it weathers the sun. Coul not get the Suncoat max tint. This is why our rating is reserved and quality is average.
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful door, but lots of problems. I love the door. I have had issues with door from day 1. The service people at Milgard are super nice, but issues related to my door are still not completely resolved . . . and it's 8+ months since the original installation.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful french style sliding doors I love the appearance of it. I wish they have option to purchase fiberglass instead of vinyl (the only option they have for this type of door) since it is quite heavy compare to fiberglass. Also more color options for both inside & outside frame would be great as my door was dark brown outside but the inside is all white (standard/no other option) since I was only able to get another color only on the outside.
Date published: 2016-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this door absolutely love this door, only one in this price class that offered so many features we wanted.
Date published: 2016-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from hazy film in windows looks terrible and cannot be cleaned. My french sliding Essence series double pain windows have some sort of fog haze inside the double panes, the windows cannot be cleaned and they look horrible. I have tried everything to clean them but since the hazy film is on the inside side of the pain there is not a way to clean them. I can only clean the surface of the window that is exposed, the exterior surface and it is the interior surface of the windows that have the disgusting hazy film.
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Over all Excellent except the attached retractable screen. The slider came with the installed option of the retractable screen. The directions with the slider did not include how to operate the screen still have not been able to keep the screen closed. It always wants to retract. No hardware or instructions were included with the door for the retractable screen only the old style sliding screen was shown.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Essence sliding patio door Really like to door however there is a malfunction on one of the doors . Contacting dealer to rectify. Would expect zero defects with a door at the price and quality
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful door. You can see its quality immediately. Great warranty. Good price.
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful and easy to use The best function of my new patio door is that I can open/close and lock it with one hand. One easy motion. the only down fall for me is that they are so beautiful I have now added one more weekly item to clean due to my dogs nose smudges. My old doors were so old and ugly that I didn't care if they were dirty. I also had windows installed at the same time. One easy motion as well. My shades were always closed with the old windows. Now I open the shades just to see the windows and the great view my property has. Thank you Milgard for such a great product.
Date published: 2016-01-22
  • y_2018, m_2, d_17, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.french-sliding-style_doors, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_milgard