Horizontal Sliders

Horizontal slider windows slides to the left or right for easy-to-open capabilities allowing in natural light and fresh air.

slider-606a.jpg

Horizontal Slider windows open with the sash sliding left or right. Some people find sliding windows easier and faster to open than crank-style windows. Since they open and close without protruding, horizontal sliders are an excellent choice for rooms facing walkways, porches or patios. Horizontal sliders are a favorite for contemporary style homes and are also popular for satisfying bedroom egress requirements. In a single slider, one sash slides to open. In a double slider, both sashes open. Double sliders are great for providing air circulation, particularly if there is only one window in the room. 

Explore Milgard horizontal slider windows by product line or frame material below. 

icn_windowselectionguide.png

Not sure what window is best for you? Download our Window Selection Guide.

Get the guide ›

Essence Series®

Experience the revolutionary design of all natural wood paired with a fiberglass exterior frame.
Learn More ›

Tuscany® Series

A beautiful, premium vinyl window crafted from Milgard's proprietary formula.
Learn More ›

Montecito® Series

Montecito Series® vinyl windows are specially designed for new construction.
Learn More ›

Style Line® Series

Satisfy your desire for a clean design with Style Line® Series slim-profile windows.
Learn More ›

Ultra™ Series

Beautiful to look at ---- with little upkeep required, Ultra™ Series fiberglass windows are built to last.
Learn More ›

