Milgard Doors Rated
Read these reviews
"Treat Yourself. You Won’t Be Sorry" – Martinez, CA

When it’s time to select a patio door for your home, you’ll be amazed at the possibilities available. With so many styles, colors and frame materials to choose from, the sky’s the limit. Patio doors can reflect your personal style in addition to framing your view and letting in light. It’s more than just a passageway for guests, it’s an opportunity to add character to your home and create a statement.

Explore Milgard patio doors by operating style, product line or frame material below.

Sliding Patio Doors

Sliding patio doors are a popular choice for many homeowners because they allow a lot of light to flow into the home and don’t protrude out into the living space. This makes them a good fit for rooms where space is limited. You can choose from standard rail or the wider look of a French sliding patio door with 2, 3 and 4 panel configurations.

Learn more

French Style Sliding Patio Doors

French style patio doors offer an elegant touch to any home, with wider stiles and rails providing a classic, traditional look. A French sliding door operating style is a great solution for rooms with tight spaces. Consider adding grids patterns for decoration or side lights for additional daylight or venting.

Learn more

In-Swing French Patio Doors

Swinging French doors are an elegant choice and come in two operating styles: In-Swing or Out-Swing. For In-Swing doors, the hinge is located on the inside of the house and the door swings inward. These work well in areas with ample room to allow the door to swing freely without bumping into furnishings and help to maintain usable exterior space.

Learn more

Out-Swing French Patio Doors

French Out-Swing patio doors offer the same look of wider stiles and rails that you’ll see in a sliding French door, but they swing outward on hinges that are located on the exterior of the home. This allows more room for furniture inside and creates a clean look to the interior door frame. This is a great solution for expansive patios with available space to accommodate the external door swing.

Learn more

Pocket Moving Glass Wall

Glass walls, also known as Moving Glass Wall Systems come in 3 operating styles: Pocket, Bi-Fold or Stacking. Despite their large size, they open and close easily. With Pocket patio doors, the panels tuck into the wall, allowing the full width of the door opening to be accessible for foot traffic. With this option, all the door panels disappear from view when the door is fully open.

Learn more

Bi-Fold Moving Glass Wall

Bi-Fold Moving Glass Walls open smoothly and easily due to their stainless steel, ball bearing rollers. One of three options for glass walls, the Bi-Fold operating style is a great solution for replacement patio door projects because the weight of the door is bottom loaded. As each panel is opened, it folds on top of the other like an accordion.

Learn more

Stacking Moving Glass Wall

A Moving Glass Wall System can become a focal point in your home and highlight the entry onto your patio. With Stacking glass walls, each panel will stack on top of the other as it slides to open or close on an individual track. The number of panels you choose corresponds with the number of tracks you will have. Available in Aluminum or Clad Wood frame options.

Learn more

 

 

Essence Series - Sliding Doors by Milgard

Essence Series®

Experience the revolutionary design of all natural wood paired with a fiberglass exterior frame.
Learn More ›

Essence Series - Sliding Doors by Milgard

Tuscany® Series Vinyl Patio Doors

A beautiful, premium vinyl patio door crafted from Milgard's proprietary formula.
Learn More ›

Montecito® Series

Vinyl patio doors specially designed for new construction.
Learn More ›

Style Line® Series

Satisfy your desire for a clean design with Style Line® Series slim-profile doors.
Learn More ›

Ultra™ Series

Beautiful, durable fiberglass patio doors built to last.
Learn More ›

Moving Glass Wall Systems

Moving Glass Wall Systems

Seamlessly transition from the indoors to outdoors with Milgard Moving Glass Wall Systems.
Learn More ›

Moving Glass Wall Systems

Aluminum Series

Light and thin with the hallmark of aluminum durability.
Learn More ›

Ultra™ Series

Beautiful, durable fiberglass patio doors built to last.
Learn More ›

Need more ideas on patio doors? Check out our latest blog article.

