Single Hung Windows

The single hung window, often referred to as a sash window, is easy to slide up and a standard choice for modern home construction.

singlehung_605a.jpg

 

In the single hung window, the bottom sash moves up to open and allow in air flow. The top sash is fixed. Since it opens and closes without protuding, single-hung windows are an excellent choice for rooms facing walkways, porches or patios. 

Explore Milgard single-hung windows by product line or frame material below.

icn_windowselectionguide.png

Not sure what window is best for you? Download our Window Selection Guide.

Get the guide ›

Tuscany® Series

A beautiful, premium vinyl window crafted from Milgard's proprietary formula.
Learn More ›

Montecito® Series

Montecito Series® vinyl windows are specially designed for new construction.
Learn More ›

Style Line® Series

Satisfy your desire for a clean design with Style Line® Series slim-profile windows
Learn More ›

Ultra™ Series

Beautiful to look at ---- with little upkeep required, Ultra™ Series fiberglass windows are built to last.
Learn More ›

Aluminum

Light and thin with the hallmark of aluminum durability.
Learn More ›

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the style. I love that I was able to choose a custom style to my windows. They are exactly what I had pictured and are well built. We have had many good compliments. The Warranty is outstanding.
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Windows failed!!! My entire subdivision (>100 homes) was built with Milgard windows less than 10 years old and every neighbor I spoke to, over a dozen, has windows FAILING. My next door neighbor already had 24 windows repaired. They fog up with moisture between the panes and some are even rusting. So now we are stuck with a half dozen failing windows, some with so much moisture we cannot see out of them. Very disappointed in their windows.
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These windows are easy and smooth to operate We are very happy with our new windows, they look great and are easy to open and close. The locks are easy to operate as you just push and pull. Very satisfied and will be purchasing more in the near future as our home renovation continues!
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Difference After having water, noise and temperature leaks from the construction contractor installed windows, we replaced two bedroom windows. The difference was noticed instantly. Great value and the installers were very professional.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great windows at a good price I researched different windows for quite a while. The Milgard Tuscany windows are perfect for our home. We were going to do some of the windows but after seeing the quality and price, we replaced all the windows - 35 total! We are very pleased
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have a vriety of windows Excellent product. met my expectations and I am proud to own this product
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love my windows these windows are great. I got shipped 2 of the wrong obscuring but I wound up liking them better hahaha. great product for the price
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultra fiberglass & SunCoatMAX Low E glass We love the look of these windows because we were able to select a frame coating color that matches our home's color schemes (we chose Bark.) We have all single hungs and one casement window installed. Other types and manufacturers of windows, such as vinyl, came only in white or lighter shades. Also, the windows themselves have improved the views of the greenery outside, as we were previously looking out through sun screens. With the SunCoatMAX Low E glass coatings, we can enjoy lower UV entering our home and hopefully lower utility bills. There is a significant noise reduction benefit in our home as well.
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Window Love the way the window fit exactly into the hole measured for installation. The window moves up and down very smoothly. Love the option of 2 colors. The darker window works very well on our house.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from happy with Milgard old house, needed new windows to meet today's environmental standards. Milgard fit the bill.
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful; appears to be what we wanted. Have not been in long enough to review.However.appearance is great.
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Factory finish on wood clad The wood clad series Milgard windows appear sturdy and well built. It would be nice if Milgard would add the ability to have your wood clad windows sealed with a factory finish prior to shipping. It is not convenient to have to finish the windows with a clear coat after installation. This would also allow the finish to be sealed at the factory where conditions are stable as apposed to finishing the windows on the building site.
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Milguard Windows and Doors I recently ordered 19 Essence wood windows and doors for my new residence. I have had nothing but problems and issues from the time they were delivered until present. To begin, the quality of the product for what I paid for is less than acceptable. The first service representative that was sent had no clue what he was doing and proceeded to take pictures to show his supervisor. A new service call date was scheduled and I took a day off from my teaching job, which is not easy to do when you teach high school mathematics , in order to meet with a new service rep. Millguard scheduling called 2 hours before they were to arrive to cancel the appointment as the items needed were on back order. This demonstrates poor customer service and terrible overall practices. I am very dissatisfied at this point with Millguard products and service.
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ease of opening Quiet, and easy to open single hung. The 8' talk sliders could use some work opening
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic windows We purchased these windows to replace old metal windows. The contrast is drastic. These Style Line windows are so easy to open. They also have a built in locking system, which is fantastic. I have several other windows to replace and will be purchasing the same style from Milgard. I highly recommend these windows to everyone I know.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tuscany Single Hung windows The windows open and close easily. The single hung window matches the post mid-century modern style of my home built in 1957. The dual glazed (insulated glass) has kept my home cool in the record breaking heat this summer! Because California has experienced a drought, I have yet to see how they perform in heavy rain. To date, I am very satisfied with the windows. I will have to call the dealer to provide me with a lesson in how to remove the window to clean the screens.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tuscany SH Spring I installed 9 each of Tuscany single hung windows. I like the apperance and selflock mechanism. Cons are 1) it makes annoying spring noise every time open and close. Sounds like the spring inside is bouncing off the retainer body. All 9 of them have same symptoms. 2) window opening device color is orange and eye sore. I wish manufacture kept it white like previous model.
