Horizontal Sliders

Horizontal slider windows slides to the left or right for easy-to-open capabilities allowing in natural light and fresh air.

slider-606a.jpg

Horizontal Slider windows open with the sash sliding left or right. Some people find sliding windows easier and faster to open than crank-style windows. Since they open and close without protruding, horizontal sliders are an excellent choice for rooms facing walkways, porches or patios. Horizontal sliders are a favorite for contemporary style homes and are also popular for satisfying bedroom egress requirements. In a single slider, one sash slides to open. In a double slider, both sashes open. Double sliders are great for providing air circulation, particularly if there is only one window in the room. 

Explore Milgard horizontal slider windows by product line or frame material below. 

icn_windowselectionguide.png

Not sure what window is best for you? Download our Window Selection Guide.

Get the guide ›

Essence Series®

Experience the revolutionary design of all natural wood paired with a fiberglass exterior frame.
Learn More ›

Tuscany® Series

A beautiful, premium vinyl window crafted from Milgard's proprietary formula.
Learn More ›

Montecito® Series

Montecito Series® vinyl windows are specially designed for new construction.
Learn More ›

Style Line® Series

Satisfy your desire for a clean design with Style Line® Series slim-profile windows.
Learn More ›

Ultra™ Series

Beautiful to look at ---- with little upkeep required, Ultra™ Series fiberglass windows are built to last.
Learn More ›

