double hung windows

Double Hung Windows

Double hung windows make cleaning easy and allow for added ventilation with their double tilting sashes.

Double Hung Windows

Double-Hung windows are one of the most popular styles for homeowners. The window can be operated from the bottom or top sash, sliding up and down for ventilation. Since it opens and closes without protruding, double-hung windows are an excellent choice for rooms facing walkways, porches or patios. Milgard double-hung tilt windows have sashes that tilt inward to enable easy cleaning of the exterior glass.

Explore double-hung windows within a Milgard product line or by frame material below. 

 

icn_windowselectionguide.png

Not sure what window is best for you? Download our Window Selection Guide.

Get the guide ›

Essence Series®

Experience the revolutionary design of all natural wood paired with a fiberglass exterior frame.
Learn More ›

Tuscany® Series

A beautiful, premium vinyl window crafted from Milgard's proprietary formula.
Learn More ›

Montecito® Series

Montecito Series® vinyl windows are specially designed for new construction.
Learn More ›

Quiet Line™ Series

Exceptional sound control in midst of the busiest environments
Learn More ›

Quiet Line™ Series Sound Control Vinyl Windows
Double Hung Windows is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 138.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a beautifulbeautiful product installed by the best working crew I have ever seen. The crew arrived exactly on time - as they have all week as they have been here installing other windows in our complex. A team of 5, each bringing in their supplies and what ever they would be needing. Each person had a job and he went right to work. No one stood around waiting for something to do, they helped each other when needed, called to the next person to continue where they had left off, and let the next person know exactly as they finished their job. Near the end, they all helped each other and began cleaning up, taking out every bit of refuse, scrap and extra supplies. Lots of friendly chatter between the crew, so they seemed to enjoy each other and their job. It was a Friday, so they all wanted to get back to the shop as quickly as possible, but not once did they stop just to talk, check phones or gaze out the windows. The product is beautiful - bright white, almost invisible screens ,installed in a logical order by the person tasked with the job, all tested for fit, locking and ease of closing before I was called for a lesson in how to use the windows: open, close, lock, take out screens, lock the door - no questions left unanswered. The "boss" had to leave for another appointment - but there was no slacking off. I'm so pleased, impressed, and will enjoy the Milgard windows for as long as I live here. A great investment, great management staff and a superb work crew.
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High end quality and excellent service Very, very pleased at my decision to replace my windows with Milgard. Very high quality and the wait was worth it. They make the entire house look like it was just built. I can highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Replacement of old windows In process of replacing 1912 original windows. I ordered Milgard insert double hung windows. I measured per instructions on their website. The windows were easily installed. Basically, pop old windows out and new windows in.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth the extra money Decided to spend a little more and go with the Tuscany, and now I regret it. 3 of the 6 windows arrived broken or incomplete. Milgard says they're too busy to warranty them. Windows are very clear, except where cracked. Don't expect them to open and close like they do in a showroom.
Date published: 2017-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the fiberglass outside and wood inside These windows were installed in a complete remodel of a 1923 cottage. They were custom sized to fit the existing openings. I loved the look of the old windows (that great wavy glass!) but they had to go. I picked the 'blackest' color for the outside fiberglass frame and it looks good. And no outside painting ever required! They primed the wood inside at the factory. I could also pick the inside hardware color, Oil Rubbed Bronze, but sadly no shiny chrome for the bath and kitchen, only a brushed finish. The house was immediately quieter and there was better temperature control. When these were first installed I was very conscious that the old windows had wider rails and stiles and the new windows looked odd. But now I appreciate having more glass.
Date published: 2017-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Installed, Left, no one to service our broken window. Ridiculous. We installed our windows 2009. Recently, the frame to our window suddenly snapped and pieces flew out. We can no longer open that window. Milgard advertises a life time warranty. We have contacted Exterior Medic, the installers of the windows and they have told us Milgard is no longer in the area and they couldn't service our window. And thus we were sent on a wild goose chase to find someone to fix our window. It's amazing how a company that used to be in the area left just a year and a half ago and now has NO ONE to service the windows. They installed windows in the area for more than 6 years, how is this possible. Why is it on the customer to go on a wild goose chase to find a window servicer in our area. RIDICULOUS.
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Milgard Tuscany Windows I had a hard time finding someone to order these expensive windows. I finally ordered, they came in and were installed. There was a lot of trouble with installation and I have been trying to get help ever since. Cannot get anyone to call me back and let me know the status of my Windows. Several of them need to be replaced or fixed and I cannot move forward with bricking my house until this is resolved. Customer service has been very poor.
Date published: 2017-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from quality product love the windows. sliding door needs tech help to fix locking problem.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good windows, poor finish The finish quality was very poor. The plastic strips you use to push the window up had to be sanded the edges were very rough. along the side the tracks that the windows slide up and down in have plastic pieces that were cut to cover the end of the track were crooked and not long enough. i had to finish the sanding. Milgard is supposed to come out and replace those pieces. Still waiting. It took the rep, a Jordan's rep, my contractor, and myself to convince my wife we should keep them. I believe the quality of the windows is very good. Just the finish was disappointing.