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am so impressed with your company When you say life time guarantee that is exactly what you promised and what you deliver, thank you. We have been in our home 24th years, and you have continued to care for our windows. I couldn't be happier with your care of the customer. When I upgrade or change out a window you will be my first and only choice. Thank you, your the best!
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Windows for rental property Installed 24 Milgard Windows for our home over 15 years ago. Product is very good. Exercised warrantly for a defective window 3 years after purchase. The warranty service was very good. Recently purchased Tuscany Series windows for our rental property. The new windows have a new locking feature. Very Nice.
Date published: 2016-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Longtime Milgard customers We first retrofitted our home in Olympia with Milgard wood-clad windows and were ecstatic. Beautiful and functional. Then we retrofitted a lake cabin with Milgard windows. Loved them. When we built a new home on the lake, we of course used Milgard windows and now, once again, on my garden shed. We wouldn't keep coming back if we weren't completely satisfied.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks Like a long lasting quality product. But the manufacturing was bit sloppy and damaged during shipping. Really excited for these windows and installed them myself. They are beautiful and measurements were spot on to what I ordered. Amazing warranty and my childhood home had them and they were great. Really easy to instal both the retor-fits and the new construction windows. My only complaint is that several of my windows showed scuff marks, most of the screens have some type of caulking stuck on them and some of the protective packaging was already removed when delivered. Each window took me about an hour to buff out scuffs in the vinyl, markings on the glass and remaining shavings from manufacturing. Love the product, just disappointed in how much work it took to make them presentable after manufacturing and shipping issues. Still need to contact company to replaced damaged hardware.
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Windows are great, website on the other hand The windows were easy to install and make a world of difference but the website... I have to input every window order individually. There should be a place to enter multiples. I kept getting a spam pop up and had to enter the same 4 pages of information every time. The only thing that changed was the purchase number. Please fix this. I, fortunately , should onl have to do this once theoritically.
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great looking windows-lots of failures after install I narrowed my search down to two brands. Felt more comfortable with Milgard as have good backing. Windows came in on time. Install went relatively well with some communication gaps but worked through them. Pro: windows look great. Even though retrofit, they make opening look bigger. Glass is great. Cons: The biggest issues is after install, There were quite a few issues with window operation failing on many of the single hung windows. 1). Many of the windows had the balancer release clips malfunction(break off or not sit flush). 2). many of the windows had one or both balancers fail causing rubbing of lower sash to frame or lower sash would shift around on balancer. 3). screens are not keeping bugs out. The installer says this is normal but I cannot believe every install have 70% of windows have one issue or another. Glad it comes with lifetime warranty. Anyway, the installer was supposed to setup a service ticket with Milgard about 3 weeks ago. We will see how this pans out.
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One latch release awsome Purchased these windows because of the one latch system. One hand opens window and two hands close window. No need to flip latches to lock window just close you are done. awesome job!!!
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best window on market best value - best warranty - best after purchase service
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from new window install the windows open and shut so smooth the sound dampening is great love the look and they fit well with existing home
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Needs improvement The Windows have whitish streak Mark's from the top especially after a rain. My old windows don't have it. I have pointed it out to Lowe's, Milgard & the say it's normal!! Really? Could it be that the glass is inferior quality, the gas is leaking or the sealant is poor quality? Also, The windows facing the busy street did not have a significant reduction of the noise level. But the looks of the Windows from the outside is good.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These window are quality and easy operation Great windows and quality i would recomend them to everyone i know
Date published: 2016-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Look great from the street and don't have to be painted The windows look great (except for a few aspects) and operate well. I like the locks except some of mine don't work. The manufacturing quality control is poor. Every single one of my 9 windows have burrs on the ends of the bars for raising the windows. Not only that, since the aluminum was cut after the bronzing, those edges are silver. The customer can color that with a marker, but shouldn't have to. During manufacturing the company chose to square cut off 2 sides of the glass frames rather than miter them and then miter the other corners. In some places where these corners join, you can also see silver. My windows are bronze and were installed with silver colored screws and that shows on the lower frame. I recommend installing the bronze with black screws so that they don't show in the frame. I will have to color those with a maker also because I don't want to replace the screws..
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Plastic piece broken 1 week after installation I am very dissappointed with Milgard products. We ordered 9 doors and windows and 1 has a plastic trim broke off already and another one does not lock.
Date published: 2016-03-29
  • y_2017, m_2, d_26, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_100
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod.single-hung-style_windows, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_milgard