Out-Swing French Patio Doors

French patio doors that open out to maintain the usable space inside your home.

operating_outswing.jpg

French doors have an aesthetic appeal that achieves an elegant, timeless look inside or outside the home. Out-Swing French Doors open to the exterior of a home and maintain usable space on the inside of the door. For a multiple-pane look, choose from a variety of grid options available to create the look of individual lites.

Explore Milgard Out-Swing French doors by product line or frame material below.

icn_windowselectionguide.png

Not sure what window is best for you? Download our Window Selection Guide.

Get the guide ›

Essence Series®

The durability of a fiberglass exterior and the beauty of a wood interior in natural Pine or Clear Vertical Grain Douglas Fir or choose a primed Pine to match your interior trim.
Learn More ›

Tuscany® Series

A beautiful, premium vinyl French door crafted from Milgard's proprietary formula.
Learn More ›

Ultra™ Series

Beautiful to look at ---- with little upkeep required, Ultra™ Series fiberglass doors are built to last.
Learn More ›

Ultra™ Series

Beautiful to look at ---- with little upkeep required, Ultra™ Series fiberglass doors are built to last.
Learn More ›

Out-Swing French Doors is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 51.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was a reasonable choice for my situation. The Milgard door came close to being what I wanted. So far it is functioning as one would expect. Too bad that I had to deal with Home Depot (HD). I had established a target install date that was close to 3 months from initial purchase date, but it took over a month for HD to get the order completed correctly, over a month for HD to send the order to Milgard, a month to have the door built and delivered to HD, and another month for the installers to be notified that it was ready, and almost another month to get the installation scheduled. Don't purchase from Home Depot.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waiting for frame to be straitened Newman Windows installed the door assembly and Milguard replaced the damaged door panels. If I would do this again I would deal directly with Milguard instead of going through an outside contractor like Newman. I'm still waiting for Newman to fix my door frame by straightening it out since the door still ribs on the frame. I told the Milguard repairmen to take pictures and talk to Newman but since the installation I have not heard from anyone. Make a sale and forget about the coustomer. Is this the future of sales???
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from By in large happy with service and product I had a problem in the installation. A hinge on one of the doors was stripped. Talked to John George, who sent out a replacement. Unfortunately, the wrong hinge was sent. John sent out the correct one. He was very helpful and accommodating. Several issues with the product. One of the sidelight screens had a small hole on it. Also the plastic piece which is part of the mechanism to remove a screen is missing. These are minor problems which I did not pursue. I'm finding out in my remodel that nothing is perfect and I have learned to live with it. Even with these minor issues I think this is a great product. Many compliments from friends. And they look great! So neat to open the sidelights in the morning to let in the cool morning breeze
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is secure Looks great, but the best thing is the locking system. It is easy to use but tough!
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lots of things not working Had the doors installed after 2 attempts because the window company hired said they were the wrong doors, then they finally got installed and the door doesn't lock, which is a safety issue, and the screwed that adjust the door level inside the door just keep spinning and aren't adjusting. Little frustrating after spending so much money. The door looks great and is solid, happy as far as that goes but the fact that it doesn't lock or adjust like it should is really upsetting. Hoping the manufacturers will make this right
Date published: 2017-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It is well suited to our need, room size, decor and access. Excellent Information on the product from Lowee's before purchase. Installation Professonal and knowledgable. Great Experience for my wife and I.
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking French door Very nice and beautifully made product. This door enhances the overall value of our home.
Date published: 2017-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the lock I wish the door locked automatically when closed, instead of my having to manually lock it every time. One of these days I'm going to forget with perhaps a negative outcome.
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Less Than Expected Three french doors were installed on November 15 in Orange County, CA. Each door had quality control issues. Scratched face plates, wrinkled weather stripping, bend lock, keys not matched and more. My first scheduled repair was available in 6 weeks. They did not show. After I called, they said the parts had not arrived and apologized for not letting me know. Next appointment available was in another three weeks. They arrived without the parts. Next appointment available, a month later on February 28th. Unecceptable. I have now called the local office in Temecula many times and still have not received adequate communication on my repairs after their promise to stay in touch. Will not buy from this company again.
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product awesome installation I love my out swing with inswing sidelights makes such a difference to my house to have direct access to my backyard from my bedroom. The installation was perfect they wiped down the product and showed us how to operate them. Awesome Fernando and Jesus thanks Guys and thanks Design Windows and doors absolutely loooooove the door
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very disappointed We purchased the French doors as a remodel of our home. The doors have not even been installed a year and the exterior door hinges are rusting. I called Millard and was informed that since I live "near" water the hinges are not covered under warranty. I was very disappointed as I've had Pella French doors in a previous home "near" water and did not have the issue at all. What also was disappointing was the women I spoke with did not offer any type of resolution. These doors are less than a year old on a brand new remodeled home and they look horrible.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking and solid Great looking door with solid locking mechanism. Beautiful glass and the hardware is awesome. I am a little concerned with the inside striping along the inside edge of the two windows. It looks like it was glued on and will probably come off soon. I also wish it came with some white touch-up paint for those unexpected scratches. Aside from these two concerns, it looks to be a really solid, attractive door.
