Essence Series® Wood Windows

Experience the revolutionary design of all natural wood paired with a fiberglass exterior frame.

Reviews

HIGHLIGHTED REVIEW

A fantastic buying decision. We are also glad that we went with the Essence series since the self locking, one click lock response is very assuring and easy for windows to be open. - Phoenix, AZ

See more >

Key Benefits

Crystal Achievement Award recipient for Most Innovative Window
Solid Wood Interior
16 Powder Coat Exterior Frame Colors*
Full Lifetime Warranty with Glass Breakage Coverage

Get More Information

Get inspired with beautiful imagery and innovative product features.

Wood has always been praised for its beauty and natural insulating properties inside the home--but presented real challenges in terms of durability on the exterior. With Essence Series®, Milgard combines the best of both worlds. A durable fiberglass exterior stands strong to protect a solid wood interior against the elements for lasting beauty and exceptional performance.

bestinthewest_webgfx_wood.png

*Powder coat color options vary for radius windows.

 

Essence Series® Radius Casement

Coming Soon!

Milgard introduces the newest operating style to the Essence Series wood window line — the Radius Casement.  This new style offers elegance, beauty and functionality for any home.

  • Available in arched or round-top styles with matching picture windows. 
  • Your choice of three solid wood interiors to match all Essence Series windows & doors and your woodwork.
  • Concealed hinges and no visible fasteners ensure a clean look.
  • Durable phenolic exterior allows for shapes not available with fiberglass material, in 16 exterior colors.
  • Folding/nesting operating handle in five metal finishes.
  • Several grid options available.
  • Operable casements ranging in heights from 24” to 84”.
  • Frame accessories that match all Essence Series windows and patio doors.

caa2016_black-bg_175x60.png

Milgard Windows & Doors was recognized with the 2016 Crystal Achievement award for the Most Innovative Window, from Window & Door magazine, for its new Essence Series® radius casement.

 

Quality that will never go out of style.

When Milgard set out to create a better wood window, we re-imagined just about everything. Essence Series windows are now the wood window of choice for homeowners, architects and builders; and a popular choice for new construction, renovation and remodel projects and historical restorations.

Essence Series Has It All

Make it your own with radius tops, shapes and grids.

Hardware

Don’t forget about the hardware. You have your choice of 5 different finishes that will fit any décor.

essence-hardware-chips.jpg

Essence horizontal slider and double hung windows come with the patented SmartTouch® lock. This lock was awarded the Ease-of-Use Commendation by the Arthritis Foundation for its innovative and universal design. The SmartTouch lock engages when the window is closed and is unlocked with just a single motion. It’s the easiest, smartest way to lock and unlock a window, and also assures you that when your window is closed, it’s locked.

 

Exceptional Quality

Essence windows are not merely a ‘fiberglass-clad’ wood product, but a true wood window enveloped by a tough, durable fiberglass frame. Milgard's secure connecting system firmly joins the wood interior frame to its fiberglass exterior frame for an aesthetically superior appearance with no unsightly nail holes or staples.

Essence Series fiberglass exteriors are resistant to water, cold, heat, insects, salt air and ultraviolet rays for long-lasting performance and low-maintenance. The powder-coated fiberglass exterior finish won’t crack, peel, bend, warp or stick due to expansion and contraction.

Every Essence Series window and patio door is designed and assembled in the U.S. and custom made to exact size and specifications.

Innovative Engineering

Mulling

Essence Series windows use a newly engineered mulling system that more securely connects multiple units, creating a tight seal and protecting against air and water infiltration. The systems also allows for windows in combinations.

Water Management

Milgard developed a new, advanced water management system, exclusive to Essence Series windows. In the rare event that water enters the sash system, it is directed away from the beautiful wood interior. This allows the window to perform at a higher design pressure than most other wood windows, making Essence windows ideal for all conditions.

Protection

Essence Series windows exceed industry residential standards for air and water filtration and forced entry, protecting your home against the elements and helping keep your family safe.

Watch a video about our Fiberglass Pultrusion and powder coating processes.

Patio Doors Refined

Milgard Essence Series patio doors are the perfect companion to Essence Series windows. 

Available in French swinging, with or without operable sidelites, and French-style sliding door models. Essence Series doors are custom built to size and specifications. Choose from a palette of 16 designer exterior colors.

Milgard Essence In-Swing and Out-Swing patio doors feature designer hardware, a multi-point locking system and operable sidelites. The hardware is available in the same finishes as the windows so you can give your home a unified, consistent look.

For even larger glass options, open up your living spaces to the outside with Moving Glass Wall Systems. Our stacking and pocket glass wall systems are available with a rich, warm solid wood interior to complement Essence Series windows.