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent features These windows are very easy to open and clean. We had to replace 2 east facing bedroom windows and were concerned about heat and light. After installation the temperature in the room dropped and we have plenty of light. I definitely recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this product looks nice love the double hung style. I also had some non double hung installed but sometimes they do not click shut very easily, I struggle with getting it to latch. frustrating
Date published: 2017-09-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from should be checked before sent to me I just put two of your double hung windows (Tuscany). I was shocked that they were not in any kind of protective box, or protected by cardboard at least. The special screens I ordered looked like they were sitting out in a dusty yard, there was a small hole in the screen (I cannot prove exactly when that happened, but it was not while I have been in possession of them). There are scratches on the outside of the glass on both windows, they both had manufacturing debris in the channels where the windows slide. There was caulking of some sort that caused one window to stick closed. This order I thought was for two special order windows approx. 30"x 50" but they were dirty and looked as though they were sitting on a shelf waiting to be sold. I will end up buying more windows to replace all in my home, and I hope they are in better shape than these two. Part of the problem might be the Northtown Reno Home Depot store in Nevada, but not all of it. You should both care what kind of condition your windows are in when a customer spends hard earned money to purchase your product.
Date published: 2017-09-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from hope they stand behind warranty 3 of the 8 windows have problems from factory they keep saying rep. will come and fix but no rep. yet! the quality control on my batch was terrible the installer is an independent installer and said he has never had 1 problem until now and always recommended milgard. I feel a 37% problem rate is exorbitant.
Date published: 2017-08-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Engineering and the company rep will not stand behind its product My windows are only ten years old and water is now flowing through the bottom of the window and down inside the wall and comes in through the top of the downstairs windows, To make matters worse, the rep from Milgard here in Great Falls, MT is not taking responsibility. I will not replace these windows with Milgard due to the customer service and lack of responsibility of the Milgard rep.
Date published: 2017-08-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lacks functionality of a double hung window Visited big box stores to view and try out double hung windows. They all opened effortlessly and all had the horizontal pull bar on the lower frame of the window as well as one on the top part. This made it easy to lift up the window, and open it fully,whether or not you were tall or short. So I decided to just allow my contractor to order and install 2 of these windows for me; however, when they arrived they did not come with the pull bars on the bottom part of the window frame as those samples from the stores. in addition, after installing, the so-called security locks didn't work properly (the outside top window would drop about a quarter inch each time there was some friction between them and had to manually reach to push the outside window up to secure it in place. Another issue with the windows is that they don't glide as easily as they should. It takes much effort to raise and lower the windows. I would not recommend purchasing a double hung window unless it came with a pull bar on the bottom part of the frame. When I contacted Milgard, they stated that the Tuscany is the only model of double hung windows that did not come with a bottom pull bar which doesn't make sense to me. Why would they make great products with a great warranty and skimp on a most needed function on a double hung window simply because that model is a so called "entry level" window?
Date published: 2017-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The latches are terrific Solid construction and so easy to clean. They look beautiful inside and out.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Difficult to lower the window When the lower section is raised to its maximum level there are locks on the top of the panel the automatially lock and in order to lower the panel both of the locks must simultaneously be slid toward the middle of the panel. At the height that the window is installed I must stand on a stool to do this while reaching over the toilet. It would be best if the locks did not operate automatically.
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Appearance & operation of windows are great. We only purchased 4 windows so not sure our thoughts when more are replaced. However, the windows do not allow as much exterior noise to enter the house as our old windows did and they hold down on sun radiation. We feel we will enjoy these windows because they seem very efficient, look good and are easy to operate.
Date published: 2017-08-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product fails! We purchased a house that is 10 years old and a numbers of windows are failing. By failing I mean the double pane glass is leaking in the center and is getting to the point you cannot see through them. We looked into the "Lifetime Warranty", but we were told that since we were the 3rd owners of the house that the windows are not covered. of all the windows and doors in the house, only the Milgard windows are failing! I will never purchase another of your product knowing that is how you stand behind your product with a "Lifetime Warranty" that is anything but!
Date published: 2017-07-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lovely, but DH mechanism is not good. I have had DH windows in all my homes so I have years of user experience in operating them and knowing their nuances. The look of the Essence DH is great. The mechanism has given me trouble from day one. You notice the weight system rattles (and I mean a lot) when you open the window and it definitely does not seem sturdy. Operating the DH window is also very noisy - a first for me with ANY kind of window from various manufacturers. Opening the DH window is so noisy that it wakes up people sleeping in the room or draws the attention from others in distant rooms. When I open the lower the top falls making it so that I have to lift the top into place before closing the bottom. This is not how DH windows typically function. I avoid opening them to avoid dealing with the noise and reminder of how much money I spent on ~20 Essesne windows. The other styles (casement, awning) are fine, but Milgard missed the mark on the DH. This may not be true for a single hung style but the Double hung windows I bought in 2016 definitely are a problem. I like Milgard but would not recommend buying the DH Essensce unless this issue of improper weighting and noisy, rattling mechanism is resolved. On first glance you see a lovely window; then you open it and it feels and SOUNDS cheap.