Quiet Line™ Series

Exceptional sound control in midst of the busiest environments
Learn More ›

Quiet Line™ Series Sound Control Vinyl Windows

Aluminum

Light and thin with the hallmark of aluminum durability
Learn More ›

Horizontal Sliders is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 300.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from windows let water in My custom $$$$$ windows leak. I was told that the design of the window channels the water that runs down into a channel inside the house where it sits until the little flappers outside eventually open and drain the inside channel. I was told by the contractor and the tech that, this is the way the windows are designed and there is nothing they can do. The windows are supposed to keep water out, not collect inside to drain out later. The windows are similar in design to the ones replaced, which never channeled the rain inside. I do not recommend custom windows from this manufacturer.
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from do not let home depot install i got bad install, even orapak the door distributor said worst install, leak, ice, windows doors crooked, leak i showed them the air coming in on 4-5 windows at bottom where they slide with smoke, they your seller left this disabled veteran hanging, hd said this was right window for montana, but my new contractor said not enough r value now i freeze
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lock is great! I really like the lock feature very easy to operate and open. Takes no strength at all.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the windows Purchased only one of these, rest are awning and casement. Windows look great and are made well.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent quality window We purchased this window to replace a window in our house that was badly weathered and would no longer open. The Milgard product has excellent quality for an affordable price. We will definitely use Milgard windows as we continue to upgrade our home.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reduces noise and AC electric bill considerably. Windows were a great upgrade for my Tucson Condo. Noise and energy usage were reduced considerably. They slide easily and the latch is super easy to operate, both closing and latching and unlatching and opening.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clean Appearance Very impressed the clean appearance and look the windows have. Easy to clean and maintain. Took time for us on (how to get use) opening each window; due to different locations and close-ness to our vertical blinds.
Date published: 2016-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple Elegance I like the styline windows because of the frame being "thinner" from a viewing standpoint. It really makes a difference. After all - I bought windows to see out of - not to stare at an oversized frame. I like the single hand locking mechanism as well. Squeeze and pull. No need to twist to lock.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good windows Overall we're happy with the looks and the noice reduction and of course the noticeably less heat penetrating our home in the summer time.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whole House Fantastic install. Fantastic windows. House soooo quiet and house uses way less energy to keep cool or warm.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Retro-fit is beautiful These windows were retro-fitted into my old existing frame which eliminated the need to remove stucco on my exterior. I noticed immediately how much more quiet these windows were compared to my old aluminum windows. Also noticed no more cold air seeping through. I am expecting a lower utility bill as well. These windows look beautiful, and I have received numerous complements from my neighbors. I suspect my neighbors will be purchasing Milgard windows too. Thank you for such a lovely product, and thanks to Lowe's for the hassle-free installation.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just installed these windows and they look great! We'll see how they hold up to the rain & fog... Installation was easy and quick. Windows look great. However it took a long lead time to get the windows in- (4 months). We'll see how they hold up over the long run. Like that there is a lifetime warranty!
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from screens very poor fit bought 13 windows 9-22-2016. 11 screens were all at least 1/4 inch to small and bugs got in.almost 3 months and no new screens.bad realy bad
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic windows! Jackson's Glass, Inc. from Oroville, CA did a phenomenal job with measurements & installation! We love them.
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the new windows! We have a mixture of types of windows installed. we have 4 horizontal sliders, 3 single hung, a non opening small window, a large picture window, and a casement window! We are very excited to finally have energy efficient, beautiful windows! I know Milgard to be a great product and look forward to many years of use.
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the look and function Our purchase included Style line Picture and Sliding Windows and Montecito Sliding doors. The result has been dramatic. Looks, function, security and ease of use are outstanding.
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tuscany windows We are very pleased with our windows. The quality and professionalism of the windows/ installer made the process seamless. We would definitely use them again in future homes.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Windows I love our windows !! I don't like that the holes in the frame where they drilled into the frame are not covered. In our last home we installed Milgard windows and the was plastic covers for those installation holes.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great window Was just installed but is of outstanding quality and looks wonderful.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This a great sliding door. Thank for this great sliding door, we're so pleased with this beautiful sliding door.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good location for this window The slider allows me to open/close the window over my sink that was impossible to access w/out a stool.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No regrets Today is the second day after installation, so way too early to determine overall satisfaction or to give five stars. Three things I'm immediately pleased with: 1). When windows are closed, they lock automatically, and the process of opening them automatically unlocks them. (As comparison, thirteen years ago I had similar windows installed in a previous home. General appearance is the same, but in order to lock or unlock the previous windows, an inconspicuous lever had to be flipped. Often when leaving home, day or night I closed windows and doors, but often forgot to flip the locking lever, or would try to shove them open before realizing they had to be unlocked.) 2) These windows have a generous sized, all-in-one handhold for opening/closing/locking. (With my previous windows, the handhold was inadequate, and often in opening or trying to open them before realizing they were locked, my fingers would slip off the handhold, causing a bit of pain and annoyance.) 3) In the current home, my son and his wife share a larger bathroom, while I have a smaller one with entry through my bedroom. When having a shower it was necessary to turn on a ceiling fan, plus either open the bathroom window slightly and/or turn on a space heater or fan, faced toward the bedroom - otherwise mirrors and windows in both rooms would steam up. Today, after a first shower with new windows, I realized that with focus on the news of election antics, I had forgotten to do the steam prevention routine; but was pleasantly surprised to see that neither windows nor mirrors were obscured with steam.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! Great windows and doors...what a difference they make!
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tuscany windows is of high quality. Construction is of high quality and windows slide is of excellent fit and finish
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally updated the look of our house These windows were a simple and easy upgrade that totally updated the overall look of our 1986 rambler. They are easy to slide and lock automatically. The windows also decrease UV light coming into the house, while the view through the window to the outside appears brighter and more contrasted.
Date published: 2016-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Is good The only reason why I don't put a five stars is because I should have safety lock on the windows and I only get them in three of my windows and they have diferent handle.
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very happy with the efficiency and ease in use of the the windows and patio doors. Wish more color options for the trimmings were available. very happy with the efficiency and ease in use of the the windows and patio doors. Wish more color options for the trimmings were available.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific sliding doors I had three sliding doors installed by a professional glass company. Installation was efficient, everything was finished in about 6 hours, including removing the old, wood sliding doors. These vinyl doors are so much simpler to operate, which was a primary reason for buying them. But, the low E glass was also an important consideration. I'm impressed with the locking mechanism. I'm completely happy with the new sliding doors.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality, large window slider should of had rollers Window purchased is 51 x 72 slider. Looks great and is strong. slider is not smooth. Surprised that the slider was not on rollers for such a large window. Their new handles stick and must make sure the window is locked.
Date published: 2016-10-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not satisfied i was told that laminated glass window by Tuscany line would give me a good amount of sound proof. I paid a higher value for these windows and the outcome was disappointing, there is no difference between my old windows and new. The sound travels inside the house with the same amount compared to the old windows. My walls are made out of plaster which is stronger and thicker than drywall walls and my roof also is insulated. So i wasted my money buying tuscany laminated glass windows.
Date published: 2016-10-07
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_300
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.horizontal-slider-style_windows, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_milgard