 

Essence Series Sliding Patio Door

Designed to perfectly complement the rich, warm wood interiors of Essence windows, the Essence Series sliding patio door is built with solid wood and a durable fiberglass exterior. Not only is it beautiful, but you will enjoy the smooth operation and superior performance for years to come. And like Essence windows, this new patio door is backed by the Milgard Full Lifetime Warranty including Glass Breakage Coverage. Explore more benefits of the new Essence Series Sliding Patio Door here.

  • Fiberglass exterior available in 16 powder-coated colors.  

  • Interior solid wood frame with no visible fasteners.

  • Engineered with quality rollers that provide an impressively smooth and quiet operation. 

  • Superior energy performance with SunCoat® Low-e glass coating.

  • Optional screen that is top-hung for smooth operation to minimize jams.

  • Make it your own with grids, decorative glass or expand your view with transoms.

  • The beautiful door handle comes in seven finishes and with an optional exterior keyed lock.

  • Add the optional SmartTouch® bolt for additional points of security on the door or to secure it in a vented position.

 

Essence Series® french sliding door

Customer Reviews for Essence Series® Wood Windows

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well designed Product excellent. Service the worst i have encountered from a name brand manufacturer. We are in month 6 to repair the door( rollers) and to make screen door correct. Still not complete after 5 trips to remedy. Each time we were put at the end of the line and had to wait a month before next attempt to repair. We have 20 windows yet to replace. Not sure we will use Mallard due to extremely poor service
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent quality window We purchased this window to replace a window in our house that was badly weathered and would no longer open. The Milgard product has excellent quality for an affordable price. We will definitely use Milgard windows as we continue to upgrade our home.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from handsome and sturdy It does what one expects a casement window to do. It opens and closes smoothly, looks very pretty, and insulates properly.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What amazing service and beautiful windows I had a great experience with Pacific Mutual Door here in New Mexico. I have arthritis and my husband and I moved to Albuquerque last year. My new Milgard windows are so much easier to operate and look beautiful. The folks at Pacific Mutual were gracious and very helpful throughout the entire process. I would recommend both companies.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Door had a number of defects - No help from Milgard. My door was installed with a number of defects (chips, gouges, sander-marks, etc...). Despite creating a support ticket, no one would ever make a decision on how to fix these problems. Jennifer in support was nice, but every time I was told a supervisor would be calling me, absolutely nothing would happen. This has been going on since May 2016. PLEASE HELP.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely happy with our sliding door A great product. I don't mind paying little more, when the value is there. The value is there. Granted, we paid a little more for a custom made sliding door, but the value is there with the finished installed slider. I expect this slider to last for my life time and beyond.
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Windows look great! We live next to the ocean in a harsh, windy environment. Our old windows began to fail and we were looking for a high end window that would look great, keep the rain out, and provide a great warranty. Milgard's Essence line fit the bill. We are excited to have the new windows!
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New Windows winter will determine quality Just installed, one of two came dinged and with blemishes, Will need extra sanding.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunningly Beautiful doors We are just installing our new Essence Series French Sliding doors and they are absolutely beautiful. High quality and just stunning. Very happy that we chose Milgard for our three sliding doors.
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor finish Nice product with good features. Finish is not quite up to par. Corners are not joined perfectly. We had to return the first order as the finish was way too poor. Granahl is not good to work with.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features & quality I like the fact that Milgard has a variety of window features to suit the homeowner. All of my windows and doors are now Milgard. We chose the Milgard brand because of the availability of woodclad interior doors which I could finish on my own. The Milgard brand is known for its quality and the lifetime warranty indicates a company that stands behind its products .
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Essence Sliders I've always been a big fan of Milgard but the Essence Patio doors have a major design flaw. They don't slide all the way open. I'm kicking myself for trusting that since my past experience with Milgard was good, I didn't find a showroom. They totally suck! If I take the stops out the handle will still hit the frame. Super lame design. Big eyesore! Back to Andersen I guess. grrrrrrrrr
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not liking the double hung Generally they look pretty good and substantial. However there are some major design flaws on the double hung. 1. the sill has a big chunk of wood on the face so the sill is not flat. It looks flimsy and doesn't work well for me since I use a window fan in my bedroom and its always falling out or into the screen and I don't want it in there permanently. One window is about 1 in tall and the other is 2" tall. Not sure why that is as they are the same application 2. they don't offer a sash lift and will void the warranty if you install them. So I get finger prints on the wood and/or glass when I open and close. I used a satin polyurethane. Very disappointed in this lack of feature. Mine had some quality control issues with the wood but I can't be bothered to have it replaced as it's been a long remodel. see pic. The screen on the casement is made of a different wood, possibly alder and has a whiter, yellow color so these had to be stained to match the fir. Not sure what the proper way was to install these in terms of the interior caulking but my contractor used a brown or white depending on the location and it looks awful! see pics I like the functionality of the casements though. I wish I would have researched these more but the contractor has an exclusive.
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful window and view of the desert. I bought a little cabin in the desert and put in new windows, bigger windows, and more glass. I have a lovely view and these windows are beautiful and they were within my price range. I am still working on the cabin but so far it seems as if these windows will keep me cool, or warm as needed.