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great door. These doors are a definite upgrade compared to standard sliding glass doors. The dual panes reduces heating and cooling costs and the side panels can be opened from the inside allowing ventilation while side panel screens keep bugs out. The door lock takes a little getting used to but can be mastered quickly. Overall this is a great door.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product meet all expectations. Installation was completed in less than 2 full days and were the perfect replacement to 2 windows. Our living room is very light and the out-swing French doors offer easy access to our patio.
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best. Very pleased. Bought a new window and French doors. Attractive, easy to use, high quality, and worth the price.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just as beautiful as what I had imagined! I did quite a bit of shopping before I purchased these Milgard French Doors. I had seen other doors that over time began to droop in the middle. These are more expensive, but they are so well made. These are going in our new home, and I can just tell that they are made to last. We just got them installed yesterday and I'm really looking forward to many years of great service.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent installation experience Just installed three out-swing doors as replacement for existing out-swing and sliding patio doors in 15-year old north San Diego subdivision construction. Look like excellent value. Utility, quality of construction, and aesthetics all appear excellent. Plan to update review with experience.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the door is beautiful like the included hardware and locking The door itself is great. My contractor had some difficulty installing the door. The size of the actual doors were a surprise. The doors were 76" and we expected them to measure 80" If you are taller than 6'4 you may have to duck to get through. The quality of the door is very nice and the hardware and locking mechanism included with the door is great.
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love our new doors. The doors are well made and high quality. I was also impressed with the high level of security with triple bolts and a secure lock. The crew from design windows and doors did an wonderful job installing them. The lock took a little getting use to but it's fine now. The only downside is that they were very expensive but well worth it. We are very satisfied.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The door was built very well. The locking sysrem has some problems The door was built very well and easy to install. There is a problem with the locking system, unable to lock the door.
Date published: 2016-05-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doors do not close properly I like the look but the doors do not close properly.
Date published: 2016-04-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing Quality I have other Milgard ultra windows and have been very happy with them. Ordered French doors in the same series which were installed this week. I question if there is quality control at Milgard. The way the paint was applied is really terrible. Drip spots, paint overspray. Really poorly finished especially for the price paid.
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New French Doors We replaced three Milgard sliding patio doors with swing out French doors, what a difference.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great looking door, couldn't install it properly The door is very beautiful, very solid built. However, there is an issue with the way it closes. We have to pull the door quite hard to have it closed. We were told by one of your field specialists that this is the way these doors are - due to the thick rubber that they have on them, they require extra force to close them. The problem for us is that we have small kids so every time they attempt to close the door, we have to have an adult going to the door and actually close it. We also purchased Tuscany windows and they look and work amazing.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great door- Worst lock The installer locks the door just fine, he is about a foot taller than I and 100 lbs more. I have to shut and lock the door with both hands. Very difficult for a 5 ft, 130lb woman. Other than the lock, it seems to be a great product. Very nice looking, brings in the sunshine very nicely.
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful door We purchased our out swinging French door with sidelight to replace an old sliding glass door in our remodel project. It looks great and works great. Installation was quick. It did take some time and energy to get the glass clean. I was able to lightly sand off a few dark marks on the vinyl. We are very pleased with the door.
Date published: 2016-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased Being retired from the resort business I tend to have pretty high standards on products and installation. I am very satisfied with the Milgard product. The house looks totally complete now.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Attractive French Doors Just recently had two sets of French doors installed. Installation went smoothly. Only complaint I have, thus far, is that the doors are a bit awkward/ difficult to lock. I guess I will have to practice opening and closing them till I get the hang of it!
Date published: 2015-11-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very Frustrated We purchased 2 doors. One of them still doesn't close correctly it is out of alignment. The screens do not seal. The rubber seal is too short and the frames seemed warped.
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great looking doors this doors look great but still tried to install but it seems that is not closing correctly the contractor spend a lot time trying to closed a gap on top this doors after 4 hrs still can't get it correctly
Date published: 2015-07-19
  • y_2018, m_2, d_18, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.french-outswing-style_doors, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_milgard