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great windows + great installers = happy customer My Milgard windows are in the process of being installed, but I'm very happy with the security the double hung windows provide. The installers from US Window and Door in Carlsbad are amazing as well. So far, one of the windows is not working correctly, but I am assured that someone from Milgard will be taking care of it soon.
Date published: 2017-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful addition to our kitchen This window will be the starting point of our kitchen remodel. It is a beautiful addition to our home.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Milgard did address my problem . . . A Milgard Tuscany double hung on each side with a very large stationary window in the middle showed a breaking-up pattern in the large glass, and the Craftsman-style dividers did not meet up horizontal to vertical. After following their instructions fully, including photos, I dealt at length with customer service people asking for the impossible (How could I supply a line number when you refuse to tell me where I can find it?) Finally two personable customer service guys came over and replaced the center glass and the top sections. I see improvement, but if you'd like the vertical bars in a Craftsman window to butt up against the horizontal bar, look elsewhere. The broken-up layer in the center glass was fixed. It seems Milgard tries to see that you're satisfied, but in the future, I have other choices.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Features Ordered through Home Depot and got 15% off promo. The windows arrived a week late but everything worked out fine. Nice windows.
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am Totally Pleased I was referred to Rondy's Glass Service in San Bernardino, CA by our contractor. Doug Valko was very accommodating by meeting at the residence and taking his time to measure then work up a quote. Though he gave advice, Doug was very patient and was able to meet my needs on the windows. The windows were professionally installed and the installers cleaned up afterwards. I am very pleased with the double hung windows and service provided by Rondy's Glass Service.
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Retrofit Double Hung Windows Easy Installation, Quality Control Poor. Windows Purchased 4/27/17, install completed 05/09/17. The windows are Vinyl, unfortunately the quality control for the silicone sealant used and vinyl trim around glass, is very poor. Examples: Sealant Globs in the Corners of Glass Sealant around the entire glass has several areas of Globing. There are portions of the vinyl around the glass that are peeling off.
Date published: 2017-05-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Could not be more disappointed - windows look terrible I could not be more disappointed. The home I bought in 2012 had Milgard windows so I thought I would use the same when we switched out two single hung windows for one double hung window and a larger double-double hung. On the new windows, the plastic pieces making the outside frame do not fit neatly, there are gaps and the framing is therefore bent. I had Milgard service come in and take a look after they were installed, they agreed the framing was not up to par and attempted to replace the plastic pieces. unfortunately the "fix" still looks shabby and bent, and there is still a gap where they tried to force the new piece in. All of the seams where the pieces of the window come together have ugly plastic "glue" unevenly covering the connections. Some of the corners have gashes in them - maybe they were trying to scrape off the plastic glue???? I know what these connecting areas should look like - it should look like the old Milgard windows I had. Unfortunately, these windows look terrible and I will not purchase from Milgard again. Service person who came to try to fix the framing had no comment on the sloppy look of the corners/connectors.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Double Hung Windows Don't Close After 3 service calls because our double hung windows don't close, we were told today we are closing them wrong. The windows are so poorly made that they bend when you try to close them, so we were told we have to push up on the outside corners of the windows, not the middle. So if you don't have a wide arm span and strong arms, don't buy these windows. (Our garden window was assembled with the main window pane installed backward -- that was another issue!)
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The handles don't close all the way I ordered the double hang because of their versatility. I like to be able to open either end and turn the bottom window outside in to wash it. The problem is that when you close the window, it doesn't click to close all the time. I understand it is an issue with the double hung. I asked Milgard to come and take a look, but their first appointment is 2 months out. I'm still waiting. I don't use the windows meanwhile.
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great windows, if they are right the first time I never judge a company by their mistakes. Mistakes happen, especially in construction. The way Milgard handled the mistake that happened on our order was not acceptable to me. We ordered 6 windows. 4 of them were perfect, the other two were "not acceptable to install", according to our rep. I don't know what the issue was, or who's fault it was, but at the end of the day, the issue required our rep to reorder product, which pushed the entire project back several weeks. There was no consolation offered, no discount, not even really an apology. These windows are well-constructed, but I dislike the closure on the double-hung style windows. In order to engage it, you have to hold the upper lite while pulling down sharply on the lower pane. It's inconvenient.
Date published: 2017-03-13
  • y_2018, m_2, d_20, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_138
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.double-hung-style_windows, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_milgard