Date published: 2016-07-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from hazy film in windows looks terrible and cannot be cleaned. My french sliding Essence series double pain windows have some sort of fog haze inside the double panes, the windows cannot be cleaned and they look horrible. I have tried everything to clean them but since the hazy film is on the inside side of the pain there is not a way to clean them. I can only clean the surface of the window that is exposed, the exterior surface and it is the interior surface of the windows that have the disgusting hazy film.
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the door is beautiful like the included hardware and locking The door itself is great. My contractor had some difficulty installing the door. The size of the actual doors were a surprise. The doors were 76" and we expected them to measure 80" If you are taller than 6'4 you may have to duck to get through. The quality of the door is very nice and the hardware and locking mechanism included with the door is great.
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking interiors... Just had 3 windows and 3 doors (2 sliding glass, 1 French door set) replaced with new Milgard Essence series and the look is just what we were looking for; a neat, clean, 'craftsman-style' of look, and these windows hit all the right marks. We chose the fir interior and had them pre-finished in a satin clear polyurethane finish prior to install, and they look really great. It's way too early to even mention how well they hold-up to use (only been installed ~2 weeks), but they feel very solid and the hardware seems to operate smoothly and accurately. Just hope we feel the same way 10 years from now! So yes, I would recommend these windows and doors... so far. However, time will be the determining factor whether or not this recommendation still holds true in the future!
Date published: 2016-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Essence sliding patio door Really like to door however there is a malfunction on one of the doors . Contacting dealer to rectify. Would expect zero defects with a door at the price and quality
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them We installed Milgard when we built in 1998 have loved them everyday. An occasional adjustment is all that has been done.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from feberglass outside Liked the fiberglass on the outside with the wood inside. The color choose was good.
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Essence Slider Windows Just got these installed and they look beautiful from the inside and outside! Love the clean lines and modern hardware.
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks good, but some issues The window looks great and works well. However, the installation instructions were sadly lacking--and we had to go searching online to find them. Plus there was a hole in the wood next to the latch that was left there from a screw driver bit that we will have to patch. Seems like an $800 window would have better quality control!
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New French Doors We replaced three Milgard sliding patio doors with swing out French doors, what a difference.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great window I replaced an older dual pane aluminum single hung with the Essence casement. Wow! What a difference, it makes the whole room warm and inviting. The installation was easy and the build quality was excellent.
Date published: 2016-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Apperance, Easy to Use This wood clad series has added a lot of curb appeal to the house. Inside the wood look has added warmth to all the rooms. Glad I did it!! The sales person at Beach Builders Supply in San Juan Capistrano was over the top with knowledge, information, and support thru the entire process. Tony V. was great; well the entire staff went out of their way to help me and the install was done by pros!!!!! Thank you
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product but quite expensive Fit, design,construction and finish of windows and casements appear to be quite good ; what one should expect for high price. However, price appears nicely competitive with other companies. Wooden screens fit way too tightly but are solid in construction and design. Had to have installer return to remove tension clips at top of each screen. Now the screens can be removed without fear of significant damage [screens are not warranty covered], but now fit somewhat loosely. Tension clips need to be less stiff!!
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Your windows leak worse than the contractor grade windows they replaced. The triple-paned double hung window leak around all of the seals. The "rubber" apparently is brittle in cold weather (temps lower than 28 degrees F). The wind blows right through them. The glass conducts the cold inside. There is no dead air insulation space between the 3rd pane and the other 2, all 3 are mounted in the same sash. The 3rd pane should have been in its own sash and track. All 3 of the panes were tinted which defeats the purpose of the low e glass. The windows also are not sound proof as triple-paned windows properly designed and constructed should be. Sound proofing is as important to be as the energy savings. The sliding glass windows also leak around the seals for the same reason as the double hungs. I am very dissatisfied and expect Milgard to either fix the problems or replace these windows with something that is sound proof, energy efficient, as well as attractive.
Date published: 2015-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased Being retired from the resort business I tend to have pretty high standards on products and installation. I am very satisfied with the Milgard product. The house looks totally complete now.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product/Company Love the door, solid door. Also great company to work with, very nice and respectful
Date published: 2015-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very attractive, well-insulated, and solidly-built. We purchased 3 Milgard Essence casement windows and one custom 8' sliding glass door. They were just installed on Sep. 4, 2015, and so far, meet all of our expectations. They are very attractive both inside #stained wood# and outside #white coating#. The satin-nickel finished hardware is attractive. They are well-insulated and have a nice tight fit. They are solidly-built, sturdy & strong. The glass is tempered and double-paned. Installation was straight-forward and easy.
Date published: 2015-09-04
  • y_2017, m_2, d_24, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_81
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.essence-series_windows, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_milgard