See Patio Door Ideas ›

Customer Reviews for Patio Doors

SEO

Milgard® Doors is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 517.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful quality! Very happy with the look and feel of the Ultra French Doors. We were able to get a custom size and love the hardware we chose. The style blends nicely with the rest of the house. Handle lock is a little tricky, but we're already getting used to it. Glad we made the decision to go with Milgard once again!
Date published: 2013-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what we were looking for 1960's Eichler style home with aluminum sliding doors, needed replaced along with 9 pieces of frameless full-hgt. glass units. Doors worked perfectly style-wise, ease and quietness of operation is a plus. Retained look of home, noticeable change in keeping cold out.
Date published: 2013-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasting beauty and durability I've had my Milgard doors and windows for 25 years and they look as nice today as the day they were installed. The rollers on my doors began to tell me that they are 25 years old, however. They were still perfectly functional but were just harder to move open and closed. Milgard responded promptly to my request for replacement rollers under thier most remarkable warranty program and, within a week, two professional and courteous technicians came to my home and replaced the rollers on both doors in no time. Great work Milgard. I assure you that you are very much admired and appreciated.
Date published: 2013-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Form follows function Wonderful quality door, but that's not why I bought it....I bought it because of Milgard's reputation for service after the sale.....Beautifully balanced swing on each door. quality materials-stainless steel hinges and door handle...about the handle-it's a 5point locking mechanism which I appreciate for it's superior locking/security- and you need it in a french door....the door was factory painted-and the finish is indeed superb.... I had a problem with that door lock -it closed with difficulty after 6 months, so I called Milgard and they had a tech out quickly...he was professional, efficient and fixedthe issue.... I wish Milgard made single doors-they don't....the door is very expensive, but you do indeed get what you pay for when it comes to doors....
Date published: 2012-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Door. This door is more solid that he solid door that we replaced. I didn't think that possible. We absolutely love it!! it looks perfect like it always belonged there. The added screen feature we are for sure going to love this summer! Everything came pre-installed, all we did was put it in the hole in the house, and poof it was perfect! My only problem was figuring out how to operate the handles. That was a learning curve, as we had no directions included with our door. When we figured this out, it was a very impressive door, with amazingly secure feel. Would order from Milgard over and over! Thanks!!!
Date published: 2012-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! Love our choice of Milgard windows and doors in our new Hawaiian home, perfect!
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are beautiful looking sliders I have been purchasing Milgards for the last 15 years in all 3 of my homes. I have always been pleased with the quality and workmanship that comes with this brand of Windows/doors. Thank you for your exceptional products!
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great features and durability we bought two Milgard sliding doors to replace old aluminum ones and installed them ourselves. They work great, have been in now for four years and we have never had a problem, we could not be happier. Thank you Milgard for making such a great product!
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great seal Great slider, but.......still think it's way overpriced!!! Some of the assembly very poor ......parts are obviously not "pressed" in all the way, and I wonder if anyone inspects the product before it leaves.....didn't notice until it was installed, but no biggie, maybe Milguard will send their worker here to fix.....doesn't hurt performance, just kind of ugly for a brand new $1700 door!!
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Door Lock Out of Alignment The French doors look good, however, the locking bolt, on the passive door, doesn't align with the socket that it is supposed to go into. We have to apply a lot of inward pressure to get the bolt to line up. Something that my wife is not strong enough to do when I'm not around. We have a service call out on this. But to have this issue "right out of the box" makes me wonder about their quality control process.
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Price steep, quality poor New door jammed and won’t budge... still partially open letting cold air in. Called Milgard and it’s distributor but they’re both closed... time to bundle up.