Quiet Line™ Series

Exceptional sound control in midst of the busiest environments
Learn More ›

Quiet Line™ Series Sound Control Vinyl Windows

Aluminum

Light and thin with the hallmark of aluminum durability
Learn More ›

Horizontal Sliders is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 300.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good windows Windows are great, you can feel the energy efficiency right away.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product They are great .They work perfect. Easy up and down.
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS PRODUCT MADE A DIFFERENCE IN OUR HOME WE PURCHASED WINDOWS AND DOORS FROM MILGUARD THRU HOME DEPOT AND CONTRACTOR INSTALLED. WE ARE VERY HAPPY WITH OUR NEW MILGUARD DOOR AND WINDOWS
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit, great color match. I had 49 year old aluminum sliders replaced with these windows. The style is perfect, the fit is great and 8 windows and 2 sliding doors were installed in a day. Milgard makes it possible to enjoy a quiet home and now a brighter home. It is so different with all of the sunscreens off. Thank you!!
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice windows Very nice window and the installation went well. The only problem was all the screen are too small and have a gap for things to fly in. Hoping to get them remade. The window look great on the out side. The trim that tapes on the inside is not the greatest but works. Need to come up with something better. Other than that we really like them. Thank you
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Looking Windows I had 9 double sliders, one double hung window and a four panel patio door installed on my property. The windows & door have not only changed the appearance of the house for the better but compared to our old aluminum windows they have made our house a much more comfortable place. The windows are extremely easy to use specially after using a few times and the energy efficiency is already noticeable. The only reason I have given it 4 stars as of now is because when I washed the windows using a regular garden hose water was noted coming in between the two sliders into the inner channels of all the windows. As per the installer this is normal and rain should not be a problem. However in my opinion if water has come in using a regular hose with minimum pressure I am sure rain water is also going to come in. The channels are deep and water flows out very fast which definitely helps, however in heavy rains am not sure the channel will drain fast enough. And this is why I have given it 4 stars for now and should the windows work as promised by the installer then I will happily change this review to reflect 5 stars and rate this product as excellent overall. With this review I am also hoping to hear back from Milguard directly to hear their comments and solution which would further instill confidence that they truly stand behind their product, offered warranties and installers workmanship.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from window latch problem I installed 5 windows, 1 window latch didn't work and would't lock, I'm waiting for Milgard to get back to me to fix this so I give them 4 stars
Date published: 2016-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Latches are sometimes difficult to use Latch/lock/Handle should be easier grip when using. Sometimes need to strain to open or slam to close.
Date published: 2016-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fiberglass Construction - Retrofit These windows were purchased at Ashby Lumber, Concord, California. Ashby maintains an extensive show room and has warehouse facilities to support customer purchases. Ashby stores deliveries until the order is complete. My contractor was then able to install my complete order during a single period of work. The sales staff fully supported my order, answered questions, allowed me to compare the different Milgard product lines, and recommended the fiberglass frames as truly maintenance free and dimensionally stable products. I was impressed by the obvious signs of precise component fabrication and by the careful hand assembly of these windows. Measurements were correct. I had a very precise installation of these retrofit windows.
Date published: 2016-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the new windows I can't believe the difference the new windows make. I have more light and they are so easy to open and close. So glad the contractor picked these windows for me.
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The finish on this product is substandard One grid in the window is not straight. In the other window there is gray material between the panes that make the window look bad.
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we needed We had aluminum windows and they were leaking and had been for years. One of the companies that comes to the house had given us a bid many years ago that was very expensive so we kept putting off replacement. I started doing research recently and was then given a referral to our dealer who then recommended Milgard. I was familiar with them as they had been a customer of mine at one point and I knew they had a quality product and strong reputation. We went with his recommendations and they are all he said they would be. They are easy to open, nice screens that are easy to remove and they keep the house about 10 degrees cooler because they don't leak and because of a slight tint we also had them put on. Very happy to have new windows. The old ones were 36 years old!
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we were looking for. We had ordered 3 windows to open up an existing wall for light and view. The first windows delivered had some problems. However, when the representative from Milgard saw them he immediately reordered new windows. The new windows are great.
Date published: 2016-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very Happy with purchase we purchase windows for our room 10 years ago same brand so this time we went back to same distributor for new kitchen windows and we are very happy. the quality is great!, nice looking window.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful window and view of the desert. I bought a little cabin in the desert and put in new windows, bigger windows, and more glass. I have a lovely view and these windows are beautiful and they were within my price range. I am still working on the cabin but so far it seems as if these windows will keep me cool, or warm as needed.
Date published: 2016-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my new windows. The Windows and sliding glass door have a very nice appearance , but I especially like the ease of opening them and the fact that they automatically lock when closed. Also, no more air leaks like the old aluminum windows had.
Date published: 2016-07-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love/Hate relationship Wood adds a touch of elegance to any setting and we were hoping to get the best of both worlds by spending a little more for wood clad windows. They do make it quieter and seal better, so far, than plastic. However, the wood veneer is very thin, don't think that you will be sanding it down to put a fresh coat of stain and varnish on it, that won't happen. The slider is extremely difficult to remove for servicing and each removal leaves a mark on the veneer and you will probably have to hunt down a wheel and axle or two anytime you remove one. If you have an issue, make triple sure that your contractor measures every dimension of not just any piece you need but any piece involved in the final assembly, including hardware type and finish or you will be sorry. If you or your contractor cut the insulation strip, repair is to replace the window complete, let that soak in. My contractor cut two window insulation strips and flubbed a parts order for another costing me the price of a whole window by the time he finished screwing up. If you have to get a new window, make sure that they tell you each and every piece that will go into the completion of your order including ridiculous items like like weep hole covers.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The house is so quiet now This is our 2nd purchase of Milgard windows and we still love them! Our first time was 15 years ago in California. This time we put them in our home in Washington. We couldn't wait to install new windows after living for a few years with 20 year old aluminum windows that were part of the original build of the house in 1990. What a huge improvement our new Tuscany vinyl windows have made! So quiet and so easy to open. We will never buy any other window brand.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, Smooth and Functional We purchased the Milgard Tuscany Series (6 total windows) Double Slider Vinyls, Horizontal Sliders and Obscured Sliders for our 3 br, 1 ba circa 60's home. Initially I wanted the windows with the white cross strips because I thought they were more stylish, but we opted for the clear viewing windows and are happier because they are much easier to see out of. These windows Look so nice both from the outside and inside. An added bonus which we were unaware of until installation, were that the windows have a slight tint which must keep out heavy sun coming in and can fade items in windows. Our house got very hot in the afternoons (northern CA) with single pane windows but we noticed an immediate change in temperatures once installed. Very nice windows which has given our house a terrific facelift. Extremely happy with them. Milgard windows are definitely top of the line windows and we can definitely see why. Now we will have to paint our house to match the beauty of these windows!
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Everything I expected from the sample sales person showed me, very pleased.
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Will take some getting used to. The windows seem to be a little higher than before - I think because there is less window. I look forward to how much more heat they hold in in the cooler months.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great features This is the first window that I have replaced on our 38 yr old house. I am replacing the original single pane aluminum frame windows, Wow what a difference I am looking forward to replacing the rest. Great window!!!
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The screen does not fit There is a gap on the side of the screen opening? The screen seems to be the wrong size.
Date published: 2016-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from smooth glide, air tight That each of these windows are a single unit seems a great advantage when it comes to resisting unwanted airflow. They are clean in aesthetic value, quiet in glide and locks air-tight. Couldn't have asked for more in a small ranch-style cabin. The only thing I'd change is the screen frame: flimsy and gaping where the spring-load mechanism sits, enough for an errant fly to walk in.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We noticed how quiet and warm it was inside our home. We noticed how quiet and warm it was inside our home after installing the Tuscany Series Vinyl Windows. Very pleased. Thank you!
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! WOW....love the windows, craftsmanship and quality. Installation team was awesome and knew what they were doing. Couldn't be happier. Well worth the money.
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Picture window on top of double pass through window. The window was placed in our remodled kitchen and overlooks the back yard area with a view of the pool. We like the visibility the window gives us. The window is very well built and looks great. I would not hesitate to recommend Milgard for a great window.
Date published: 2016-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are the best windows with the best warranty! We are so happy our Builder chose Milgard. They keep the noise out and are very energy efficient. They look really nice and are so easy to operate! No stupid latch to flip over. When the windows are closed, they are locked! You don't have to worry about windows being unlocked and allowing access to intruders. With a lifetime warranty that can't be beat, Milgard is an excellent choice for anyone looking for quality windows.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacing Failed Window This window is replacing a 17-year old off-brand double pane vinyl window that leaked moisture between the glass. I have one other Milgard window that has performed well, so I was pleased when our contractor selected Milgard as the replacement for this installation. So far, it looks good, fits well, slides easily and locks easily. Of course, only time will tell how well it holds up in this location, as compared to its predecessor.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Lifetime Warranty We purchased our Milgard windows in 2001. We've been very happy with them! But, what I want to mention..is that Milgard definitely stands behind their "lifetime" warranty. We had one window that we knew of where the seal was broken. The tech came out & looked at it...measured it.. and then checked all the other windows plus a sliding door. He found another window needing replacement plus the door. Altho' I knew about the warranty, I still wondered if they would honor it since the windows were 15 years old. But, they ARE honoring it! Thank you Milgard!!!
Date published: 2016-05-31
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_300
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.horizontal-slider-style_windows, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_milgard