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks like a mediocre product based on quality control I bought two Tuscany sliders and was amazed at how poorly they seemed to be assembled. One door was missing the stops. Doors with internal blinds depend on the stops to not damage the blind actuators. How this was missed is beyond me. The screen on one door had a tear from the factory and both screen sliders were almost impossible to get the lock to work because the sides were bowed in from a poor screen installation, pulling the lock away from the fastener plate. The actuator guides on both doors were not aligned symmetrically to the jam. The jury is out regarding longevity but we are enjoying moving away from vertical blinds for the time being. I give the screens 6-12 months before they are no longer functional. Our last Milgard aluminum frame sliders lasted over 25 years but I don't have much confidence for the Tuscany series. We will see. On a positive note folks at Galt Glass where I got them were amazing to deal with and offered to fix the screen and provide missing stops as soon as possible. I would definitely give Galt Glass 5 stars. I going with 3 for the Milgard Tuscany sliders until we see what happens down the road.
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Matches my other Milguard doors and Windows Replaced an old set of sliding glass doors with Milgard Aluminum sliders. Contractor tried to get me to buy vinyl doors but that wouldn’t have matched every other milgard aluminum door and window in my house. Door functions smoothly. One glitch, the bubble wrap protecting the doors left sticky residue on both doors, inside and out, but Milgard came out and cleaned it sparkling clean for me so no complaints here. Good quality door.
Date published: 2018-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Appearance issue, wrong instal instructions provided On one of two doors I purchased the hinge stile is longer than the lock stile by about 3/16th of an inch it is noticeable after installation, I need to sand it down and refinish area when the weather gets warmer. The instructions provided to both doors gave enough information on door installation but the hinge adjustment information was for a different type of hinge. I found the correct information after digging around your website. All in all a nice, solid and secure door (s).
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Top price, bottom quality We just had three new Milgard Essence French doors installed, having paid a lot (and I mean a lot) of money to get top quality and avoid shoddy workmanship. After it took an initial three days for our highly experienced contractor to install three doors, he explained that he was spending a ton of time trying to get everything to fit and function properly. Upon further inspection, it became clear that there were many things wrong with all three doors - bad weather-stripping, damaged and missing screens, ill-fitted hardware, wide tolerance variations, etc. Spoke with the Sacramento Warranty Center, and they put me in touch with a service tech, who advised that we finish installing the best we could, and call back to schedule a service call, where they would fix the problems. I did so, and was told the soonest they could get someone out was 7 weeks later. The rep I spoke with refused to give me the name or direct number of a supervisor. Unacceptable on all levels.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the blinds inside of the doors. The door has low-E, heavy duty screen and built in blinds which are adjustable. Easy to open and close, slides very easily.
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these doors We replaced 2 sliding doosr with out swing french doors. We love the look of these doors and feel the value was well worth it. Our concerns: The glass is very difficult to clean. When the sun hits the glass you see every flaw. It is hard to tell but possibly the interior of the double pain is not clean. Therefore, difficult to have clean glass. The other issue is the lock feature. It has a several point "lock" feature. It seems backwards. There should be a several point "unlock" feature. Once they were in our 2 year old grandson walked over and simply opened the door. He could never lock it, but easily open it. We had to find third party child proofing.
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Windows are much quieter and keep our house much warmer than our previous windows. The clean white windows and hardware blend nicely into our home's style. They are easy to open and close. We are very happy with them.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product seemed far superior to other products we researched Our French doors have just been installed so we have not had much experience with them. So far, the installation was extremely professional and great care was taken to insure that all furniture and paintings were covered. We really like the Essence series and could not be happier. There are a couple of things we wish were different, such as the choice of color for the aluminum covered ledges. We have black which we plan to paint on the interior. The one set of doors that are operable open out and the hardware is white instead of the color of the clad door. Thus, the reason for 4 stars instead of 5.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheap, poorly fitting product I just purchased 3 new patio doors at a cost of almost $6000. All 3 doors fit poorly, the center posts are warped, and when you close the door, the sliding door's frame must jam into the center post to move it out of the way, so the door can close. 2 of the 3 doors had chipped paint on the handle. The screens I was promised were never ordered. I've never been so disappointed in a purchase in my life, and I will demand some sort of satisfaction. Worst product experience of my life, especially for so much money.
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good looking, not functioning OK, I'm not sure if it's the door itself or the installation problem. I can't close and lock the door with one hand no matter how hard I slam the door. It looks like that when slide closing, the interlocking part (center of the door) are not fully engaged. I have to use my other hand to push the closing door against the fixing door and slam close to make sure it engages so it can lock. Contractor acknowledged at the time of installation but ran out of time and promise to come take a look.
Date published: 2018-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy with my selection. The quality of the door is good. Plus the installation company did a great job. Cal Coast Windows and Doors
Date published: 2018-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great window Great windows and Doors Strong Frame Easy to use
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lost a lot of view We were not expecting to loose as much view as we did. Expect to loose 6-8” of glass all the way around. It was way more than we expected. The construction looks very fast and not great. In the good, quick cheap scheme of how these things usually work, they look like they chose quick first. The final seams are mediocre and there is plastic in the seams of the glass. The glass has a little paint from slap dash factory painting the the frame has a bald spot from lack of detailed finish. Over all they are fine but not the quality craftsmanship I would expect when paying this much for most things. I would make different decisions next time but don’t necessarily regret my purchase.
Date published: 2018-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Where’s my lock? I didn’t think I would have to specify that the outside of my door has a keyhole to open the door with....now I have to call Lowe’s and leave messages for people asking where my lock is and how to get one installed on my new door... Installers did a nice job, door looks good and very sturdy. Hopefully it lowers my heating bill a bit.
Date published: 2018-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice door Door is very solid and the lifetime warranty is what sold me. Glass is very clear and the mechanics are excellent.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Disappointed with Construction Very happy with our windows (Ultra Casements) but supremely disappointed with one of two new sliders. (The other is pending installation). It's an 8' french fiberglass slider. There were minor issues, like messy caulking around the edges of the components (during manufacturing) and various parts of the door and frame that came with chipped paint. But the biggest issue is the pull-force required to open and close the door. After install it took 17-22 lbs. of pull force to open the door. ADA requirement in California is around 7 lbs. According to the Milgard sales rep, it should be pulling at around 7.5 lbs. After the third attempt at professional installation and significant lubrication, and after replacing the wheel assemblies that were cracked during shipping, it's now pulling at about 15 lbs. I'm shocked a door this expensive comes with a composite wheel set, as opposed to the metallic assembly on the Essence series. I'm also shocked that the slider door is warped causing it to drag along the back side of the front of the frame, creating additional pull friction. As it sits now (30+ days after install) still waiting for the sales rep to come to my home to investigate. After spending $20k on windows and doors you'd think this would already be resolved. BTW, I am a licensed general contractor in CA since 2010 and no, I did not install these doors myself. I subbed it out to a professional installer.
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Multiple service calls & still does not operate When door first installed Oct 2016 there were numerous issues including holes and screen falling out of our "upgraded" screen door, Missing plates for smart tough bolt, handle scratched down to metal, dark striation in white frame. Took Milgard 33 days to come out and replace their defective door. After these fixed, weather stripping fell out. Next were issues with our upgraded smart touch bolt handle. Had service come out again on 11/2/16 to fix, by 11/4/16 door would not lock at all. Out more expensive smart touch bold handle has never worked well and we alway have service "adjust" and try to fix it. By June 2017 part of the frame was cracking - a 7" crack. Now Dec 2017 out upgraded locking handle will not lock. If you can get it to engage a simple light push of the door pops it open! Great security, glad we spent extra for it. Just put in another work order request to Milgard and hopefully they will be out in the next 30 to 45 days to fix our lock. This door is a complete disappointment and we are very sorry we did not spend the money for the much better quality of Anderson. Just glad we had Anderson do out windows and not Milgard. Buyer beware of the lack of quality of Milgard. Also curious is Milgard will actually print/publish this review.
Date published: 2017-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks nice Had Acme glass install all new windows and patio doors in our home. Both products look nice and appear to function well. We just had them installed and it is winter time so we are not opening and closing the windows much. I do believe for the price we got a good value. Too soon to say how well they work, but I do know that the guys that installed them were wonderful, quick, and really cleaned up after themselves.
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love it This is are second sliding. Are first one from another manufacturer broke the first week. This one is great and we love it..
Date published: 2017-12-28
  • y_2018, m_2, d_18, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_517
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.all_doors, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_milgard